Dragon's Crown PlayStation 3

Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
Buy On
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    70
    Dragon’s Crown is a beautiful side scrolling 2D beat ’em up that mixes in loot chasing elements of action RPG’s like Diablo and the grinding aspects of a Japanese RPG. At times a frustrating game, but in the end a rewarding experience that should be enjoyed in small chunks at a time.
  2. 70
    A Heavy Metal comic strip come to life, this is a worthy successor to Golden Axe and a great co-op game – but it stops short of fully revitalising the genre.
  3. Sep 23, 2013
    70
    Challenging and dynamic. [Issue#139, p.107]
  4. Oct 15, 2013
    65
    When it's not busy pandering, titillating, and falling back on fantasy clichés, Dragon's Crown is a sound, nostalgia-tinged experience.
  5. Jul 31, 2013
    65
    I found its over-exaggerated art style alienating and gross in its depiction of women even as it shines in building a world of fantastic monsters and environments, and the forced grind through the same stages dulled my excitement. Dragon's Crown is a wild place to visit, but it doesn't quite hold up in the light of day.
  6. Oct 9, 2013
    60
    Instead of a full-blooded reminder of a genre of games sadly departed, it's more often a reminder of why they died away in the first place.
  7. Jul 31, 2013
    60
    Dragon's Crown is gorgeous, and though at times its flavor may be of questionable taste, ultimately it does still manage to strike a lot of the right nostalgia chords.
  8. Oct 16, 2013
    50
    Dragon’s Crown delivers in a number of areas, though not in the ones that matter most. Stunning visuals and nods to the roleplaying genre simply aren’t enough to outweigh the repetitive combat and a so-so narrative.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 283 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 62
  2. Negative: 5 out of 62
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    Absolutely gorgeous 2D art and animation, need more games like this these days. I also got the free art book, very nice. Congrats ATLAS onAbsolutely gorgeous 2D art and animation, need more games like this these days. I also got the free art book, very nice. Congrats ATLAS on this massive hit! Full Review »
  2. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    People are so funny...

    I love 'retro-style' video games and appreciate fantastic art-styling. For all of you stating that this game is
    People are so funny...

    I love 'retro-style' video games and appreciate fantastic art-styling. For all of you stating that this game is 'disgusting' and a poor depiction of women, please move on to another board. It's a fantasy game with fantasy characters. There's nothing as offensive in this game as there are in the TV shows and movies that we all watch on a daily basis. Don't be hypocritical.

    I commend VanillaWare and Atlus for creating one of the most engaging and gorgeous side scrolling adventures I've ever had the pleasure of taking. The simplistic control scheme and easy navigation of menus is refreshing, reminds me of that mantra 'a little bit goes a long way'. There is some grinding, but that's to be expected with any game of this particular genre. It's also refreshing that VanillaWare included such a refined multiplayer experience. It's nice to still have at least one company, and one publisher that hears the cries of gamers these days. Thank you VanillaWare, and thank you Atlus for creating an amazing gaming experience! You guys are the best!
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Vanillaware has created the best multiplayer beat 'em up and even implemented RPG elements.
    Dragon's Crown has surpassed Final Fight 3 as the
    Vanillaware has created the best multiplayer beat 'em up and even implemented RPG elements.
    Dragon's Crown has surpassed Final Fight 3 as the best of this kind of genre.
    Full Review »