Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Oct 28, 2011
    84
    It's not the first game that claims to be ultimate, but Ultimate Tenkaichi actually turns out to be a near-perfect Dragon Ball gaming experience. Lots of content, a great Be a Hero mode and destructible environments await.
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    75
    Beautifully flawed.
  3. Dec 3, 2012
    70
    At the end of the day, Dragonball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi is an interesting game that provides plenty of fan service. If you have never played the series before, you might be confused by the over the top battles that for me is reminiscent of the excellent TV series Monkey Magic. Unfortunately like most Dragonball Z games, Ultimate Tenkaichi is a little like rock paper scissors when it comes to combat that focuses more on luck opposed to skill. Nonetheless, it's a fun romp through the Dragonball Z universe!
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi is an interesting evolution for this epic franchise. Spike did a great job trying to create a combat system as simple as dynamic, but the result of this operation is the lack of variety in the final experience. This could be the first step for a brand new saga about the Dragon Ball universe.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    70
    Spike says goodbye to the series Dragon Ball Z with a flawed but interesting episode, which clearly surpasses the insipid performance Raging Blast 2. The gameplay is irregular and its fighting system will appeal to some players but will be a disaster for others. Matter of taste.
  6. Oct 27, 2011
    70
    Fun but flawed. While the anime cutscenes are awesome, the story is more often told through extremely slow moving walls of text. While the characters all have their original voice actors (or very similar voice actors in the case of some of the villains), the music is very generic. While the battles have lots of satisfying quick time events and cutscenes, the load times in the game are absolutely criminal.
  7. Nov 2, 2011
    67
    Without doubts, Ultimate Tenkaichi is the best Dragon Ball game in terms of contents and visual appeal, but it's still a shallow fighting game where luck and fate are more important than players' skill.
  8. Mar 21, 2012
    65
    In the end, I found myself sticking to the story mode more than anything (which was short, but decent enough), but I just couldn't get into the game. I have to commend Spike on replicating the look of the anime, but I felt I was left with a shallow experience. Hardcore DBZ fans will probably find it the game worth it and battling fellow fans online might be a good way to pass the time.
  9. Dec 19, 2011
    60
    Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi is an unbalanced synthesis of a painstakingly recreated vision of the Dragon Ball universe and a rudimentary fighting game.
  10. Maybe it is time for the series to go all Super Saiyan and change things up a bit. [Holiday 2011, p.79]
  11. Nov 22, 2011
    60
    Not even high production values can save a game that isn't fun to play. Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi is a game that want's too much and fails with a lot, except the beautiful graphics.
  12. Nov 3, 2011
    60
    In theory Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi is the perfect Dragon Ball game. The gorgeous visuals, wealth of content and characters spanning Z and GT will delight fans. Unfortunately there's no escaping the fact that the core of the game, the actual fighting, gets boring very quickly and dissolves into the same few moves time and time again.
  13. Oct 26, 2011
    60
    Essentially, Spike could've developed a better game if they used some kind of fusion to merge the original Raging Blast's gameplay with Ultimate Tenkaichi's stellar graphics. But the end result here just falls short of being a memorable experience.
  14. Oct 26, 2011
    60
    Not even Shenron can grant us our wish of enjoying a great Dragon Ball game this generation. It's unclear if Spike tries its best or if they gave up, but "Ultimate Tenkaichi" can't compare to what we have seen in PlayStation 2. Another forgettable game in the franchise.
  15. Oct 25, 2011
    60
    It doesn't become the ultimate Dragon Ball game we have been expecting for years, although it brings something new and different which adds freshness to the series. Unfortunately, its great graphics cannot hide a system too simple and repetitive.
  16. Nov 7, 2011
    55
    Finally, they improved the camera! Sadly, this is the only thing about Ultimate Tenkaichi that doesn't make a Dragon Ball Z fan want to out of his second story-window.
  17. Nov 11, 2011
    52
    Having covered this game since it was announced I was really hoping to find a great DBZ game. After all, the graphics look great and the presentation during the fight scenes is top notch. The problem is that the actual gameplay is so bad that I can't recommend Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi to even the most hard core of DBZ fans.
  18. Dec 17, 2011
    51
    A lack of realistic fighting dynamics stops the game living up to its visual spectacle. [Jan 2012, p.89]
  19. Dec 28, 2011
    50
    Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi is a beautiful-looking game on the outside but downright ugly on the inside.
  20. Nov 29, 2011
    50
    We must admit that there are some nice ideas, but overall, the game does more harm than good. In the end, the gameplay is what completely ruins everything.
  21. Nov 3, 2011
    50
    Unfortunately, Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi looks and plays more like a spectacular movie, than a fun game. The characters operate far too repetitive and technically there are just too much irritations, like constant loading times. Moreover the Boss Battles and the Chasing Battles are disappointing and the Hero-modus has in fact no reason to be.
  22. Oct 27, 2011
    50
    Quotation forthcoming.
  23. Nov 24, 2011
    40
    It's a shame that now that it would be possible to do a great Dragon Ball videogame we only find products like this that only exploit our love for the manga/anime.
  24. Nov 8, 2011
    40
    At least it's pretty to look at. I went in with low expectations and this game somehow tripped and fell over the bar before crashing and burning in an explosion of terrible. I don't know who thought this was fun but the DBZ cast deserves a lot better.
  25. Nov 3, 2011
    40
    A game that slashes gameplay in favor of dynamic visuals, very true to the anime. But the illusion of pretty graphics quickly disappears, revealing dull combats, repetitive gameplay, and other shortcomings. Even the most hardcore fans will not find this fun for a long time.
  26. Oct 28, 2011
    40
    The battles in Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi look intense and exciting, but dull mechanics prevent the gameplay from channeling any of that excitement.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 34
  2. Negative: 14 out of 34
  1. Oct 25, 2011
    4
    Ultimate disappointment, ultimate letdown. I have played all dragon Ball fighting games, including SuperNinendo, PlayStation 1, 2, and 3,Ultimate disappointment, ultimate letdown. I have played all dragon Ball fighting games, including SuperNinendo, PlayStation 1, 2, and 3, Saturn, Xbox360 even Arcade editions- This is the most boring and horrible of all times. Gameplay is terrible, almost depressing. It is not fan like Budokai 2 and 3, it has not the freedom and depth of tenkaichi 3. The only good thing about this game are the visuals, and even this is arguable. The story mode is as boring as counting clouds, repetitive, slow... What the **** is this, seriously. Please give us a Tenkaichi 3 in HD. I want my money back. Full Review »
  2. Mar 4, 2012
    3
    Just execute chain after chain after chain after chain after chain after chain after chain after chain after chain after chain after chainJust execute chain after chain after chain after chain after chain after chain after chain after chain after chain after chain after chain after chain... Full Review »
  3. Dec 9, 2011
    2
    This has to be one of the worst Dragonball Z games i have ever played, and i have played most of them since i was so willing to buy thisThis has to be one of the worst Dragonball Z games i have ever played, and i have played most of them since i was so willing to buy this despite the £38 price tag (Buyers remorse)
    Positives first, the graphics are nice, good scenery, good models, good effects on the ki charging and the power ups and the energy attacks, but that is it.
    The negatives, well lets just say everything else is a negative.
    There is no freedom in the fighting, you are almost forced to continuously use combo attacks which initiate themselves after the shorts amount of punching (3) this is the only was to gather enough energy to fire up a Kamehameha wave, which is sad because the amount of damage the punches do means the fight is almost over after 2 Kamehameha waves.
    the camera is shoddy and the story is horrendously boring, don't get me wrong i love DBZ and the story, but something is missing here.

    the world travelling system is boring too, and pointless. The fights are always the same no matter who you are and you are always forced to do the same horrible combo's (watching goku chase after a number of different enemies he has just punched becomes boring even before the end of the saiyan saga.

    All in all, a boring game unfortunatly, DBZ raging blast series was better, and burst limit was better than that.
    Full Review »