Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. May 30, 2012
    100
    For £39.99, you'll receive: a tale of courage and choice, interwoven with dark political secrets and intrigue, breathtaking visuals, a refined and strategic combat system that should be a genre standard, and an interesting endgame that essentially never ends. Yes, while the last part should be fairly intriguing to most, I won't spill the beans. Just know that there lies a threat even more deadly and unforgiving than the game's 'final' boss.
  2. May 29, 2012
    100
    Dragon's Dogma excels in every single aspect I could hope for, and also exceeds that hope to the greatest degree. Yes, it may not be perfect, but I can't think of any game that is perfect. However, Dragon's Dogma is the soul reason I play video games. It's fun and it's a masterpiece. That's all that can really be said.
  3. May 11, 2012
    92
    An excellent action-RPG. The pawns are interesting AI-companions. The story is nothing special, though. [May 2012]
  4. Jun 4, 2012
    90
    Those who love mythology and have always wanted to fight some powerful mythical creatures and those who player Dungeons and Dragons and enjoyed it will find quite the gem in Dragon's Dogma.
  5. May 23, 2012
    88
    The world is one of the first I've seen that truly implores you to give it the proper respect rather than brashly dive into the unknown and expect to emerge unblemished. The story and characters may not drive you to a sublime world of fiction, but the action more than makes up for it, with character and equipment customization that will keep you tweaking and enjoying yourself the entire time.
  6. Jun 4, 2012
    86
    If you're a fan of RPGs or Capcom action games, Dragon's Dogma is definitely worth a look.
  7. Aug 13, 2012
    85
    This adventurer relished Dragon's Dogma's old-school sensibilities, which make it familiar territory that is expected on a PC instead of something from Capcom on the PS3. As players romp across a wide-open world filled with danger, titanic ruins and wonders, they'll realize that it's a rough, rewarding world, though its hardened edges may not be to everyone's cup of tea.
  8. Jul 9, 2012
    85
    The graphics aren't state-of-the-art and the story isn't that well-told. That said, spectacular combat and a wonderful environment to wander around in save Dragon's Dogma from the purgatory of mediocrity.
  9. May 22, 2012
    85
    When people talk about Dragon's Dogma, they immediately ask the question weither it's better than The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. Don't do that. Both games are just great in their own way.
  10. May 15, 2012
    85
    Big, challenging and imaginative, but its hardcore nature won't appeal to everyone. If you have a lot of time, and patience, this is one of PS3's best RPGs. [June 2012, p.100]
  11. May 4, 2012
    85
    Combat feels like a necessary part of the game's design, rather than something that was begrudgingly added to provide interaction between cutscenes. I left the game feeling that I made my mark on Gransys the way I chose to, instead of being escorted from plot point to plot point. When you're talking about an open-world game, I can't think of higher praise. [June 2012, p.90]
  12. Jun 6, 2012
    82
    It doesn't fire on all cylinders all the time. It can be disappointing and frustrating. But at the end of the day, you will reflect and conclude that all in all, you're experiencing what could be a memorable adventure.
  13. 80
    Neither Monster Hunter nor Dark Souls--but a great combination of the two.
  14. Being a Japanese attempt at Skyrim, Dragon's Dogma gets a bit overly ambitious in places. Exploration is not a case of 'if you see it, you can go there'. Firstly, because seeing the horizon is difficult; Dogma's graphics engine renders vistas with all the detail of a waterpainting. Secondly, you're held back by locked border towns, or high level enemy mobs, until you have some hours and major quests under your belt. Just as irking is the lack of authenticity to the towns and the NPCs within. You can ransack a house and sell the crap back to the homeowner (while happily stabbing them), or you can score XP by killing their pets. [June 2012, p74]
  15. Jun 6, 2012
    80
    There are areas for improvement, most notably on the storytelling front, but Capcom has produced a thoroughly entertaining adventure with widespread charm.
  16. Jun 3, 2012
    80
    A fair RPG that combines Japanese and European tradition, and that offers a full experience for tens or even hundreds of hours of gameplay. As Dark Souls it gives you nothing for free, as Skyrim it offers a great living world with its own rules. The game adds adrenaline fights along with its unique sidekick system, aiming this way for the best role-playing game title of the year.
  17. Jun 1, 2012
    80
    It's remarkable that a game as lengthy as Dragon's Dogma and with as little plot development manages to hold our interest through to an excellent finale. The combat system is undoubtedly the glue that holds the game together, providing a compelling reason to keep playing.
  18. May 30, 2012
    80
    One thing it isn't is a generic rehash. Dragon's Dogma will remain with you, frustrations and victories alike, when your memories of other games have long since faded.
  19. May 23, 2012
    80
    Dragon's Dogma is one of the freshest experiences in this genre we've seen in a long time.
  20. May 21, 2012
    80
    Dragon's Dogma is a real success for Capcom - consistently entertaining and compelling, it's a pleasure to explore its world. The pawn system and variety of skills and vocations keeps combat enjoyable even after dozens of hours, and while multiplayer would have been the icing on the cake, there's more than enough here to entertain a single player for weeks. A solid and worthwhile purchase.
  21. May 21, 2012
    80
    By looking towards the western designs, while keeping the Japanese strong points, Dragon's Dogma will make a significant contribution to the ARPG genre. Its open world, beautiful mythic creatures and chara-design, and probably the best and most spectacular combat action of the genre, it draws players into its world, even though it's far from perfect. Indeed, the story fails to drive the player forward, and the world lacks life and soul, but the ton of good little ideas, the pawn system, and the overall ambition of the title make it fun nonetheless. Enjoying it also allows us to dream of a bright future for the Japanese creators who gave birth to this unusual game for their culture.
  22. May 21, 2012
    80
    With awesome character customization and the impressively bold approach the pawn system takes to storytelling and online connectivity, that makes this all the more worth exploring, even in spite of its sometimes conspicuous faults.
  23. May 21, 2012
    80
    Dragon's Dogma has everything that RPG-heads crave – you can lose yourself in tinkering around, collecting items, finding arcane quests and seeking random enemies for days. It's reassuringly complex, and astonishingly well-executed given that this is Capcom's first attempt at such a game.
  24. If you were in a bad mood, you could hang Dragon's Dogma out to dry for its clumsy camera and controls, simplistic warrior-rogue-mage class choice, shallow combat and bad dialogue (which frequently misuses the words ere, e'er, aught, ought, ill, and so on.) But it's hard to be in a bad mood while playing such a brave, sprawling, original take on role-playing. Accept its failings and you get to enjoy its beautifully esoteric successes.
  25. May 23, 2012
    78
    Despite some graphical problems Dragon's Dogma offers a solid action roleplaying experience that excites with a great combat system.
  26. The director of Devil May Cry is at the helm here (or behind the buttons, if you like), which makes Dragon's Dogma feel like a purebred hack & slash from time to time. Complete with different fighting styles and easy to use skills. [June 2012, p.82]
  27. May 21, 2012
    75
    Dragon's Dogma is a fascinating and very enjoyable new take on the fantasy genre by Capcom, one that has a lot of promise held within it-but one which also sees some of that promise squashed due to the inclusion of an unneeded and annoying gimmick.
  28. May 21, 2012
    75
    It's a strange game, Dragon's Dogma; it does some really brave and interesting things, but it also feels unfinished, with technical problems that often spoil things. The combat, though, is one of the best real-time RPG fighting systems around, with flexibility and variety that carries the whole game.
  29. 70
    Dragon's Dogma is a game that could and should have been much more than what is. Still, it is an interesting and enjoyable game.
  30. Jun 15, 2012
    70
    Capcom's first take on western RPGs is a solid effort, with great boss fights, many new ideas and hours upon hours of exploration and side quests.
  31. Jun 14, 2012
    70
    Dragon's Dogma feels like the start of something big. It thrills and frustrates in equal measure, and whilst it's not up to the level of those at the top of this genre, one can't help but wonder what a Dragon's Dogma 2 could be like if Capcom act on all the lessons learned from this game. An exciting thought indeed.
  32. Jun 12, 2012
    70
    Despite all its shortcomings, Dragon's Dogma if an often enjoyable and interesting experience.
  33. Jun 2, 2012
    70
    Dragon's Dogma is a game with great highs and lows; at one time you'll be battling a dragon and the other you'll be battling the camera. Technical mistakes and design choices we can't wrap our heads around hold Dragon's Dogma back. Despite these problems it's still very entertaining, but that 'what could've been'-feeling doesn't let go.
  34. 70
    The gameplay is great and the unique Pawn system makes you feel like you're playing with others even though it's a single player experience.
  35. Jul 6, 2012
    65
    I really tried to like this game but the more I played it, the more tired I grew of its generic world, uninspired quests, dull characters and long distances you have to cross over and over again while cutting down respawning enemies. Combat is really good though, especially against massive foes, and the Pawns system is an interesting idea. [August 2012, p.66]
  36. A bit of refinement and this could have been something special. [July 2012, p.80]
  37. May 24, 2012
    60
    The combat has enough depth and variety to keep you interested for the duration of the story and beyond, but in terms of what might have been, what should have been, Dragon's Dogma falls gut-wrenchingly short.
  38. May 13, 2012
    48
    A clunky, confused mess of a game that simply doesn't know what it wants to be. There's comfort in how compulsive it can be, but that factor doesn't magically turn Dragon's Dogma into anything other than a flawed, dull and unfair experience. [Issue#218, p.76]
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 354 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 141
  1. May 22, 2012
    10
    Huge, open world full of interesting things - check. Flexible, inventive combat - check. Challenging, hardcore theme - check. Fun - check check check check check check check check check check check.

    What's not to love?
    Full Review »
  2. May 22, 2012
    9
    Please keep in mind i have only owned this game since midnight (8 hours), my mind kept telling me this would be a bad buy but thank god i listened to my gut.. I am personally sick and tired of the review process, sometimes i feel like they didnt even play the game (joystiq) and although this had some good scores there were a few that threw me off and then joystiq, so i was close to cancelling my order. From the moment the game started i noticed how pretty everything was, the graphics have been superb (not perfect) up to this point of my time with dogma. I was a bit shocked at how deeply intricate the details/items/customization was designed, i love the freedom to toggle, change, walk, pick up , craft and just about everything which makes me feel"involved" w/ me hero and the progression of.. Capcom nailed a system which is hard to find in console rpgs, the freedom to do, customize and tinker with just about anything and then some.. I want to feel like im dictating my hero and the path/direction of the game rather than feel like im in the passenger seat with the option to do only certain things, not here. The animations and colors are fantastic, whether its the glow of a spell of the change of day to night, its just how i want it to look, when im getting healed i actually enjoy the glow from my pawn or mate casting it upon me, watching balls of glorious fire from a mages staff, the pounding of shield to sword to distract a foe while i use my triple shot arrows soaked with oil only to throw a concoction of fire directly toward where my arrows land, all this feels and looks so right.. the controls are in fact "dynamic", dont be fooled by hack and slash or the demo, there is so much more to the combat system.. yes it is laid out by way of strong attack and light attack but there is secondary , magic, throwing and or holding a foe (or friend) and everything just works together almost seemlessly, im still very taken aback to the reality of what dragons dogma presents to me, capcom.. i am a huge fan of rpgs and i am not one to hold back how i feel and right now i feel like i wouldve made a huge mistake turning this away, i almost did..

    graphics are on point, yes there are some glitches but it is easily overlooked by the force of quality in other areas such as gameplay.. The gameplay and presentation is solid, music is nice (nothing groundbreaking) and the controls feel wonderful, voice acting is very good but im not capable to go in dept about the story, as of now i am hurrying my thoughts to get back to the game. The pawn system is awesome. menu inventory and the interface is super user friendly and simple, you can basically design your hero to look however you lease and its very deep in terms of customization.. How about this, rent the game if you are on the fence, please just give it a chance to go in your system.
    this has been a very refreshing rpg exp so far and im loving every minute of it.. its a game where you get lost in it and you dont want to be found.. Capcom you guys did a heck of a job.. i would give this an 8.5 but i cant, usually i end up leveling it off to the lower half unless the game deserves a bit more than an 8.5.. 9
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    4
    ***20 reasons why Dragon's Dogma should be in the making 4 more years*** "4 years in the making", "hundreds of people involved", "From the creators of Devil May Cry 4 and Resident Evil 4", "The most ambitious project from Capcom to date", "A BIG budget game"... Is this a sort of Japanese Joke? At first i gave this game an 8, now, after finishing the game it gets a 4. Why? At first this looks like a great game with cool combat and a HUGE map to explore and you are willing to forgive some fails, but after some dozen hours you get to realize what this game really is and not willing to forgive: reason 1) They make us believe there is a BIG map to explore by hidding it, but this is one of the smallest game maps in the world of RPG's (go and check Google images for the full map). 2) The total absence of lip synch is annoying (even the Muppets do it better). 3) An awful story with more holes in the plot than a Swiss cheese. 4) The constant monologues of your companions: "See master, a rock (98745 times)", "Wolves hunt in packs (642947 times)... 5) The almost absence of side-quests. You get objectives, not side quests: (kill 50 fearsome rabbits), (kill 2 cyclopes), (Kill the JRPG's)... 6) The 'cinematics' if you can call them that, sucks! 7) The graphics are not up to today's standards, they look like PS2 HD graphics. 8) The armors are ugly, not even a decent armor set that makes look like a badass. I was hoping all the game to get a decent armor... it never happened... 9) At the end i understood why there was no decent fast travel system, because this game is so small that makes no sense having fast travel, but i passed the same roads over and over and over and over and over again. 10) You fight the same enemies in the very same places all the time, but, if at level 1 a goblin or a wolf can get you a fight imagine at level 60! And at the end if i close my eyes i can guess where they are because they appear always in the same location. 11) You can't change your skills at any time in the game, you have to go to the Inn and say "Hey man i wanna change my skills...", why can't you change them whenever you want wherever you want? 12) At first the combat looks cool but in the end i find that there are no real strategy fighting the enemies (like in demons/Dark Souls), i just keep using my 2 most powerful strikes every time and against all sort of enemies (boring). 14) The number of 'dungeons' to explore is a JOKE, i just remember about 6, no more than 10 (Skyrim has 150 and Amalur 120 dungeons to explore) and they were reused for different quests. 15) The character models are very bad, the monsters, not so bad and the Big monsters nice with nice animations. 16) People like the spawn system, but because you have to constantly change your party, you never get emotionally involved with your companions (you just don't care if they die in combat or if they fall the abyss, and that's a part very important in an RPG, like the involvement you get with your team mates in Mass Effect...). 17) The 2 black bars always present like in a movie so the poor graphical engine could keep the framerate in this 'open small land' game. 18) Bad voice acting and bad dialogues. 19) The pseudo quest DLC's just to rob you some more money. (Go and get some medallions quests). They suck, they should be free or be included in the small game. 20) Only a few different monsters. You are always fighting the same monsters. There is not a lot of diversity and different tactics to fight the enemies, just hack and slash with your most powerful strike. (i never had to block a strike and only died twice at he beginning) ***Resuming: I'am more criticizer with this game because they made us believe this was a Big production game in a Big open world and that's not the truth. At the first hours i had fun with this game, but towards the end i was anxious to see the end of the game, like in FFXIII. My advice to the producers. Take some holidays, play Oblivion, Skyrim, Dragon Age, Dark Souls, The Witcher, Fallout, Kingdoms of Amalur..., take some notes, hire decent artists and than you can try to make a decent RPG in the western way... Good luck to Dragon's Dogma 2, but you still have a LONG road to walk! Collapse Full Review »