Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon's Dogma Dark Arisen is an expansion to the Dragon's Dogma universe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. May 15, 2013
    91
    The additional content provided by the Dark Arisen add-on is significant enough that fans shouldn’t feel the sting of re-purchasing the core game, as the new content and worthwhile additions made to the core game are well worth the asking price.
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    90
    This expansion continues to exude the of strange charm of the original, in spite of retaining all of its awkwardness. But, again, this Dragon's Dogma manages to grow in parallel to the engagement you display. You're going to sweat, you're going to get really, really mad – all of which makes your hard earned triumphs all the sweeter. You'll gaze in amazement at some of the sights the well designed Bitterblack dungeon has to offer, an island you'll just as much struggle to comprehend as Gransys before it. Maybe that is why in total I'm 200 hours into this and the original, and I still can't get enough of it.
  3. May 9, 2013
    85
    If you missed out on Dragon’s Dogma the first time around, Dark Arisen is a must-play. Arisen’s content is different from the original game, but in a way that’s additive when combined with the experience. On the other end of the spectrum, dedicated Dogma fans will get their money’s worth thanks to the increased level cap, scads of new items, and new end-game boss encounters.
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    With Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen, Capcom has done a great job offering a refined experience to both new players and hardcore fans of this fantasy game. If you've never played Dragon's Dogma this is a must buy, hands down.
  5. 80
    It is highly recommended for anyone who loves RPG's and a great opportunity for those who have not bought it yet.
  6. May 14, 2013
    75
    An interesting RPG, just like the original Dragon's Dogma. The new content and gameplay tweaks add to the experience, but the underlying faults of the game still stand. It's a beautiful idea and a very promising universe: we definitely look forward to a proper sequel.
  7. May 15, 2013
    53
    For someone who played and loved the original, I'm sure this expansion will be a welcome excuse to return to this world. However, Dark Arisen just does not deliver in the same vein, and falls short of being exciting in a new way. Instead, it seems to continue on from the original - incredibly inspired, and yet lacking in follow through.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48
  1. May 5, 2013
    10
    Really fun & great expansion. Lots of new monsters, armors, weapons & a much more thrilling area to explore. Much harder than the main quest. This expansion also offers Hard Mode, much tougher monsters, you get more gold & exp though. Speed run mode, which is just beating the game fast. The Japanese dub, which I don't find anything special & you can transfer your save from the vanilla game to this, with the bonus of Rift Crystals & A Never-ending Ferrystone. Also, you get all the old games DLC in the Dark Arisen expansion. If you liked the vanilla game, you'll most likely like this as well. Expand
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    I think that Dragon's dogma is one of the best games that was ever created on consoles. There are only a tiny bunch of games on the market, that deliver an amazing feeling of adventure...and Dragon"s dogma is one of them. You dive into amazing world of Dragons, goblins, witches and other monstrous creatures. Fighting mechanics is amazing and I can assure you that i don't know any other R.P.G. game that can compete with Dragon's dogma beautiful combat. But it's not the combat that makes this game so beautiful...it's the unique feeling of adventure that you get each time when you start up a new quest or a side mission. If you like games like Fallout 3, Dark Souls etc, then I can assure you that you will fall in love with this great game. Expand
  3. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    Great Game!!! One of the best Games ever, and i played a lot! The combat, the feeling when you encounter an ENORMOUS monster, the voice acting, the AI, the pawns, the weapons etc. etc. I liked the game more then skyrim or Dark Souls. Its more challengig (espacially at hard mode) and more rewarding. You will love it, AS I DO The Addon give new weapons enemies, and about 30-40 Hours game Time Together with Dragons dogma you have Over 120 Hours for rough 30€ Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    good wrpg though i prefer jrpgs i played this a good 72 hours and loved every second of it! I cant say im not a fan of climbing on massive creatures monsters and slowly tearing them apart.... Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2013
    8
    Great game, very challenging and addicting with it's new add-on.Only problem i had was that the pawn AI hasn't really change at all.Nevertheless, still worth buying if you liked the original or the monster hunter series. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2013
    8
    no improvement from the last game
    but still fun to play even though the pawns are still annoying
    great story great gameplay
    if you're a fan
    of RPG's you should play
    DRAGONS DOGMA dark arisen
    Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    0
    Worse game and DLC ever. The storyline is boring and doesn't make sense. Not only one hour played that every single creature kill you in a hit and this, even at easy mode. Bitterblack isle is completely out of the storyline, out of context. You play hundreds of hours to find out that at the end, it's only impossible to get through. This game is only about giving something impossible to the customers instead of focusing on a good and rich content. Capcom literally fail in RPG games. They should get back to what they can do as this game is a complete failure. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews