Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Features a comprehensive 20 year career mode which is providing machinations of cricket off the field.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    87
    Easily the best cricket game of this console generation and possibly of any generation. Yes, this is very probably the finest cricket game ever made - though that's not really saying very much.
  2. 80
    While I fully acknowledge that Don Bradman Cricket 2014 isn't the finest sports game out there and isn't a patch on the production values of, say, FIFA, Madden or NHL games, it does generally play a good game of cricket, and this is the game that we fans of the sport have been waiting for, so with that in mind I'll reemphasise this; this is the greatest cricket game ever produced.
  3. It may not have any competitors, but it's one that is sure to impress fans. [May 2014, p.80]
  4. Apr 14, 2014
    68
    Big Ant should be commended for attempting to reinvent the cricket game experience and imbuing it with gameplay depth and fidelity unheard of in the genre to date, but there are just a few too many bugs and quirky design choices that hinder the overall experience.
  5. Jun 3, 2014
    60
    It is strong when it comes to emulating cricket, and gameplay mechanics are better than anything we've seen from cricket games over the last few years. However, the so-called "budget" feel that permeates the title detracts from an otherwise decent effort. [Issue#148, p.125]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    For overwhelming majority of us this is the best cricket game ever made, this game captures the intimate and most complex intricacies of theFor overwhelming majority of us this is the best cricket game ever made, this game captures the intimate and most complex intricacies of the great game of cricket. Whole hearted congratulations to BigAnt Studios for nailing the game-play sure this might not be your run of the mill fifa headed by EA in terms of polishing and graphics but given the market and relatively unknown studio they have done what even the most accomplished has not ever ventured into.As far as the game is concerned the negligible bugs and glitches would be ironed out in the first patch as early as end of this week. After most of the people would agree that this game would be a solid 10. Again not sounding like a broken record from the bottom of my heart Thank-you once again. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    One of the best cricket games to date, the game demands patience and rewards the players with its amazing game play experience. I know thereOne of the best cricket games to date, the game demands patience and rewards the players with its amazing game play experience. I know there are a few bugs but BigAnts dedication to listening to and improving the experience further is really creating a franchise on par with Big Budget multimillion dollar games with massive advertising budgets. DBC 14 - Game changer!!! Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2014
    10
    This Game beats all.. DON BRADMAN CRICKET..
    What a game to play..
    The graphics and the player resemblance are not good.. But, OMG, this
    This Game beats all.. DON BRADMAN CRICKET..
    What a game to play..
    The graphics and the player resemblance are not good..
    But, OMG, this have got absolute stunning dynamics and shot variations.
    FIFA's, NBA and nothing stands to this games variation factors...
    And.
    .
    .
    Career Mode.. That keeps you addicted... Its too hard to learn this game, but it gives you all the great excitements of Cricket...
    Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    !!!! *Patch is through and now fielders have icon over head in outfield and other tweaks!!! Game is even more sensational now!!* !!! What a!!!! *Patch is through and now fielders have icon over head in outfield and other tweaks!!! Game is even more sensational now!!* !!! What a cracking title. A simulation rather than an arcade hit-out - and a really outstanding effort IMHO. Was stressed out when first started playing it, as I downloaded the 'best teams' and they were not at all good (especially the modern ones). Also the learning curve, especially in career mode, was pretty full-on (it sets you at pro level and lifts that level for international play)!
    Had to do a bit of hunting online and discovered some forums / groups were voting on their mates 'creations' early on (boys will be boys! But this lass will not stand for it, haha) and they have been at the top from the start (from beta stage apparently) and they do not shift. The same dudes vote down other teams as they rise up (!!). I wish some of my fellow Gen Y'ers would stop embarrassing us with this kind of desperate behaviour, but it is hardly surprising.
    I dug around, ignored the trolls talking up their own teams and sought out some neutral / objective information on teams / players. Than I struck gold....
    Thanks to "Chunnster_Lives_" (user / creator dude) I have the meanest Black Caps team now (I need, as mentioned earlier, for my team and players to look like their real world counterparts, especially the Andersons, Taylors, Neeshams and McCullums and co)... and his other international sides, world elevens and IPL squads are mean az as well!! I can even play HRV Cup t20 competition now!! Come on Northern Districts!! 8-)
    I have always been one of those gamers / girls that does not like no licences. I hate generic skin colour and fake gear and stat-less teams, so I was over the moon to find out facebook info on proper teams being made by an adult (chunnster_lives_)... skeptical for sure... but having seen the teams at the top of the table, i was honestly contemplating returning the game or selling (hard to return these days) due to the underwhelming top 50 (and beyond) teams.... they just had not been fully or even half finished (I even had multi-cloured bat handles when that takes two seconds to change)... and the likenesses were very lacking in detail and underwhelming, even at long range (playing).... But once I had the chunnster_lives_ teams downloaded with the player links and photographic quality Kyle Mills and Neesham and others... I was sold. Doubtless forum trolls and others will think I just am chunnster_lives_ so I implore you to just go check them out for yourself. Just choose what you like, but do not be a sheep and go for the eye-sores riding high. You will regret it.
    Currently I am happy to declare this baby my GOTY.... certainly the best sports title of the year. If you dig cricket, you'd be crazy not to own it. Just do not cry and stress when see the teams high in the rankings... they are not the best teams.... but there are some wicked units uploaded and some real diamonds in the rough (and creators have done some good old teams from like the 40s and ***, but they do not interest me).... I do not know what is the reason for the ratings system not working, I have learned to ignore them (the stars)....
    If you have made all the teams / players yourself (I could not be bothered, though tried, it takes days and days it seems to do one team) and have a cracking set of teams or players then you are good to go!! But otherwise, try and track down a good creator like 'chunnster_lives_' or you may find yourself unnecessarily disappointed. Basically I learned the obvious rule of reading information on forums that eluded me before that..... they are talking each other up and searching, inwardly, outwardly, for some form of recognition... lonely, propped up like deflated warriors over their keyboards and dreaming of human love, they forget that any sense of 'fame' for making teams is imagined and a tad sad... the community wants the best teams OVERALL / in the world and teams, no offence, by adults preferably... The ones done by those young forum guys were alright, considering their adolescence..... but as a follower of cricket (above gaming or anything else)... it was the teams by 'chunnster_lives_' (others too, but not 20-plus by the same creator, so it is easier to recommend him) that seemed authentic to me.... as if the teams had asked him to do them for them or something, ya know? The others were all very "oh, that'll do".. "close enough" kind of stuff.... As an informed gamer and cricket fan, I did not want the best of the worst by some kids, I wanted the best. Got them now. So, be informed / vigilant when you get your teams.... the top ain't the top peoples... that's all I can say. The game itself is just too fun.. grab yourself a copy and give it the old whackity-doo!!
    Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2014
    9
    Good game , a new experience overall in cricket game...This game changes revolution of future cricket games...
    Only some glitches in game
    Good game , a new experience overall in cricket game...This game changes revolution of future cricket games...
    Only some glitches in game made me to give 9/10,else it would be 10/10
    Collapse
  6. Apr 13, 2014
    8
    For the first time ever, we have a cricket game that you can tell was made by a team who truly understand cricket. Rather than premeditateFor the first time ever, we have a cricket game that you can tell was made by a team who truly understand cricket. Rather than premeditate shots based on a ball marker, you have to bat like a real batsman. Rather than press a couple of buttons to bowl the same ball over and over again, the wide range and combinations of input means you have to bowl like a real bowler. This feels like cricket like never before.

    The game is not perfect, and being a lower budget game, at the time of writing you will notice glitches and flaws on a reasonably regular basis, some minor, and some frustrating. However, the developer is extremely well connected with the community, listens and responds to feedback on a daily basis, and has promised free patches as time goes on to resolve the problems the community want fixed the most. Having been involved with the community I have no doubt that this is true.

    Even despite the current issues, many of which will no longer exist over the coming months, this is the best cricket game of all time.
    Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2014
    2
    Game is full of bugs and glitches that have to be seen to be believed. Some things I look at and just wonder how can this have been releasedGame is full of bugs and glitches that have to be seen to be believed. Some things I look at and just wonder how can this have been released in this form, given all the release delays and shoddy games that have come before?

    Career mode is broken despite it being the game's biggest drawcard. Brad Haddin bowls more overs than Doug Bollinger. Its also very boring and shallow. Teams never change over the course of 20 years, fixtures are broken, no injuries, play at tthe same boring and unlicensed stadiums over and over.

    Fielding is cataclysmically botched. A complete abmoniation.

    Customisation is good with the cricket academy - Ill give them that.

    AI is broken - they can't bat to save themselves and the difficulty imbalance between batting and bowling means matches against the AI are non-competitive, frustrating, unrealistic and predictable. AI will always lose wickets in the middle order again and again. Skill points assigned to players make absolutely no difference to how they perform.

    Head to head matches aren't any better unfortunetely. The shoddy cameras make it impossible to play.

    The learning curve for batting is far too unreasonable. The polar opposite to bowling. To actually make runs you have to exploit the game's weakness and hit to the legside every ball. To not bowl out the AI for over 150 you actually have to try. AI is pathetic.

    Online is completely broken and unplayable on PS3. Bugs online are on par with Ashes 13, with some really weird yet comical stuff happening. At least its good for a laugh but thats about it.

    Graphics look dated - Ive seen games 5 years older look better. Only a handful of stadiums too - so not sure why they couldnt have made these things better.

    A great disappointment - doesnt live up to the legendary name sadly. To pay this price for it is not value for money - there are many other sports games out there of higher quality going for a third of this price.

    An overhyped, disgrace of a game.
    Expand

See all 22 User Reviews