DmC: Devil May Cry PlayStation 3

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1460 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 15, 2013
    4
    This is a bad game. When I first started it up the intro had me expecting a great experience. The games darker and stylish edge looked intriguing, and I was ready for the game to suck me in. But the moment I assumed control of Dante and battled my first enemy all optimism was sucked out of me. The combat just feels so lifeless and hollow, which is sad because it had the potential to be aThis is a bad game. When I first started it up the intro had me expecting a great experience. The games darker and stylish edge looked intriguing, and I was ready for the game to suck me in. But the moment I assumed control of Dante and battled my first enemy all optimism was sucked out of me. The combat just feels so lifeless and hollow, which is sad because it had the potential to be a thrilling experience because you have access to all your weapons at once and can switch between them at any time during combat which can lead to some pretty insane combos. But the combat just isn't fun and ruined the entire experience for me. On the plus side the game looks and sounds great, and the story is backed by fantastic voice acting. The story is interesting but ends on a dull note, and as for the new interpretation of Dante (oh, in case you didn't know, this is a reboot) I personally enjoyed his new style and personality. I really wanted to like this game, and honestly I was expecting to, but the boring combat brings down the whole experience. I liked the story, style, and the new Dante, they all just deserve a better game. Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    7
    This is a decent reboot. The audio and art design is great. Combat is good but controls can be confusing to remember sometimes. Towards the end the game gets pretty repetitive. Overall the game feels hollow and not fully fleshed out. Accessible to newcomers. The story reminds me of Batman Begins. It's like the rebirth of a superhero. The thing I loved most about the game was the over theThis is a decent reboot. The audio and art design is great. Combat is good but controls can be confusing to remember sometimes. Towards the end the game gets pretty repetitive. Overall the game feels hollow and not fully fleshed out. Accessible to newcomers. The story reminds me of Batman Begins. It's like the rebirth of a superhero. The thing I loved most about the game was the over the top zaniness in the game. I liked the soundtrack too. I felt it fit the game very well. Dante as a character is great. There's good voice acting. Bottom line: if you are looking for something different or over the top then you might enjoy this game, otherwise it probably won't be worth it to pick this up. Expand
  3. May 14, 2015
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  4. Jan 21, 2013
    5
    Been a fan of DMC since the very first game and heard this is a reboot not a sequel which disturbs me more then any thing. Its basically Saying yeah thoose old DMC games yeah they never really happend they are BS. Which is no need because DMC 1 was a great game even though it had a very lack luster story it didn't need a reboot. Well we got one any way and well might as well try and enjoyBeen a fan of DMC since the very first game and heard this is a reboot not a sequel which disturbs me more then any thing. Its basically Saying yeah thoose old DMC games yeah they never really happend they are BS. Which is no need because DMC 1 was a great game even though it had a very lack luster story it didn't need a reboot. Well we got one any way and well might as well try and enjoy it i mean it could be great could add more to the story right? well unfortunitly it abandons pretty much any thing resembling the first DMC's story for some thing more post modern i guess. having demons running the media and such stuff ... i dont know it was all kind of stupid to me.Then we have the new Dante oh dear god what have they done to you. Dante was once a cool looking swave, **** , cool , had a great one liner for ever thing kinda guy. Now he is a Emo looking dork who with every passing moment i just grew to despise more and more as the game went on . I mean its pretty bad when you just hate your main character but its like that with every one in the game though. They are all just lame and not well done. Though hating the main character isn't grounds for a terrable game though add on a crap story lame dialogue and the score is gona crumble a bit. Now for the gameplay with DMC is famous for ... Its pretty good . Its fast paced action pact and flows well like prevous DMC games for the most part outside of style rankings are freeking easy to rank up on . getting a SSS rank is not much of a challange now. The camera is good didnt have any trouble with it but ultimetly the problem with DMC is unlike prevouse DMC games since the story and characters feel so lame i just felt no reason to want to play this again after i beat it infact i felt more like going back to play DMC4 or DMC HD trilogy then wanting to play this again. which makes me glad i only rented it . Thats about where i would put this game at a rental and see what you think of it before you make any choice to purchase it. Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    C'Mon, boring and mediocre users at Metacritic. There's nothing wrong with the reboot of Devil May Cry. I saw it this morning on GameSpot and well...I agree what they are saying and critics definitely liked how the reboot inspires to the original DMC game in 2001. I played the demo and Capcom outdone themselves by recreating Dante and start to become a bad-ass all over the whole game. IfC'Mon, boring and mediocre users at Metacritic. There's nothing wrong with the reboot of Devil May Cry. I saw it this morning on GameSpot and well...I agree what they are saying and critics definitely liked how the reboot inspires to the original DMC game in 2001. I played the demo and Capcom outdone themselves by recreating Dante and start to become a bad-ass all over the whole game. If you wanna give out negative feedback to fans, make sure you don't understand what you're talking about. DMC is one of the best reboots to kick start 2013 and if you don't believe me, wait till the reboot of Tomb Raider comes out. Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2015
    6
    As a newcomer to the series, I thought the medium difficulty was just right.. I didn't get stuck during the game, but meanwhile it did get tense, especially during boss fights.

    The inventive unique grappling-hook-based platforming and the spectacular boss fights make me consider a higher score, but I think the core gameplay is too similar to its competitors, namely Bayonetta. I didn't
    As a newcomer to the series, I thought the medium difficulty was just right.. I didn't get stuck during the game, but meanwhile it did get tense, especially during boss fights.

    The inventive unique grappling-hook-based platforming and the spectacular boss fights make me consider a higher score, but I think the core gameplay is too similar to its competitors, namely Bayonetta. I didn't see any ideas and think "wow, they came up with THAT?!" because I've already seen variations of it in other games. Actually, the hook-flying-thing felt unique and fresh. Gotta hand that to the devs.

    The game's arenas have minimal variation in layout, it's most often just the same kind of basic arena setup with different background visuals, and it lacks the interaction with environment you find in some other games like Sleeping Dogs.. I think the game does excel as an ambitious whole, but it's still just 'above average' in regards to what you take away from the experience.
    Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2014
    6
    This was my first DMC game in the series, so I cannot compare it to previous chapters, but if you're looking for a spectacle hack'n'slash action, you cannot go wrong with this. Me personally, I prefer my games to be something more than just a circus style button mashing and annihilating hordes of enemies, so it's not really my cup of tea, but I enjoyed the ride nevertheless, I liked theThis was my first DMC game in the series, so I cannot compare it to previous chapters, but if you're looking for a spectacle hack'n'slash action, you cannot go wrong with this. Me personally, I prefer my games to be something more than just a circus style button mashing and annihilating hordes of enemies, so it's not really my cup of tea, but I enjoyed the ride nevertheless, I liked the angel/demon theme, even the story and especially the music was fantastic, atmospheric instrumentals by Noisia and ass-kicking Combichrist during battles to make your blood pumping. Honestly, soundtrack is easily the best part of this game. Framerate on PS3 was not ideal, but definitely playable. If I was 10 years old, I would probably love this game. 6/10 Expand
  8. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    As god is my witness, this game's the height of perfection. Instead of a once ugly duckling Dante with old white grandpa hair, we now have a beautiful brunette swan. Thanks to Capcom for truly reaching the pinnacle of utter perfection with this absolute masterpiece of a game. I've already taken my copies of DMC, DMC2, DMC3, and DMC4, put them in the trash, and now DmC, Ninja Theory'sAs god is my witness, this game's the height of perfection. Instead of a once ugly duckling Dante with old white grandpa hair, we now have a beautiful brunette swan. Thanks to Capcom for truly reaching the pinnacle of utter perfection with this absolute masterpiece of a game. I've already taken my copies of DMC, DMC2, DMC3, and DMC4, put them in the trash, and now DmC, Ninja Theory's stupendous reboot, sits upon the gaming throne in this hardcore gamer's domain. Expand
  9. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    I am not a fan of the franchise and, to be honest, I only played a couple of games back in the PS2 era and was immediately turned off by the difficulty level. Not that I don't appreciate a challenge, I do. But I think the DMC franchise just takes the idea of challenge a bit too seriously. Once I played the new DMC game demo I had the impression it would be a more accessible game andI am not a fan of the franchise and, to be honest, I only played a couple of games back in the PS2 era and was immediately turned off by the difficulty level. Not that I don't appreciate a challenge, I do. But I think the DMC franchise just takes the idea of challenge a bit too seriously. Once I played the new DMC game demo I had the impression it would be a more accessible game and decided to give it try. And yes, it is. It's not an easy game (though it might be easier than previous entries), but it's definitely friendly, meaning that I had a great time with it. Beautiful graphics, cool gameplay where you can link chains and chains of combos using different weapons and moves, nice hero and story (though a bit over the top for me). It's a very good game, no question about it and I cannot point a big reason why someone would not like to play it. Expand
  10. Jan 5, 2014
    8
    It is the biggest suprise I had in 2013 that this game is actually real good. When the game first was introduced I also was dissapointed. I did not like the look of the new dante and this game felt weird by the screenshots. Saw this for free as a ps plus member, thought I should give it a try and dont regret the decision after all.
    its slower than its predecessors and the missing lock on
    It is the biggest suprise I had in 2013 that this game is actually real good. When the game first was introduced I also was dissapointed. I did not like the look of the new dante and this game felt weird by the screenshots. Saw this for free as a ps plus member, thought I should give it a try and dont regret the decision after all.
    its slower than its predecessors and the missing lock on is a big down point but the possibility to fight with all weapons at the same time switching smootlhy during the fight is awesome. Like also the art style and the characters are not that bad either, altough they up vergil.
    It aint perfect but it is much better than I have expected.
    Expand
  11. Jan 26, 2013
    8
    So due to HMV threatening to close on me I rushed into the shop to try and spend my gift card. I wanted to use my gift card on Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch. But no luck. They hadn't had any brought in yet. So I decided i'd see if this was as bad as the "users" metacritic have said. Now I have played the game and can say that they are all a bunch of lying tw*ts. I'm guessing none ofSo due to HMV threatening to close on me I rushed into the shop to try and spend my gift card. I wanted to use my gift card on Ni no Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch. But no luck. They hadn't had any brought in yet. So I decided i'd see if this was as bad as the "users" metacritic have said. Now I have played the game and can say that they are all a bunch of lying tw*ts. I'm guessing none of them have played the game and based the whole thing on the "wig scene" and Dante's new look. This is the wrong way to look at the game. DmC is excellent. I don't give out 8's very often, but DmC deserves it. The game pumps you with adrenaline as you hack through enemys. The music is a big part of this along with the grading system. Yes, the enemys aren't as difficult as some of you "Hardcore" gamers would like. But, a massive but, the game uses a grading system that judges how diverse your combat technique is and gives you a score at the end judged on combat, time, death and your exploration of the world. Overall is a challenge as you need to keep the combat fresh, keep your timing and find the hidden treasure all quite compact together to get a decent score. This is what makes DmC special.
    While Ninja Theory might have been a bit rude to the fans, they do their own take on a beloved franchise and nail it. It is after all, THEIR OWN TAKE! If this was a new IP i'm pretty sure the User score would be a 9. Ignore the loony people who haven't played the game and listen to me.
    Expand
  12. ERB
    Aug 4, 2013
    9
    Actually In my opinion this game is pretty good and awesome.I like the story and game play.Why do you guys hate It?I don't get It it.But you guys who hate this game,I don't what to say It but you guys are wrong.This game is really cool.In my opinion this is one of the best DMC games I've ever played.
  13. Oct 12, 2013
    8
    DMC is a great hack and slash game, the art style is amazing and it kind of has a dubstep feel to it. The voice acting is great, the soundtrack is amazing, boss fights are really good. From having all those good things DMC also has its downfalls such as Ninja Theory changing Dantes and Vergils character models. DMC also focuses too much at talking and forcing you into Limbo. During someDMC is a great hack and slash game, the art style is amazing and it kind of has a dubstep feel to it. The voice acting is great, the soundtrack is amazing, boss fights are really good. From having all those good things DMC also has its downfalls such as Ninja Theory changing Dantes and Vergils character models. DMC also focuses too much at talking and forcing you into Limbo. During some parts in the game it almost feels like Ninja theory is trying to disrespect the first four games, it just seems like Ninja theory dosint give a crap about the Devil May Cry fanbase. The reason i call the new Devil May Cry DMC is because this is not a Devil May Cry game to me, its just a great knockoff. Th ending is pretty unexpected, although i should've expected what Virgil does. I think Capcom is trying to disrespect Devil May Cry just like they did to Mega Man. Expand
  14. Jan 14, 2014
    6
    Sit back and enjoy the story and graphics - and the graphics are stunning.

    I haven't been so awestruck by swirly colourful graphical beautifulness since Bayonetta. I'm rubbish at fighting games. My reactions are slow and I can't remember the keypress sequences. In DMC thats OK because its easy(ish) on the lower difficulty levels. It took me about 14 hours to complete with lots of
    Sit back and enjoy the story and graphics - and the graphics are stunning.

    I haven't been so awestruck by swirly colourful graphical beautifulness since Bayonetta.

    I'm rubbish at fighting games. My reactions are slow and I can't remember the keypress sequences. In DMC thats OK because its easy(ish) on the lower difficulty levels. It took me about 14 hours to complete with lots of fairly random button hammering. You need to learn the jumps, but the rest you can leave to chance. If your kids are watching then just thell them its on uber hard difficulty and pretend all your lucky killer moves are deliberate.

    Overall I still preferred Bayonetta, but DMC was a blast.
    Expand
  15. Feb 4, 2013
    9
    This Devil May Cry reboot is a stylish return to form for the titular demon slayer. With his attitude and arrogance, Ninja Theory's depiction of Dante is fresh and contemporary. Fans might hate the direction Dante has taken, with his boyish good looks and the outward perception that he's just a by the numbers pretty boy. But the craft behind the elegant level design and the slick combatThis Devil May Cry reboot is a stylish return to form for the titular demon slayer. With his attitude and arrogance, Ninja Theory's depiction of Dante is fresh and contemporary. Fans might hate the direction Dante has taken, with his boyish good looks and the outward perception that he's just a by the numbers pretty boy. But the craft behind the elegant level design and the slick combat ensures that this is a distinguishable entry from Capcom's pure juggernaut. There are bouts of iffy platforming, rote boss battles and uninteresting character design, but these all pale under the immensely detailed world that has been bestowed. Beautiful, fresh and badass, Ninja Theory has reinvigorated Dante with a great action game to start the year off in style. Expand
  16. Jan 16, 2013
    3
    Do not listen to payed review sites this is the worse DmC ever created. The game is shallow with repetitive combat and with a lame story for 15 year olds.
  17. Oct 17, 2014
    7
    DmC: Devil May Cry

    Game-play:The game play of this game is very good with fast combos and lot of weapons with the new weapon select system that is great and fast but the game is easy very easy even in the hardest difficulty level and the boss fight are not that good as it was on the original Devil May Cry. Story:The story is fun and interesting the only thing that ruins the story of
    DmC: Devil May Cry

    Game-play:The game play of this game is very good with fast combos and lot of weapons with the new weapon select system that is great and fast but the game is easy very easy even in the hardest difficulty level and the boss fight are not that good as it was on the original Devil May Cry.

    Story:The story is fun and interesting the only thing that ruins the story of this game is the character development that sucks the Dante have nothing in common with the classic Dante the only female in the game Kat is uninteresting and the Virgil one of my favourite characters in the original sucks as well.But the reboot in decent it gives us some completely different story from the original and that is partly good,it will keep you about 7 to 8 hours.

    Graphics:I do not thing that the graphics in this game are so special.

    Notes:I hate Dante's new look and the biggest mistake that i think this game done is the completely change look of the ebony and ivory the two bad ass pistols.you should buy this game if you are a hack n slash fun especially when it get a price drop.
    Expand
  18. Mar 24, 2017
    9
    It seems this DmC is in between love and hatred. Well, I belong to the first group; I really enjoyed it, as well as the DLC (in which you can play as Vergil and I highly recommend).

    At first I thought the game was just going to be an insult to the original Devil May Cry, with this fake adolescent Dante. However, I did not have to play too much to realize that the new design actually
    It seems this DmC is in between love and hatred. Well, I belong to the first group; I really enjoyed it, as well as the DLC (in which you can play as Vergil and I highly recommend).

    At first I thought the game was just going to be an insult to the original Devil May Cry, with this fake adolescent Dante. However, I did not have to play too much to realize that the new design actually fits and that the storyline is plausible in relation to the other games. More importantly, DmC is a very good beat 'em' up game; gameplay is addictive and there are a significant variety of settings, weapons and possible combos to perform.

    With prejudices, DmC cannot be enjoyed nor regarded as it truly is. Leaving differences with the other games and some minor mistakes aside, DmC is an excellent action video game per se.
    Expand
  19. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    No se enojen conmigo por una opinión personal pero... Para mí "DmC" es un juego fenomenal y divertido. Se notan cambios menores, pero el juego de Ninja Theory es, para mi gusto la tercera mejor entrega de Devil May Cry y, además me agradó revivir la experiencia que lo empezó todo desde la primera y mejor entrega.
  20. Apr 8, 2016
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There hasn't been a more divisive reboot in gaming in quite some time. There are some legitimate concerns some have with this reboot but for the most part I think Ninja theory's reboot was good but not without its flaws.
    Game play:
    The combat is still as smooth as ever. It is true that the combat has been streamlined to fit a wider audience but it is still deep an fun to execute combos as before. Dante has access to demonic and angelic weapons as well as his sword Rebellion. Some enemies can only be hurt by certain weapons. For example, the red enemies can only by demonic weapons and blue enemies can only be hurt by demonic weapons. It does give the player an incentive to use all of the weapons at your disposal but it limits combat variety. The lack of a lock on feature can be really difficult to maneuver when there is a lot of enemies The game has a steady difficulty curve as it goes on with a range of enemies that look similar to the dolls from Alice the Madness Returns. The platforming has been vastly improved over the previous entries although it is simplistic it is thrilling to grapple on the platforms. The color palate really makes this game as the art department really outdone themselves. One thing that hasn't be utilized outside of the final battle with Virgil are the boss battles. They rely on one strategy to win and they can be easier to beat than the ninja sub bosses. They do show the distinct personalities that the franchise is known for and the fight with Bob Barbas may lack in depth but it makes up for it in visual flourish.

    Story:
    The most controversial part of the story is the new portrayal of Dante. His design reflects the current trend of Western youth culture much like how the old Dante is a representation of the Japanese youth culture. He pails in comparison to his classic counterpart but I found the new Dante to be a compelling character in his own right. He starts with a sense of apathy but eventually learns to respect humanity after falling in love with Kat who is a Wicca who teleports him to limbo during missions. She may not be the most interesting love interest like Lady or Trish but I cared enough about her to not want any harm to be done her. I have mixed opinions about the depiction of Vergil. On the one hand we see more of his fraternity with Dante before their inevitable fight but he lack a sense of honor that the original envelops. The infamous trad off scene really shows this as he shoots the fetus from Lilith (I'm sorry reboot or not its just wrong to see Vergil use a gun). He then lets the loss of her baby sink in before shooting her in the head. The one character that really stood out was Mundus who enslaves the world though debt and the media The social commentary although very obvious does give profound statements about modern society despite the unsubtle nature of it. In conclusion this game is worth checking out but I completely understand why fans despise this game. The flaws also become more apparent when you play on higher difficulties which shows that a lock-on feature is needed.
    Expand
  21. Aug 19, 2016
    8
    Um jogo muito bom, mas esta muito ocidental, porem sua jogabilidade é boa, os personagens me agradaram, historia media, acho que essa nota esta muito legal
  22. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    Haters, can seriously just shut up. The fanboys will get extremely pissed about anything whether it be a film series (e.g., Star Wars) or a video game series like Devil May Cry. For god sakes, give it a try. Play through the game and you will see, this is one of the best action games to be released in a while. Heck, its better than most of the games which released in 2012. The new Dante isHaters, can seriously just shut up. The fanboys will get extremely pissed about anything whether it be a film series (e.g., Star Wars) or a video game series like Devil May Cry. For god sakes, give it a try. Play through the game and you will see, this is one of the best action games to be released in a while. Heck, its better than most of the games which released in 2012. The new Dante is absolutely amazing, sure he's more vulgar than the original Dante but that's what DmC is all about...its a REBOOT. Get over it. This game is amazing. Expand
  23. Feb 3, 2013
    7
    Played the originals they weren't to great, I like this one. No plot holes, minor glitches in combat (Which the original had.). Gritty, nice, new visualization and swearing. The end level fight (You will get it if you play it.) development still could have been eased into better. But still good weapons, good combat system.
    Pick it up give it a go. BTW original fanboys probably not for
    Played the originals they weren't to great, I like this one. No plot holes, minor glitches in combat (Which the original had.). Gritty, nice, new visualization and swearing. The end level fight (You will get it if you play it.) development still could have been eased into better. But still good weapons, good combat system.
    Pick it up give it a go. BTW original fanboys probably not for you, go complain all through the forums.
    Expand
  24. May 14, 2013
    9
    Devil May Cry is a Reboot/ remake to bring the series up to date as such it will and does not appeal to everyone for fans of the series most do not like it because gone are the puzzles of old and endless backtracking or grinding. Replaced with a faster more action orientated story based hack and slash hybrid shooter.

    The same production team who brought us Heavenly sword which was one
    Devil May Cry is a Reboot/ remake to bring the series up to date as such it will and does not appeal to everyone for fans of the series most do not like it because gone are the puzzles of old and endless backtracking or grinding. Replaced with a faster more action orientated story based hack and slash hybrid shooter.

    The same production team who brought us Heavenly sword which was one of the best early ps3 releases. Ninja Theory in my opinion have done an overall great job in creating a credible new version of the game Dmc. The new combat system works well for the most part but sometimes seems to suffer a missing animation frame and response time is different than previous titles. Although you soon get used too how the new version plays.

    Overall with sound trax from noisa, and Combi christ the music fits the game well and is great if youre a fan combi christ or noisa. the graphics are great and the game play switches smoothly from combat to cut scene and back again. The level design is high quality through out and you can see a lot of time has been spent on level design as now the levels are the puzzles as well. Most modern action games have a night club level in and the night club level in Dmc is about the best ive seen. since the nightclub in mass effect 3. Enemies are varied and many the boss battles are still great with all bosses having multiple health bars. there are 5 difficulties casual to very hard with more unlockable after that there are secret missions that you can use to farm gems to buy things in the main campaign too. there are online leader boards for each chapter and a bonus Bloody Palace which is hordes of enemies survive as many rounds as you can. Completion time 12 to 14hours on nephilim difficulty or above. So there is plenty of content and replayability. Over all a Great REboot and a game to try if you are new to the series or a fan of dante who likes the new style too
    Expand
  25. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    I played this game as part of the Instant Game Collection available for free to Playstation Plus members.

    This is the best game of its type I have ever played, period. I was completely surprised at how outstanding the quality of the game is and I highly recommend it. The graphics and art style are just fantastic, the sound and soundtrack compliment the gameplay really well, and the
    I played this game as part of the Instant Game Collection available for free to Playstation Plus members.

    This is the best game of its type I have ever played, period. I was completely surprised at how outstanding the quality of the game is and I highly recommend it. The graphics and art style are just fantastic, the sound and soundtrack compliment the gameplay really well, and the controls are just great. It has an engaging plot with twists that kept me interested throughout. I didn't find the gameplay frustrating in the least. I found that even in very highly populated fight scenes, enemies that weren't in camera view wouldn't attack from off screen. To be fair, once I realized this I was able to use it a few times to get through some tough fights by positioning the camera away from the tougher enemies while I widdled down the weaker ones, but the end result was a very fun experience. DMC is very accessible and I loved this game. Developer Ninja Theory's finest.

    The only trouble I find is that games in this genre continued to be priced, day one, for 60 dollars. There's a lot of competition these days from games that will keep players interested up to 100 hours and sometimes more. DMC, on the first playthrough, might take maybe about 15 hours. By comparison, Assassin's Creed games usually last about 30 hours for me, and Batman: Arkham City over 100 hours. So, it can be a hard sell - which is why I didn't pick it up when it came out and I suspect is the reason why others may not have. And it's a shame because a lot more people might have given the game a chance if it were priced better. Despite its quality, a game in this genre should not be priced at more than 40 dollars, but that's just my opinion. In any case, Playstaion Plus members can now play it for free. I'm really glad I got to play it and am eagerly looking forward to Ninja Theory's next game.
    Expand
  26. Mar 23, 2014
    8
    I had a lot more fun playing DMC than playing God of war Ascension ! Plateforming sections and control-issues aside, the game offer great movesets and weapons and really cool boss fights.
  27. Jul 2, 2013
    9
    DMC does nearly everything right. Cool graphics, very fast and motivating gameplay and great characters. I can't understand, why the old school- fans are crying about the new dante. Furthermore, the overall style of the game is just great. Did you even play it? Just do it. you will get some of the (graphically) best designed levels ever.
  28. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    "DmC is a brilliant title as it shows us how willing Video game journalists are to prostitute themselves for ad revenue, merchandise and review copies of games. Anyone who played one level would recognize the now crippled game play is a massive drop in quality from previous titles. From the way enemies take a minimum of 5 seconds to attack to the boss banter being things like **** you" and"DmC is a brilliant title as it shows us how willing Video game journalists are to prostitute themselves for ad revenue, merchandise and review copies of games. Anyone who played one level would recognize the now crippled game play is a massive drop in quality from previous titles. From the way enemies take a minimum of 5 seconds to attack to the boss banter being things like **** you" and " no **** you". The Plot is your typical masturbatory tale of how corporations are bad and evil with edgy little twists like the murdering of unborn children and brothers debating the length of their **** With all of the above in mind It seem ninja theory are the hero's we truly need to drag unscrupulous game journalists into the spot light and hopefully discover how they justify misleading and lying to consumers with claims that games such as DmC is anything near good.

    I give this game a 10/10 for the valuable service it provides. Oh metcritic users here's a fun game, view the other reviews of anyone who gave this a 10/10 cause they sure love ninja theory games and that's about it.
    Expand
  29. Dec 15, 2016
    8
    *Looks at all the negative reviews salty fanboys gave the game and laughs*

    Hahhh... fanboys are children. So, DMC is the newest controversial edition to the venerable Devil May Cry series, being a reboot of the classic hack and slasher. First thing's first, the game is not bad. At all. It does NOT deserve the 0s and 1s and 2s it gets from the children who hate it like the original
    *Looks at all the negative reviews salty fanboys gave the game and laughs*

    Hahhh... fanboys are children.

    So, DMC is the newest controversial edition to the venerable Devil May Cry series, being a reboot of the classic hack and slasher. First thing's first, the game is not bad. At all. It does NOT deserve the 0s and 1s and 2s it gets from the children who hate it like the original series was Jesus Christ or something. The game is actually pretty damn good, and I liked it a lot.

    First thing out of the way should probably be the character redesign for Dante, becoming an emo punk who drinks and has casual sex with whoever he wants and is generally a generic millennial. When the character redesign was shown with the announcement trailer, I hated it. Absolutely hated it. Not because it was different, mind, just because it was objectively **** terrible. The character looked god damn awful. Luckily the final design is less atrocious, and the character grew enough on me so that I don't exactly mind. Dante in this game DOES in fact have a character. He starts out as the aforementioned millennial but does grow into his role and becomes a lot better as time goes on, despite still cracking wise and sometimes making inappropriate jokes.

    The story I didn't mind, either. It's not anything super original, being demons brainwashing the human race through media and a contaminated energy drink. Basically the US before the Pentagon Papers were released, and arguably right now. However, major attention NEEDS to be drawn to the art direction. The levels are absolutely incredible, and are so unique I can't think of any other examples of certain levels in any other game. Going underwater to traverse an upside-down reflection of the city, a demonic night club with lights and music, and even a damn boss fight based on a news network inside a TV. It's so amazing and interesting to look at, throwing lights and colors in your face all the time.

    The bosses, speaking of, are equally awesome, and fit right at home with Devil May Cry's staple bosses. A huge demon baby pregnant with its own mother, a parody of Bill O'Rielley you fight while on the air, and a huge gross slug lady whose name of "Succubus" really doesn't fit. They are fun to fight and are multi-stage affairs that are big and bombastic and test your meddle, just like a good DMC boss should.

    Now, gameplay. I actually prefer this game over previous entries due to its streamlined combat system. Streamlined, however, in this case does not mean simple. You still have TONS of moves and abilities to work with, and the ability to switch weapons on the fly to continue combos and the ability to draw enemies to you or draw yourself to enemies to close distance make combat a breeze to learn, but rewards you immensely for mastering. I can string a death coil into overdrive into a demon pull then kicker into a trillion stab into a high time to roulette to angel pull to double up then another demon pull kicker down to a drop with Arbiter, keep an enemy suspended with bullets from Ebony and Ivory and perform an inverse rainstorm to meet the enemy, kick off them higher into the air and perform a normal rainstorm down before ending it all with a final helm breaker. All of that, absolutely flawlessly and no problem, and I can switch it all up any way I want. The combat works, and I originally lamented the lack of a lock-on, but really, it's rarely a problem.

    However, Devil Trigger in this game is dumb. It's REALLY dumb. Activating Devil Trigger throws all enemies up into the air, forcing you to jump up to meet them and only perform air combos, limiting what you can do, and sometimes it can throw enemies out of your reach, and it oftentimes makes it very difficult just to land hits. It's not a very good system compared to the much more powerful moves and move alterations you get from the previous games, which I would've preferred.

    Overall, the game is pretty great. It's stylish, it's flashy, it's in your face, and it's a damn great time. It's not perfect, but it's certainly not the garbage that fanboys would have you believe. I play it a lot more than the original series, I can tell you that... but that's mainly because I can't play the originals anymore since I'm so used to the combat system of this one...
    Expand
  30. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    The game is a fun game that allows for a multitude of combinations for various different combos in combat , its always thrilling when that SSS is on the screen for the whole fight ! This game in essence I think is great and really captures the essence of a good action game and should not be so throughly deteste by fans of the original Devil May Cry (2001) it is a solid entry and does itsThe game is a fun game that allows for a multitude of combinations for various different combos in combat , its always thrilling when that SSS is on the screen for the whole fight ! This game in essence I think is great and really captures the essence of a good action game and should not be so throughly deteste by fans of the original Devil May Cry (2001) it is a solid entry and does its best to encoporate some of the combat elements of the original whilst reinventing itself. Why would Ninja Theory reboot it if they weren't going to change anything it would be absolutely pointless. Nonetheless there are a multitude of Pros and Cons for the game but overall I think this game is a well rounded game with a strong combat style, art style and will appeal to teenage audiences especially due to its new angsty thematics.
    Gameplay: 8.5 - Fluid (although not 60 fps) and fun combat with a nice variety to the way you can take the enemies out, it might not be the hardest game in the world but that's why you should aim for the top in terms of scores.
    Graphics and Presentation: 9: The new graphics and presentation style prove themselves to not just been some gimmick tacked on, as the world around you effectively becomes a part of the overarching narrative, and even if the story isn't perfect the voice acting is of a higher standard en general than in the previous devil may cry games. Lasting Appeal: 8.0: The game will last you an adequate amount of time in between all its challenges, score chasing and your first proper run through of the story to unlock stuff it will last you a long enough time if you let it! Summary: DMC offers a fresh take on a much beloved franchise, but I can't help but feel if these gameplay was implemented into a Devil May Cry 5 with the original Dante that this would have a higher user score - story aside and character design aside this is one of the best in the series... period.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    80
    If nothing else, DmC is sure to entertain with many hours of button hammering, fizzing combat. However, the experience as whole has hugely benefitted from a reboot and those who are familiar with the series will appreciate the new features and relish the opportunity relive Dante’s origin story. DmC, as a combat driven action title has held together the soul of the franchise, while enhancing all in-game features to create a unique experience for everyone.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Mar 14, 2013
    87
    Ninja Theory deserves credit for not only delivering smooth combat and telling an entertaining story, but also for crafting detailed character models without lip-synch errors, who show real emotion and wear clothing that moves along with them. This is what a 2013-game should look like. [February 2013, p.72]
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    Ninja Theory are calling the DMC shots now and they're doing it well. The fighting mechanics are a little bit easier to master and perhaps not as deep as before, but on the other hand the storytelling is improved with skillfully crafted cutscenes. Put up with a rather dull introduction and you're in for a great game.