Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 682 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The action in Dishonored takes place in Dunwall, an industrial whaling city where unusual steampunk-inspired technology and other-worldly forces coexist in the dark shadows. You play the role of the once-trusted bodyguard of the beloved Empress. Framed for her murder, you become an infamousThe action in Dishonored takes place in Dunwall, an industrial whaling city where unusual steampunk-inspired technology and other-worldly forces coexist in the dark shadows. You play the role of the once-trusted bodyguard of the beloved Empress. Framed for her murder, you become an infamous assassin, known only by the eerily disturbing mask that has become your claim to fame. In a time of uncertainty, when the city is besieged by plague and ruled by a corrupt government armed with industrial technologies, dark forces conspire to thrust upon you abilities beyond those of any typical man – but at a cost. The truth behind your betrayal is as murky as the waters encircling the city, and the life you once had has slipped away forever. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Oct 22, 2012
    99
    If you like video games, you will absolutely love Dishonored.
  2. 95
    The massive amount of choice given to players keeps the game interesting through multiple replays, proving that multiplayer isn't necessary to be a hit. In a year, and an industry, stricken with a plague known as "sequelitis", Dishonored is the perfect cure, and should etch its name into every Game of the Year discussion with a sharply-tipped assassin blade.
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    95
    A lot of imagination, work, and care has gone into it, and your best bet is to slow down, explore it, and see what you can find. It's one of the better games this year, and will probably still be discussed ten or twenty years from now.
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    90
    Perhaps the most striking thing about Dishonored is the way the later stages of the game change, depending on how you've approached earlier missions. If you go through killing everyone and blowing things up, you'll invoke a lot of chaos in the game world and later missions will be darker and more difficult to navigate stealthily.
  5. Oct 19, 2012
    90
    Dishonored may not contain the depth of Skyrim or the unrivaled beauty of Uncharted, but it does present something new, innovative and engaging. It makes the player think about the effect their choices, both in terms of narrative and gameplay, may potentially have on the world around them.
  6. Oct 7, 2012
    88
    The steampunk-inspired technology is fascinating, and the art direction superbly establishes a distinct visual style to accompany the dark and disturbing lore lurking behind the city. I hope this isn't the last time I play a game set in Dunwall.
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    80
    A meaningful and successful reinvention of the core ideas behind Deus Ex with a singular focus on making this dense style of game more accessible.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 153
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    I'm gonna say this...it's a love it or hate it game. Personally I loved it but I also didn't over hype it. In fact, I ended up loving it soI'm gonna say this...it's a love it or hate it game. Personally I loved it but I also didn't over hype it. In fact, I ended up loving it so much that this is the first game on the PS3 that I actually played through twice. I wanted to see the dark ending and the light ending and I also wanted to prove to myself that I could make it through without killing anyone! If you like stealth its great! I also loved how you can change the future of the game...example, kill lots of people, more weepers later in the game. Kill nobody, barely any weepers and the later game becomes a whole different story. Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    i was cautious to get this game because the last bethesda game for ps3 was such a bug ridden mess. however, this game is truly great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Own it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The otherOwn it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The other versions of this game only have between 200-300 total ratings, and even a controversial game like Mass Effect 3 only has 2900 or so total ratings after 7 months. Obviously, some shenanigans are afoot. This proves my point: User Ratings are useless, just look at the critic scores (and I'm still waiting for someone to provide some proof to the overused accusation that game publishers "buy" their reviews from major outlets). Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    "Dishonored" is a hell of an experience. Although it is a very short game that can be beaten in under 10 hours or so, the game has a TON of"Dishonored" is a hell of an experience. Although it is a very short game that can be beaten in under 10 hours or so, the game has a TON of re-playability and has numerous ways in which its missions can be beaten. You can kill upwards of 150 men throughout the game, or you can go through the entirety of the game without being seen or killing anyone. All of this is at the player's discretion and gives the player a lot of liberty in going about their business while being immersed in a very cool, dystopian atmosphere.

    This game requires a lot of thinking and isn't easily accessible for those who like to run-and-gun. While you can always try to stay out in the open, run through the levels and take on all foes that get in your way, you probably aren't going to have much luck in doing so unless you have a large amount of power-ups or ammo. And, even then, you're going to find that isn't going to be the best way of going about things because getting detected will bring a LOT of attention your way, and it is definitely tough to get out of these situations when being approached by enemies from many different angles.

    Stealth is definitely encouraged, though not required. If you struggle in stealth games (kind of like me), you're going to find this game to be a bit frustrating. You are going to find that it is better to take on opponents one-by-one instead of taking on 5 at once (unless you have a bunch of pistol or crossbow ammo, in which case you have a better chance). The crossbow and pistol are definitely very helpful in your quest, though. The crossbows allow you to take enemies out from a distance without letting others in the area (immediately) catch on to your whereabouts. The pistol, on the other hand, is very helpful when you need to get out of a bad situation in which you've been spotted. It allows you to knock enemies back and take them out with your sword (if they aren't killed on the first shot) with relative ease. Ammo goes quickly, though, so use it wisely as you move forward (if you aren't going for total stealth trophies, that is). The sword combat is good, but should probably be used as a last resort. Taking on many enemies at once when you only have your sword is probably going to get you killed.

    Blink will immediately become your best friend. While it is a bit frustrating to control at times (sometimes you have trouble locking on to the point you want to reach), it becomes a necessary part as you move forward, whether you are focusing more on combat or stealth. Blink will get you onto ledges that you wouldn't normally be able to access. It is critical to use Blink, whether you are scoping out an area to plan an efficient attack or are trying to stay in the shadows to finish the game as stealthily as possible. You are going to be using Blink a lot to help you out and, for the most part, it works out pretty well. Also, saving often is very much encouraged, as well. You can save right in a certain spot so you don't have to work from a certain checkpoint if you mess up. Instead, you start right at the place where you save. This is HUGE, especially when one false movement can end your chance at earning some of the stealth trophies/achievements.

    As for the story, it's pretty good but definitely not the strong point of the game, in my opinion. I think a lot of my criticism pertaining to the presentation of the story stems from the fact that the main character, Corvo, never speaks outside of exclamations of pain. I felt some character development on his end as you went through the game definitely would've helped create a larger attachment to the storyline. Instead, we just take a first person perspective where everyone just talks at him instead of to him, so it's a bit hard to say how Corvo feels while going about his business and makes it a little bit harder to get attached to the storyline. Anyway, it's just a small gripe, and it really doesn't set back the experience as a whole, which you will probably find very enjoyable, no matter how you play it. The story definitely makes you want to eliminate your key targets and restore your once good image by any means necessary.

    All in all, I would recommend "Dishonored" to any fan of stealth games and anyone who doesn't get easily discouraged by a challenge. This game will definitely test your instincts, as will any good stealth game, while adding some nice innovations through supernatural abilities that will help you out along the way. "Dishonored" is a very engrossing gameplay experience that is well worth the money you pay for it.
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It took me some time to get used to the controls of the ps3, especially because the game is in ego-perspective. All in all it's a very good and solid game. It's just a little bit too short if you ask me. I finished almost every chapter in stealth mode to get a different ending. I guess it takes longer if you play it that way than just rushing through every quest. But it has a great replay value. I enjoyed playing it Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    The game controls very nicely and the stealth is nearly masterful. The atmosphere fits the game's theme and helps the player feel like theyThe game controls very nicely and the stealth is nearly masterful. The atmosphere fits the game's theme and helps the player feel like they are a part of Dunwall. Menus and upgrades are easy to navigate and the player is heavily rewarded for exploring. Where Dishonored falls is the story. The game follows a straightforward mission system with levels that feel decidedly smaller the second time around. The morality choices are somewhat ridiculous in context and levels barely change based on your decision.
    Overall, you should play Dishonored for the gameplay and feel of the world, not the story.
    Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    0
    I'm so glad a friend let me download this free from his library. This game is dull and boring. Could not get into the story to save my life.I'm so glad a friend let me download this free from his library. This game is dull and boring. Could not get into the story to save my life. Further more i didn't even finish the game. I don't understand the hype behind this stupid game. Expand

See all 153 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.