Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 234 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon's Crown thrusts you into a fantastical medieval world packed with labyrinthine dungeons to explore, vile monstrosities to smite, and nearly endless online adventure. Your mission is to dive into the dank underworld, uncovering treasure and strengthening your mettle as you unlock the secret behind the ancient dragon threatening the world. Simple, easy-to-learn controls allow anyone to dive into the fray and enjoy the breathtaking sword-and-sorcery action. In addition to gameplay, the game also features a vast array of character customization features - with six wildly different classes to play as, raiding the catacombs for epic loot remains fresh and engaging. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    95
    Dragon’s Crown is certainly the most enjoyable Vanillaware game yet. Being part of a larger party - where their previous hack 'n’ slashers had you go it alone - is definitely the difference maker.
  2. Aug 6, 2013
    90
    Dragon’s Crown is an extremely well-constructed blend of old-school action elements and role-playing depth. It looks great, the gameplay is rewarding for the hardcore and accessible to newcomers, the control is rock solid, and the amount of content is worthy of the $50 price tag in my eyes.
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    90
    Dragon’s Crown is a fantastic addition to the RPG genre, bringing an original personality that’s hard to ignore. With an amazing amount of content, this is one game that’s worth the grinding it demands.
  4. Jul 31, 2013
    85
    Dragon's Crown is an amazing co-op experienced slightly hampered by a rather nasty UI and baffling obfuscation of its best feature.
  5. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Dragon’s Crown is big and brash and silly, and owes as much to the fantasy RPGs of the world as it does to the side-scrolling brawlers.
  6. Aug 3, 2013
    80
    A throwback to the golden age of side-scrolling beat 'em ups that devoured the spare change of many an arcade-infatuated youngster in the late '80s and early '90s.
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    50
    Dragon’s Crown delivers in a number of areas, though not in the ones that matter most. Stunning visuals and nods to the roleplaying genre simply aren’t enough to outweigh the repetitive combat and a so-so narrative.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 59
  2. Negative: 4 out of 59
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Absolutely gorgeous 2D art and animation, need more games like this these days. I also got the free art book, very nice. Congrats ATLAS on this massive hit! Expand
  2. Ron
    Aug 8, 2013
    10
    @Fawz... ur an idiot. Who cares if the females in the game have major big ass I think its great! Don't berate a game just cause you don't like its art style. Game is freaking awesome and a perfect homage to the classic beat em ups done with some great modern flair! Also the $50 is fair... there is plenty of replay value here Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game with beautiful hand drawn 2D art that Vanillaware is known for. Plays like an updated D&D:SOM. I'm glad that this game seems to be doing well and hope for many more from VW. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    Vanillaware certainly has a knack for beautiful landscapes and creature/character designs and Dragon's Crown is no exception. Dragon's Crown is not only beautiful, but surpasses all games in it's genre in style and replay value. If you are a fan of beat 'em ups and like a challenge that will keep your palms sweating for probably longer than you're comfortable with, give this game a try. -insert paragraph about power fantasy/women objectification here- Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    I have been looking for something new lately so for some time now i have been following this game and keeping an eye on it. First off, i bought the game (with out a doubt) and i am about 7 hrs into it and all i can say is heck yes! I was not sure at first if i would even like this game, at a 50$ price tag from first glance i did not understand all the hype which is what intrigued me about it in the first place though thanks to a lot of online previews from "gaming sites" and me doing my research i decided to throw caution to the wind and just go for it. The art is great and yes its obvious a call to old school times but what really shines to me was its in depth rpg elements twisted into its simplicity of this side scrolling beat 'em up. At first i was thinking that its nothing more then a 15$ arcade down load but now that i have taken the dive i feel that every penny was well worth it. Me my wife and daughter are in love with this game. Couch co-op, single player or online co-op ether way you spin it its a lot of fun and replay is not only high but also fun. Plus its something that feels fresh for everything else these days. Bottom line is that if you think you will like it then you will probably love it and if your still not sure then do like me and do some research....and then buy it. Expand
  6. Aug 9, 2013
    8
    There is a lot of solid work in this beat em up. From a design standpoint, it puts itself out there as a side-scroller in the vein of "Streets of Rage", but incorporates many rpg elements found in loot based games. Vanillaware has a strength in art and vision, even with its character design getting the strange publicity it did. Art is something that should not have to cater to everyone or be politically correct. That being said, the environments are gorgeous, but can be over-used, which isn't always a bad thing. It harps on a nostalgia chord without being terribly distracting. The setting is just a vehicle for the gameplay. If you aren't willing to explore the fighting system you're given, then this game isn't for you. At first play, it seems to be repetitive, but further play reveals a great amount of complexity. The classes, of which I've only played the dwarf, add a great amount of replay, as long as you are willing to over look the story, which is not necessary and maybe detriments it. The settings could create a wonder and mystique all their own without the plot. Multiplayer is a plus, and is a lot of fun with friends.
    Long story short, this game is worth a purchase. It isn't perfect, but it is much stronger than I expected going in.
    Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2013
    4
    Nostalgia aside, Dragon's Crown seems little more than yet another tired attempt at male fanservice by turning women into sex objects to be exploited. While the JRPG-style visuals are impressive, it should be an insult to any who play it Atlus is telling men that a pair of G-cup breasts will automatically open their wallets. While this might be true for a lot of men, I know a few that need more than that to be impressed. Collapse

See all 59 User Reviews