User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 66
  2. Negative: 7 out of 66
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2017
    8
    This is a good Dragon Ball game. If you are fan of this anime you're gonna enjoy this game, that's for sure. It has lots of characters (it's crazy!). The game is a fighting game and there are not many differences between one character to another (I'm used to do almost the same attacks but maybe I should learn more techniques). Graphics are good and it's nice to see that the diagloguesThis is a good Dragon Ball game. If you are fan of this anime you're gonna enjoy this game, that's for sure. It has lots of characters (it's crazy!). The game is a fighting game and there are not many differences between one character to another (I'm used to do almost the same attacks but maybe I should learn more techniques). Graphics are good and it's nice to see that the diaglogues change at the begining of the fight depending on if they have known each other in the anime or not, or they say something about the race of the enemy. So at first it's nice to see these things. I think is funnier to play this game with your friends than alone. It's a good game to play from time to time. Expand
  2. Jul 6, 2017
    8
    A good game with a lot of issues.
    The bad things on this game are just the graphics, the lack of characters from dragon ball classic and GT, and the camera.
    The good things on this game are The gameplay that refers to the game Dragon ball Z BT3
  3. Jul 19, 2015
    9
    Dragon ball z raging blast 2 is great. This game has never before playable characters A nice BGM a good short movie and a new playable characters. The only problem is that the game can be a bit repatative at times but other than that this is a must buy for all DBZ fans
  4. Nov 17, 2014
    8
    I love it and I'm new to the DBZ series so I'm taking a break from Naruto but this game is actually pretty fun if you're used to it. You fly around, throw some random blasters, charge up, and do combo attacks. There is no difficulty option in this game, in galaxy mode, there are parts that are Easy or Very Hard. Also the opening to me is freaking badass!
  5. Jun 11, 2014
    8
    It's official: Raging Blast 2 is the second-best DBZ game in seventh generation after Bust Limit. Why? Because every game after that was just disappointing. However, this game is no saint either. I can sum the reason why this game sucks in two words: Galaxy Mode. This was just forshadowing to how un-innovative and backwards future games would be.
    Other than that, if you love Tenkaichi as
    It's official: Raging Blast 2 is the second-best DBZ game in seventh generation after Bust Limit. Why? Because every game after that was just disappointing. However, this game is no saint either. I can sum the reason why this game sucks in two words: Galaxy Mode. This was just forshadowing to how un-innovative and backwards future games would be.
    Other than that, if you love Tenkaichi as much as I do, this game should ALREADY be in your collection. Prey to Kami Xenoverse will break the streak for good.
    Expand
  6. May 30, 2014
    8
    Major score is so low because of the fans disagreeing on which type is better, budokai or tenkaichi?
    This game is a nice continuation on tenkaichi type, improvred combo and special system, nice graphics for ps3's and xbox360's hardware, alot of content and a movie/special remake featuring a brand new character to the roster. Roster is good, with lots of new and never used characters, this
    Major score is so low because of the fans disagreeing on which type is better, budokai or tenkaichi?
    This game is a nice continuation on tenkaichi type, improvred combo and special system, nice graphics for ps3's and xbox360's hardware, alot of content and a movie/special remake featuring a brand new character to the roster. Roster is good, with lots of new and never used characters, this game has hours and hours of playable matches, it's not a typical 8-12 hour shor-story game, this game is 20 and more hours full of content with chalanging foes, lots of custamization and full of actual DBZ gameplay.
    Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    This game is really good if you like the kind of DBZ battles. If you expected a new innovative way of fighting you shouldn't buy the game. The graphics are really good and there are a lot of characters. Turns to be a little repetitive after a while.
  8. Apr 7, 2011
    9
    I definitely cannot agree with protidez sorry but I have too many disagreements. first of all, the GT series is very complicated to engineer due to increased quality and an entirely new saga, plus the GT series was actually hated by many of the dbz fans. SS4 goku, vegeta, and gogeta were the only awesome characters, which, as Sengoku-Stocko mentioned, would create too many problems withI definitely cannot agree with protidez sorry but I have too many disagreements. first of all, the GT series is very complicated to engineer due to increased quality and an entirely new saga, plus the GT series was actually hated by many of the dbz fans. SS4 goku, vegeta, and gogeta were the only awesome characters, which, as Sengoku-Stocko mentioned, would create too many problems with power-balance. The only console game that i can think of better than this is DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi 3, which actually did have a lot of gameplay modes and GT characters. The only fault i find in this game that Tenkaichi 3 had is the story. Raging Blast 2 features Galaxy mode instead of a story mode. I don't like it cuz all it really offered was challenges which i easily beat, but that is just my preference. Maybe they thought some people get annoyed reliving the story, i don't know, I'm not one of the programmers. But seriously fans, this game is enjoyable and don't give the designers much trouble cuz you have no idea how much work and time is put into games like this(not to mention money). Expand
  9. Feb 14, 2011
    8
    I don't get why this is such a bad game. The graphics are awesome and there is a very decent rooster. The characters are balanced. The multiplayer experience is fun too. People are complaining about the galaxy mode, but I think this is a great change since every Dragonball games' story is the SAME(They are based on the manga,no?).Also, I don't get why people are giving this game low scoresI don't get why this is such a bad game. The graphics are awesome and there is a very decent rooster. The characters are balanced. The multiplayer experience is fun too. People are complaining about the galaxy mode, but I think this is a great change since every Dragonball games' story is the SAME(They are based on the manga,no?).Also, I don't get why people are giving this game low scores just because it does not have GT characters. This should have no effect on the score, maybe the game developers just wanted a good Dragonball Z experience, and they are non-canon anyway. Expand
  10. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    First off, playability, freaking awesome! Online is great or sitting at home with buddies or alone, endless hours of fun. Story, is completely missing though and rather dissapointing, but aside from that, the game makes up for it in every area. It has a kick ass sound track, great anime and good fighting mechs. great buy
  11. Nov 17, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I Really enjoyed this game,nothing revolutionary,but it was really fun,the takedowns are awsome the gun play is not bad,weapons all look and sound very realistic,animations are good,graphics are also good not amazing but good,the car chase levels really help mix things up and are done really well,they are pretty short but they leave you wanting more,the storyline is classic bond,it feels like it was ripped straight from the big screen and could just as easily be put straight up there as well,music is all bondish and works well,multiplayer might at most extend the games 6 hour play time by an hour ,but there,s not much online to keep you comming back,exspecially with games like black ops out.I would say pick it up if you are a bond fan,and enjoyed games like splinter cell conviction.Im on my second play through now and still enjoying it:) Expand
  12. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    Dragonball raging blast 2 is a fighting game based on the dragonball anime series. Many peoples' main knock against this game is it's "shallow fighting system". I totally and blatantly disagree. It is such a deep fighting game that I feel that its' steep learning curve makes it appear shallow. You have so many options in this game. Ya, sure it may not be the kind of deep traditionalDragonball raging blast 2 is a fighting game based on the dragonball anime series. Many peoples' main knock against this game is it's "shallow fighting system". I totally and blatantly disagree. It is such a deep fighting game that I feel that its' steep learning curve makes it appear shallow. You have so many options in this game. Ya, sure it may not be the kind of deep traditional fighters are in a way where you have to memorize strings and strings of buttons in order to pull off the best combos, but this doesn't necessarily mean it isn't deep. If one goes throught the tutorials one will learn that the fighting mechanics are in deed very very deep if you take the time to learn them and realize this isn't a traditional fighter. There are so many subtleties and options you have in fight , that I am really bothered by the fact that this game's fighting system is considered shallow especially when you take into consideration the range of movement you have compared to a traditional fighter like tekken or street fighter. It's just as deep, ujust in a different way. In order to make a fighter that shows off what a dbz character can do, certain elements are a necessity. The online is great, there are good game modes, and most importantly, the customization of characters' moves before a fight is great. Two ss1 gokus can fight each other and be totally different. The onle real negative I have to say is the story mode is kind of weak in that there are no cut scenes or anything, but they do offer quite a bit of variety in the types of fights you must do. Underrated game that I know will continue to be underrated. All in all, if you give it a chance, I fully believe you will be happy you took the time to try it out. I haven't met one person who played the game and didn't like it. Expand
  13. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    Its a refinded experience, not more nothing less, the combat has changed a lot from RB1 making it feel like you have to learn it all again, it has a steep learning curve, this game is for Hardcore DBZ fans, again no GT BUT all the characters are balanced, online is MUCH improved, if some1 leaves a game they get penalised for it! The graphics are very nice, music is so so, the theme songIts a refinded experience, not more nothing less, the combat has changed a lot from RB1 making it feel like you have to learn it all again, it has a steep learning curve, this game is for Hardcore DBZ fans, again no GT BUT all the characters are balanced, online is MUCH improved, if some1 leaves a game they get penalised for it! The graphics are very nice, music is so so, the theme song rocks! The combat is face paced and its the deepest anime fighter out there! new characters are nice GT would of been nice but SS4 goku would be way overpowered, the Anime included is nice but NO DUB :( the jap is fine but i prefer english. Galaxy mode is a nice addition, be warned there is no story mode, like a summary but there are loads of characters to choose from, im hoping RB3 will include everything next year! Great game otherwise! Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 3, 2011
    70
    A deep 3D fighter. [Feb 2011, p.114]
  2. Jan 13, 2011
    60
    Besides having a somewhat basic fighting mechanic, its big problem is a bad camera, and it is something that can not be overlooked. Dragon Ball: Raging Blast is just for fans of the series.
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    60
    It doesn't change its gameplay style towards something more deep and balanced and, ultimately, it does not add really new features. But Dragon Ball fans will enjoy it a lot, and also those who like the series and have not tried a Dragon Ball game for some time.