User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 48
  2. Negative: 5 out of 48

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    I can not understand why this game hasn't gotten more praise! Seriously, this is the best platformer I've played since the 90's. OK, it's kind of short but if you collect everything it will last for some time. I'd rather have a short, great game than a long one with a lot of padding. The music is incredible, the graphics are SO great and the feel of it is just magical. Great attention to detail, great voices.. everything is just perfect. I prefer this to any Mario game released since Super Mario World, no joke. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    6
    I was really excited about this game and played it right when it released from the psn store. It's a decent game, worth playing. It wasn't as good as I was expecting, but I still loved the atmosphere and visuals. Also the narration was great and Mickey's voice also. The controls are simple and solid. The jumping is floaty but I'm pretty sure that was meant to be as thats how a lot of old school platformers were back then. I never played the original, but I heard it was hard and I'm not sure how this compares in terms of that game, but this game was pretty hard too. Not throw your controller against the wall hard, but still took a bit of precision and patience. If you are a fan of old school games that were unforgiving, you'll prolly enjoy this game. The overall structure of the game was a bit too straightforward and bland for me. I was hoping there would be more exploration, although I was pleasantly surprised by some of the unexpected routes you were sent through later in the game. The levels got more creative as the game went on and I enjoyed that. The game is pretty short though. Took me about 3 hours to beat. I would recommend this game to fans of the original, Mickey Mouse fans, or old school platformer fans. Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    I absolutely LOVE this game! I've been a gamer since I got my Atari 2600 when I was 6 and even though I had a Sega Genesis, I never played this game back in the day. When this remake was released, I downloaded it mainly so that my 5 year old daughter (who loves Disney) and I could play it together. What a great decision. The game is absolutely beautiful and a joy to look at. It was a little too tough for my daughter right now, so I basically played the entire thing with her glued to my side the whole time. It took us probably about 4-5 hours to get through, which I thought was the perfect length. Each level is so unique and a complete blast to play. I thought that the controls were tight and easy to handle, and what a joy to play a game with only two buttons for a change! Jump and throw, that's it! The story kept us intrigued and although it wasn't too hard, there were a few sections that almost had me throwing my controller, just like the good ole days. The final boss fight against the witch took me about 15-20 tries, but was extremely satisfying once we beat her. I hadn't played a true platformer in years and forgot how much fun they could be. This was a great purchase for $15 and I highly recommend it to anyone that played the original, anyone that is a big Disney fan, or any father/mother looking to have a fun gaming experience with their son or daughter. The minute that we beat the game we started a second playthrough. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    I've played the original game for the first time through the pre-order bonus and enjoyed it so far. The remake is well-made, the graphics are great, the gameplay is creative as the original (and added some more), the soundtrack's outstanding and the voice acts are always fun and good to hear. SEGAStudios Australia did a great job developing this remake. It's not exactly a 10, but a 9,6. People should buy it and support them. Congratulations, folks! Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2013
    6
    Beautiful game marred by poor controls. The game looks great, I will give it that much and the added voice narration is a nice touch. That said, I find the controls to be extremely frustrating and I have been playing games (including the original Genesis game which I adore) since the Atari 2600. Since this is a platformer, the jumping mechanic needs to be spot on and it is not even close. For starters, Mickey's jump has no momentum; when you jump he will instantly stop forward movement in mid jump if you let up on the controls. In addition the jump is super sensitive to joystick movement the tiniest deviation will suddenly switch the direction of his jump which led me more often than not to weird under/over corrections constantly leading to missing the edges of platforms and inadvertently coming down in front of enemies and getting hit. Adding even more harm to jumping is the fact that there seems to be something off with the game detecting the player pressing the jump button. I was always running face first into enemies when I know I pressed jump, but Mickey didn't jump. The original game got jumping so right, down to the animation where Mickey's foot always pointed at where his jump was taking him. As an animator myself, I always reference the Mickey's jump animation from the original game as the gold standard, which makes this remake all the more disappointing for me. Expand
  6. May 4, 2014
    6
    If you're a fan of the original Genesis platformer, then maybe this 2.5D re-imagining will prove worth your time. With it's unique twists on the original's levels, enemies, and bosses, it's sure to bring on nostalgia for fans of the original game. Others may want to avoid.

    I'm just going to go ahead with the good. The game is just gorgeous, and the gameplay is solid. There's also a
    healthy amount of extras for those who want to stick around. The problem is that this just isn't that fun of a game. It's not bad, but throughout it's short running time I was only barely entertained. While the gameplay is solid it's just no that exciting of a platformer. Young Mickey Mouse fans will probably get a kick out of it, and those who've played the original will find things to get excited about, but those who do not fit into either category might be better off passing on this one.

    Overall it's a solidly designed game, and I know there are going to be people who love it, but I'm just not one of them. If you're looking for a decent throwback to the original, or just are looking for your next quick platformer fix, then maybe this will be worth your cash. All I know is that while I see nothing wrong with it, it's one that did not impress me. My overall opinion of the game is that it is just a sub-par platformer. My total score for the game is a 6.5/10=Okay.
    Expand
  7. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    THIS is what a remake should be. They didn't just give an HD polish, they've captured the nostalgia and transformed it into a current standards game. Is this the old Castle of Illusion we all loved on the Sega Genesis back in the old days? Well, Yes AND No. The story is the same, so are the settings, atmosphere, music, enemies, bosses etc. But it does play like a current gen 2D platformer. The game is gorgeous, the scenarios are beautiful, the mechanics are fairly good, and it's clear nobody rushed here; it's a well crafted "remake". My only complaint regards jumping; it's a bit imprecise and this usually results in cheap deaths. But apart from that this is a total must-have for any gamer in his/hers 30s. The PS3 version even gives the classic Castle for Christ sake! Should not be missed! Expand
  8. Sep 5, 2013
    8
    Not much to say except this remake was what I expected. It wasn't mindblowing awesome, but it was still fun, short (I honestly didn't want it to be long.. could of drug out way too long otherwise), and had a lot of fun areas. The first level though was a joke. lol
  9. Sep 5, 2013
    7
    Nice re-make, very short, finished in like 3-4 hours, only one difficulty, all bosses are soooo easy but the last took me like 12 attempts. Infact i killed every boss first time except the final boss. But for a tenner i cant complain. Very very pretty game level design is lovely! Also the continuous voice over is a very nice touch.
    That's Mickey and DuckTales finished. Next please!
  10. Sep 4, 2013
    9
    Lot's of fun, and very clever! Castle of Illusion holds a charm in remakes that is rarely seen. It manages to draw you in with a classic attitude between the narration, and well played music. The gameplay is strong at many points, and not only feels as classic as the original, but can hold it's own weight as a new edition of it's own. The game plays out with a nice combination of 2.5D gameplay, and manages to smoothly change to a 360' 3D pace in some points, allowing you to explore more. The boss battles are classic feeling such as the Sega Genesis version, and manages to put a nice spin on things for those who are seeking something fresh feeling. The only gripe i kinda have is at times you will experience cheap hits and deaths if you're not careful. Other than that, Castle of Illusion set's a new level of fun with it's original predecessor and will draw you in with an addicting experience. Highly recommended! Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Falls into the trap of sludgy platforming. [Dec 2013, p.94]
  2. In almost all other respects Castle of Illusion pales in comparison to the Rayman Legends of the world. We’d also recommend Duck Tales Remastered over this in a heartbeat, too. But if you prefer your platformers easy and protagonists in pants, Castle of Illusion is still worth the price. [November 2013, p85]
  3. Not only do the recognizable levels make a return, the evenly recognizable difficulty makes a comeback. This artificially lengthens an already short game, which makes it very difficult to recommend it to a modern audience. [October 2013 p.95]