Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon's Dogma Dark Arisen is an expansion to the Dragon's Dogma universe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. May 15, 2013
    91
    The additional content provided by the Dark Arisen add-on is significant enough that fans shouldn’t feel the sting of re-purchasing the core game, as the new content and worthwhile additions made to the core game are well worth the asking price.
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    90
    This expansion continues to exude the of strange charm of the original, in spite of retaining all of its awkwardness. But, again, this Dragon's Dogma manages to grow in parallel to the engagement you display. You're going to sweat, you're going to get really, really mad – all of which makes your hard earned triumphs all the sweeter. You'll gaze in amazement at some of the sights the well designed Bitterblack dungeon has to offer, an island you'll just as much struggle to comprehend as Gransys before it. Maybe that is why in total I'm 200 hours into this and the original, and I still can't get enough of it.
  3. May 9, 2013
    85
    If you missed out on Dragon’s Dogma the first time around, Dark Arisen is a must-play. Arisen’s content is different from the original game, but in a way that’s additive when combined with the experience. On the other end of the spectrum, dedicated Dogma fans will get their money’s worth thanks to the increased level cap, scads of new items, and new end-game boss encounters.
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    With Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen, Capcom has done a great job offering a refined experience to both new players and hardcore fans of this fantasy game. If you've never played Dragon's Dogma this is a must buy, hands down.
  5. 80
    It is highly recommended for anyone who loves RPG's and a great opportunity for those who have not bought it yet.
  6. May 14, 2013
    75
    An interesting RPG, just like the original Dragon's Dogma. The new content and gameplay tweaks add to the experience, but the underlying faults of the game still stand. It's a beautiful idea and a very promising universe: we definitely look forward to a proper sequel.
  7. May 15, 2013
    53
    For someone who played and loved the original, I'm sure this expansion will be a welcome excuse to return to this world. However, Dark Arisen just does not deliver in the same vein, and falls short of being exciting in a new way. Instead, it seems to continue on from the original - incredibly inspired, and yet lacking in follow through.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 56
  2. Negative: 3 out of 56
  1. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    This game is as immersing as Skyrim and the graphics are a bit better. Been playing RPGs since LOZ on the NES. This is one of the betterThis game is as immersing as Skyrim and the graphics are a bit better. Been playing RPGs since LOZ on the NES. This is one of the better games you'll play, period, if you give it that typical first 20 hrs that is required for games of this magnitude. Expand
  2. May 6, 2013
    10
    Actually registered to metacritic just to comment on this game. It is brilliant!! Spent just 10 hours in it admittedly but i know if willActually registered to metacritic just to comment on this game. It is brilliant!! Spent just 10 hours in it admittedly but i know if will spend another 100 atleast over the next couple months. Never had so much fun with combat in an rpg. A warning though.. It is very very addictive. It will consume you (I received my copy 12 hours ago and already taken an off from work :shock: Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    Great Game!!! One of the best Games ever, and i played a lot! The combat, the feeling when you encounter an ENORMOUS monster, the voiceGreat Game!!! One of the best Games ever, and i played a lot! The combat, the feeling when you encounter an ENORMOUS monster, the voice acting, the AI, the pawns, the weapons etc. etc. I liked the game more then skyrim or Dark Souls. Its more challengig (espacially at hard mode) and more rewarding. You will love it, AS I DO The Addon give new weapons enemies, and about 30-40 Hours game Time Together with Dragons dogma you have Over 120 Hours for rough 30€ Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    I have already written a review for this, in which I had issues, but I praised the fact that Capcom had tried to do something that has beenI have already written a review for this, in which I had issues, but I praised the fact that Capcom had tried to do something that has been lost in many RPG's these days that is, they have taken an arcade factor into the game (the combat), and something inherent in all paper RPG's (no fast travel, you'll have to travel there first!!), and made something truly gripping. And here, they've taken a step of releasing a great add-on package that's unforgivably tough, whilst enclosing the original game, and taking a few steps to update it (but not too much, for good or bad). And there it is, one rather brilliant unbeatable deal. I'm not giving this a 9 because of its price (although an average of £20 cost is really rather good!!), but because a year-on, despite all its quirks, its highpoints and lowpoints, its still a damned playable game, and one that RPG fanatics and haters can like in equal measure, but only if they try. Get over the starting steps, learn a little, and be prepared to lose some of your life!! Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    An (almost) perfect game gets its expansion pack. That's pretty much it. Honestly? I just can't get enough out of Dragon's Dogma. When IAn (almost) perfect game gets its expansion pack. That's pretty much it. Honestly? I just can't get enough out of Dragon's Dogma. When I picked it up, sometime ago, I was mesmerized with just how good it was. I have finished it twice, now, and for me it's one of the best open world medieval game to date. It's better than Kingdom of Amalur and I'll just say it Skyrim. I could not give Skyrim more than 2 hours, it just did not hook me. With Dragon's Dogma? Hooked from the first to the last minute. Now, regarding the actual expansion pack, the "Dark Arisen". A little sub par in my opinion. This game deserved a new map, yes, but not a new dungeon which Dark Arisen actually is. Nothing more than that. New dungeon, new enemies, new loot, new quests and more difficult. And that's it. I was hoping for a new city (hub), like Gran Soren, a new plot, new places to visit. But it's a great package, no question about it, especially for those who never picked the game up back when it was released. Great time filler. Or stealer. Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    Enemies difficult to kill, but does add to the challenging element of the game. At the beginning items are very hard to acquire as well, hadEnemies difficult to kill, but does add to the challenging element of the game. At the beginning items are very hard to acquire as well, had to look like a homeless hobo for the first 20 or so levels. Overall, a good game Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    0
    Worse game and DLC ever. The storyline is boring and doesn't make sense. Not only one hour played that every single creature kill you in a hitWorse game and DLC ever. The storyline is boring and doesn't make sense. Not only one hour played that every single creature kill you in a hit and this, even at easy mode. Bitterblack isle is completely out of the storyline, out of context. You play hundreds of hours to find out that at the end, it's only impossible to get through. This game is only about giving something impossible to the customers instead of focusing on a good and rich content. Capcom literally fail in RPG games. They should get back to what they can do as this game is a complete failure. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews