DmC: Devil May Cry PlayStation 3

DmC: Devil May Cry Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1466 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a society infused with demons, only The Order can, in Platonic style, see the world as it truly is. Join Dante in this stylish action experience; chain together multiple combos with flair and send the demonic spawn back to hell – reveal the truth behind the lies. Delve into Dante’s darkIn a society infused with demons, only The Order can, in Platonic style, see the world as it truly is. Join Dante in this stylish action experience; chain together multiple combos with flair and send the demonic spawn back to hell – reveal the truth behind the lies. Delve into Dante’s dark past confronting some the most familiar faces in the DmC universe. Harness unimaginable powers combined with Dante’s notorious arsenal of weapons: sword, scythe, axe, pistols and more. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    100
    Whether you're a longtime fan (with an open mind) or a total newcomer just looking for a solid character action game, it's hard to imagine anyone feeling overly dissatisfied with this new game.
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    A reboot is a chance to revitalize a flagging series, and Ninja Theory has done that with a striking vision for the DMC universe and top-notch combat.
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    When you turn off your brain and let your intuition take over, you become one with Dante in a wild and seductive game you just want to play over when it finally ends.
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    85
    It should be noted, with a certain severity, that the 360 version is clearly superior in this pair. Its PS3 counterpart struggles to keep a steady framerate which is sadly characteristic of PS3 games running on the Unreal Engine.
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    Ninja Theory are calling the DMC shots now and they're doing it well. The fighting mechanics are a little bit easier to master and perhaps not as deep as before, but on the other hand the storytelling is improved with skillfully crafted cutscenes. Put up with a rather dull introduction and you're in for a great game.
  6. Jan 15, 2013
    80
    This is a title that gets most of the important parts right when it comes to an action game. It makes you feel like a bad arse, thanks to the cool-looking combat and easy-to-produce combos, but remains deep to allow people to delve into the system and pull off some wild moves.
  7. Jan 14, 2013
    70
    It's certainly not without its issues, and at this stage in a generation you feel like a game should probably be wielding more graphical clout, but the game's combat more than makes up for it. It's simply brilliant, and you can have a lot of fun trying out the different options it presents you. Once Dante's picked up every weapon there's simply so much available to you, and it's what sets the game apart.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Quite simply one of the best games of the generation. Relentlessly fast-paced action with cool, relatable characters that will make you laugh,Quite simply one of the best games of the generation. Relentlessly fast-paced action with cool, relatable characters that will make you laugh, cry and cheer. Dante, our main character, is an edgy, memorable individual who doesn't care about anyone but himself. This makes him an outcast that anyone who's ever had a bit of a 'loner' streak about them will instantly relate to. Have you wanted to scream at the world to *bleep* off? Then this is a character for you. Virgil is anything brilliantly written character, seemingly a cool, calm and collected person he later shows a darker side in his pursuit for freedom. Much like a roller coaster, this ride isn't for children and pregnant women. Only mature gamers such as myself should go on this white-knuckle adventure through purgatory! You would be doing yourself a massive disservice by not buying this game (which has some DLC I already can't wait for!) because of some entitled individuals who can't see the woods for the trees due to their blind rage over something that is different from what they are used to. Give this game a chance. Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    haters gonna hate, but this game is another blockbuster, the fans support this, and this os what really matter, like call of duty and residenthaters gonna hate, but this game is another blockbuster, the fans support this, and this os what really matter, like call of duty and resident evil 6, many hate, many love Expand
  3. ERB
    Aug 4, 2013
    9
    Actually In my opinion this game is pretty good and awesome.I like the story and game play.Why do you guys hate It?I don't get It it.But youActually In my opinion this game is pretty good and awesome.I like the story and game play.Why do you guys hate It?I don't get It it.But you guys who hate this game,I don't what to say It but you guys are wrong.This game is really cool.In my opinion this is one of the best DMC games I've ever played. Expand
  4. Jan 23, 2013
    7
    This is a decent reboot. The audio and art design is great. Combat is good but controls can be confusing to remember sometimes. Towards theThis is a decent reboot. The audio and art design is great. Combat is good but controls can be confusing to remember sometimes. Towards the end the game gets pretty repetitive. Overall the game feels hollow and not fully fleshed out. Accessible to newcomers. The story reminds me of Batman Begins. It's like the rebirth of a superhero. The thing I loved most about the game was the over the top zaniness in the game. I liked the soundtrack too. I felt it fit the game very well. Dante as a character is great. There's good voice acting. Bottom line: if you are looking for something different or over the top then you might enjoy this game, otherwise it probably won't be worth it to pick this up. Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2013
    4
    first of all i really did want to like the game.. i guess. its not really a 0.0 game or a 1.0 heck even a 4.0..
    i did have fun?.. ( whatever
    first of all i really did want to like the game.. i guess. its not really a 0.0 game or a 1.0 heck even a 4.0..
    i did have fun?.. ( whatever i had it did produce a few smirks in my face) in my 8 to 7 hrs in this new DmC game. The combat is great tho i did really miss the lockon.. want to target those annoying flying *****ks while being swarmed by ground enemies with glowing crap all over them? well **** you, you cant! - Ninja Theory. but like i said the combat was fun and i did get a kick out of the combo systyem when i got all of dante's weapons. The platforming is also fun. loved the backgrounds and the art style of the whole game i just really really hate how dante is portrayed in this.. I miss the happy go lucky, thinks-everything-is-a-party dante.. he's currently replaced by this go-****-yourserlf-while-i-****-some-random-girls dante with snarky attitude and a weak excuse for a devil may cry leading woman kat. . jesus christ.. wtf did they do to vergil.. the ending is asenine. *SPOILERS* Vergil is defeated and he says "i loved you brother"... after attempting to kill dante.. his brother.. WTF?! *END SPOILERS* and this.. this is team ninja's attempt at a Shakespearean writing and story telling?! please do not listen to the morons telling you the story is good. its not even bad its **** thats what it is. all in all this was a good game tied to an immature ****s of a dev team that couldnt handle an iconic game character and ended up with changing him drastically to appeal to the hip young, swearing, casual sex loving teenagers of today. seriously i was going to score this a 6 but after all the **** team ninja said and done to me beloved series.. specifically the "wig" scene.. i would like to mail them a severed *fake* middle finger. i wont do this but im seriously
    pondering it.
    Expand
  6. Jan 18, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Characters:
    Dante - First of all - The new Dante starts his day by getting drunk and **** two whores. If you played any other game, you will see how the old one is starting the game. Dick jokes. Everyone is saying how both Dantes are using cheesy jokes. But the new Dante hardly has a sense of humor and when he jokes, he is doing it like a douche. He will never miss the chance to drop the f bomb and his obsession with Kat is simply annoying. He is not stylish like his predecessor who likes to ride rockets and drive Harley on vertical walls. Instead of being an anti-hero, Ninja Theory made a rebellious emotional teen.
    Virgil - He was a super bad ass in the previous games. He defeated Dante on several accusations. And now he was staying in his basement plotting and hacking the whole time. In mission 19 he looked just silly.
    Kat - While useful character she had no character depth ( beside the cliche stuff about her past en **** I am telling this because she was heavily dependant on either Dante or Virgil (not making any decisions of her own whatsoever.).
    Mundus - The lord of hell. The lord of hell who can destroy a whole city with one outburst is controlling the world through dept? And giving two turtle ****s about his hair? Was he sick or something? NO BECAUSE HE IS **** IMMORTAL!

    Story - This trend about making stuff about "real world problems" is just sick...leave video games alone god damn it. Movies, music and documentary films are enough as it is.

    Combat system - I played the game on Nephilim and I dont plan on playing on harder modes since I dont plantouching the game again. While visual appealing, the combat system does not have dept either. I am saying this because I can make ss and sss by simply pressing one button. If you involve more buttons you are making things easier. No lock on target system which leads to frustrations from time to time.

    On disc DLC - yeah.
    Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    Jarring, amateurish, ill conceived rendition of an iconic franchise with shallow unbalanced and broken combat, insulting art style/design,Jarring, amateurish, ill conceived rendition of an iconic franchise with shallow unbalanced and broken combat, insulting art style/design, weak dialogue, story and voice acting.

    A truly terrible game with the Devil May Cry name added on to it. A shocking example of how not to handle Devil May Cry.
    Expand

See all 414 User Reviews