Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Disney's most ambitious video game initiative ever, Disney Infinity introduces an all-new game universe where a spark of imagination unlocks a fantastical world where players have unprecedented freedom and endless opportunity to create stories and play experiences starring the beloved characters from Walt Disney and Pixar Animation Studios' most popular franchises. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    88
    There are endless amounts of hours waiting for kids in Disney Infinity's worlds. If kids want to build worlds, boom. If kids want to play adventures, boom. If kids want to spend time with each other and share Toy Box creations, boom. There's so much in one package that younger gamers will absolutely have a blast with it. It literally has everything for them and it's a worry-free environment to play in. What more could you ask for as a parent from a single game?
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    83
    Overall, Disney Infinity is an enjoyable and creative experience for the whole family. Is it perfect? Not at all. It's a little too unpolished as compared to a game like Skylanders Giants or LittleBigPlanet, and I’m not a fan of the pricing scheme for the retail add-ons.
  3. Oct 3, 2013
    80
    There's something in Infinity for everyone (although there's slightly more for your kids.) [Nov 2013, p.74]
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    78
    A Toy Box, one that is plenty full of possibilities. That's Disney Infinity. At last, Disney made a game that is really worthy of carrying the title Disney on the cover. It's a shame that the model requires to buy extra figures to play coop, or the way we have to discover all the items for the Toy Box mode, but the three universes of this starter pack and the creation mode, alongside with the quality of the figures, captures the Disney magic and will throwback us, the older ones, to our childhood, because that is what Disney can do best. Right now, one of the best experiences for kids, but one that could be expensive with the expansion/coop packs.
  5. Sep 12, 2013
    74
    Disney Infinity is a family-oriented production, specifically aimed for children, who will enjoy both the different characters and interactive scenarios. It's a notable product, and a recommendable children's game.
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    70
    Disney Infinity is a good way to use and play with the most famous Disney's IPs. The problem is that the game has an economic model too aggressive, that pushes you to spend lots of money to have an off-line co-op mode and more objects to use in your Toybox. Another problem is that the new characters don't affect the game: all the cutscenes and the missions are packed for the main creature, showing little polishing of the game. Is still a good way to play with your friends or relatives, if you are rich enough.
  7. Sep 6, 2013
    60
    Disney Infinity is a Skylanders-like which adds a nice extra creative dimension through the "Toy Box". Unfortunately, we have to spend a lot of time in a not so exciting adventure mode to fill this toy box with interesting things... and of course buy a lot of figures and Power Discs in a real toy store!

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    I have a 4 year old and she LOVES the game. Toybox? She loves running around and exploring and just hanging out in the game with her cousin or myself. Play sets? Sure she doesn't get the whole quest thing, but she sure as heck still loves to play it, just to hang out in the settings. In Lone Ranger she even found a little ranch and brings all the horses there and just rides them. So rather than rate the game down and complain that she doesn't get the game, I'll rate it up for keeping her interested and having fun despite not getting the quests.
    My 8 year old niece gets the quests a bit more. She loves playing as the different characters and battling the enemies in both the Toy Box and Play Sets. She understands how to build her own toy box sets, and loves just wandering around finding cool places in the toy box and just killing the randomly spawning bad guys. Both girls love naming off all the characters from the movies as they see them.
    I love the game too. As an avid gamer, I have fun on mostly anything I can climb. I'm building a huge Toy Box climbing and spelunking area to explore with the kids. I also built my daughter a hidden castle that she LOVES. Not having all the pieces to start with limits my creativity a bit, but it also lets me get more familiar with what I do have. Having all the pieces would be a bit overwhelming to start with. This way I build the basics I want and as I unlock more, the whole thing gets more diverse instead of me just using my favorite pieces. It works out well when you get into it. There are also lots of memorable sights, like the matterhorn, the cave of wonder, the sword in the stone and Scrooge's Money Bank.
    The play sets are great too. I've played the Incredibles playset, which has lots of buildings to climb and all that. The quests are a bit bland here, but there's lots of fighting and lots of buildings to climb. There are also cars and lots of challenges to go around here. The area is initially small, but quickly gets bigger as you get into it. The Lone Ranger set is more about adventure and exploring. Slightly less enemies here, but there are cliffs to climb, there's a train and the area gets bigger as you progress. Plus there are horses to ride around on. The other set I've played is the Cars play set. Also, excellent. Obviously lots of places to race around, do jumps and all that. I haven't gotten much into the quests here yet, and there haven't been any creeps to smash.
    We have all the toy pieces to go with the game, but they're largely optional. With just the starter box, you get 3 characters, each with a play set. I would recommend at least the villain or sidekick pack (another $25) just to be able to play two players. The power discs (both shapes) are totally optional. The Circle Discs provide bonuses such as damage up and XP up. The hex discs are for Toy Box only and usually provide cosmetic things, but can also give new items (Mickey's Car, Cinderella's Carriage). The Lone Ranger play set is FAR exceeding my expectations and I have to recommend it because of that. The downside to the Lone Ranger set is there are only 2 characters for it. Other sets have 3-5 for them.
    Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    It's probably the best video game ever made for kids. I am not a kid, but I have a brother who is a kid and he likes it very much. Especially, he likes Tonto and Jack Sparrow. As I do too!! But I do not play with them. I only like them!!! Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2014
    8
    Infinity is one of those games that could unleash an amazingly fun franchise, it’s one of the few games that I can enjoy alongside with my 7 and 3 yr old. The play sets aren’t nearly as entertaining for me as they are for the 7 yr old, but the ability to create an endless array of maps/ worlds that we can enjoy together is utterly fantastic.

    However my biggest complaint about Infinity doesn’t have anything to do with the game in it’s current form, it’s how I believe they’ll continue to roll out. In my opinion the best possible solution for growing Infinity isn’t by releasing a new disc every year, the disc is merely the key to access all of the content, it isn’t like Skylanders where the disc is the story based game… With Infinity the disc is the access key to unlocking the content (playset games, add on content, etc…) that could/ should made available as DLC and then accessed by purchasing the appropriate playset piece’s. Currently we do not own all of the characters or even the playsets, even though we’d love to have our own light sabers in game… to purchase it all would be an expense that we have to space out piece by piece. However if we weren’t forced to make the initial $60 investment, we would most certainly own all of the pieces by now.

    Focusing on releasing the DLC content and maintaining wave based releases (of the toybox characters (which could be later expanded to playset), playset pieces/ characters, and the power discs) could make for a far more profitable endeavor for Disney and a more enjoyable experience for players of all ages.
    Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2013
    6
    This game gets an average score from me. Its not amazing, not great, not and doesn't suck. Its average in between both bad and good. The good aspects of this game is its fun and has a nice storyline. The bad aspects are the graphics are quite sluggish, the gameplay should be improved and also you can just be alive at the place whenever u die at the same point. The game's also quite not realistic. Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    6
    Infinity is, at best, a mediocre game. I have three girls ages 9, 7, and 5. We are all skylanders fans and have been looking forward to this game for at least a month now. It can be best summed up as an attempt as a mix between Little Big Planet and Skylanders but it falls short when compared to either.

    The game is broken up into "playsets" and "toy box" mode.

    The playsets are sub-par video game experiences. My 2 younger daughters don't understand the concept of "find the guy with a icon above his head and do what he says". Levels are very open and becomes easy for them to get lost. My oldest daughter becomes quickly bored. The quests are tedious and dull. "go to X and do Y to Z" or "collect X number of Y tokens" make up the bulk of the quests. I frequently have to take over for them to help them progress through the playset. The much prefer to just randomly roam around the map. So far we have played the 3 playsets that have come with the game and they all get dull quickly. I've purchased the Cars and Lone Ranger sets but will likely save those for birthdays or other special events as a reward.

    The Toy Box mode is where they apparently put their focus but collecting the required pieces to build a level requires a random spin. Collecting more spins requires you to play through the playset content or grind through the maps searching for free spins. It will take a serious investment of time before we will have all the pieces needed to build a decent level.

    Menus are difficult to navigate for my 5 and 7 year old. Most choices also require a yes/no confirmation. That can be frustrating when kids are still learning to read. Simply loading a game in progress requires help from daddy. My 9 year old just wants to build levels and have random fun in the toy box mode but is limited by the controls (how do i choose the magic want again?) and the limited availability of pieces.

    There is no easy jumping in and out of online multi-player like in Little Big Planet. Online play requires an official invite from someone, normally from a pre-existing friends list. A big attraction of LBP online play was bumping into another random kid when choosing a random level.

    The only comparison I can make with Skylanders is that they both require a physical toy. Skylanders is much more of a fun action-oriented game and requires little understanding going in. Infinity requires you to pay attention to a text dialog box or push the correct button for the compass to guide you to the correct place. Skylanders is much more intuitive and has an easier learning curve when playing single or multi-player levels.

    I regret spending as much as I did but I am hopeful that over time as more players create and distribute toybox maps it will be a better experience.
    Collapse
  6. Nov 3, 2014
    6
    Disney Infinity offers long but dragged out playsets with little innovation with more than five hours of missions and side missions, the toy box mode is innovative and fun and the characters are fun to play as. The roster however is laughable along with the prices of the figures and starter packs. Support the PC version and look for character codes online for a cheap price on Ebay. Nothing more to say. It is slightly above average with the toy box mode as its number one selling point and the playsets, that put other fans....to sleep. RIP OFF OF SKYLANDERS, MINECRAFT AND LEGO! Wow. Just wow. However, Minecraft should take notes on Disney Infinitys fun and interactive TOY BOX mode. Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2013
    0
    Just another Disney failure. The lack of good gameplay, graphics, I could go on forever, is really sad. This game had so much potential, but lost it..

See all 11 User Reviews