Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 353 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A legend is born in this open-world adventure. Assume the role of the Arisen, a legendary hero in a land haunted by a feared, omnipotent dragon. As you fight to protect your homeland, you will pick up companions, make enemies, and find yourself embroiled in an even deeper mystery.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. May 30, 2012
    100
    For £39.99, you'll receive: a tale of courage and choice, interwoven with dark political secrets and intrigue, breathtaking visuals, a refined and strategic combat system that should be a genre standard, and an interesting endgame that essentially never ends. Yes, while the last part should be fairly intriguing to most, I won't spill the beans. Just know that there lies a threat even more deadly and unforgiving than the game's 'final' boss.
  2. May 23, 2012
    88
    The world is one of the first I've seen that truly implores you to give it the proper respect rather than brashly dive into the unknown and expect to emerge unblemished. The story and characters may not drive you to a sublime world of fiction, but the action more than makes up for it, with character and equipment customization that will keep you tweaking and enjoying yourself the entire time.
  3. May 22, 2012
    85
    When people talk about Dragon's Dogma, they immediately ask the question weither it's better than The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. Don't do that. Both games are just great in their own way.
  4. If you were in a bad mood, you could hang Dragon's Dogma out to dry for its clumsy camera and controls, simplistic warrior-rogue-mage class choice, shallow combat and bad dialogue (which frequently misuses the words ere, e'er, aught, ought, ill, and so on.) But it's hard to be in a bad mood while playing such a brave, sprawling, original take on role-playing. Accept its failings and you get to enjoy its beautifully esoteric successes.
  5. May 21, 2012
    80
    Dragon's Dogma is a real success for Capcom - consistently entertaining and compelling, it's a pleasure to explore its world. The pawn system and variety of skills and vocations keeps combat enjoyable even after dozens of hours, and while multiplayer would have been the icing on the cake, there's more than enough here to entertain a single player for weeks. A solid and worthwhile purchase.
  6. May 21, 2012
    75
    It's a strange game, Dragon's Dogma; it does some really brave and interesting things, but it also feels unfinished, with technical problems that often spoil things. The combat, though, is one of the best real-time RPG fighting systems around, with flexibility and variety that carries the whole game.
  7. May 13, 2012
    48
    A clunky, confused mess of a game that simply doesn't know what it wants to be. There's comfort in how compulsive it can be, but that factor doesn't magically turn Dragon's Dogma into anything other than a flawed, dull and unfair experience. [Issue#218, p.76]

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 141
  1. May 22, 2012
    10
    Huge, open world full of interesting things - check. Flexible, inventive combat - check. Challenging, hardcore theme - check. Fun - check check check check check check check check check check check.

    What's not to love?
    Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    A total breath of fresh air compared to many other RPGs, the unique pawn system lends well to teamwork while the boss battles with enormous monsters are spectacular top this off with freeroam exploration and a fantastic customisable combat system and you have a thoroughly enjoyable mix of action and roleplaying elements making this a great buy. Expand
  3. May 29, 2012
    10
    A rough gem.

    Dragons Dogma is a strange game, at first glance it seems to be a sub-par low budget fantasy game but give it an hour or two and
    its true nature is shown.

    What you are rewarded to is a huge and detailed open world to explore (Skyrim) , a fun and rewarding skill based combat system ( Demons / Dark Souls ), A very robust and changeable class system and an interesting story although poorly written and voiced in parts.

    The boss fights which happen at either key story/quest moments or found out in the wild are fun and varied making me think of Monster Hunter or Shadow of the Colossus. Any larger monster can be climbed during combat for distraction and to reach key weak points. Bosses are challenging and very fun to fight with sword bow or even magic. The world you explore is littered with secrets and monsters to find and as day passes (41 minutes real time ) to night you are greeted with poor visibility and often stronger monsters as well as different events and things to find. Finishing on the pawn system, i am sceptical of AI companions at the best of times but the pawns in DD useful and very much needed. Customising your own main pawn then sending it online to be used by other players is rewarding as any information about enemies or quests gathered in other peoples games is brought back to yours along with gifts and items.

    Negatives go to the lack of polish on the graphics / performance side of things and for some fairly awful voice acting.

    Overall if you enjoy any of the games i have mentioned above or action rpgs in general then its a game well deserving of your time.
    Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2012
    9
    Great game, my friends bugged me to get Skyrim saying it would be incredible and hated the combat but loved this game great combat alot better than other games, really enjoyed it. Expand
  5. May 26, 2012
    9
    Note: I've gave it a 9 (whole numbers), but I think an 8,5 would be a bit more adequate.
    I came to this game expecting a mix between Monster
    Hunter and Dark Souls with maybe a bit of Shadow of the Colossus thrown in for flavour. The game is not exactly it, but it drew from these sources quite nicely.
    The focus on an unorthodox battle system is the main draw here. You can customize your combos and techniques from a huge database of combinations and the pawn recruitment enriches this pool adding depth and strategy. Item management is not a hindrance (specially compared to Witcher 2, which deals with an equally huge amount of weighted items that is a nightmare to manage) and exploration is free and always fruitfully rewarded.
    Graphics are nice (not outstanding), weapons and armor look good in you character and the world has it's vistas.

    The downsides aside for a bit of polishing are basically the execution of most other aspects relating to pawns. Even though the "learning AI" is one of the game advertising points, I feel some more direct management of your pawns would be a nice addition -- being able to take direct control, maybe, or even giving some kind of attack order wouldn't hurt. They know how to get out of your way and help in the battle, though, so that'd be a small complain.
    Also no co-op, I shouldn't judge a game for not having something like multiplayer, specially an RPG. But, in this case, some kind of couch co-op would be a very fitting addition.

    All in all an imperfect yet very enjoyable game, it's not better than Shadow of the Colossus, Witcher or Dark Souls, but it dares to try something new in the RPG scene and that's commendable.
    Expand
  6. May 26, 2012
    8
    I bought this game after watching my friend play it. It is a very good game but does have some problems. There are *minor* glitches that would be fixed by a patch update so that not big deal. The way the pawn system comes into play really keeps it interested with them saying some pretty funny things. The only reason i voted 8.10 is because in the beginning ( first 24 hours of play , yes that still the beginning) theres lot of quest that state go kill 50 rabbits, or go kill 30 skeletons. Now i will say what i really love about the game is it gives you so much gold for completing quest. Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2012
    0
    The worst part about this game is the wasted potential. I don't get angry and a crappy game. I just turn it off and return it to the store. but this game infuriated me more than any game that i can even remember. The reason is that the game has so much goodness in some areas. it is compelling and charming in myriad ways and it upsets me so greatly that I am stopping myself from playing it. I'm fairly conflicted. I want to play it, but I just know that if I do play it, I will end up very very angry. It is this reason that I give this game a low low score. it is the true meaning of the word tragedy. The goodness that exists within this game is utterly destroyed by utterly abysmal game design. for example, in the quest for realism, the designers made a day and night cycle and no fast travel. however, when striving for this realism, they neglected to let the player use a bed that is clearly not being used and is in a safe spot. hell, the player can't even use their characters own bed in their own house. then there is the three choices of vocation that the player is given at the start of the game. There are three vocations to choose from so any player could carefully consider the choice and then make a decision and go with it. they would then play the game and get to know their vocation. what the designers didn't tell us is that you can actually choose some EXTRA vocations as soon as you reach the main city. the only way a player can know is if they decide they are unhappy with their vocation choice and chose the change vocation option in the inn. the designers actually hide vocation choices from the player. then there is the very simple and really quite stupid decision to place text on the loading screen, but not give the player enough time to actually read it. it's things like this, that drive a person to madness. it's things like this that are unforgivable. There are so many other issues, that i actually managed to forgive but other players might now. The NPC's are ridiculous. you have a button to instruct them to follow you. they just ignore it. you're trying to escape from a group of bandits, the NPC party member decides that they want to be the hero. not only that, but when you are trying to sneak past a group of bandits that would surely kill your party, the NPC will decide to charge towards them, even if you are mashing the 'follow me' button. The way this game has passed through testing is quite disgusting. it is a mess to be sure. there will be people who can ignore the problem because of the undeniable charm, but I am of the opinion that nobody should have to forgive such disgraceful design. Expand

See all 141 User Reviews