User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 42
  2. Negative: 7 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    5
    Sony passed this for the PSN with its $10 price tag!.. Dota2 is free to play... whats happening? Whilst triple A titles are going free to play flash games are starting to cream fat stacks? The world is a crazy place homes!..
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    I'm pretty bored of normal fighting games, have been for a long time. Thank you for bringing some fun, funny, and refreshing to the table. It might not last the longest, but its really just fun to pick up and play with a few peps and have an enjoyable time with.
  3. Aug 20, 2013
    8
    Divekick is just one of those simple gems that is incredibly fun to play with friends, pretty much anyone can pick it up and just start playing. Granted you can get really good at this but since it's not hard to master, people can catch up quickly.

    Unlike other fighting games, Divekick only features two buttons but still has a lot of depth. To be fair, Divekick's artstyle leaves much to
    be desired, I don't really mind the IOS/Flash style but something about the art just feels cheap. But games are about gameplay and it does not disappoint in that department in the least.

    + Easy to pick up
    + Amazing net code
    + Replay value up the ass
    + Nice character variety
    + Only costs10 bucks

    - Questionable art style
    - Soundtrack is kind of bland
    Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best competitive games ever. You won't be able to put it down if you play with friends. The netcode is super smooth so long as you play someone at 150 or less ping, as well.
  5. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Divekick is based on the fundamentals of all good fighting games: spacing, timing, execution, patience, mind games, and to a certain degree, execution. There are a lot of inside jokes that are about the fighting game community, and fighting games in general. However, you DO NOT need to understand these jokes to enjoy the game. If you're looking for a good time with friends or playing against strangers online, I guarantee you this game will not disappoint. Divekick seems like a simple game once you first touch it, but it gets more complex the more you play. Expand
  6. May 13, 2014
    7
    Great game to play versus friends, plain and simple. The single player is severely lacking though, as you can cut through the story with each character around ~15 minutes each if you are good enough with no incentive to replay anything. There's really not much else to do other than compete against friends a couple of times, and explore the rather limited moves of the roster with varying results. By no means a bad game of course, but the game is rather hollow. I would have rather paid $3 than $10. Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2013
    6
    I was sort of hyped to get this game, but the novelty wears off pretty quickly. The problem with the game is with the balance of the characters. If you just pick the players "Dive" and "Kick" you can have some fun and balanced matches, but if you pick all of the other random ones you can't help but feel like you have an extreme advantage or disadvantage depending on which character you choose. I was expecting most of the characters to play more similar to each other since the game has such a simple nature to it. Some might appreciate the fact that the characters are so dramatically different, I just feel that people might learn to exploit certain moves because they are so overpowered (have too much reach). It has its moments where it can be fun, but be warned that it's not meant to replace your favorite fighting game, it's more of a novelty than a full fledged game. At least you get the Vita and the PS3 version for the price of a single purchase. It might make for a fun party game. Either that, or people might insist that I just load up Street Fighter IV instead. Expand
  8. Aug 31, 2013
    10
    I dont understand all the proffessional critics reviews saying the hit boxes dont function properly, ive probably played as every character against every character by now and ive had no issue with missing hits, not even one time. Ive moaned to my friends that "i shouldve won" but always known inside it was a fair call, just argue for pride and banter. Maybe these reviewers dont understand the game. The feet are the only thing that can kill, i thought this would be an obvious point to the game, and unless anyone can show me a video to show otherwise, ill stand by it. anyway by gaming standards and enjoyment factor this is easily atleast a 9. giving it a 10 to counteract all the silly reviews of people i can only assume dont know what theyre doing. Expand
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. A fighting game with subpar graphics and just one attack (the rotating helicopter screwdriver kick... no just kidding, it is the dive kick) should not get more than 10/100, but it actually is pretty fun. When playing multiplayer. [October 2013 p.90]
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    65
    In the right environment and with the right people, Divekick offers some fun. But the lack of online lobbies drastically limits those opportunities. Like most novelties, the fun of Divekick is short-lived.
  3. Sep 5, 2013
    70
    It is unfortunate that there’s not a better single-player mode, and more unfortunate that Divekick’s cultural insensitivity can be downright cringe-worthy, but it’s still a successful experiment in simplified fighting.