Disney Universe PlayStation 3

Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
Buy On
  1. Oct 26, 2011
    82
    The fun platforming, inspired level design, and bevy of character suits all make this a game worth experiencing. Although the formula is a bit derivative, Disney Universe has such a unique style that you won't notice it that much.
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    80
    Disney Universe will give parents and kids alike a fun and enjoyable experience. Without the little ones, however, there's not much to be excited about.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    80
    Overall, Disney Universe is one of the more charming games to arrive on the PS3 this holiday season. The game never takes itself too seriously and manages to effective accomplish what it set out to do and that is please Disney fans. While the game may lack some depth, it makes up for its shortcomings with some enjoyable co-op gameplay, slick visuals and lovable characters.
  4. Nov 2, 2011
    80
    I think the best way to break Disney Universe down is like this: If you have kids aged nine or above they will no doubt get enjoyment from the game, especially in co-op, but the repetitive nature of the levels will start to grind a couple of hours in. If your kids are younger though there's a good chance they will think this is the best thing ever.
  5. Nov 2, 2011
    80
    Disney Universe may be a calculated copy of the most prominent features in the LittleBigPlanet series and the LEGO games, but who cares when it's this fun? Not to be played alone, this game shines when experienced with another person, preferrably a younger family member.
  6. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Without its surreal mix of worlds and characters, Disney Universe would be little more than a fun, but forgettable LEGO game rip-off. However, with enough charm and personality to fill Cinderella's Castle, it's hard not to recommend it to those who make annual treks to Disneyland or catch every Pixar flick on opening day. If that doesn't describe you, but you're an adult looking for a fun interactive romp to take with your kids, Disney Universe is still a great place to visit.
  7. Oct 28, 2011
    80
    A fun-filled affair, that more than compensates for its simplicity with strong multiplayer support and creative level design. A great title for all the family to enjoy together.
  8. Oct 25, 2011
    80
    The ideal family game. It's quick and simple, but has charm, character and inventive little puzzles galore.
  9. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jan 2, 2012
    75
    This is a pretty good platformer, but we are appalled about how shamelessly Disney rips of LittleBigPlanet. The characters you play with look exactly like Sackboys. A nice touch: you can dress them up with all kinds of costumes from the Disney-universe. [December 2011, p.97]
  10. Nov 11, 2011
    75
    We finished this game in around 10 hours that I must admit was a very fun experience. It was nice interacting with all these Disney characters again (sort of) and although it's not the most original game, it's content, story and characters definitely makes up for its lack of originality.
  11. Nov 7, 2011
    75
    A game specifically designed for the youngest ones from the family. Charming, well produced and full of Disney magic. However, the content feels a bit short and sometimes the game is too obsessed with helping, disrupting the natural flow of the enjoyment with it.
  12. Oct 25, 2011
    75
    My expectations simply were too high. Disney Universe is a solid platformer but has nothing to justify the Disney in its name. For kids it's good fun, but gamers will find it lacking in variety, flair and themes.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    Disney Universe is a really fun game! I'm 31 years old and it's an excellent platformer when you need a break from killing people in FPSDisney Universe is a really fun game! I'm 31 years old and it's an excellent platformer when you need a break from killing people in FPS games. The game has a lot to offer with a ton of Disney-themed levels. I've been having fun playing it and definitely recommend it. Only cons I can think of are I wish you could control the camera with the right analog stick and it would be nice to switch costumes on the fly. Other than that, great game for kids and adults! Full Review »
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    8
    Great affordable fund multi-player platforming game to play with your kids. I wish there were more games like this that I could cooperativelyGreat affordable fund multi-player platforming game to play with your kids. I wish there were more games like this that I could cooperatively play with my son that don't require blood, guts, foul language or killing people. Overall very fun gameplay experience. I like that all of the classic Disney and Pixar franchises appear in this game. Kids will get a kick out of that, especially with the ability to dress as their favorite characters. Full Review »
  3. Apr 8, 2012
    7
    I bought Disney Universe to play with my 6 year old daughter. She loves it and can't get enough. I too have enjoyed the time I've spentI bought Disney Universe to play with my 6 year old daughter. She loves it and can't get enough. I too have enjoyed the time I've spent playing with her. The game isn't challenging as there is no punishment for dying, so it's perfect for the younger members of the family. The graphics are cute and crisp. The controls are nothing special but they do their job. The gameplay can be quite chaotic and there are ample chances to stitch over other players for extra coins. Good, clean fun! If you have kids in the 6-10 year bracket, I can heartily recommend this game. If you have kids over 10, however, then you should probably knock a point off the score for each successive year. If you are thinking about playing Disney Universe as a viable single player experience... well, uh... There might be a place for that but certainly not in this lifetime. Full Review »