Dishonored Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 830 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The action in Dishonored takes place in Dunwall, an industrial whaling city where unusual steampunk-inspired technology and other-worldly forces coexist in the dark shadows. You play the role of the once-trusted bodyguard of the beloved Empress. Framed for her murder, you become an infamousThe action in Dishonored takes place in Dunwall, an industrial whaling city where unusual steampunk-inspired technology and other-worldly forces coexist in the dark shadows. You play the role of the once-trusted bodyguard of the beloved Empress. Framed for her murder, you become an infamous assassin, known only by the eerily disturbing mask that has become your claim to fame. In a time of uncertainty, when the city is besieged by plague and ruled by a corrupt government armed with industrial technologies, dark forces conspire to thrust upon you abilities beyond those of any typical man – but at a cost. The truth behind your betrayal is as murky as the waters encircling the city, and the life you once had has slipped away forever. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dishonored Daring Escapes Official GamePlay Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    99
    If you like video games, you will absolutely love Dishonored.
  2. 95
    The massive amount of choice given to players keeps the game interesting through multiple replays, proving that multiplayer isn't necessary to be a hit. In a year, and an industry, stricken with a plague known as "sequelitis", Dishonored is the perfect cure, and should etch its name into every Game of the Year discussion with a sharply-tipped assassin blade.
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    95
    A lot of imagination, work, and care has gone into it, and your best bet is to slow down, explore it, and see what you can find. It's one of the better games this year, and will probably still be discussed ten or twenty years from now.
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    90
    Perhaps the most striking thing about Dishonored is the way the later stages of the game change, depending on how you've approached earlier missions. If you go through killing everyone and blowing things up, you'll invoke a lot of chaos in the game world and later missions will be darker and more difficult to navigate stealthily.
  5. Oct 19, 2012
    90
    Dishonored may not contain the depth of Skyrim or the unrivaled beauty of Uncharted, but it does present something new, innovative and engaging. It makes the player think about the effect their choices, both in terms of narrative and gameplay, may potentially have on the world around them.
  6. Oct 7, 2012
    88
    The steampunk-inspired technology is fascinating, and the art direction superbly establishes a distinct visual style to accompany the dark and disturbing lore lurking behind the city. I hope this isn't the last time I play a game set in Dunwall.
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    80
    A meaningful and successful reinvention of the core ideas behind Deus Ex with a singular focus on making this dense style of game more accessible.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 168
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    Best new original game of the year for sure. What more is there to say that hasn't alreay been said. It's an epic game that you just have toBest new original game of the year for sure. What more is there to say that hasn't alreay been said. It's an epic game that you just have to play to realise how awesome it really is. Expand
  2. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    Dishonored deserves a 9.5. every bit of this game oozes style quality and perfect execution in more ways than one. To begin with it includesDishonored deserves a 9.5. every bit of this game oozes style quality and perfect execution in more ways than one. To begin with it includes a full color manual which is now a rarity even in special editions. And in-game tutorials too but the game is very intuitive (easy to use) the base control system is simple and weapons and powers can be switched in and out rapidly to alter your play style at will. The level design is some of the best seen on this gens systems with multiple paths to youre objectives and throughout the levels. Dishonored is not open world or linear it is a system of hubs and areas ,levels that have been ttightly crafted to allow you to reach almost anywere you can see. Allowing you to spend hours exploring if you so wish. Some people have said it can be a short game but it takes over the 20hour mark on hard with about 80per cent of collectables found. The game is best played on the hard difficulty upwards. The character,enemy ai is highly intelligent at spotting you reacting reverting back to there patrol routes and alerting other enemies that you have been spotted. Dishonored really is a new ip although it looks similar to some games when you begin to play you soon realise it is like no other and its a brand new series in the making. An adult tale of political intrigue and occult weave together to create a grand world and story and by the time you finish you will be ready for dishonored 2. You can adjust or totally remove all or non of the hud objective markers dont like them switch them off. health and mana bars dont like them switch them off you still get visuals clues to the state of youre health and so on. The Audio work is top notch from the high quality voice overs from some highly respected actors and the minimal soundtrack that changes on cue when the action changes. There really is nothing bad to say about dishonored in my play-thru i came across no bugs or glitches like getting stuck in places it just never happened. A master piece of the programming craft and top contender for Game of the year. If you miss playing this one you are missing out on one of the best games this year. Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Own it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The otherOwn it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The other versions of this game only have between 200-300 total ratings, and even a controversial game like Mass Effect 3 only has 2900 or so total ratings after 7 months. Obviously, some shenanigans are afoot. This proves my point: User Ratings are useless, just look at the critic scores (and I'm still waiting for someone to provide some proof to the overused accusation that game publishers "buy" their reviews from major outlets). Expand
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    This is a great game. The complaints for the game are ill-fitting. One of the game's so called "flaws" is that it is short. We all it is butThis is a great game. The complaints for the game are ill-fitting. One of the game's so called "flaws" is that it is short. We all it is but it is meant to be replayed over and over again. I never encountered any particular glitches while playing. Overall, one of my favorite games. Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2017
    8
    My overall verdict is that I have absolutely loved Dishonored. Just like any game it has some pros and cons that need to be pointed out andMy overall verdict is that I have absolutely loved Dishonored. Just like any game it has some pros and cons that need to be pointed out and that ultimately have made me unable to give it a 9,5, which is the score I'd like to stamp above my review.

    Pros:

    1- The game's immersion is brilliant. The ambience, the environment, the design of the spaces and the city itself are really pretty. You find yourself completely devoted to the atmosphere of horror, despair and vital hopelessness from minute 1. The way stealth and mystery are put in this game is magnificent, not only does it make sense but it makes you feel like you really do belong in this place.
    2- The story is engaging and the gameplay is suspenseful. The lore is rich and well put across, it really does make the game very interesting. You feel that you really do care about the moral and personal implications of the character, even though there's little chance to develop him and get to know him better. You feel yourself in tension during the 90% of this game.
    3- I love the fact that you can choose how you want to set up your walkthrough and the way you want to confront the action.
    4- I played in normal and the fights against enemies were of adequate difficulty. I think it's good that a game makes you feel like you can be killed at any time and that for that reason you have to respect the environment and present a strategy.
    5- Sometimes we fail to review games for what really matters: entertainment value. Dishonored is interesting, entertaining and fun to play. It was almost impossible to put it down and I found myself enjoying its lore and secondary objectives.

    Cons:

    1- First person makes the game feel awkward at times. I feel like a third person option would've rounded up the gameplay. Controlling powers, weapons and map/enemies at the same time without messing up is difficult. When you're damaged and build up frenzy the screen effect is more annoying than engaging.
    2- The game lags usually when there's fire onscreen. If you add the annoying frenzied screen, the difficult first person control and the more than probable chance of you messing up with controls, you get a confusing demise that will usually get on your nerves.
    3- Even though the game's immersion is brilliant, you lose sight of the real reason why you're fighting very soon. The empress' figure (and the fact that you loved her) dispel quickly in favor of the actual engage in the ambience. The game becomes a challenge in the gameplay section rather than a well crafted meaningful journey.
    4- For some, the fact that the game is very well defined when it comes to structure (you are dropped at a location, must get to point A to point B choosing how you want to do this, then you get back to base) might turn into a chance for boredom. To be honest this didn't happen to me because I was too busy enjoying this game to the max, but I can see how some people could get tired of that mechanic.
    5- The game is too short. It ends when you're familiar with mechanics and have grown fond of the lore. If Corvo's character had been more explored it could've had two or three more missions which would have made the game a much richer experience.

    Like I said at the start I have loved this game so much, but that's not incompatible with pointing out some of its flaws. Still, I totally recommend it. Due to its age you'll be able to find it at a very good price, so go buy it.
    Expand
  6. Dec 14, 2017
    8
    I played this game on PC, when it was released and yesterday i finished it on PS4. I cannot evaluate graphic, because it is older game and itI played this game on PC, when it was released and yesterday i finished it on PS4. I cannot evaluate graphic, because it is older game and it is not comparable with new ones, but it is still enjoyable game. Perfect story and you can choose your playstyle what suits you best without missing something. Stealth or kind of "doom 2" style :) Expand
  7. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Overhyped and overrated, this game is not near as good as I expected. A number of issues include a weak story, repetitive gameplay, abysmalOverhyped and overrated, this game is not near as good as I expected. A number of issues include a weak story, repetitive gameplay, abysmal graphics, and rushed stages. Expand

See all 168 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.