Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Tokyo based game developer ARTDINK; Dragon Ball Z Battle of Z will feature a large cast of playable characters including Goku, Piccolo, Vegeta, and a variety of melee and famous attacks including the Kamehameha, Special Beam Cannon, and Spirit Bomb. The epic battles in DragonDeveloped by Tokyo based game developer ARTDINK; Dragon Ball Z Battle of Z will feature a large cast of playable characters including Goku, Piccolo, Vegeta, and a variety of melee and famous attacks including the Kamehameha, Special Beam Cannon, and Spirit Bomb. The epic battles in Dragon Ball Z Battle of Z derive their style from the original anime series and will take place in rich environments on both land and in the air. Dragon Ball Z Battle of Z will let players form teams with up to four characters to participate in group melee action, take on massive boss battles, or challenge other players around the world for brawls featuring up to eight characters on screen at the same time. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 32
  2. Negative: 8 out of 32
  1. 80
    Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z packs quite the punch, offering an interesting take on the franchise lore with an extensive character line-up and a great co-op campaign.
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    71
    Dragon Ball Z Battle of Z is a game made only for die hard fans of the series looking for online multiplayer fights. Keep in mind that the very short missions make the game extremely well suited for PS Vita.
  3. Feb 5, 2014
    66
    If you can’t resist taking the fight to others, I recommend playing Score Battle, which places characters’ power levels into tiers and makes matches a much more balanced affair.
  4. Apr 13, 2014
    55
    Some good ideas are not enough to revive Dragon Ball Z. The combat system is far too simplistic and the mechanics show a lot of problems that make this game mediocre.
  5. Feb 17, 2014
    50
    With repetitive combat, an item system that doesn’t accommodate the player’s intelligence, A.I. that can be as dumb as a bag of hammers, and small design decisions that feel like they exist to make bullet-points on the back of a box, Dragon Ball Z: Battle of Z is a mechanically tame game that expects little from the player, and respects them just as much.
  6. Mar 10, 2014
    49
    Dragon Ball Z deserves more than this. [Apr 2014, p.78]
  7. 20
    This is by far the worst anime/ manga game I've ever played, and a real tragedy, because it manages to look appealing from start to finish, and could well have been a definitive Dragon Ball experience.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 11 out of 26
  1. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    love the game for the first time 8 characters can be on the same screen and it feel more like the actual show . the boss battle in the gamelove the game for the first time 8 characters can be on the same screen and it feel more like the actual show . the boss battle in the game are amazing and they really capture the feel of the anime series. Also they brought cool customization options like being able to change you characters color, and even tho this is a small thing it feels pretty awesome. I also like to add that co-op works fantastic. If you a fan of the dragon ball series give this game a try. Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    9
    As a huge Dragon Ball Z fan, I can admit I may be biased in my views of this game.But I thought this game was awesome. Probably the bestAs a huge Dragon Ball Z fan, I can admit I may be biased in my views of this game.But I thought this game was awesome. Probably the best Dragon Ball Z fighter since Budokai 3. The use of multiple fighters on screen made it feel a lot more like the tv show. And the Character selection is incredible as well. Admittedly, it's missing something to make this game truly amazing, but I'm having so much fun with it, I wouldn't be able to tell you what that thing is. Expand
  3. Jan 30, 2014
    8
    Massive Budokai 3 fan, but refreshing to play something that isn't just trying to be an upgrade from that. Its in a league of its on for DBZMassive Budokai 3 fan, but refreshing to play something that isn't just trying to be an upgrade from that. Its in a league of its on for DBZ games and the 4 vs 4 or 4 vs Giant options are fun which is all I wanted from this game!
    Graphics are not the greatest but that doesn't matter. Love the World Energy Spirit bomb idea and the Goku collectors edition is beautiful.
    For a game that I was expecting extremely little from, It has surprised me and is more enjoyable than first though. Before bashing it and not bothering give it a chance and don't try to compare to what we have grown accustom to over the years. Online mode is an exciting step forward and just from being able to run around and fly freely during battles makes me more excited for what they could do if they went MMO!
    Looking forward to something for my PS4 DBZ lets go chop chop :D
    Expand
  4. May 29, 2014
    6
    Very under rated simply because it's an anime based game.
    I know what DBZ is! This game is a bad game(5), but it's a good DBZ game(7). Like
    Very under rated simply because it's an anime based game.
    I know what DBZ is! This game is a bad game(5), but it's a good DBZ game(7). Like any budokai type DBZ game is always a good game(7), but alway bad DBZ game(5). So it's hard to make a GOOD DBZ game so that it would be a good game for everyone. But this game surely gives the best arcade fighting game experiance, 4vs4 is amazing, it's unique, it's special, it's under rated.
    Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2014
    3
    This is probably the worst Dragon Ball game I've ever played. The whole game is built around this "mission" theme, always telling you to beatThis is probably the worst Dragon Ball game I've ever played. The whole game is built around this "mission" theme, always telling you to beat up/kill characters. That's the whole premise of this game. Each mission is connected to a famous Dragon Ball arc, which IS pretty cool, but the fights themselves are repetitive and boring. There's a cutscene for every mission, but they don't make any sense unless you are a hardcore Dragon Ball fan and know the anime by heart. Luckily, most of the missions are optional, so you can beat the game without beating even 50% of the missions.

    I can't recommend this to anyone. The choice between English or Japanese voices are always a great addition, but paying even 15 bucks (got it at a sale) is a rip-off.
    Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2015
    2
    It's hard to find something positive about this game, when combat system and AI are horrendous.
    Stay as far away from this game as possible
    It's hard to find something positive about this game, when combat system and AI are horrendous.
    Stay as far away from this game as possible or you will need medication soon.
    Expand
  7. Feb 18, 2014
    0
    This game was really not worth the money spent. We - my siblings and I - barely had it for a couple hours before we were done with it. MyThis game was really not worth the money spent. We - my siblings and I - barely had it for a couple hours before we were done with it. My step-dad played it for less than 5 minutes before giving up because no one had any idea what was going on at first and once we figured it out it became so easy and boring just pressing triangle till everyone's dead and there was always so many characters on the screen, we all kept getting confused and frustrated while playing that we just put it in the box and put it up for when we can go to Gamestop or Play'n'Trade and get something, anything, better. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews