Dragon's Dogma PlayStation 3

Dragon's Dogma Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 450 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A legend is born in this open-world adventure. Assume the role of the Arisen, a legendary hero in a land haunted by a feared, omnipotent dragon. As you fight to protect your homeland, you will pick up companions, make enemies, and find yourself embroiled in an even deeper mystery.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
TGS 2011: Dragon's Dogma Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. May 30, 2012
    100
    For £39.99, you'll receive: a tale of courage and choice, interwoven with dark political secrets and intrigue, breathtaking visuals, a refined and strategic combat system that should be a genre standard, and an interesting endgame that essentially never ends. Yes, while the last part should be fairly intriguing to most, I won't spill the beans. Just know that there lies a threat even more deadly and unforgiving than the game's 'final' boss.
  2. May 23, 2012
    88
    The world is one of the first I've seen that truly implores you to give it the proper respect rather than brashly dive into the unknown and expect to emerge unblemished. The story and characters may not drive you to a sublime world of fiction, but the action more than makes up for it, with character and equipment customization that will keep you tweaking and enjoying yourself the entire time.
  3. May 22, 2012
    85
    When people talk about Dragon's Dogma, they immediately ask the question weither it's better than The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. Don't do that. Both games are just great in their own way.
  4. If you were in a bad mood, you could hang Dragon's Dogma out to dry for its clumsy camera and controls, simplistic warrior-rogue-mage class choice, shallow combat and bad dialogue (which frequently misuses the words ere, e'er, aught, ought, ill, and so on.) But it's hard to be in a bad mood while playing such a brave, sprawling, original take on role-playing. Accept its failings and you get to enjoy its beautifully esoteric successes.
  5. May 21, 2012
    80
    Dragon's Dogma is a real success for Capcom - consistently entertaining and compelling, it's a pleasure to explore its world. The pawn system and variety of skills and vocations keeps combat enjoyable even after dozens of hours, and while multiplayer would have been the icing on the cake, there's more than enough here to entertain a single player for weeks. A solid and worthwhile purchase.
  6. May 21, 2012
    75
    It's a strange game, Dragon's Dogma; it does some really brave and interesting things, but it also feels unfinished, with technical problems that often spoil things. The combat, though, is one of the best real-time RPG fighting systems around, with flexibility and variety that carries the whole game.
  7. Play UK
    May 13, 2012
    48
    A clunky, confused mess of a game that simply doesn't know what it wants to be. There's comfort in how compulsive it can be, but that factor doesn't magically turn Dragon's Dogma into anything other than a flawed, dull and unfair experience. [Issue#218, p.76]

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 157
  1. May 22, 2012
    10
    Huge, open world full of interesting things - check.

    Flexible, inventive combat - check. Challenging, hardcore theme - check. Fun - check
    Huge, open world full of interesting things - check.

    Flexible, inventive combat - check.

    Challenging, hardcore theme - check.

    Fun - check check check check check check check check check check check.

    What's not to love?
    Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Two words! Dragon's Dogma. Not Dark Souls. Not Skyrim. DD stands alone as truly, a masterful rpg. So much negative is said about the story.Two words! Dragon's Dogma. Not Dark Souls. Not Skyrim. DD stands alone as truly, a masterful rpg. So much negative is said about the story. The story begins (and ends) with epic cutscene[s]. The "true" ending can leave some people scratching their heads, but I for one loved it. Some of the in game cutscenes are awkward, having little to zilch to do with the story. The game would be just as good without it, but I still commend them for incorporating it just to have that change of pace rather than none at all. Then it hands it over to us as the "role-player" to fill in the gap...create our own story. Brilliant! Isn't that what role-playing is? Graphics...amazing. Certainly true when it comes to epic boss battles. Key word EPIC! Non-stop, fluid, fun combat. Ranks near the top, if not the top, combat of any rpg or any great action game, which certainly says alot for an rpg. As beautiful and enrossing Skyrim's atmosphere was, DD's combat is just that. I've played this on the PS3, and trust me, the slowdowns when it comes to big battles, actually works to its advantage. A beautiful flaw just like Cindy Crawford's mole. Bad analogy? Who does not recall an epic, action-adventure movie in which a scene was not slowed down to dramatize the experience...braveheat, gladiator, lotr, etc. I'm glad to see that the people who have invested hours into this game actually are the ones who truly appreciate it for what it is...a classic. Possibly a cult classic. Just like any great love, give it a little time and patience, and it'll be worth it. 100+ hour into this game and I'm still enjoying the ride. No fast-traveling?!...give me a break... I can now fast travel to 8 different locations...possibly more...anytime i like, but I won't spoil it. It just takes some time and patience is all. This game has Soul!! A beautiful, subtle, satisfying soul. Not really a perfect 10, but damn near there for all its boldness, its epicness, it's mystic, it's Cindy Crawford's beauty flaw. Here's to a sequel, or prequel...Dragon's Philosophy, Dragon's Religion, Dragon's Mayan 2012 Doomsday anyone? 9.1 !!!!!! Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    this game Dragon's Dogma is very good RPG and best game with SKYRIM !
    if you want play game don't stop play direct !
    and i love this game
    this game Dragon's Dogma is very good RPG and best game with SKYRIM !
    if you want play game don't stop play direct !
    and i love this game and any RPG game UK OR USA OR JAPAN RPG GAMES !
    Expand
  4. Apr 11, 2016
    9
    This game is epic in every sense of the word. HUGE open world,hundreds of deep & fulfilling quests,long complex & at times BRUTAL dungeons,aThis game is epic in every sense of the word. HUGE open world,hundreds of deep & fulfilling quests,long complex & at times BRUTAL dungeons,a very deep customisation - in terms of both character creation & clothing/armor/weapons/spells etc. You could easily lose 200-300 hrs here if you search everywhere & do all side quests. Graphically its good but not great, but be honest who plays rpgs for great graphics?? The enemies/bosses & combat are fast , fluid & relentless & quite honestly with just 20hrs played I can happily say the combat in DD is stand out in this genre , only rivalled by the Souls games. Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    This game is quite fun. It's not without it's flaws (as most games), but the overall package is great...one of my favorite games! ForThis game is quite fun. It's not without it's flaws (as most games), but the overall package is great...one of my favorite games! For negatives, the story isn't that great, and really doesn't give you that much incentive to carry on. It's not that it's bad, just not as interesting as it could have been given the plot details. They don't really develop characters into people you would care about or grow attached to. Technically, the game world feels quite alive, with wind moving plants and trees and animals and people going about their business, but as other have complained the color palette is rather muted, with PLENTY of browns, dull greens, greys, and an overall "barren" look to the world. On the other hand, it may have been intentionally done that way because the magic and overall "effects" of the game when fighting really pop because they are so colorful, making it that much more noticeable. There is some slowdown, but it's not enough to ruin the game at all, and generally it happens when there's an insane amount of stuff happening.

    For positives, the combat is top notch. Skyrim has a great story, in my opinion, but it's combat was floaty, loose, and after a while not very interesting. Amalur had fast paced action, but it was incredibly repetitive and handed to you. The game was so incredibly easy (even on hard mode from the beginning) then at level 20 I was already clearly overpowered and didn't find combat enjoyable. In Dragon's Dogma, I'm level 57 (which took a while to get), and I'm still careful with basic bandits and thieves. You can get wiped out easily if you're not careful, and there are enemies (Dragon's, wights, and others), that will humble you when you die in 10 seconds or less. I like the challenge and feeling that I'm never too powerful.

    Overall, Capcom has found a good balance with action in an open world RPG. The quests are fun (although I'll admit there's a lot of "Kill this many of that", though you get the reward as soon as you kill the last of the enemy you needed to). There are some escort quests, but because the combat is so fun and the world is so dangerous (especially at night), it makes the escort aspect fun. All battles are unscripted, so they're always different, and the sense of "epic" battles really does shine in this game. Buy it now and enjoy everything it's got to offer!
    Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    If Skyrim and Dark Souls had a baby, that would be the closest thing. Sure its not perfect and it could use a fast travel system, but really,If Skyrim and Dark Souls had a baby, that would be the closest thing. Sure its not perfect and it could use a fast travel system, but really, when you get to grab a dragon by the neck and stab him as he flies trough the skies to shake you off, thats an flaw we can overlook. Expand
  7. Aug 10, 2012
    0
    mess of a game that simply doesn't know what it wants to be. There's comfort in how compulsive it can be, but that factor doesn't magicallymess of a game that simply doesn't know what it wants to be. There's comfort in how compulsive it can be, but that factor doesn't magically turn Dragon's Dogma into anything other than a flawed Expand

See all 157 User Reviews