Doom 3 BFG Edition PlayStation 3

Doom 3 BFG Edition Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Re-mastered for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, this game and its expansion pack offer enhanced graphics, engulfing the player in the demonic world of this terrifying horror. Players also experience a never-before-seen single-player story, 'The Lost Mission,' featuring seven levels that onceRe-mastered for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, this game and its expansion pack offer enhanced graphics, engulfing the player in the demonic world of this terrifying horror. Players also experience a never-before-seen single-player story, 'The Lost Mission,' featuring seven levels that once again have them on the edge of their seats. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    85
    Doom 3 is an old game and it definitely shows its age. If you, however, are willing to look past that obvious defect, this game will prove that it is still just as nerve-wracking as it ever was.
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    80
    Sprinkle in the fact that it's a polished older game that is packed full of fun and there will be little reason why gamers won't be fighting their way through a hellishly altered version of Mars for quite some time to come.
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    76
    Unfortunately, for all its merit, BFG Edition fumbles the ball in a number of baffling ways. Load times are atrocious, (particularly on PS3), mandatory auto-saves interrupt gameplay, and there's absolutely no way to customize your control settings.
  4. 65
    Both games have been ported nicely, with a few new features that weren't there originally.
  5. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 4, 2012
    65
    One thing that won't drive you crazy any more is your flash light. In the original Doom 3 you had to choose. Do you want to shoot your gun? Or do you want to see where you are shooting. Sure, it added to the suspense, but in terms of gameplay it wasn't very practical. [December 2012, p.85]
  6. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Nov 28, 2012
    60
    Despite the heritage, and the memories of the time (if you did play it) promising a nostalgic trip, it's a reminder of how far we've come. In the end, Doom 3 just feels old. [Christmas 2012, p.81]
  7. Doom 3: BFG Edition has its darkly atmospheric highlights. But a generous amount of content can't salvage a package that's decidedly dated. If you want a cracking Id shooter, buy Rage on PS3 for about a tenner, because this is one mission to Mars you're better off skipping.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    I am a 32 year old gamer who hasn't played the original DOOM or DOOM 2 in years. I own a PS3 and I don't have a gaming PC, so I never got toI am a 32 year old gamer who hasn't played the original DOOM or DOOM 2 in years. I own a PS3 and I don't have a gaming PC, so I never got to play DOOM 3. So, the release of the BFG edition on PS3 is something I've been waiting for a long time. When I got it, I loaded up and played the first two DOOM games and they look and feel great. I had been intending to only play the original DOOM for ten minutes or so and move one, but I dug it so much I kept playing. When I tried out DOOM 3 for the first time, I thought it was great. It moved as fast and smooth as Rage (which I own and think is highly under-appreciated). If you love DOOM, buy this. Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    10
    This game is AWESOME! Doom 3 looks amazing. The lighting effects are 2nd to NONE! Some people don't like this game because it does not playThis game is AWESOME! Doom 3 looks amazing. The lighting effects are 2nd to NONE! Some people don't like this game because it does not play like Call of Duty. Those people are idiots. Ok, so you can't look down the sights of your gun, that's ok, they come with laser pointers. It really is a great action packed game. No leveling up, no upgrading weapons. Just pure run and gun fun. Expand
  3. dpc
    Mar 17, 2013
    10
    I'm loving this. Makes me feel like I did when I played the original way back when. The negative reviews are asinine from spoiled brats whoI'm loving this. Makes me feel like I did when I played the original way back when. The negative reviews are asinine from spoiled brats who expect the galaxy when they're already given the moon. The HD upgrade is excellent. The sound is spectacular. The graphics are very good yes, they show they're age, but they were outstanding when Doom 3 was released and they're just as good now. It's Doom. Isn't that what we wanted? Maybe the negative critics were expecting a 2012 overhaul to be more like Call of Duty. This simple, faithful game play is absolutely addicting, scary and beyond fun just like Doom 1 and 2. You won't be disappointed. Unless you have a giant pole up your butt. Collapse
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    I remember playing doom back in the early 90s on the PC and played Doom 3 on the original xbox back in the mid 2000s . so i am a doom fan.I remember playing doom back in the early 90s on the PC and played Doom 3 on the original xbox back in the mid 2000s . so i am a doom fan. Doom 3 is a love it or hate it with some people since the formula is changed from a run in guns a blazing tons of enemies to more of a horror game with less enemies and more focused on them trying to sneask up on you. I personally liked the new take on doom but can certainly respect thoose who did not like the new take on it. the collection comes with Doom 1 , 2 ,3 , and Doom 3s expansion pack that gives the game more closure and the lost levels. Thats alot of stuff for $40 and i got mine on a black friday deal for $20 so i got mine at a real deal. Even though Doom 3 is a great game it shows its age even with the HD upgrade . What ID should have done is just slap some updated graphics on this baby. Also the lost levels just kinds sucked and is some thing you most likely will only play once.Also the load times just suck i don't know why they take so long and even saving seems to take for ever. even as is its worth picking up if you are a doom fan as there is alot there to keep you busy for the price. Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    About the reviewer: I'm 30 years old and grew up with PCs and consoles of all sorts, starting with the Coleco Vision in 1983. I loveAbout the reviewer: I'm 30 years old and grew up with PCs and consoles of all sorts, starting with the Coleco Vision in 1983. I love emulators as they take me back, but you'll never see me playing a classic NES game for more than an hour at a time. I'll admit I've been spoiled by the latest developments in gaming technology, but I still respect older games for the nostalgic value. In summary, I'm not a self-entitled brat and I am capable of reviewing games in the context of the time they were released.

    Onto the review: Doom 3 BFG edition is getting a lot of scathing reviews and I've noticed that many of these reviews contain false information. If you dislike a game, ok, but don't make up false info to support your whine-fest.

    I played Doom 3 on a very beefy PC when it came out. I loved every second of it. I'm a huge horror fan and it takes a LOT to scare me... but doom 3 knew what scared me. Though I was aware of the shortcomings in gameplay (repetitive combat, monster closets, etc), I still thought it was a masterpiece and a milestone in gaming technology. So how does it hold up today? PRETTY DARN WELL.

    It's no secret that this 8 year old game is showing its age in the graphics department, but it still looks good. Damn good. Doom 3 is all about lighting and a creepy atmosphere and I was blown away at how much this game still made me jump when I played the BFG edition. If mindless shooting and sudden jump scares are your bag, this game WILL deliver.

    In regards to this new edition, I will attempt to document the changes and honestly as I possibly can:

    Graphics: YES, the textures have been beefed up, regardless of what a lot of brats on here are saying. They are sharper, clearer, and some detail has been added (pock marks for skin, facial hair, etc). The character models, however, haven't been touched. No matter, they still look decent. Just don't expect "Crysis". Let's face it, the character models weren't exactly mind-blowing when Doom 3 was released in 2004, but again, this is a game about lighting and atmosphere. While I'm talking about lighting, it must be mentioned that the game's look has been brightened somewhat, which is a double-edged sword. Lights are now more vibrant both in brightness and color vividness. When lights shine, they shine beautifully, but they shine almost a bit too much. This game is supposed to be dark. Brightening the environments has inadvertently taken away some of the fear element, but it wasn't a big deal. It's also worth mentioning that the game DOES in fact run at a beautiful 60 frames per second (I understand Bethesda and ID had announced that they were having a hard time achieving this on the PS3. Evidently, that's been remedied). I did notice a small amount of screen tearing at various points, but these occurrences were few and far between. In regards to shadowing, it's all intact save for the flashlight effect (which is now a part of your armor, meaning you can shoot and light at the same time. For those who have never played Doom 3, you previously had to swap between your flashlight or weapon depending on the situation). Flashlights no longer cast shadows via obstructing objects. Not sure why they removed this, but I didn't even notice it until about halfway through the game so no big loss.

    Sound: I keep hearing a ton of reports saying that many of the sound effects are missing. FALSE. I counted ONE instance of a missing sound, and I'm glad they removed it. There were only so many times I could hear the words "VIDEO LINK UP REQUESTED! VIDEO LINK UP REQUESTED!". Overall, the game sounds great in 5.1, though many of the sound effects have been mixed down a bit so they're not so jarring. Again, this is a double-edged sword. It's an easier game to listen to now but some of the impact is gone, though I must admit to always feeling the sound effects were too loud in the original release.

    Save feature: This one is a bit annoying. The game advertised a new checkpoint system. What we actually get is an occasional auto-save that takes much longer than it should (10-15 seconds actually). Manually saving your game takes the same amount of time and requires you to go into the menu. Not sure why this couldn't be improved. Even the old Xbox port of this game had a quicksave button...

    Package: Doom 1, 2, 3, 3's expansion, and an extra small campaign. That's a lot of playing time. This really is a full package and if you're a Doom 3 fan, you'll have an orgasm. If you aren't a Doom 3 fan, what right do you have reviewing a special edition of a game you don't like in the first place? Bugger off. Summary: I reviewed this game without comparing it to shooters of today, which is how it should be reviewed. That said, Doom 3 DOES still hold up. I was 100% honest about everything documented and had no intention of misleading you. If Doom 3 isn't for you, fine. Go back and review the original release.
    Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    Um.... yeah. It was fun playing 1&2 for a couple hours, and I totally enjoyed 4 hours of 3 hours but after that you are simply runningUm.... yeah. It was fun playing 1&2 for a couple hours, and I totally enjoyed 4 hours of 3 hours but after that you are simply running corridor to corridor like the CWYHCO (chicken with....). I don't know what to do anymore. Do I keep running around aimlessly or do I just give up. It was fun while it lasted and I'm sure I'll throw it in again. That's why it gets a good score. But it's not gonna set the world on fire. Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2013
    3
    I'm a fan of Quake, DOOM, id Software and FPS Arena games. The game is very good. Why this score? Because Bethesda took it and dumbed it down.I'm a fan of Quake, DOOM, id Software and FPS Arena games. The game is very good. Why this score? Because Bethesda took it and dumbed it down. They re-proposed the same game which was released in 2004 and raised its price. Stop. They promised to make it HD, but there's not any big graphics change. This game isn't worth its price. It's just Doom 3. Even if they made graphics very much better, why raising the price so much? And remember that in the original Doom 3, there are many mods that make it even look better than Doom 3 BFG Edition! It's just the same game, with an expansion! Same thing with Quake Live. It's free, but it's full of publicity of Bethesda games, and it's not open anymore. Damn. As innovation, I'd rate this game a 0/10. As a flop, I'd rate it a 10/10. BUY THE ORIGINAL DOOM 1/2/3! Expand

See all 29 User Reviews