Disney Infinity PlayStation 3

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    88
    There are endless amounts of hours waiting for kids in Disney Infinity's worlds. If kids want to build worlds, boom. If kids want to play adventures, boom. If kids want to spend time with each other and share Toy Box creations, boom. There's so much in one package that younger gamers will absolutely have a blast with it. It literally has everything for them and it's a worry-free environment to play in. What more could you ask for as a parent from a single game?
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Sep 27, 2013
    83
    Infinity's Toy Box mode can hardly be called a kids game, which is strange since the Play Sets that come with the game are an absolute walk in park. There is no challenge whatsoever. Missions are limited to fetch quests or small brawls. But there is still some fun to be had, especially for younger players. [September p.64]
  3. Sep 6, 2013
    83
    Overall, Disney Infinity is an enjoyable and creative experience for the whole family. Is it perfect? Not at all. It's a little too unpolished as compared to a game like Skylanders Giants or LittleBigPlanet, and I’m not a fan of the pricing scheme for the retail add-ons.
  4. Play UK
    Sep 25, 2013
    81
    It's perfect for easing a younger generation into more advanced creation tools such as LittleBigPlanet or even Minecraft. [Issue#235, p.82]
  5. Hyper Magazine
    Oct 3, 2013
    80
    There's something in Infinity for everyone (although there's slightly more for your kids.) [Nov 2013, p.74]
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    80
    Disney is a powerhouse when it comes to licensing their products but even these prices seem a little overboard. If it weren't for the fact the campaigns are fun and suitable for the pre-teen crowd and the Toy Box modes offers a lot options, I'd probably be steering parents away.
  7. Sep 10, 2013
    80
    Could be described as more of an investment; with Playsets and additional character being cheaper than movie tie-ins and other action games, in the long run it could be a cost effective solution with an additional second wave of content already planned for the coming months.
  8. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Sep 8, 2013
    80
    Brimming with fan-service, unlockable content, and freeform ‘create, share, play’ fun. A must for the young and young-at-heart. [October 2013, p75]
  9. Sep 7, 2013
    80
    While Disney clearly had children in mind when designing Disney Infinity, the toy-infused fantasy worlds are excellent fun for youngsters and adults alike. Despite being held back by a couple of framerate issues and screen freezing problems, this cornucopia of physical and in-game joy still manages to cast a spell over its audience, offering swashbuckling action, magical adventures, and practically limitless creation and customisation options.
  10. 80
    Disney Infinity is like watching Toy Story for the first time. It's strange, wondrous and presents us with a world where the only barrier is your own imagination. But even if your imagination runs wild, you have to live with uneven controls and simplistic combat.
  11. Aug 29, 2013
    78
    A Toy Box, one that is plenty full of possibilities. That's Disney Infinity. At last, Disney made a game that is really worthy of carrying the title Disney on the cover. It's a shame that the model requires to buy extra figures to play coop, or the way we have to discover all the items for the Toy Box mode, but the three universes of this starter pack and the creation mode, alongside with the quality of the figures, captures the Disney magic and will throwback us, the older ones, to our childhood, because that is what Disney can do best. Right now, one of the best experiences for kids, but one that could be expensive with the expansion/coop packs.
  12. Sep 9, 2013
    75
    Disney Infinity raises the bar on pre-teen action adventure games by offering varied content with the right challenge level for young gamers. It's also a naked attempt to grab money that makes it a bit distasteful. I'm not sure Walt would approve.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Aug 22, 2013
    6
    Infinity is, at best, a mediocre game. I have three girls ages 9, 7, and 5. We are all skylanders fans and have been looking forward to thisInfinity is, at best, a mediocre game. I have three girls ages 9, 7, and 5. We are all skylanders fans and have been looking forward to this game for at least a month now. It can be best summed up as an attempt as a mix between Little Big Planet and Skylanders but it falls short when compared to either.

    The game is broken up into "playsets" and "toy box" mode.

    The playsets are sub-par video game experiences. My 2 younger daughters don't understand the concept of "find the guy with a icon above his head and do what he says". Levels are very open and becomes easy for them to get lost. My oldest daughter becomes quickly bored. The quests are tedious and dull. "go to X and do Y to Z" or "collect X number of Y tokens" make up the bulk of the quests. I frequently have to take over for them to help them progress through the playset. The much prefer to just randomly roam around the map. So far we have played the 3 playsets that have come with the game and they all get dull quickly. I've purchased the Cars and Lone Ranger sets but will likely save those for birthdays or other special events as a reward.

    The Toy Box mode is where they apparently put their focus but collecting the required pieces to build a level requires a random spin. Collecting more spins requires you to play through the playset content or grind through the maps searching for free spins. It will take a serious investment of time before we will have all the pieces needed to build a decent level.

    Menus are difficult to navigate for my 5 and 7 year old. Most choices also require a yes/no confirmation. That can be frustrating when kids are still learning to read. Simply loading a game in progress requires help from daddy. My 9 year old just wants to build levels and have random fun in the toy box mode but is limited by the controls (how do i choose the magic want again?) and the limited availability of pieces.

    There is no easy jumping in and out of online multi-player like in Little Big Planet. Online play requires an official invite from someone, normally from a pre-existing friends list. A big attraction of LBP online play was bumping into another random kid when choosing a random level.

    The only comparison I can make with Skylanders is that they both require a physical toy. Skylanders is much more of a fun action-oriented game and requires little understanding going in. Infinity requires you to pay attention to a text dialog box or push the correct button for the compass to guide you to the correct place. Skylanders is much more intuitive and has an easier learning curve when playing single or multi-player levels.

    I regret spending as much as I did but I am hopeful that over time as more players create and distribute toybox maps it will be a better experience.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2013
    1
    Although my kids and kid relatives loved Skylanders, Disney Infinity got the opposite reaction and even little kids could see it for theAlthough my kids and kid relatives loved Skylanders, Disney Infinity got the opposite reaction and even little kids could see it for the BLATANT CASH GRAB that it is. The game itself is pretty boring, but there are constant barriers and nags that tell you to "buy additional characters" seemingly at every turn. We all know Disney loves their money, but this is way over the line and instead of buying the game, you might just want to mail Disney your wallet and paychecks to save time.

    With Skylanders, in order to play the entire game, you might be in for maybe $80-$90 for the game/starting figures and the extra elemental characters you are missing, but if you want actually play Disney Infinity, we're talking maybe $300 to start, and then more for discs, add-ons, storage compartment, etc. It's as a bad a cash grab as I've ever seen in my life and I wonder if a "point of sale Credit/Debit Card Machine" was intended to be part of the game bundle. Or maybe it will be available as an add-on pack?
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    I have a 4 year old and she LOVES the game. Toybox? She loves running around and exploring and just hanging out in the game with her cousin orI have a 4 year old and she LOVES the game. Toybox? She loves running around and exploring and just hanging out in the game with her cousin or myself. Play sets? Sure she doesn't get the whole quest thing, but she sure as heck still loves to play it, just to hang out in the settings. In Lone Ranger she even found a little ranch and brings all the horses there and just rides them. So rather than rate the game down and complain that she doesn't get the game, I'll rate it up for keeping her interested and having fun despite not getting the quests.
    My 8 year old niece gets the quests a bit more. She loves playing as the different characters and battling the enemies in both the Toy Box and Play Sets. She understands how to build her own toy box sets, and loves just wandering around finding cool places in the toy box and just killing the randomly spawning bad guys. Both girls love naming off all the characters from the movies as they see them.
    I love the game too. As an avid gamer, I have fun on mostly anything I can climb. I'm building a huge Toy Box climbing and spelunking area to explore with the kids. I also built my daughter a hidden castle that she LOVES. Not having all the pieces to start with limits my creativity a bit, but it also lets me get more familiar with what I do have. Having all the pieces would be a bit overwhelming to start with. This way I build the basics I want and as I unlock more, the whole thing gets more diverse instead of me just using my favorite pieces. It works out well when you get into it. There are also lots of memorable sights, like the matterhorn, the cave of wonder, the sword in the stone and Scrooge's Money Bank.
    The play sets are great too. I've played the Incredibles playset, which has lots of buildings to climb and all that. The quests are a bit bland here, but there's lots of fighting and lots of buildings to climb. There are also cars and lots of challenges to go around here. The area is initially small, but quickly gets bigger as you get into it. The Lone Ranger set is more about adventure and exploring. Slightly less enemies here, but there are cliffs to climb, there's a train and the area gets bigger as you progress. Plus there are horses to ride around on. The other set I've played is the Cars play set. Also, excellent. Obviously lots of places to race around, do jumps and all that. I haven't gotten much into the quests here yet, and there haven't been any creeps to smash.
    We have all the toy pieces to go with the game, but they're largely optional. With just the starter box, you get 3 characters, each with a play set. I would recommend at least the villain or sidekick pack (another $25) just to be able to play two players. The power discs (both shapes) are totally optional. The Circle Discs provide bonuses such as damage up and XP up. The hex discs are for Toy Box only and usually provide cosmetic things, but can also give new items (Mickey's Car, Cinderella's Carriage). The Lone Ranger play set is FAR exceeding my expectations and I have to recommend it because of that. The downside to the Lone Ranger set is there are only 2 characters for it. Other sets have 3-5 for them.
    Full Review »