Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A Castle of Illusion remake may be in the works based on the latest teaser trailer from Sega.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    100
    From the new 3D areas, to the completely re-imagined boss battles, there is something for everyone to like in Castle of Illusion. The main game might be a bit short, but you will want to keep going long after Mizrabel is dealt with.
  2. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    A remake that does the original justice, keeping the gameplay traditional and challenging. Highly recommendable for both fans and newcomers who are into platform games.
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    70
    If the jumping was tightened up a bit, and the difficulty spikes not so big then this could have been one of the best platformers of recent memory.
  4. Sep 3, 2013
    70
    If you’re a diehard Disney fan in the mood for a short, breezy platformer, this may hit the spot. However, the core gameplay beneath the endearing Disney aesthetic left me wanting more.
  5. Falls into the trap of sludgy platforming. [Dec 2013, p.94]
  6. Sep 9, 2013
    65
    Castle of Illusion is a surprisingly good platform game, with a distinctive and dreamy art direction. It's a pity that the frame rate affects so badly the gameplay and that it run off of levels in a matter of hours.
  7. In almost all other respects Castle of Illusion pales in comparison to the Rayman Legends of the world. We’d also recommend Duck Tales Remastered over this in a heartbeat, too. But if you prefer your platformers easy and protagonists in pants, Castle of Illusion is still worth the price. [November 2013, p85]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    I can not understand why this game hasn't gotten more praise! Seriously, this is the best platformer I've played since the 90's. OK, it's kindI can not understand why this game hasn't gotten more praise! Seriously, this is the best platformer I've played since the 90's. OK, it's kind of short but if you collect everything it will last for some time. I'd rather have a short, great game than a long one with a lot of padding. The music is incredible, the graphics are SO great and the feel of it is just magical. Great attention to detail, great voices.. everything is just perfect. I prefer this to any Mario game released since Super Mario World, no joke. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    I've played the original game for the first time through the pre-order bonus and enjoyed it so far. The remake is well-made, the graphics areI've played the original game for the first time through the pre-order bonus and enjoyed it so far. The remake is well-made, the graphics are great, the gameplay is creative as the original (and added some more), the soundtrack's outstanding and the voice acts are always fun and good to hear. SEGAStudios Australia did a great job developing this remake. It's not exactly a 10, but a 9,6. People should buy it and support them. Congratulations, folks! Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    9
    I absolutely LOVE this game! I've been a gamer since I got my Atari 2600 when I was 6 and even though I had a Sega Genesis, I never playedI absolutely LOVE this game! I've been a gamer since I got my Atari 2600 when I was 6 and even though I had a Sega Genesis, I never played this game back in the day. When this remake was released, I downloaded it mainly so that my 5 year old daughter (who loves Disney) and I could play it together. What a great decision. The game is absolutely beautiful and a joy to look at. It was a little too tough for my daughter right now, so I basically played the entire thing with her glued to my side the whole time. It took us probably about 4-5 hours to get through, which I thought was the perfect length. Each level is so unique and a complete blast to play. I thought that the controls were tight and easy to handle, and what a joy to play a game with only two buttons for a change! Jump and throw, that's it! The story kept us intrigued and although it wasn't too hard, there were a few sections that almost had me throwing my controller, just like the good ole days. The final boss fight against the witch took me about 15-20 tries, but was extremely satisfying once we beat her. I hadn't played a true platformer in years and forgot how much fun they could be. This was a great purchase for $15 and I highly recommend it to anyone that played the original, anyone that is a big Disney fan, or any father/mother looking to have a fun gaming experience with their son or daughter. The minute that we beat the game we started a second playthrough. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    THIS is what a remake should be. They didn't just give an HD polish, they've captured the nostalgia and transformed it into a currentTHIS is what a remake should be. They didn't just give an HD polish, they've captured the nostalgia and transformed it into a current standards game. Is this the old Castle of Illusion we all loved on the Sega Genesis back in the old days? Well, Yes AND No. The story is the same, so are the settings, atmosphere, music, enemies, bosses etc. But it does play like a current gen 2D platformer. The game is gorgeous, the scenarios are beautiful, the mechanics are fairly good, and it's clear nobody rushed here; it's a well crafted "remake". My only complaint regards jumping; it's a bit imprecise and this usually results in cheap deaths. But apart from that this is a total must-have for any gamer in his/hers 30s. The PS3 version even gives the classic Castle for Christ sake! Should not be missed! Collapse
  5. Mar 4, 2015
    7
    The original Castle of Illusion was one of the few classic Megadrive platformers that I missed back in the day so this remake was the perfectThe original Castle of Illusion was one of the few classic Megadrive platformers that I missed back in the day so this remake was the perfect chance to catch up! I obviously can't compare it to the original but I do know that this is a fine platformer with a very modern feel. I must admit that when I first played it the controls didn't feel quite right. They're a bit floaty but one I got used to them it wasn't a real problem.
    The graphics are just lovely and the levels burst with colour and personality. Level design is also excellent with plenty of surprises and hidden areas. Switching between 2D and 3D sections as the game does could have been a disaster but works well.
    I ther's any negatives it's the difficulty spikes and shortness of the game however the game is very replayable with lost of things to find and collect.

    Summery
    Good - * It looks beautiful.
    * Enchanting levels.
    *Solid gameplay.
    *Very replayable.

    Bad - *A bit short
    *Difficulty spikes combined with slightly floaty controls and lead to occasional frustration.
    Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2013
    7
    Nice re-make, very short, finished in like 3-4 hours, only one difficulty, all bosses are soooo easy but the last took me like 12 attempts.Nice re-make, very short, finished in like 3-4 hours, only one difficulty, all bosses are soooo easy but the last took me like 12 attempts. Infact i killed every boss first time except the final boss. But for a tenner i cant complain. Very very pretty game level design is lovely! Also the continuous voice over is a very nice touch.
    That's Mickey and DuckTales finished. Next please!
    Expand
  7. Sep 3, 2013
    5
    I was really excited about this game and played it right when it released from the psn store. It's a decent game, worth playing. It wasn'tI was really excited about this game and played it right when it released from the psn store. It's a decent game, worth playing. It wasn't as good as I was expecting, but I still loved the atmosphere and visuals. Also the narration was great and Mickey's voice also. The controls are simple and solid. The jumping is floaty but I'm pretty sure that was meant to be as thats how a lot of old school platformers were back then. I never played the original, but I heard it was hard and I'm not sure how this compares in terms of that game, but this game was pretty hard too. Not throw your controller against the wall hard, but still took a bit of precision and patience. If you are a fan of old school games that were unforgiving, you'll prolly enjoy this game. The overall structure of the game was a bit too straightforward and bland for me. I was hoping there would be more exploration, although I was pleasantly surprised by some of the unexpected routes you were sent through later in the game. The levels got more creative as the game went on and I enjoyed that. The game is pretty short though. Took me about 3 hours to beat. I would recommend this game to fans of the original, Mickey Mouse fans, or old school platformer fans. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews