Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 217 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon's Crown thrusts you into a fantastical medieval world packed with labyrinthine dungeons to explore, vile monstrosities to smite, and nearly endless online adventure. Your mission is to dive into the dank underworld, uncovering treasure and strengthening your mettle as you unlock the secret behind the ancient dragon threatening the world. Simple, easy-to-learn controls allow anyone to dive into the fray and enjoy the breathtaking sword-and-sorcery action. In addition to gameplay, the game also features a vast array of character customization features - with six wildly different classes to play as, raiding the catacombs for epic loot remains fresh and engaging. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    95
    Dragon’s Crown is certainly the most enjoyable Vanillaware game yet. Being part of a larger party - where their previous hack 'n’ slashers had you go it alone - is definitely the difference maker.
  2. Aug 6, 2013
    90
    Dragon’s Crown is an extremely well-constructed blend of old-school action elements and role-playing depth. It looks great, the gameplay is rewarding for the hardcore and accessible to newcomers, the control is rock solid, and the amount of content is worthy of the $50 price tag in my eyes.
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    90
    Dragon’s Crown is a fantastic addition to the RPG genre, bringing an original personality that’s hard to ignore. With an amazing amount of content, this is one game that’s worth the grinding it demands.
  4. Jul 31, 2013
    85
    Dragon's Crown is an amazing co-op experienced slightly hampered by a rather nasty UI and baffling obfuscation of its best feature.
  5. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Dragon’s Crown is big and brash and silly, and owes as much to the fantasy RPGs of the world as it does to the side-scrolling brawlers.
  6. Aug 3, 2013
    80
    A throwback to the golden age of side-scrolling beat 'em ups that devoured the spare change of many an arcade-infatuated youngster in the late '80s and early '90s.
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    50
    Dragon’s Crown delivers in a number of areas, though not in the ones that matter most. Stunning visuals and nods to the roleplaying genre simply aren’t enough to outweigh the repetitive combat and a so-so narrative.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 57
  2. Negative: 4 out of 57
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    10
    Absolutely gorgeous 2D art and animation, need more games like this these days. I also got the free art book, very nice. Congrats ATLAS on this massive hit! Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Vanillaware gold. Gorgeous art, beautiful music, excellent gameplay-- for folks who remember the days of arcade hack-n-slash-fests like Gauntlet, and even for people who love the more modern interpretations like Castle Crashers. All the charm of Odin's Sphere with extremely satisfying beat 'em up gameplay. The added old school DM style narration is excellent, and the shamelessness of the cheesecake and beefcake men and women is always entertaining. Expand
  3. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    This and Tales of Xillia are among the best games I have played in ages, Dragon's Crown is an awesome beat'em up mixed with rpg that is really hard to put down, especially if you have friends to play with. Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    9
    Sure, the game's female characters get a lot of flak for their design, but a lot of games try to sell on sexual stuff, as the gaming community is still believed to be mostly male. Is this a good thing, no. But it's not a bad thing either. It is what it is. Some people will love and enjoy the character design (some a little more than they should) and others will hate it. Who cares? It's how the people who made the game decided the characters would look. There are plenty of games with questionable art and character design. Hell, Record of Agarest War (Agarest: Generations of War for the UK) was sold on the promise of sex. The trailer for it literally cut out and just started playing bad porn music while showing in game CGI's of almost completely naked female characters in the game. Sexual selling points will probably always exist. There's not point in complaining the Sorceress's are big or the Amazon's thighs are huge (though the squareness of her but disturbs me a bit from time to time, but oh well, I still play the Amazon a lot). Besides, the character design makes them stand out a bit, even if it's using impossible muscles or large breasts.

    Anyways, enough about the style and character design. On to the game play. The game play itself is a bit repetitive by the time you have your third or fourth character, but there is enough variety in the characters to warrant playing the game again, especially if you want to see what they can really do, in which case you'll continue them into higher difficulties. The enemies aren't too varied, but can still provide a wide array of challenges, especially when they power up in higher difficulties. It's a fun game, and it's simplicity adds to it's appeal. It doesn't require hours of grinding or comparing equipment for stats as if you were studying for a college exam. It's easy to pick up, easy to play, looks great, has an interesting, but somewhat simple story, has fairly diverse characters, and is a nice game to have in a PS Vita collection.

    I would normally have given this an 8 out of 10, as it's good, but not great in my opinion, but I'm being generous in turn for all the people constantly nagging about the character design.

    Also, before anyone says anything, yeah, sure, I do kind of like the Sorceress's breasts. I am a guy after all. But even if she looked more normal, along with all the other characters, I would still enjoy this game and would have bought it regardless.
    Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    This game is a very enjoyable, action packed beat 'em up game with satisfying combat and interesting RPG elements. Online/Co-Op is a blast (especially Co-op with a buddy). The art style is beautiful in general though some may find the women to be in poor taste. It SEEMS like the levels will be disappointingly empty at first but at a certain point everything opens up. Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    8
    The side scrolling beat-em-up game here is top notch. There's skill and item systems that give you a lot of options in how you set up for each level, and the game is better for it. The storyline isn't overly memorable, but accomplishes the goal of giving direction to the game. I find the narrator's accent suits the game surprisingly well, though there's other voice options if you don't like it (nice touch).

    The animations are great. The art style is polarizing, as I'm sure you've noticed. Due to that, I'm ignoring it in this review.

    The big thing for me is the multiplayer. Actually playing levels with friends is so smooth that it's like playing locally. I was impressed by that.

    I was NOT impressed by the MP matchmaking/lobby system. There's no way to invite a friend to your game. What you have to do is open a slot in the tavern (and fill any other slots you don't want with people with NPCs, then close them), then walk to the stables/gate and wait. Your friend then has to find you and join your game... except when the game thinks you're in another area that can't add people. Which it does, frequently. There's no friends-only mode, if you jump into a level without waiting your friend to join, a random person might join instead.

    Once you finish the level you go back to your respective towns and next level you have to go through the join dance again. As levels are all under 20 minutes long, you'll be doing this a lot. About half the time we had to go in and out of zones and turn network mode off/on before it'd pick up that the game was available to join. It's odd how inept this part is, given how smooth and great the actual online gameplay is once you get it going.

    Despite the issues MP is still great, particularly if you can get voice chat going with friends and you try to take complimentary skills. Voice chat is also handy to tell someone to stop moving when you're trying to activate rune magic (which is cumbersome to do in combat).

    There's a limited number of levels, and they're not huge. Hopefully they add more in DLC. They do get branching paths later in the game which does add some extra levels. Bosses are varied and interesting.

    All in all this is a great entry in the genre, and it's nice to see it get some love again.
    Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2013
    4
    Nostalgia aside, Dragon's Crown seems little more than yet another tired attempt at male fanservice by turning women into sex objects to be exploited. While the JRPG-style visuals are impressive, it should be an insult to any who play it Atlus is telling men that a pair of G-cup breasts will automatically open their wallets. While this might be true for a lot of men, I know a few that need more than that to be impressed. Expand

See all 57 User Reviews