Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1338 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a society infused with demons, only The Order can, in Platonic style, see the world as it truly is. Join Dante in this stylish action experience; chain together multiple combos with flair and send the demonic spawn back to hell – reveal the truth behind the lies. Delve into Dante’s darkIn a society infused with demons, only The Order can, in Platonic style, see the world as it truly is. Join Dante in this stylish action experience; chain together multiple combos with flair and send the demonic spawn back to hell – reveal the truth behind the lies. Delve into Dante’s dark past confronting some the most familiar faces in the DmC universe. Harness unimaginable powers combined with Dante’s notorious arsenal of weapons: sword, scythe, axe, pistols and more. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    100
    Whether you're a longtime fan (with an open mind) or a total newcomer just looking for a solid character action game, it's hard to imagine anyone feeling overly dissatisfied with this new game.
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    A reboot is a chance to revitalize a flagging series, and Ninja Theory has done that with a striking vision for the DMC universe and top-notch combat.
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    When you turn off your brain and let your intuition take over, you become one with Dante in a wild and seductive game you just want to play over when it finally ends.
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    85
    It should be noted, with a certain severity, that the 360 version is clearly superior in this pair. Its PS3 counterpart struggles to keep a steady framerate which is sadly characteristic of PS3 games running on the Unreal Engine.
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    Ninja Theory are calling the DMC shots now and they're doing it well. The fighting mechanics are a little bit easier to master and perhaps not as deep as before, but on the other hand the storytelling is improved with skillfully crafted cutscenes. Put up with a rather dull introduction and you're in for a great game.
  6. Jan 15, 2013
    80
    This is a title that gets most of the important parts right when it comes to an action game. It makes you feel like a bad arse, thanks to the cool-looking combat and easy-to-produce combos, but remains deep to allow people to delve into the system and pull off some wild moves.
  7. Jan 14, 2013
    70
    It's certainly not without its issues, and at this stage in a generation you feel like a game should probably be wielding more graphical clout, but the game's combat more than makes up for it. It's simply brilliant, and you can have a lot of fun trying out the different options it presents you. Once Dante's picked up every weapon there's simply so much available to you, and it's what sets the game apart.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Quite simply one of the best games of the generation. Relentlessly fast-paced action with cool, relatable characters that will make you laugh,Quite simply one of the best games of the generation. Relentlessly fast-paced action with cool, relatable characters that will make you laugh, cry and cheer. Dante, our main character, is an edgy, memorable individual who doesn't care about anyone but himself. This makes him an outcast that anyone who's ever had a bit of a 'loner' streak about them will instantly relate to. Have you wanted to scream at the world to *bleep* off? Then this is a character for you. Virgil is anything brilliantly written character, seemingly a cool, calm and collected person he later shows a darker side in his pursuit for freedom. Much like a roller coaster, this ride isn't for children and pregnant women. Only mature gamers such as myself should go on this white-knuckle adventure through purgatory! You would be doing yourself a massive disservice by not buying this game (which has some DLC I already can't wait for!) because of some entitled individuals who can't see the woods for the trees due to their blind rage over something that is different from what they are used to. Give this game a chance. Expand
  2. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    Wow, there's a lot of people hating on the game, calling BETRAYAL and stuff. To me DMC 4 was an awful installment of the series. And it wasWow, there's a lot of people hating on the game, calling BETRAYAL and stuff. To me DMC 4 was an awful installment of the series. And it was obvious, that they need to do something different with next DMC. They did! And OMG its a great game. I love the Dante character. His jokes were top notch and i've found his one-liners awesome. I love the turn the game makes in story department, cause, lets be serious, DMC franchise doesent made any sense. While this one is an awesome start for new DMC. Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    Fanboys need to cease an desist, because I can't take this drama any longer. This is a great game. It's very artistic, beautiful, and it'sFanboys need to cease an desist, because I can't take this drama any longer. This is a great game. It's very artistic, beautiful, and it's super fun. Please let's not judge a game because of the past. It's about the GAME. Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2013
    7
    I got some mixed feelings about the reboot of DMC. For being a 7 hour long brutal DMC is a highly recommendable HacknSlash-Title. But ifI got some mixed feelings about the reboot of DMC. For being a 7 hour long brutal DMC is a highly recommendable HacknSlash-Title. But if you're searching for a real DMC like me with the original Dante, then you're going to have some problems getting into the game. The setting is differs from the original as well as Dante himself, and somewhat it felt more like a Bayonetta than a DMC. After all I'm also a fan of the Bayonetta witch and I've been very entertained by it but it just felt like the right game in the wrong franchise. If you're just looking for some twisted action, you should definetly give DMC a chance and experience a seven Long story short: Devil May Cry is the best Bayonetta 2 that could`ve been. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2013
    4
    This is a bad game. When I first started it up the intro had me expecting a great experience. The games darker and stylish edge lookedThis is a bad game. When I first started it up the intro had me expecting a great experience. The games darker and stylish edge looked intriguing, and I was ready for the game to suck me in. But the moment I assumed control of Dante and battled my first enemy all optimism was sucked out of me. The combat just feels so lifeless and hollow, which is sad because it had the potential to be a thrilling experience because you have access to all your weapons at once and can switch between them at any time during combat which can lead to some pretty insane combos. But the combat just isn't fun and ruined the entire experience for me. On the plus side the game looks and sounds great, and the story is backed by fantastic voice acting. The story is interesting but ends on a dull note, and as for the new interpretation of Dante (oh, in case you didn't know, this is a reboot) I personally enjoyed his new style and personality. I really wanted to like this game, and honestly I was expecting to, but the boring combat brings down the whole experience. I liked the story, style, and the new Dante, they all just deserve a better game. Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2013
    2
    I will start with the positive, DmC is definitely an improvement over Enslaved. But that is the wrong game !

    The battle is generic hack en
    I will start with the positive, DmC is definitely an improvement over Enslaved. But that is the wrong game !

    The battle is generic hack en slash without a hint of challenge.
    It doesn't hold a candle to Bayonetta or DMC 4, let alone DMC 3.
    Instead of the dark, imposing gothic art direction you get the hipster version.
    Extremely immature dialogues.
    The gfx are worse than those of DMC 4.

    You can waste your money but you have been warned.
    Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    Jarring, amateurish, ill conceived rendition of an iconic franchise with shallow unbalanced and broken combat, insulting art style/design,Jarring, amateurish, ill conceived rendition of an iconic franchise with shallow unbalanced and broken combat, insulting art style/design, weak dialogue, story and voice acting.

    A truly terrible game with the Devil May Cry name added on to it. A shocking example of how not to handle Devil May Cry.
    Expand

See all 393 User Reviews