Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The upcoming Dragon Ball Game Project is currently in development by Spike Co. Ltd., who are honing their considerable talents to create a new landmark game for the Dragon Ball Z franchise. The game features upgraded environmental and character graphics, with designs drawn from the original manga series. Destructible battle fields, including massive craters and ki energy blasts cutting across the sky deliver a more dynamic experience and immediate sense of urgency to the exhilarating fights. An enhanced story mode drops players into the rich Dragon Ball Z universe, filled with beloved characters and powerful enemies. An accessible battle system allows gamers of all ages will be able to hold their own in fast-paced battles, while still retaining tactical depth for hardcore fans. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Oct 28, 2011
    84
    It's not the first game that claims to be ultimate, but Ultimate Tenkaichi actually turns out to be a near-perfect Dragon Ball gaming experience. Lots of content, a great Be a Hero mode and destructible environments await.
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi is an interesting evolution for this epic franchise. Spike did a great job trying to create a combat system as simple as dynamic, but the result of this operation is the lack of variety in the final experience. This could be the first step for a brand new saga about the Dragon Ball universe.
  3. Nov 2, 2011
    67
    Without doubts, Ultimate Tenkaichi is the best Dragon Ball game in terms of contents and visual appeal, but it's still a shallow fighting game where luck and fate are more important than players' skill.
  4. Oct 26, 2011
    60
    Not even Shenron can grant us our wish of enjoying a great Dragon Ball game this generation. It's unclear if Spike tries its best or if they gave up, but "Ultimate Tenkaichi" can't compare to what we have seen in PlayStation 2. Another forgettable game in the franchise.
  5. Nov 11, 2011
    52
    Having covered this game since it was announced I was really hoping to find a great DBZ game. After all, the graphics look great and the presentation during the fight scenes is top notch. The problem is that the actual gameplay is so bad that I can't recommend Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi to even the most hard core of DBZ fans.
  6. Nov 29, 2011
    50
    We must admit that there are some nice ideas, but overall, the game does more harm than good. In the end, the gameplay is what completely ruins everything.
  7. Oct 28, 2011
    40
    The battles in Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Tenkaichi look intense and exciting, but dull mechanics prevent the gameplay from channeling any of that excitement.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 12 out of 32
  1. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This is another innovative dbz game, like last year's DBZ: Tenkaichi Tag Team. Only here, thev'e entirely altered the gameplay. The graphics & giant bosses were the best parts, I think. Expand
  2. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    This is literally the worst video game I have *ever* played. Let me explain. I was expecting something in the same vein as DBZ Budokai 3 or Budokai Tenkaichi 2, or Budockai Tenkaichi 3, all of which I have enjoyed, all of which I am now unable to play (PS2 broke, PS3 slim not reverse compatible, Wii stolen). Looking for something to fill the void and filled with fond memories from the Budokai series I bought Ultimate Tenkaichi, for $60. I had such high hopes. Combat literally boils down to a coin flip every 10-15 seconds. WHY IS THIS IN NO REVIEWS. I'm not even kidding, it is nearly complete random chance. I read IGN's review expecting stellar gameplay that was perhaps a little too similar between characters. What I did NOT expect was a game where literally any skin could be thrown on the character, as everyone fights exactly the same.

    Let me sum up gameplay for you, and I am NOT oversimplifying, I'm spelling it out for those who haven't bought the game, and I hope to dissuade them from ever buying the game.

    Gameplay is as follows: Approach enemy. Press Square 3 times. If blocked press triangle to break block, then press square three times. Coin flip, press either Square or Triangle. If you succeeded: CONGRATULATIONS! Press the corresponding key 4 more times. If you failed: BAD LUCK! Try again.

    But, apparently there's some ranged combat in this game, you say? Well yeah, and it goes EXACTLY THE SAME as melee combat, except you lose the somewhat useful ability to get behind an opponent to avoid the coin flip. Press square for blockable energy blasts, press triangle for a block breaking energy blast. Press circle to block.

    THAT IS THE GAMEPLAY. You can press up or down on the right stick for a flashy special move, and do transformations with L2, and that's the entire game. Do you want to know the worst part? Ok, I'll tell you. EVERY CHARACTER FUNCTIONS EXACTLY THE SAME! It's not that they're "a bit similar" or "vaguely reminiscent" of each other, they are identical. The only difference I have noticed at all are different special attacks (the right stick ones, the ones you use 2-5 of in a match) and some different attack animations while you spam Square/Triangle. Every combo in the game is Square->Square->Square->Coin Flip. And that is completely and utterly unacceptable. I'm a huge DBZ fan. I'm also a huge Budokai fan. This is just so goddamn heartbreakingly disappointing that I can't adequately put it into words. Do not buy this game, unless you REALLY want to see what a coin flip simulator looks like with a graphical user interface.
    Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    This new dragon ball z is probably one of my favorite ones that I have played so far because it has new graphics layout, new fighting system, Destructible environments and the ability to customize your character. Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2012
    6
    Ultimate Tenkaichi is a innovative new experience of the Dragon Ball series. It has a new battle system, which has the DBZ's explosive fights, but it's really repetitive after a time. I don't see it good that the battles are about, that you make a combo and then you see a movie, where your character hits always the same way the other character. This turns out obnoxious after a time. The new Hero Mode is great, you can make your own character, give him superopowers and make him a super saiyan! You can battle online with your character. The graphics are sure amazing compared to other games, but they are minimized thanks that in battles you don't have freedom to do your own specific combos and movements. This game would have been the best game if the battle system wasn't so bad. Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2011
    4
    Ultimate disappointment, ultimate letdown. I have played all dragon Ball fighting games, including SuperNinendo, PlayStation 1, 2, and 3, Saturn, Xbox360 even Arcade editions- This is the most boring and horrible of all times. Gameplay is terrible, almost depressing. It is not fan like Budokai 2 and 3, it has not the freedom and depth of tenkaichi 3. The only good thing about this game are the visuals, and even this is arguable. The story mode is as boring as counting clouds, repetitive, slow... What the **** is this, seriously. Please give us a Tenkaichi 3 in HD. I want my money back. Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2012
    3
    Ok where to begin.....I got it:remember those ps2 classic DB games? You know those classic DB games you enjoyed with friends whether you played the 2D/3D version those past games let you do what this game don't not...use ACTUAL skill when playing...sigh...sadly matches(whether fight against a person or CPU) is SOLELY BASED ON LUCK....sigh...its a button smashers dream where matches are based on quick punches and hoping your opponents never press the same button when a special attack/wave is initiated...sigh...you want to launch ki attacks of any kind while up close & personal? Sorry but u must first initiate a scene first & pray your opponent isn't pressing the same button...oh but wait you can freely use any ki attacks but ONLY if your inside a blast zone?why do I have to be a mile away to freely use ki attacks without initiating a scene? Kind lots of characters were blasted in the face from atleast 3 feet away in the show but not here...sign...I like the giant ape battles but the where left without the essence of what made those battles intense...being able to get up close & personal but you can only use weak ki blast until you stun them then your free to assault a giant finger?...sigh...battles are EXTREMELY REPETITIVE after at least 20
    Minutes of spamming uninteresting moves until u realize that one press of a button easily leads up to a thirty hit combo...matches can end very quickly & you soon realize special attacks are pointless...but my main gripe about the combat was the fact that you can ONLY use your finisher attacks( I.e sport bomb)when your opponent's has 10,000 or less damage!?...sigh...most fights end with you accidentally beating your opponent's instead of the way you want...the graphics are very impressive & the characters looks are faithful to the show I also liked hero mode which lets you create a character which is a first in the series but clothing customizing is limited but well worth using! All in all its to flawed a game with repetitive fighting,boring gameplay coupled with an inability to actually guard(certain areas you can block but still take 2,000 plus damage defeats the purpose of using it)makes this a broken & terribly flawed game! Burst limit may have few characters but at least its entertaining even DB raging blast is better..AVOID AT ALL COST!!!
    Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm just gonna start by saying more needs to be added to the dbz series I'm tired of the same battles with the same villains. This was a terrible game the game play is limited and the fighting is boring, I hate the fact that I wasted my money. The only good part was the fact that I could create my own fighter but fighting with any character was dreadful this is just a modified game of "rock,paper,scissors" and is based all on luck. The fact that I didn't even know how to use my ultimate moves at first is terrible and should never happen. This game was so bad it makes you think that the newer ones coming out in the future will be just as bad because of that reason I cannot see myself buying another dbz game. Nice graphics by the way, the gameplay just really threw me off and pissed me off. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews