Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 611 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The action in Dishonored takes place in Dunwall, an industrial whaling city where unusual steampunk-inspired technology and other-worldly forces coexist in the dark shadows. You play the role of the once-trusted bodyguard of the beloved Empress. Framed for her murder, you become an infamous assassin, known only by the eerily disturbing mask that has become your claim to fame. In a time of uncertainty, when the city is besieged by plague and ruled by a corrupt government armed with industrial technologies, dark forces conspire to thrust upon you abilities beyond those of any typical man – but at a cost. The truth behind your betrayal is as murky as the waters encircling the city, and the life you once had has slipped away forever. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    99
    If you like video games, you will absolutely love Dishonored.
  2. 95
    The massive amount of choice given to players keeps the game interesting through multiple replays, proving that multiplayer isn't necessary to be a hit. In a year, and an industry, stricken with a plague known as "sequelitis", Dishonored is the perfect cure, and should etch its name into every Game of the Year discussion with a sharply-tipped assassin blade.
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    95
    A lot of imagination, work, and care has gone into it, and your best bet is to slow down, explore it, and see what you can find. It's one of the better games this year, and will probably still be discussed ten or twenty years from now.
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    90
    Perhaps the most striking thing about Dishonored is the way the later stages of the game change, depending on how you've approached earlier missions. If you go through killing everyone and blowing things up, you'll invoke a lot of chaos in the game world and later missions will be darker and more difficult to navigate stealthily.
  5. Oct 19, 2012
    90
    Dishonored may not contain the depth of Skyrim or the unrivaled beauty of Uncharted, but it does present something new, innovative and engaging. It makes the player think about the effect their choices, both in terms of narrative and gameplay, may potentially have on the world around them.
  6. Oct 7, 2012
    88
    The steampunk-inspired technology is fascinating, and the art direction superbly establishes a distinct visual style to accompany the dark and disturbing lore lurking behind the city. I hope this isn't the last time I play a game set in Dunwall.
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    80
    A meaningful and successful reinvention of the core ideas behind Deus Ex with a singular focus on making this dense style of game more accessible.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 138
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    First thing first, this game is pretty tough, but that's why i loved it so much. Maybe it's because i have a soft spot for the Stealth Genre but between the unique powers and collectibles this makes up a very fantastic product. The campaign was a little short for the $60 price tag but it was well worth it. Expand
  2. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    The GOOD: awesome stealth gameplay, cool powers, easy and responsive controls, freedom to achieve objectives the way you want, good graphics and astonishing art style, rich world and decent story.
    The NOT SO GOOD: soundtrack, melee combat doesn't feel right, no cutscenes at all and uninteresting voice acting.
    In the end: Dishonored is a MUST PLAY! Like most of games, Dishonored isn't perfect, but even so is a remarkable experience. The atmosphere of the game feels unique. The addition of some cutscenes and a better selection of tracks for the soundtrack would have built an even more interesting experience. The stealth approach works flawlessly. Some may get disappointed by how the melee combat works, like I did, but if you enjoy a good stealth gameplay, you won't even get bugged by this fact.
    So, that's it: 10/10 to Dishonored.
    Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Own it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The other versions of this game only have between 200-300 total ratings, and even a controversial game like Mass Effect 3 only has 2900 or so total ratings after 7 months. Obviously, some shenanigans are afoot. This proves my point: User Ratings are useless, just look at the critic scores (and I'm still waiting for someone to provide some proof to the overused accusation that game publishers "buy" their reviews from major outlets). Expand
  4. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    DIshonored was one of my favourite games of last year, maybe even my favourite. It's very cleverly constructed and features huge open levels to explore. Dishonored is one of the very few games I played through twice, and both playthroughs were very different. I think the game strikes a great balance in difficulty, it's not easy to take on a large room of men so you can't just charge through, but it's also not easy to sneak past them all, I really appreciated that there were some challenging moments but it never felt like an endurance to complete. Graphically the games not very impressive, and there are muddy textures to be found on the PS3 version at least, but the games steam punk art design is amazing, it really does elevate the average graphics that game has. The world that the game is set in is great, it's original and compelling to explore. The game has a huge amount things to read and collect, it really is a giant amount of reading to do if you find them all, and it's all pretty interesting stuff. The story the game tells is a bit disappointing, it's serviceable but it's disappointing that it's not more original or interesting. Dishonored is a joy to play, I'd certainly love to see a sequel in the future. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    Dishonored was a really fun experience. It's a different game, both in looks and gameplay. I love the art style, almost like a painting rather than a cell shaded cartoon. The city of Dunwall is beautifully detailed and alive. The different sections are well designed to explore for runes and bone charms; or sneaking around for stealth kills. I love the controls myself and found them easy to use. Once you start unlocking all the awesome powers there is no limit to how you can dispatch enemies. The game is more centered on using stealth, but the real fun is had when using your imagination and abilities in brutal ways! However, the more people you kill and bodies you leave in your wake, the more the plague spreads and rats swarms increase. It has an effect on the ending you get also. The story is pretty good, revenge is always the best motive to go on a killing spree and take bad people out of power. You always have choices to make in this game; whether it's deciding to assassinate a target or expose him, or sneak around the levels choosing your own path to an objective. This game gives you one of the best feelings of choosing your own way to accomplish things. There are some minor complaints as there are with any game, but they can be overlooked. The good things about this game far outweigh the bad. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    An amazing game! The city of Dunwall and is beautifully crafted and feels so alive. (Well, aside from the plague victims, that is) But like I said, the setting is interesting, and the game itself is a lot of fun to play. The various ways to get to and kill (or not kill) a target are fun to play out. And although the story is a bit of a cliché with the whole "Get revenge and everything will fix itself." it still kept me interested. And the reason I didn't give this game a 10? Well, it's for petty and small reasons for the most part. I mean, the game felt...short. I would have loved to explore more of Dunwall and meet or have more targets to hunt after. I also would've loved to know more about the city and its people, and not just through books. And honestly the "character" I liked the most was the Heart that told you about the city, I didn't feel all that connected to anyone else. And finally, the lights. Why couldn't you destroy them? Or at least pull a switch or destroy a whale oil tank to make them go out. It is a small thing, I know. But I kind feel that something like that belongs in a stealth game. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    I'm so glad a friend let me download this free from his library. This game is dull and boring. Could not get into the story to save my life. Further more i didn't even finish the game. I don't understand the hype behind this stupid game. Expand

See all 138 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.