Doom 3 BFG Edition PlayStation 3

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 103
  2. Negative: 29 out of 103
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    Um.... yeah. It was fun playing 1&2 for a couple hours, and I totally enjoyed 4 hours of 3 hours but after that you are simply running corridor to corridor like the CWYHCO (chicken with....). I don't know what to do anymore. Do I keep running around aimlessly or do I just give up. It was fun while it lasted and I'm sure I'll throw it in again. That's why it gets a good score. But it's notUm.... yeah. It was fun playing 1&2 for a couple hours, and I totally enjoyed 4 hours of 3 hours but after that you are simply running corridor to corridor like the CWYHCO (chicken with....). I don't know what to do anymore. Do I keep running around aimlessly or do I just give up. It was fun while it lasted and I'm sure I'll throw it in again. That's why it gets a good score. But it's not gonna set the world on fire. Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    7
    Do you love Doom? If the answer is "yes", then Doom 3 BFG edition is a no-brainer. This package contains the original Doom, Doom 2 and Doom 3. The first two Doom games are bonafide classics. Sticking to the formula it invented, the original Doom titles stick you in a series of ever increasing mazes with more cannon-fodder than you can shake a chaingun at. Utterly timeless, they are as muchDo you love Doom? If the answer is "yes", then Doom 3 BFG edition is a no-brainer. This package contains the original Doom, Doom 2 and Doom 3. The first two Doom games are bonafide classics. Sticking to the formula it invented, the original Doom titles stick you in a series of ever increasing mazes with more cannon-fodder than you can shake a chaingun at. Utterly timeless, they are as much fun to play today as they were upon their initial release. What's more, this package lets you play them on the couch! Doom 3 is also pretty fun. Because it's much more complex, the game's antiquated FPS style is a bit more jarring than the first two titles and lacks their immediate retro charm. That said, if you can get past the last-generation mechanics (which I could), Doom 3 makes for an atmospheric corridor shooter. A lot is made of this package's lack of extras and whatnot. Personally speaking, I don't care about that. I'm just super happy to be able to play Doom 1 & 2 on my sofa and I never actually got around to playing Doom 3 when it was new, so I'm chuffed to finally get the opportunity. Doom 3 BFG edition is recommended heartily to every game-fan that doesn't already have (multiple) copies of the originals. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2012
    7
    Regarding Doom 3, they made a lot of stupid decisions that have a lot fans upset, including poor audio conversations, limited control options, long save/load times, no dynamic lighting. These are issues not present in past editions of Doom 3 so fans have every right to be upset about them, if you are going to remake a game, it ought to be better than the original otherwise whats the point?Regarding Doom 3, they made a lot of stupid decisions that have a lot fans upset, including poor audio conversations, limited control options, long save/load times, no dynamic lighting. These are issues not present in past editions of Doom 3 so fans have every right to be upset about them, if you are going to remake a game, it ought to be better than the original otherwise whats the point? So yeah, it's not perfect, you can tell the game was a dirty PC port, however, I do not have a PC capable of playing Doom 3 anymore, so I can overlook all these technical problems pretty easily. At the end of the day, if these problems weren't brought to my attention, I'd probably never would have noticed. As for the game itself, is it still worth playing after 8 years? Yes, I believe so. While the game does feel very dated, it's still a blast and it's still scary, but if you're expecting a modern FPS, you will be disappointed as this game lacks many modern FPS mechanics. There is no cover system, there is no sight zoom, there are no big open areas, there is little story/cutscenes, it is a very simple shoot and run gameplay, which is all I've ever wanted from my shooters anyways. Doom 1 & 2 however, are perfect PC ports (or rather XBLA ports) they look and play great and feature four player online and offline multi-player which I wasn't expecting. While I play Doom primarily for the single player campaigns I was still disappointed by the online offering, only allowing up to four players maximum on all three games, they really should have allowed for more players. Overall though, despite its nuances, I love this package, it's the only way for me to play these three games on the big screen and for that I'm grateful. Could it have been better? Yes, but it's still a competent package featuring three great games and a few expansions (which I've never played) so I am very happy with my purchase. Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    7
    I had Doom 3 for X-Box and I had a blast then. if you have this game, you could skip it with no real loss. I no longer had a copy, so I snatched it up for 40 bucks. I like it. I don't love it. Graphics are good, sound is okty and I love Doom and Doom 2.
    game worth = $39.99
  5. Nov 11, 2012
    6
    I as a lot of other reviewers have had the original PC version from '04, Great reboot of a great game. I'm not going to re emphasise a lot of positive stuff mentioned in other user reviews, because the positive ones, are pretty much spot on except what i regard to be Negative points. The save checkpoints just spoil the atmosphere, the aim system on the guns are just not what we'reI as a lot of other reviewers have had the original PC version from '04, Great reboot of a great game. I'm not going to re emphasise a lot of positive stuff mentioned in other user reviews, because the positive ones, are pretty much spot on except what i regard to be Negative points. The save checkpoints just spoil the atmosphere, the aim system on the guns are just not what we're accustomed to anymore. If anything needed a rehash, it was that. Aiming feels 'shoot and hope it connects' no real accuracy. Guns feel underpowered, not like original doom where the shotgun was all you needed, you really do need to get up close and personal to feel any illusion of kick. For a game that boasts it's lighting effects and detail (which is spectacular in some parts) where are the muzzle flashes from the weapons? Think a stroboscopic effect while firing as demons charge towards the character would def add to atmosphere! An option that could be turned off for those who are affected by strobe effects. The 3D is pretty good and well implemented. Loses marks for weapons, aiming and weapon effects. Otherwise this would get an 8. Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2012
    7
    I really enjoyed playing the 2 original versions on this game as i knew i would but was a bit disappointed with the clunky 3rd version of doom. the game was fun and deserves a 7 on the first 2 games alone. if it was just the new version on the disc i would rate this 3 out of 10 which is a shame as i was really excited about a new doom.
  7. Nov 29, 2015
    5
    Having been a Doom fan for years I really wanted to like this collection. Right from the start though I had issues with the game though. The entire menu loaded up as file names I couldn't understand that didn't disappear until later in the game; the game itself freezes constantly and I continually lost progress since I had to restart entire levels and overall there wasn't much of anHaving been a Doom fan for years I really wanted to like this collection. Right from the start though I had issues with the game though. The entire menu loaded up as file names I couldn't understand that didn't disappear until later in the game; the game itself freezes constantly and I continually lost progress since I had to restart entire levels and overall there wasn't much of an overhaul in the graphics or the controls to make this a worthy purchase. Even the additional games aren't much when you can buy Doom:Classic Complete on the Sony store that contains more content. Overall I wasn't satisfied with this offering in the Doom franchise and help Doom 4 will kick ass. Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jan 7, 2013
    50
    Had care and attention been given to those (not to mention some reworked visuals), it would've made for a far more compelling package instead of two classics saddled with three duds.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 4, 2012
    65
    One thing that won't drive you crazy any more is your flash light. In the original Doom 3 you had to choose. Do you want to shoot your gun? Or do you want to see where you are shooting. Sure, it added to the suspense, but in terms of gameplay it wasn't very practical. [December 2012, p.85]
  3. Play UK
    Nov 30, 2012
    69
    It's a shame that the main attraction - Doom 3 in HD with its add-ons - is (still) such a let-down. [Issue#225, p.79]