Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 225 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon's Dogma Dark Arisen is an expansion to the Dragon's Dogma universe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. May 15, 2013
    91
    The additional content provided by the Dark Arisen add-on is significant enough that fans shouldn’t feel the sting of re-purchasing the core game, as the new content and worthwhile additions made to the core game are well worth the asking price.
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    90
    This expansion continues to exude the of strange charm of the original, in spite of retaining all of its awkwardness. But, again, this Dragon's Dogma manages to grow in parallel to the engagement you display. You're going to sweat, you're going to get really, really mad – all of which makes your hard earned triumphs all the sweeter. You'll gaze in amazement at some of the sights the well designed Bitterblack dungeon has to offer, an island you'll just as much struggle to comprehend as Gransys before it. Maybe that is why in total I'm 200 hours into this and the original, and I still can't get enough of it.
  3. May 9, 2013
    85
    If you missed out on Dragon’s Dogma the first time around, Dark Arisen is a must-play. Arisen’s content is different from the original game, but in a way that’s additive when combined with the experience. On the other end of the spectrum, dedicated Dogma fans will get their money’s worth thanks to the increased level cap, scads of new items, and new end-game boss encounters.
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    With Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen, Capcom has done a great job offering a refined experience to both new players and hardcore fans of this fantasy game. If you've never played Dragon's Dogma this is a must buy, hands down.
  5. 80
    It is highly recommended for anyone who loves RPG's and a great opportunity for those who have not bought it yet.
  6. May 14, 2013
    75
    An interesting RPG, just like the original Dragon's Dogma. The new content and gameplay tweaks add to the experience, but the underlying faults of the game still stand. It's a beautiful idea and a very promising universe: we definitely look forward to a proper sequel.
  7. May 15, 2013
    53
    For someone who played and loved the original, I'm sure this expansion will be a welcome excuse to return to this world. However, Dark Arisen just does not deliver in the same vein, and falls short of being exciting in a new way. Instead, it seems to continue on from the original - incredibly inspired, and yet lacking in follow through.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 55
  2. Negative: 3 out of 55
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    Great Game!!! One of the best Games ever, and i played a lot! The combat, the feeling when you encounter an ENORMOUS monster, the voice acting, the AI, the pawns, the weapons etc. etc. I liked the game more then skyrim or Dark Souls. Its more challengig (espacially at hard mode) and more rewarding. You will love it, AS I DO The Addon give new weapons enemies, and about 30-40 Hours game Time Together with Dragons dogma you have Over 120 Hours for rough 30€ Expand
  2. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    This game some of the most fun I've ever had playing an rpg. This version adds port crystals that allow fast travel. Buying this game gives exclusive armor, weapons and a infinite ferrystone. Expand
  3. May 8, 2013
    10
    One of the best modern RPG's available. The combat for melee, ranged, and magic are all great and you actually feel like you're in a real, living world. While the world has a few problems that break the immersion, like respawning enemies and boulder traps that reset themselves, it is still quite magical. The graphics are good, but for some reasons the cutscenes look worse than the gameplay. The sound is good for an RPG as well.

    Graphics: 9
    Gameplay: 10
    Sound: 10
    Setting: 10

    The only thing I would add to this game would be online multiplayer co-op. Playing this game with a friend would be one of the best gaming experiences ever.
    Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    good wrpg though i prefer jrpgs i played this a good 72 hours and loved every second of it! I cant say im not a fan of climbing on massive creatures monsters and slowly tearing them apart.... Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    I loved the original dragons dogma apart from all the DLC, and with Dark Arisen you receive the original game, all the dlc and the amazing expansion all for $40..
    Everything has been upgraded, graphics, sound, gameplay, it's one of the best value games out for Ps3 consoles..
    Dark arisen is very similar in difficulty to dark souls, but with a (my opinion) more enjoyable combat system..
    Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Throw Dragon Age and Dark Souls into a mix and out comes Dragon's Dogma! This game is as good as Dragon Age, so if you liked that one, you will certainly like this one. They are very similar in a lot of ways. Now for the Dark Souls comparison, is this as good as Dark Souls? Absolutely not! I like to call this game; a poor mans Dark Souls, I am not saying Dogma is bad, it's just that it really is that, a poor mans Dark Souls. And to be fair, stacking up to Dark Souls is a pretty tall order. So before you think I am bashing this game, think again. As I am writing this review, I am also loading my Dogma file which has 70hrs in it. Yeah it's a very meaty game with tons of things to do. One can easily sink 140hrs into this one, it's a blast. The graphics are nice for the most part. The story is just there, not bad, but nothing great either. The difficulty sometimes can be brutal but the game is so fun, you will keep trying and eventually succeed. The only thing this game does that annoys me is the friggin constant slow mo during battles, it really is annoying,very annoying, it'd only for like 2-3 seconds but it's still very annoying. The game is now only 30 dollars new, a total steal for this very good game. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    0
    Worse game and DLC ever. The storyline is boring and doesn't make sense. Not only one hour played that every single creature kill you in a hit and this, even at easy mode. Bitterblack isle is completely out of the storyline, out of context. You play hundreds of hours to find out that at the end, it's only impossible to get through. This game is only about giving something impossible to the customers instead of focusing on a good and rich content. Capcom literally fail in RPG games. They should get back to what they can do as this game is a complete failure. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews