User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 354 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 354

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 20, 2014
    9
    What a great game, it was far above my expectations. You can do so much in this game, a tons of great quests and huge continents with great graphics. This is definitely one of the best games I ever played.
  2. Aug 2, 2012
    8
    I was very sketch on wanting to get this game for many reasons . Big one being well its Capcom and they have been sucking hard lately . Well i don't regret buying DD one bit . Its a fun new iP that i would like to see more of in the future. The game off the start looks amazing in the graphics department and the combat system is top notch . The combat reminds me alot of Shadows of the collossus for the PS2 and is just tons of fun . The create a character was well done and you get a pretty good amount of choices to pick from . The game is also pretty long around 40-60 hours . There is a ton of wepons and armor and it all looks differnt giving you and your team mates a differnt look . The world is pretty big and there is plenty to do. Now the game is said to be really hard and this is kind of true at the start of the game , where you have to be very careful on where you go because you can just get your butt kicked real easy some times but once you get to about level 25 and have some good gear you wont have much to worry about and once you are 35 nothing should really stand in your way any more. some of the downsides are the story just sucks and makes no sense at all. about half way through the game i just didn't care any more wtf was going on any more with the story because it wasnt making any sense and the ending wont help any . also traveling around sucks hard there is no fast travel . some pureist may prefer this but the majority of player will not and this is why. I really did not enjoy runing back and forth between the same areas 20-30x fighting the same enemies over and over again it got so damn boring and repetitive . it would have been fine if we where given a horse or atleast like in morrowind had the mages guild where they could teleport us to certain areas or hell even that had the silt strider as well. even with some of thoose big flaws DD is a really fun game even with the BIGGEST for a RPG having a crap story to still warrent your time. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2012
    8
    Dragon's Dogma is certainly not what I expected. The main story is excellent, unpredictable, and altogether a solid reason to play the game. The gameplay is solid, the graphics are pretty good, and there are memorable moments throughout the game. The online exchange of 'pawns' - a system where you enrol another players inferior to your cause - is intuitive and adds variety and interest to the quest.
    Overall the game is really interesting and any RPG fan will relish in the numerous weapons, upgrades, and hidden quests on offer in this title. This is no short game either, with at least 30-50 hours of gameplay in one playthrough. It is the gameplay, however, that becomes a little tiresome. Until you finish the game there is no fast travel system, meaning that you will travel the same paths over and over and over and over again, often for simple fetch quests or in pursuit of some nominal objective. I can imagine the frustration for some when hours of gameplay are taken getting from one point to another when all the environment has been seen before - often several times.
    All that said I enjoyed the game massively and would urge any RPG fan to get involved, since the overall experience is engaging and novel. When the fetch quests are out of the way, the actual dungeon sections require skill and tenacity to complete, and reward you for your efforts. Furthermore the final sections of the game are remarkable and completely unexpected.
    I wish that the drawbacks of the game did not mar the experience, but there were parts where I truly felt I was doing time rather than having fun. highly recommended - but mind the gaps!
    Expand
  4. May 29, 2012
    8
    Take Skyrim and Demon Souls, then mash them together. This game is awesome. Varied classes and combat styles drive this action as you play. With a variety of enemy's and quests, this game doesn't disappoint. With the pawn system driving the mulitplayer, it is a close feel to that of Demon souls. The game is not without a few visual flaws from time to time, but nothing a patch cant fix. This game was designed on the PS3 and is a must have for any medieval fan. Solid A. Expand
  5. May 29, 2012
    8
    I can't really write a review for this game. I've just been reading constant terrible reviews from reviews that apparently don't know what to play games. Instead I'll give you a list of points.

    - Pawns: They talk a lot, they can give you hints depending on how much knowledge they have of a quest, area or monster. Other people can hire your pawn and vice versa which will help add to their
    knowledge base. If you are really that annoyed by your pawns constantly talking, then there is no reason why you can't turn it off.
    Pawns have a lot of different behaviours and it's important you understand these behaviours so that you can have synergy in your party. You can buy potions in the encampment which tell you what each of the behaviours are.

    -Vocations. There are 9 separate vocations. Strider (Daggers and shortbow), Ranger (Longbows), Magick Archer (Magick Bows), Fighter (Sword & Shield), Warrior (2 handed Great Weapons), Assassin (daggers, swords, shields, bows), Mage (support magic and elemental magic), Sorcerer (Great and powerful magic). While the game starts of with forcing you to play Fighter, Strider or Mage, you will be able to switch very fast to any vocation you want to play by fighting your way to Gran Soren and buying the new vocation with discipline (which is given for XP gained). There are lots of different ways to play the same vocation because of the way the skill system works and it's important to make sure you have skills that will let you do what you want to do.

    Story - Yes the story is pretty bad. It's a semi-interesting story, however the way it's told is quite poor and it will be hard to understand what is going on. Really you aren't here for the story though.

    Monsters - This game probably has the best roster of monsters and ways to fight them that I've ever seen in a game. Each monster has many strengths and weaknesses and a whole plethora of ways of acting. For instance when fighting a cyclops, he may or may not have have armour on, which you can coerce him into pulling off by climbing him, attack different areas of his body will yield different effects. If someone is climbing on his head to strike him in the eye, then someone else can climb on his leg to stop him moving, and even attack in an attempt to trip him up. Lightning can stun them (especially when wearing armour) while fire will set them ablaze and possible make them frenzied. I could keep going on about all the different things that can be done in a fight again just one creature and there are many more.

    World & Exploration - The world is quite large. I would also say that it's laid out in a peculiar way, it's not just an open plain which can be traversed in a more or less straight line and travelling from one side of the map to the other will take a great deal of time and preperation to make sure you don't get lost. The map is only revealed as your explore so finding your way around can be troublesome to begin with.
    There is quick travel, however it is very limited. This was done in attempt to make the world feel larger, as games where you get flying mounts or easy access to quick travel often trivialise the entire point of having a large open world full of dangerous creatures. That said there are ways of quick travel, however they are either quite rare, or of a finite amount. There isn't much to say, this is really a game that is focused on fighting glorious creatures. Pretty much all of them are taken from Roman or Greek mythology and are incredibly fun to fight.

    The only real downside to this game is that it doesn't have any Co-Operative multiplayer component, even though it would be absolutely brilliant for that. There is something called the Ur-Dragon, which is a huge dragon which multiple people fight at the same time, and all the damage from everyone fighting it is added together, but that's not real multiplayer.
    Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2013
    8
    Cool combat and some unique environments. Inventory management is tedious and the game is lacking in story.
  7. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    Big, open world, except terrain often funnels you down the same path over and over as you travel across the game. There is no fast travel system, which I don't mind, and while this results in a great sense of exploration and atmosphere, it also means you back track across the same areas time and time again. Ferrystones will instantly teleport you from your location to the main hub city, but these are initially very expensive until you amass enough gold to be able to afford them regularly. Combat is hit or miss - it's either a fluid dance or a chaotic mess. Squad AI is generally more than competent, but framerate slowdowns and the quick pace of battle makes things easy to lose track of. You also have no direct control over your pawns. The game's unique feature is the pawn system. At the start of the game you create your main character and your main pawn. Your pawn is your right hand man and he levels along side you. You have full control over his inventory and skills, which is great and gives you a real sense of teamwork with the AI as you train it to match your play style. At certain points throughout the world, you can summon pawns created by other players to help you out. Other players can also summon your main pawn. Every time you rest at an in, the game will let you know if your pawn brought some item back for you and you always get points you can use to hire more pawns. If you find an area too challenging, you can hire a high level pawn if you can afford it instead of grinding in order to help you get through the area. Best part is, you still get full XP for their kills. My only complaints are framerate slowdowns, lack of enemy variety, and side quests which are all dull fetch errands or kill X number of bats. There's a lot of satisfaction to be had customizing your character and your pawns to execute the perfect battle strategy. When the AI manages to pull it off, it's a beautiful thing. When it stumbles, it's either a fault in your setup or the AI's fault. All in all, it's a game worth checking out for RPG fans but don't expect the masochistic difficulty of Demon's/Dark Souls. Expand
  8. dz9
    Jun 17, 2012
    8
    This game does so much right only to be held back from greatness because of a few major problems that never truly break the experience. With crafting similar to Resident Evil, fast pace action adjacent to Devil May Cry, and with gameplay combining Final Fantasy elements with Dragon Age combat... at first glance, this game is a match made in heaven. The only few minor problems in the game consists of technical issues. But this game has huge flaws. For one: There is no means of true fast travel... not even horses. Two: Missions (especially at the beginning of the game) do not reveal if you are too weak for them. Three: The main essential story is more than lackluster and characters are faceless. Combine no fast travel with non user friendly missions and you could spend hours traveling across the map to objectives only to find that you are not strong enough to fend off enemies of the locale. This is the major drawback, but what does this game do right? For starters, this is one of the only games that get A.I right, sure they come with a few annoyance but overall the pawn system is innovative, and is actually very useful. The combat mechanics, however simplistic, can actual get deep and are extremely fun. Boss fights are incredibly engaging with a nice blend of strategy to go along with it. In the end: If this game didn't get so much right, the things that it gets wrong would cripple the experience. RPG fans will absolutely love this game and the amazing action might bring newcomers along with it. Expand
  9. May 24, 2012
    8
    Pretty good game I think. There are a few technical issues on even the PS3 version, but nothing that isn't patchable. Story is kind of weak and a lot of quests are bland. If you like fast action games and open world then get this. It's definitely one of the better games so far this year. Not a very in depth review, I know, but if you get it you'll like it probably. I'd give it an 8.5, but I can't submit that score... Expand
  10. Aug 22, 2012
    8
    I finished the game before rating it. If I had rated the game before I finished it would have been much higher. It starts off great and then fizzles out about halfway through. I realized that the equipment would never get any better shortly after seeing a hint box pop up saying that the really cool pawn armor could be purchased through the online store. Basically, all your stuff is as good as it gets 3 hours into the game. The level 50 hired pawns look badass and you're still running around in a level 10 outfit all game long. The game only has one save game file so forget anyone else ever playing the game. The game cheap shots the hell out of you with its save system, for instance, one quest you have to catch a child then another similar quest throws you in jail (quest failed) check point save..auto save if you try to catch the kid. Starting the whole game over is the only option. Voice acting is good but everything else is sub-par. Small map, repetitive, linear, too much money, lack of equipment, lame crafting, skill sets max too soon. The fighting is pretty good and the game had some new ideas and was released without many bugs so I will give it an 8 but it really only deserves about a 7. Expand
  11. May 31, 2012
    8
    Capcom's answer to the success of Demon's Souls. I imagine they threw the how - to - copy - From - Software hand book in their development teams laps and told them to follow it to the letter and then for the fun of it crowbar in the mechanics that made Skyrim and Monster Hunter so damn fun to play. The result? An insurmountable and almost off putting about of content and one of the most surprisingly brilliant games released this year. Can you miss out on it? Well, yeah you could. But should you? Most certainly not! Expand
  12. Jun 4, 2012
    8
    Dragon's Dogma does not start out easy for the player - the graphics are doudy and full of pop-in and slight frame rate loss, the fantasy world is rather boring next to say Amalur or Skyrim, and the sound is nigh-on objectionable, with odd voices and misplaced music forcing the volume down. Finally, add a tutorial that is too obtuse, and a game system that isn't very friendly, and the fact that everything is thrown at you from the beginning, rather than letting you ease into-it, and you possibly have a recipe for disaster. So its thankful then, that Dragon's Dogma has some has awesome unique touches, that save it. For starters, the combat system, of which is vastly different in many way to what you've used before, is just superb - it takes a couple of goes, but once you've learnt it, you'll never tire of it. Then there's the enemies, of which vary from Goblins to Harpies and then go right up to Chimeras, Giant Cyclops, and Dragons, and you'll see that the world in the game has plenty to offer. Plus, the quests in the game are good fun, and engaging, and the gameplay coupled with the combat, makes for a unique, slightly harder take on the traditional RPG. Capcom have made a western RPG in their own eyes (rather than the other way around, as is so often the case), and despite its quirks, is a gripping game in its own right, and given time, could even convert people who normally wouldn't even play RPG's. Not perfect technically, but this is a deep game with addictive action, and comes highly recommended. Expand
  13. Jul 10, 2012
    8
    So far I've had this game for several days, and I'm pleasantly surprised by how much fun I'm having with it. It provides a harder experience than Skyrim, especially at the beginning when your characters are weak. I like the pawn system, it really does make the game feel unique to other open world RPGs. The customization and combat is fantstic (it really does not get old climbing up a cyclops and attacking its head). The problems lie in that the game is not very well streamlined to get you around quickly. There is no waiting feature, so if you get stuck out at night you better be ready for some tough fights before it becomes light again. Not quite as polished as Skyrim or Dark Souls, but definitely deserves a place on your games shelf. Expand
  14. May 26, 2012
    8
    I bought this game after watching my friend play it. It is a very good game but does have some problems. There are *minor* glitches that would be fixed by a patch update so that not big deal. The way the pawn system comes into play really keeps it interested with them saying some pretty funny things. The only reason i voted 8.10 is because in the beginning ( first 24 hours of play , yes that still the beginning) theres lot of quest that state go kill 50 rabbits, or go kill 30 skeletons. Now i will say what i really love about the game is it gives you so much gold for completing quest. Expand
  15. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    It's very challenging, and it may take a few hours to get used to it, but after the initial contact it is a wonderful game. Graphics are really nice, and the game play is excellent. It could have better dialogs, though. I totally love how your companions learn about quests and then use that knowledge during combat.
  16. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    As a huge fan of RPG's, I was expecting something great from legendary developer Capcom. However, this game is not nearly a fraction of what it could have been. While the game play is still fun and the pawn system is very original, I found the combat to be sub-par and slow at times, and the voiceovers weren't any better. If you're interested in this one, wait until it's on the $20 dollar shelf, then it will totally be worth it. Expand
  17. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    Dragon Dogma was an exceptionally great game for me, the character design all the way to the moment the cyclops decides to push your partner off the cliff. The graphic design looked a little anime-ish not sure what that was all about but i'm not complaining. This is a MUST PLAY game.
  18. Aug 12, 2012
    8
    It's a great game, despite its flaws. Combat over many things is fun and fast pace, the character customization is well thought out and created character leave you with a dropped jaw and the story was great as well. Although it feels rushed and incomplete, there is no lip syncing, missions are tedious and leave you with almost no reward for completing them, and this is a personal opinion but i was not a fan of the "Pawn" system. This game was the potential of topping off even Skyrim if Capcom had put more time and effort into this RPG, i hope Capcom learns from what did and didn't work and makes an incredible sequel that will exceed this game. Expand
  19. Oct 7, 2012
    8
    Dragon's Dogma brings fresh air into the genre of action-RPGs. The artificial intelligence of the computer-controlled vassals is convincing. This varied and exciting story in a gargantuan and freely accessible world.
  20. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    If Skyrim and Dark Souls had a baby, that would be the closest thing. Sure its not perfect and it could use a fast travel system, but really, when you get to grab a dragon by the neck and stab him as he flies trough the skies to shake you off, thats an flaw we can overlook.
  21. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    This was a great game with only a few flaws. The map looks huge untill you find a large chunk is ocean and another massive chunk is just a small straight path surrounded by mountains. The other is textures and modeling on some armors like chainmail. The pawn system is amazing in all aspects. I live knowing i can rent the right pawn for the job from other players and critique them. Lots of fun to be had there. The cities are interesting and full of life. The combat has lots of options and gear to suit. This was a great new type of game from capcom and i hope to see more polished sequals in the future Expand
  22. May 4, 2013
    8
    This game is visually sunning and has an amazing battle system. A huge open world, with incredible beast to fight and it's a LOT of fun to play even with the flaws. Unfortunately the flaws in the game are quite a few...there are a few glitches, the creatures always appear in the same area, no fast travel, the story is not that game and the characters and IA have a lot of glitches and flaws especially when they speak and their mouth doesn't correspond to what you hear...but in the end is an amazing fun game. Expand
  23. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    Strangely it's the post game of the game that truly makes Dragon's Dogma a story that makes you think, setting it's self apart from the by the names main campaign. Combat is fun with a shadow of the colossusmeets hack and slash feel but I can't help but wish the monsters were more diverse.
  24. Jun 10, 2012
    7
    The story-line is very poor but what truly shines from this average game is the nice executed combat and interesting setting/world. If you can set yourself with this two stuff , then it'll probably make worth your time .
  25. Oct 24, 2012
    7
    I reviewed this game along time ago and gave it an 8. I am lowering the score to a 7 because the game has been collecting dust and has no replayability. I gave Dark Souls a 10/10 when it first came out, and I still stand by it. Dragon's Dogma is nowhere near the caliber of Demon/Dark Souls. Also the game in reality if you look, it's really short, just when you do a quest they send you all the way to other other side of the map and back, and that's ok sometimes, but EVERY quest is like that in this game.It's just annoying. However on the plus side, I like the pawn system, everyone that knows me knows that I like my games solo, but in this game it just worked. Although I really hate Capcom for being a greedy company I think that atleast they can go somewhere with this franchise. It was the last decent game that Capcom has made. To the people saying that this game is challenging....I fail to see that.. But perhaps that is because I played the Souls series. Anyone who says that this game is harder than Dark Souls, is definatly full of crap. Demon Souls and Dark Souls are the hardest games this generation and Dragons Dogma is a cake walk in comparision. Then again when I played Dark Souls I never had online people fight my bosses for me, because im not a sissy. Expand
  26. Oct 26, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed this game a lot more since they have made some updates to allow for easy mode. Thank goodness as I am terrible at most action games in the first play through and I struggled with his game in my first try. I have played it again since the updates and have enjoyed it a lot more. Its worth a 7 I think. The pawns are a novel idea and the romance is crazy stupid but fun, certainly not that deep and meaningful but at least adds some interest. It was funny for me as a woman to find quite a lot of the female npcs falling for my female character and even a cut scene of rumpy pumpy!! Even though my character had bonded with a different npc...lol..cringe...blush.#
    The character creator is really good and I do like being able to change hair and make-up throughout the game, that's another reason I will be back to play this game again!
    The running from a to b and back to a again is quite tiresome however as is the 'beyond weird' end but I do think this game is worth a crack!
    Expand
  27. May 24, 2012
    7
    With the exception of the Pawn System, which is easily the most unique aspect of Dragon's Dogma, there isn't anything in this game that the average RPG fan hasn't seen and done several times before. With that in mind, one can imagine this title would be most fun for an audience that hasn't played a lot of video games before, and who'd be satisfied by completing menial tasks and repeatedly grinding over low-level goblins, spiders and thieves. There's nothing wrong with that, but if you have played Final Fantasy, Demon's Souls or especially the far better (yet oddly quite similar) Kingdoms of Amalur, you're not going to be blown away by Dragon's Dogma. Both titles are easy to pick up and play, but Amalur's weapons, storyline and combat offer a lot more reward for their mastery. Dragon's Dogma was a day-one purchase for this Capcom enthusiast, but with so many other great titles out there no rush is warranted to pick this one up. Expand
  28. Aug 28, 2012
    7
    La review completa en http://gameshock.vg/plataformas/xbox360/dragons-dogma-review/

    Dragon
  29. May 28, 2013
    7
    Lets get one thing outta the way, I love both Skyrim and Dragon's Dogma in their own right and for entirely different reasons. Skyrim's immersive universe was enough to get lost in for hours without following the games main plot, the attention to detail nigh on perfect. My only beef with Skyrim was a poor combat systemand of course those wretched bugs. Dragon's Dogma on the other is set in a smallish and unremarkable land, with dull as ditchwater sidequests and characters without character, and no particular crafting save an equipment upgrade system, enemies that load in predetermined locations... I shouldve hated DD for its blandness as an rpg but its redeeming feature is its totally awesome combat and magic, and possibly best of all... pawns. Character models are great, the monsters look and feel visceral and epic and the magic system is awesome, nothing feels better than summoning showers of meteors down onto numerous opponents or cracking a whip made of electricity. I could go on but I wont, Dragon's Dogma is fun and something I hope capcom expand upon because it could be so much better with abit more attention to detail. Play it, enjoy it, but beware of certain choices in game that lead to some very unusual yet hilarious consequences... Expand
  30. Nov 1, 2012
    6
    Dragon's Dogma have got great (and then I mean great) combat, with a hardcore theme. But that is also the best thing of this game; the story, characters and voice acting is horrible. Lip-syncing is non-existing. The graphics are okay. Though I honestly can't give it a higher rating than 6, I think the combat alone makes the game worthy of you buying it.
  31. Feb 7, 2014
    6
    This game is very good in writing.The "Fight giant monsters by climbing on them and attacking their weak points" concept sounds really good and the monster fights are really good, but..... The other key systems suffer, weapons and armor have now stats and are based more on a "Oh look! New equipment! Better upgrade!" mentality. The Class and Skill System are pretty inventive, giving diversity to combat. Getting around is tedious and lengthy. Overall it is a decent game for fans of the fantasy genre. Expand
  32. Oct 10, 2012
    5
    I really wanted to play this game and love it, the battles at the beginning are ok , and the story is mediocre , after some hours i could not continue. It seems a bad clone of dragon age. This game could have been so much, but it really bored me. If you like dragon age 1, skyrim, kindoms of amalur don't even rent this game.
  33. May 25, 2012
    4
    I give this game a 2/5. I believe there is fun to be had somewhere in this game..but I could not find it and would definitely not recommend this game to anyone on a budget. The graphics seem good at first but I quickly noticed many texture pop ins and the draw distance is beyond awful. Voice acting sucks and characters are just boring.
  34. Jul 6, 2012
    4
    ***20 reasons why Dragon's Dogma should be in the making 4 more years*** "4 years in the making", "hundreds of people involved", "From the creators of Devil May Cry 4 and Resident Evil 4", "The most ambitious project from Capcom to date", "A BIG budget game"... Is this a sort of Japanese Joke? At first i gave this game an 8, now, after finishing the game it gets a 4. Why? At first this looks like a great game with cool combat and a HUGE map to explore and you are willing to forgive some fails, but after some dozen hours you get to realize what this game really is and not willing to forgive: reason 1) They make us believe there is a BIG map to explore by hidding it, but this is one of the smallest game maps in the world of RPG's (go and check Google images for the full map). 2) The total absence of lip synch is annoying (even the Muppets do it better). 3) An awful story with more holes in the plot than a Swiss cheese. 4) The constant monologues of your companions: "See master, a rock (98745 times)", "Wolves hunt in packs (642947 times)... 5) The almost absence of side-quests. You get objectives, not side quests: (kill 50 fearsome rabbits), (kill 2 cyclopes), (Kill the JRPG's)... 6) The 'cinematics' if you can call them that, sucks! 7) The graphics are not up to today's standards, they look like PS2 HD graphics. 8) The armors are ugly, not even a decent armor set that makes look like a badass. I was hoping all the game to get a decent armor... it never happened... 9) At the end i understood why there was no decent fast travel system, because this game is so small that makes no sense having fast travel, but i passed the same roads over and over and over and over and over again. 10) You fight the same enemies in the very same places all the time, but, if at level 1 a goblin or a wolf can get you a fight imagine at level 60! And at the end if i close my eyes i can guess where they are because they appear always in the same location. 11) You can't change your skills at any time in the game, you have to go to the Inn and say "Hey man i wanna change my skills...", why can't you change them whenever you want wherever you want? 12) At first the combat looks cool but in the end i find that there are no real strategy fighting the enemies (like in demons/Dark Souls), i just keep using my 2 most powerful strikes every time and against all sort of enemies (boring). 14) The number of 'dungeons' to explore is a JOKE, i just remember about 6, no more than 10 (Skyrim has 150 and Amalur 120 dungeons to explore) and they were reused for different quests. 15) The character models are very bad, the monsters, not so bad and the Big monsters nice with nice animations. 16) People like the spawn system, but because you have to constantly change your party, you never get emotionally involved with your companions (you just don't care if they die in combat or if they fall the abyss, and that's a part very important in an RPG, like the involvement you get with your team mates in Mass Effect...). 17) The 2 black bars always present like in a movie so the poor graphical engine could keep the framerate in this 'open small land' game. 18) Bad voice acting and bad dialogues. 19) The pseudo quest DLC's just to rob you some more money. (Go and get some medallions quests). They suck, they should be free or be included in the small game. 20) Only a few different monsters. You are always fighting the same monsters. There is not a lot of diversity and different tactics to fight the enemies, just hack and slash with your most powerful strike. (i never had to block a strike and only died twice at he beginning) ***Resuming: I'am more criticizer with this game because they made us believe this was a Big production game in a Big open world and that's not the truth. At the first hours i had fun with this game, but towards the end i was anxious to see the end of the game, like in FFXIII. My advice to the producers. Take some holidays, play Oblivion, Skyrim, Dragon Age, Dark Souls, The Witcher, Fallout, Kingdoms of Amalur..., take some notes, hire decent artists and than you can try to make a decent RPG in the western way... Good luck to Dragon's Dogma 2, but you still have a LONG road to walk! Collapse Expand
  35. Jul 4, 2012
    4
    I was really looking forward to Dragons Dogma and its a shame that its nothing more than a huge RPG with a dull combat system. I cant recommend it because it just didn't have the spark to be as fun as it should have been.
  36. May 22, 2012
    3
    I just do not like this game. The storyline is so boring, dialogues are stupid, and graphics average. And how about gameplay? Not bad, but it could be really better.
  37. Jun 13, 2012
    3
    This game is, IMHO, a HUGE disappointment.
    CAPCOM delivered everything, but nothing that I was expecting from Dragon's Dogma.
    I played it for a couple hours and I just couldn't play more.
    First, the graphics. It SURE isn't good-looking. If you're kind enough, you can say it's a very polished PS2 game. The character models are terrible, despite of the monster's nice visuals. There's a very
    annoying thing that almost drove me crazy about Dragon's Dogma: There are ALWAYS two black stripes, at the bottom and top of the screen. It's curious because it's not a movie, so why the hell are always those stripes on? Take note that they're ALWAYS in the screen, and not only in the cinematics.
    Speaking of cinematics, it's another bad point of Dragon's Dogma. They just seem... hollow, emotionless and unattractive. The voice acting is dreadful, just like that. The soundtrack throughout the game goes from epic songs to japanese rock, what really sucks. I think japanese rock doesn't fit the game, you know.
    The gameplay is fun, really feels like an Action-RPG, but it alone can't save this game. The pawn system seems exciting at first, but when you first meet your pawn companions, you change your mind. The pawns are extremely annoying! They don't really stop talking and their coments are a pain in the ass. Always obvious things that you've already noticed.
    Dragon's Dogma is a mess of a game and I didn't expect such a thing. It's too bad that I have picked Dragon's Dogma over Max Payne 3.
    Expand
  38. Jun 11, 2012
    3
    My first review was glowing, as I was halfway through the game... Shortly after my review, the game glitched and I could not progress any further, forcing me to start over on my 26 hour save file... When i finally got back to the point in the game where the game glitched again, I had come to find out it was right before the LAST mission... not the middle. What i've come to find is that basically there is no MIDDLE of the game... it just goes from about 1/3rd in, to the end! all of the rest of the missions that should be in the middle of the game are downloadable content.... you bastards! this is a serious let down. I was really enjoying this game, but right as its starting to hit its stride... it ends. I'm now trading it in to Amazon... I don't care about the DLC or the RE6 demo... i just want to get this poor excuse for a $60 DOLLAR game out of my house Expand
  39. Nov 20, 2013
    2
    I have played kingdoms of amalur and elder scrolls and I was expecting this to be another good RPG to add to them... man was i wrong. The graphics are absolutely awful. The cutscenes are bad expect for the dragon, which looks amazing, the ingame models are an absolute joke and look like it shoulda been in a low budget PS2 game. I couldn't play this game for more than an hour before I shut it off and uninstalled it. Even for free off PS+ I feel like I got robbed. Expand
  40. Aug 10, 2012
    0
    mess of a game that simply doesn't know what it wants to be. There's comfort in how compulsive it can be, but that factor doesn't magically turn Dragon's Dogma into anything other than a flawed
  41. Dec 30, 2012
    0
    The worst part about this game is the wasted potential. I don't get angry and a crappy game. I just turn it off and return it to the store. but this game infuriated me more than any game that i can even remember. The reason is that the game has so much goodness in some areas. it is compelling and charming in myriad ways and it upsets me so greatly that I am stopping myself from playing it. I'm fairly conflicted. I want to play it, but I just know that if I do play it, I will end up very very angry. It is this reason that I give this game a low low score. it is the true meaning of the word tragedy. The goodness that exists within this game is utterly destroyed by utterly abysmal game design. for example, in the quest for realism, the designers made a day and night cycle and no fast travel. however, when striving for this realism, they neglected to let the player use a bed that is clearly not being used and is in a safe spot. hell, the player can't even use their characters own bed in their own house. then there is the three choices of vocation that the player is given at the start of the game. There are three vocations to choose from so any player could carefully consider the choice and then make a decision and go with it. they would then play the game and get to know their vocation. what the designers didn't tell us is that you can actually choose some EXTRA vocations as soon as you reach the main city. the only way a player can know is if they decide they are unhappy with their vocation choice and chose the change vocation option in the inn. the designers actually hide vocation choices from the player. then there is the very simple and really quite stupid decision to place text on the loading screen, but not give the player enough time to actually read it. it's things like this, that drive a person to madness. it's things like this that are unforgivable. There are so many other issues, that i actually managed to forgive but other players might now. The NPC's are ridiculous. you have a button to instruct them to follow you. they just ignore it. you're trying to escape from a group of bandits, the NPC party member decides that they want to be the hero. not only that, but when you are trying to sneak past a group of bandits that would surely kill your party, the NPC will decide to charge towards them, even if you are mashing the 'follow me' button. The way this game has passed through testing is quite disgusting. it is a mess to be sure. there will be people who can ignore the problem because of the undeniable charm, but I am of the opinion that nobody should have to forgive such disgraceful design. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    85
    This adventurer relished Dragon's Dogma's old-school sensibilities, which make it familiar territory that is expected on a PC instead of something from Capcom on the PS3. As players romp across a wide-open world filled with danger, titanic ruins and wonders, they'll realize that it's a rough, rewarding world, though its hardened edges may not be to everyone's cup of tea.
  2. 80
    Neither Monster Hunter nor Dark Souls--but a great combination of the two.
  3. Jul 9, 2012
    85
    The graphics aren't state-of-the-art and the story isn't that well-told. That said, spectacular combat and a wonderful environment to wander around in save Dragon's Dogma from the purgatory of mediocrity.