Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen PlayStation 3

Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 295 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dragon's Dogma Dark Arisen is an expansion to the Dragon's Dogma universe.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. May 15, 2013
    91
    The additional content provided by the Dark Arisen add-on is significant enough that fans shouldn’t feel the sting of re-purchasing the core game, as the new content and worthwhile additions made to the core game are well worth the asking price.
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    90
    This expansion continues to exude the of strange charm of the original, in spite of retaining all of its awkwardness. But, again, this Dragon's Dogma manages to grow in parallel to the engagement you display. You're going to sweat, you're going to get really, really mad – all of which makes your hard earned triumphs all the sweeter. You'll gaze in amazement at some of the sights the well designed Bitterblack dungeon has to offer, an island you'll just as much struggle to comprehend as Gransys before it. Maybe that is why in total I'm 200 hours into this and the original, and I still can't get enough of it.
  3. May 9, 2013
    85
    If you missed out on Dragon’s Dogma the first time around, Dark Arisen is a must-play. Arisen’s content is different from the original game, but in a way that’s additive when combined with the experience. On the other end of the spectrum, dedicated Dogma fans will get their money’s worth thanks to the increased level cap, scads of new items, and new end-game boss encounters.
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    80
    With Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen, Capcom has done a great job offering a refined experience to both new players and hardcore fans of this fantasy game. If you've never played Dragon's Dogma this is a must buy, hands down.
  5. 80
    It is highly recommended for anyone who loves RPG's and a great opportunity for those who have not bought it yet.
  6. May 14, 2013
    75
    An interesting RPG, just like the original Dragon's Dogma. The new content and gameplay tweaks add to the experience, but the underlying faults of the game still stand. It's a beautiful idea and a very promising universe: we definitely look forward to a proper sequel.
  7. May 15, 2013
    53
    For someone who played and loved the original, I'm sure this expansion will be a welcome excuse to return to this world. However, Dark Arisen just does not deliver in the same vein, and falls short of being exciting in a new way. Instead, it seems to continue on from the original - incredibly inspired, and yet lacking in follow through.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 66
  2. Negative: 4 out of 66
  1. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    Great Game!!! One of the best Games ever, and i played a lot! The combat, the feeling when you encounter an ENORMOUS monster, the voiceGreat Game!!! One of the best Games ever, and i played a lot! The combat, the feeling when you encounter an ENORMOUS monster, the voice acting, the AI, the pawns, the weapons etc. etc. I liked the game more then skyrim or Dark Souls. Its more challengig (espacially at hard mode) and more rewarding. You will love it, AS I DO The Addon give new weapons enemies, and about 30-40 Hours game Time Together with Dragons dogma you have Over 120 Hours for rough 30€ Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    I bought this game a few months ago and have not stopped playing it. Graphics are incredible, the story line is decent, character/ monsterI bought this game a few months ago and have not stopped playing it. Graphics are incredible, the story line is decent, character/ monster designs are phenomenal and the gameplay is amazingly smooth, considering the action on your screen. To top it off there is an incredible community that plays this game and they (we) are responsive and helpful. No, it isn't 100% perfect, but if I could've made a game myself it would be a lot like Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen. Expand
  3. May 8, 2013
    10
    One of the best modern RPG's available. The combat for melee, ranged, and magic are all great and you actually feel like you're in a real,One of the best modern RPG's available. The combat for melee, ranged, and magic are all great and you actually feel like you're in a real, living world. While the world has a few problems that break the immersion, like respawning enemies and boulder traps that reset themselves, it is still quite magical. The graphics are good, but for some reasons the cutscenes look worse than the gameplay. The sound is good for an RPG as well.

    Graphics: 9
    Gameplay: 10
    Sound: 10
    Setting: 10

    The only thing I would add to this game would be online multiplayer co-op. Playing this game with a friend would be one of the best gaming experiences ever.
    Expand
  4. May 20, 2013
    9
    It doesn't have top-notch graphics but the rest is outstanding.
    The game duration, classes, hundreds of missions and the vast world map are
    It doesn't have top-notch graphics but the rest is outstanding.
    The game duration, classes, hundreds of missions and the vast world map are more than enough to make you want it.
    Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2017
    9
    One of my favourite PS3 gen games. The only inadequacy was really poor framerate and some textures. The other things was at least good orOne of my favourite PS3 gen games. The only inadequacy was really poor framerate and some textures. The other things was at least good or excelent. Its like mix of Monster Hunter, Devil May Cry, Shadow of the Colossus, Berserk and Lord of the Rings made into open world rpg. Combat is one of the best, while Sorcerer class and their spells outclased everything was made. Story was fine, musis memorable, graphics very nice overall (except thing i mentioned eariel). Game has very intresting mechanics rare or lack in other games like weight and height of character affect gameplay (fat characters cannot be raised by harpies, tall characters cannot enter goblins holes etc), roottening food in inventory if keept outside special cointainers, lantern required oil and drains by water fall and many others. Very detailed character creator also need some patience.
    Dark Arisen expansion make it even better. Dark/Berserk inspired Bitterblack Isle with serious difficulty and awesome atmosphere with new enemies, including bosses, equipment, skills and story.
    Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2015
    8
    Just came back to it after a few years away. It was was awesome then as it its still awesome now. I hope there is a proper sequel releasedJust came back to it after a few years away. It was was awesome then as it its still awesome now. I hope there is a proper sequel released state side(not and online MMO). this is one i can randomly come back to every 12 months. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    0
    Worse game and DLC ever. The storyline is boring and doesn't make sense. Not only one hour played that every single creature kill you in a hitWorse game and DLC ever. The storyline is boring and doesn't make sense. Not only one hour played that every single creature kill you in a hit and this, even at easy mode. Bitterblack isle is completely out of the storyline, out of context. You play hundreds of hours to find out that at the end, it's only impossible to get through. This game is only about giving something impossible to the customers instead of focusing on a good and rich content. Capcom literally fail in RPG games. They should get back to what they can do as this game is a complete failure. Expand

See all 66 User Reviews