Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 15 out of 21
  1. Jun 4, 2012
    46
    I like Supermassive Games' idea they had for Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock, but I think the execution fell far short of what they planned. Had they given the game a bit more time to cook, then it would have turned out far better. The 2D platformer genre worked well for this title, but it couldn't overcome the shoddiness of the finished piece and the frustration it creates.
  2. May 30, 2012
    45
    The gameplay is frustrating and not worth the time you'll spend on it.
  3. Jun 1, 2012
    40
    Unfortunately, any sustained period of time spent actually playing The Eternity Clock will leave you with a similarly desperate feeling. Doctor Who games have always set very specific problems.
  4. May 29, 2012
    40
    As the first part of a planned game trilogy, it ends on a cliffhanger, leaving plenty of room for the developers to improve future iterations. However, if this first outing is any indication, perhaps The Doctor isn't quite ready for primetime gaming yet.
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    35
    The Eternity Clock is a simple platformer rife with tacky bugs, abrasive puzzles, and timey-wimey guff.
  6. If you're a fan of the television show, you might feel an irresistible urge to buy the official game. Especially since the voice acting, music and motion capturing are all wonderfully executed. Unfortunately those are the only things this buggy platformer does right. [July 2012, p.93]
  7. Jul 10, 2012
    32
    Unforgivable bugs. [Issue#220, p.81]
  8. Aug 28, 2012
    30
    Otherwise The Eternity Clock is a buggy, forgettable game. Although this is the first in a proposed trilogy of new Doctor Who titles commissioned by BBC Worldwide, it feels as though it would have been better to focus the entire budget and creative ideas on just one, more refined game, than to release such an uninspired, tedious insult to the great Doctor's name.
  9. Jun 29, 2012
    30
    It's frustrating. More so because the easy bits are so repetitive and simple, while the tricky bits are random and insane.
  10. Jun 20, 2012
    30
    Doctor Who: The Eternity Clock is for the most devoted Doctor Who fans only, and even then we'd advise sticking to the TV series. There's enough in the series to pull together a decent game with the right approach, but we're going to have to wait a bit longer for that TARDIS-sized hole in videogames to be filled.
  11. May 31, 2012
    30
    Matt Smith does his best to salvage Doctor Who and the Eternity Clock and nearly pulls it off, but the gameplay is uninspired, dull, and painfully unfun.
  12. May 28, 2012
    30
    A monumental disappointment. What's been slated as the first mature Doctor Who game is actually a frustrating, dated example of how not to make a game of its genre. An excellent comprehension of the license is completely ruined by shoddy execution.
  13. May 28, 2012
    30
    Another failed Doctor Who tie-in, but one that's especially disappointing because of how much it gets right in terms of the dialogue and visuals.
  14. May 28, 2012
    20
    This game is beyond broken and almost entirely not fun, going from bad to worse as it progresses; it's nowhere near worth the asking price of £15 or so, nor the title of the series it is based on.
  15. May 28, 2012
    20
    The Eternity Clock is shambolic and underfed, even by the Timelord's previous low gaming standards.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    Having played the game on both PlayStation 3, and PC, I can say that this is definitely the inferior version. The game, particularly on PS3,Having played the game on both PlayStation 3, and PC, I can say that this is definitely the inferior version. The game, particularly on PS3, was rushed and many of the great parts of this game do not make up for the flaws of this game as well. I do, however, give it a 7/10 because I immensely enjoyed the game as a Doctor Who fan. I would however, recommend playing on PC as that is, by far, the better version of the game with a lot less bugs. Full Review »
  2. Jun 9, 2014
    10
    I'm probably the only person who loves this game. It's fun, it has a great plot and most importantly of all, it's faithful to the TV series.I'm probably the only person who loves this game. It's fun, it has a great plot and most importantly of all, it's faithful to the TV series. The voice acting is superb(as you would expect from Matt Smith and Alex Kingston and the graphics are incredibly well-detailed for a TV-based game.

    Although the choice of River Song as the second playable character is a bit bizarre, her levels give the game a sense of variety over the standard ones. Co-op is inspired and in-keeping with the TV series' format of the Doctor and companion travelling together.

    So yeah, I loved it. Not everyone hates this game.
    Full Review »
  3. May 25, 2012
    5
    I should have known. When the very first console game for Doctor Who was announced, I thought: â