Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon's Dogma Dark Arisen is an expansion to the Dragon's Dogma universe.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
TGS 2011: Dragon's Dogma Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. May 15, 2013
    91
    The additional content provided by the Dark Arisen add-on is significant enough that fans shouldn’t feel the sting of re-purchasing the core game, as the new content and worthwhile additions made to the core game are well worth the asking price.
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    90
    This expansion continues to exude the of strange charm of the original, in spite of retaining all of its awkwardness. But, again, this Dragon's Dogma manages to grow in parallel to the engagement you display. You're going to sweat, you're going to get really, really mad – all of which makes your hard earned triumphs all the sweeter. You'll gaze in amazement at some of the sights the well designed Bitterblack dungeon has to offer, an island you'll just as much struggle to comprehend as Gransys before it. Maybe that is why in total I'm 200 hours into this and the original, and I still can't get enough of it.
  3. May 9, 2013
    85
    If you missed out on Dragon’s Dogma the first time around, Dark Arisen is a must-play. Arisen’s content is different from the original game, but in a way that’s additive when combined with the experience. On the other end of the spectrum, dedicated Dogma fans will get their money’s worth thanks to the increased level cap, scads of new items, and new end-game boss encounters.
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    With Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen, Capcom has done a great job offering a refined experience to both new players and hardcore fans of this fantasy game. If you've never played Dragon's Dogma this is a must buy, hands down.
  5. 80
    It is highly recommended for anyone who loves RPG's and a great opportunity for those who have not bought it yet.
  6. May 14, 2013
    75
    An interesting RPG, just like the original Dragon's Dogma. The new content and gameplay tweaks add to the experience, but the underlying faults of the game still stand. It's a beautiful idea and a very promising universe: we definitely look forward to a proper sequel.
  7. May 15, 2013
    53
    For someone who played and loved the original, I'm sure this expansion will be a welcome excuse to return to this world. However, Dark Arisen just does not deliver in the same vein, and falls short of being exciting in a new way. Instead, it seems to continue on from the original - incredibly inspired, and yet lacking in follow through.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 66
  2. Negative: 4 out of 66
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    Great Game!!! One of the best Games ever, and i played a lot! The combat, the feeling when you encounter an ENORMOUS monster, the voiceGreat Game!!! One of the best Games ever, and i played a lot! The combat, the feeling when you encounter an ENORMOUS monster, the voice acting, the AI, the pawns, the weapons etc. etc. I liked the game more then skyrim or Dark Souls. Its more challengig (espacially at hard mode) and more rewarding. You will love it, AS I DO The Addon give new weapons enemies, and about 30-40 Hours game Time Together with Dragons dogma you have Over 120 Hours for rough 30€ Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    My top RPG's (Counting hours i played):
    Darks Souls - 400 hours
    Skyrim - 300 hours Dragon's Dogma: DA - 270 hours They are all unique in
    My top RPG's (Counting hours i played):
    Darks Souls - 400 hours
    Skyrim - 300 hours
    Dragon's Dogma: DA - 270 hours

    They are all unique in their own way, great rpg's, but neither DS nor Skyrim has as Epic Boss battles as Dragon's Dogma, which should be a selling point for every rpg fan. There are some problems here and there, like annoying companions/Pawns repeating stupid **** over and over, but alot have been fixed in Dark Arisen, so i will recommend buying both game and DLC. Some complained it was to hard, well then you are too impatient and i wouldn't recommend you Dark Souls either, but if you like being challenged and have some awesome; boss battles, loot, magic, etc. give it a shoot! It's cheap to!
    Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    A must buy for any action RPG fans.
    The best game I have played on PS3. It is beautiful, fun and the combat and upgrade systems will keep you
    A must buy for any action RPG fans.
    The best game I have played on PS3. It is beautiful, fun and the combat and upgrade systems will keep you wanting for more. At times you can experience some slowdown, but that is more the PS3 barely handling the awesome that is this game. Best $40 i've spent on my PS3.
    You can't go wrong, the expansion made it better, specially the Eternal Ferrystone.
    Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    good wrpg though i prefer jrpgs i played this a good 72 hours and loved every second of it! I cant say im not a fan of climbing on massivegood wrpg though i prefer jrpgs i played this a good 72 hours and loved every second of it! I cant say im not a fan of climbing on massive creatures monsters and slowly tearing them apart.... Expand
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    9
    Amazing game, for €30 you can't go wrong. A must buy for any rpg fan. Can get difficult at times but some level grinding does the trick. TheAmazing game, for €30 you can't go wrong. A must buy for any rpg fan. Can get difficult at times but some level grinding does the trick. The monster encounters are amazing, some of which could last a solid 30 minutes. Great game with great combat, but the story is a little flat but that didn't tarnish the game for me at all. Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    Well worth the 40usd if u haven't played the original. this is a content packed game that will last hundreds of hours.

    but for those with
    Well worth the 40usd if u haven't played the original. this is a content packed game that will last hundreds of hours.

    but for those with the original game, it might not be worth it unless your're a big fan of the game.
    Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2013
    0
    Wow this is probably the worst rpg i have ever played. I love rpg's, but this one is soooo bad that it;s hard to find words for it. FirstlyWow this is probably the worst rpg i have ever played. I love rpg's, but this one is soooo bad that it;s hard to find words for it. Firstly the graphics are horrible, everything looks the same, same houses, empty cities, everything is the same color. No armor and weapon costumization, characters look really bad. Combat system is very generic, just mash one button and that's all. Enemies take forever to kill. You spend most of your time running around, because there's no fast travel, the world is bland and empty. Seriously how it could be? This is the dumbest thing which could exist in an rpg game. Oh i forgot about story. Wait there's no story. Expand

See all 66 User Reviews