Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1298 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a society infused with demons, only The Order can, in Platonic style, see the world as it truly is. Join Dante in this stylish action experience; chain together multiple combos with flair and send the demonic spawn back to hell – reveal the truth behind the lies. Delve into Dante’s dark past confronting some the most familiar faces in the DmC universe. Harness unimaginable powers combined with Dante’s notorious arsenal of weapons: sword, scythe, axe, pistols and more. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    100
    Whether you're a longtime fan (with an open mind) or a total newcomer just looking for a solid character action game, it's hard to imagine anyone feeling overly dissatisfied with this new game.
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    90
    A reboot is a chance to revitalize a flagging series, and Ninja Theory has done that with a striking vision for the DMC universe and top-notch combat.
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    When you turn off your brain and let your intuition take over, you become one with Dante in a wild and seductive game you just want to play over when it finally ends.
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    85
    It should be noted, with a certain severity, that the 360 version is clearly superior in this pair. Its PS3 counterpart struggles to keep a steady framerate which is sadly characteristic of PS3 games running on the Unreal Engine.
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    Ninja Theory are calling the DMC shots now and they're doing it well. The fighting mechanics are a little bit easier to master and perhaps not as deep as before, but on the other hand the storytelling is improved with skillfully crafted cutscenes. Put up with a rather dull introduction and you're in for a great game.
  6. Jan 15, 2013
    80
    This is a title that gets most of the important parts right when it comes to an action game. It makes you feel like a bad arse, thanks to the cool-looking combat and easy-to-produce combos, but remains deep to allow people to delve into the system and pull off some wild moves.
  7. Jan 14, 2013
    70
    It's certainly not without its issues, and at this stage in a generation you feel like a game should probably be wielding more graphical clout, but the game's combat more than makes up for it. It's simply brilliant, and you can have a lot of fun trying out the different options it presents you. Once Dante's picked up every weapon there's simply so much available to you, and it's what sets the game apart.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    Quite simply one of the best games of the generation. Relentlessly fast-paced action with cool, relatable characters that will make you laugh, cry and cheer. Dante, our main character, is an edgy, memorable individual who doesn't care about anyone but himself. This makes him an outcast that anyone who's ever had a bit of a 'loner' streak about them will instantly relate to. Have you wanted to scream at the world to *bleep* off? Then this is a character for you. Virgil is anything brilliantly written character, seemingly a cool, calm and collected person he later shows a darker side in his pursuit for freedom. Much like a roller coaster, this ride isn't for children and pregnant women. Only mature gamers such as myself should go on this white-knuckle adventure through purgatory! You would be doing yourself a massive disservice by not buying this game (which has some DLC I already can't wait for!) because of some entitled individuals who can't see the woods for the trees due to their blind rage over something that is different from what they are used to. Give this game a chance. Expand
  2. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    If you want to play an old DmC, go ahead and get the HD collection and stop whining, if you're up for a wonderful new game the get this game, it's amazing how many people want the same old over and over. Ninja Theory has created some of the most stunning graphical games ever, like Heavenly sword or Enslaved, which are incredible, the combat is not frustratingly complex, its a bit more casual, the scenarios are amazing and the overall presentation of the game is great. To be honest, I was a great DmC fan, I finished all three first of them, but the fourth one, even tho it was amazingly well done, it was boring to the point that I just stopped playing it near the end, this one has a fresh story, characters and background, it makes you feel like its an evolution of the game rather than just another chapter. Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    First, let me present my relevant history. I am a fan of the original Devil May Cry series, having bought and played the first one on the PS2, and have every installment to date. I am also a fan of Ninja Theory's previous titles having played and enjoyed 'Heavenly Sword' and 'Enslaved: Odyssey to the West'. For my part I thoroughly enjoyed DmC, it is admittedly easier than its original predecessor but then so are most modern games, the combat remains intuitive, creative and entertaining. I found the story to be an improvement on previous titles, even if the ending was unfortunately something of a damp squib. Its use of modern circumstances are an interesting new take on demonic intervention in the affairs of man and it was more involved than 'random island, demon king trying to initiate the apocalypse (take my word for it), do much killing there please'; though I still enjoy the latter form of story. Also, I prefer the environments which are far broader and greater in variation, ranging from seaside piers to a modern office complex. Furthermore, the voice acting (asides from one notable instance) is greatly improved, contributing to the experience as does the effective use of motion capture technology. An initial run through will probably take around 7 and a half hours, however there are various secret missions to unlock within the game and I found myself compelled to play it over and over so as to unlock the various difficulty settings. In regard to what appears the single most divisive issue, the new Dante, I actually didn't mind him. I enjoyed his flippant, dead-pan one-liners and believed this version demonstrated stronger emotional connections with other characters than previous incarnations. In summary I enjoyed all aspects of this game and believe it to be more than worthy of the Devil May Cry series, even if it is noticeably easier than its original incarnation of 2001. I gladly recommend it to anyone with a general interest in the hack'n'slash genre and earnestly hope that a sequel is planned by Ninja Theory and Capcom, which, in my opinion, have proven themselves a formidable duo. Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2013
    7
    Let me start: this is not DMC. No, i'm not a fanboy and i'm not saying that because i don't like Dante's hair. The whole game changed. The personality of the characters has changed completely. Vergil is not even recognizable. The heavy metal still cool as ever, but this time has to share its place with annoying dubsteps. The game is a lot easier and friendly to casual players(normal mode). Where's that difficulty that made the other games so remarkable ? The dialogue is bad, i mean REALLY BAD. Everything that comes out of Dante's mouth is either unfunny or just vulgar (NT thinks that Dante has to say disgusting words to be cool). No clever writers on this one, definitely. The graphics are quite good, and the dynamic "set pieces" in the scenarios are well made. The gameplay has good flow. The main problem of the game is not its overall quality (because, don't get me wrong, its a damn good action game) but the fact that is so much different from the other ones. We only had one "perfect" DMC (DMC 3), then Capcom put a new character as protagonist in DMC 4 and then they sell the franchise. The action sequences in DmC haven't even 1/6 of the coolness from the action scenes of the old DMC games. The jokes in this new game are shamefully BAAD. Where Dante tried to be cool, he ended up being stupid or jackass. DmC is flashy and colorful maybe to compensate the fact that it's empty. What made the franchise stand out to this day it's the characters and their mannerisms, cool dialogues, the very creative action scenes and the incredibly fun hardcore gameplay. Most of those qualities ,unfortunately, are now gone but at least we still have a very good action game, nonetheless. Expand
  5. Feb 15, 2013
    4
    This is a bad game. When I first started it up the intro had me expecting a great experience. The games darker and stylish edge looked intriguing, and I was ready for the game to suck me in. But the moment I assumed control of Dante and battled my first enemy all optimism was sucked out of me. The combat just feels so lifeless and hollow, which is sad because it had the potential to be a thrilling experience because you have access to all your weapons at once and can switch between them at any time during combat which can lead to some pretty insane combos. But the combat just isn't fun and ruined the entire experience for me. On the plus side the game looks and sounds great, and the story is backed by fantastic voice acting. The story is interesting but ends on a dull note, and as for the new interpretation of Dante (oh, in case you didn't know, this is a reboot) I personally enjoyed his new style and personality. I really wanted to like this game, and honestly I was expecting to, but the boring combat brings down the whole experience. I liked the story, style, and the new Dante, they all just deserve a better game. Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2013
    2
    I will start with the positive, DmC is definitely an improvement over Enslaved. But that is the wrong game !

    The battle is generic hack en
    slash without a hint of challenge.
    It doesn't hold a candle to Bayonetta or DMC 4, let alone DMC 3.
    Instead of the dark, imposing gothic art direction you get the hipster version.
    Extremely immature dialogues.
    The gfx are worse than those of DMC 4.

    You can waste your money but you have been warned.
    Expand
  7. May 8, 2014
    0
    This game is great only if your not an fan to the series.Fans is all that mean for a game to still exist...soo yeah...this game doesn't have a lot of good terms in it like : the story is very poor ,common but interesting ; the characters are the worst thing of the game + the dialogue and the graphics are poor .. nothing impressive Expand

See all 387 User Reviews