Dragon's Dogma PlayStation 3

Dragon's Dogma Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 434 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A legend is born in this open-world adventure. Assume the role of the Arisen, a legendary hero in a land haunted by a feared, omnipotent dragon. As you fight to protect your homeland, you will pick up companions, make enemies, and find yourself embroiled in an even deeper mystery.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. May 30, 2012
    100
    For £39.99, you'll receive: a tale of courage and choice, interwoven with dark political secrets and intrigue, breathtaking visuals, a refined and strategic combat system that should be a genre standard, and an interesting endgame that essentially never ends. Yes, while the last part should be fairly intriguing to most, I won't spill the beans. Just know that there lies a threat even more deadly and unforgiving than the game's 'final' boss.
  2. May 23, 2012
    88
    The world is one of the first I've seen that truly implores you to give it the proper respect rather than brashly dive into the unknown and expect to emerge unblemished. The story and characters may not drive you to a sublime world of fiction, but the action more than makes up for it, with character and equipment customization that will keep you tweaking and enjoying yourself the entire time.
  3. May 22, 2012
    85
    When people talk about Dragon's Dogma, they immediately ask the question weither it's better than The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. Don't do that. Both games are just great in their own way.
  4. If you were in a bad mood, you could hang Dragon's Dogma out to dry for its clumsy camera and controls, simplistic warrior-rogue-mage class choice, shallow combat and bad dialogue (which frequently misuses the words ere, e'er, aught, ought, ill, and so on.) But it's hard to be in a bad mood while playing such a brave, sprawling, original take on role-playing. Accept its failings and you get to enjoy its beautifully esoteric successes.
  5. May 21, 2012
    80
    Dragon's Dogma is a real success for Capcom - consistently entertaining and compelling, it's a pleasure to explore its world. The pawn system and variety of skills and vocations keeps combat enjoyable even after dozens of hours, and while multiplayer would have been the icing on the cake, there's more than enough here to entertain a single player for weeks. A solid and worthwhile purchase.
  6. May 21, 2012
    75
    It's a strange game, Dragon's Dogma; it does some really brave and interesting things, but it also feels unfinished, with technical problems that often spoil things. The combat, though, is one of the best real-time RPG fighting systems around, with flexibility and variety that carries the whole game.
  7. Play UK
    May 13, 2012
    48
    A clunky, confused mess of a game that simply doesn't know what it wants to be. There's comfort in how compulsive it can be, but that factor doesn't magically turn Dragon's Dogma into anything other than a flawed, dull and unfair experience. [Issue#218, p.76]

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 152
  1. May 22, 2012
    10
    Huge, open world full of interesting things - check.

    Flexible, inventive combat - check. Challenging, hardcore theme - check. Fun - check
    Huge, open world full of interesting things - check.

    Flexible, inventive combat - check.

    Challenging, hardcore theme - check.

    Fun - check check check check check check check check check check check.

    What's not to love?
    Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Two words! Dragon's Dogma. Not Dark Souls. Not Skyrim. DD stands alone as truly, a masterful rpg. So much negative is said about the story.Two words! Dragon's Dogma. Not Dark Souls. Not Skyrim. DD stands alone as truly, a masterful rpg. So much negative is said about the story. The story begins (and ends) with epic cutscene[s]. The "true" ending can leave some people scratching their heads, but I for one loved it. Some of the in game cutscenes are awkward, having little to zilch to do with the story. The game would be just as good without it, but I still commend them for incorporating it just to have that change of pace rather than none at all. Then it hands it over to us as the "role-player" to fill in the gap...create our own story. Brilliant! Isn't that what role-playing is? Graphics...amazing. Certainly true when it comes to epic boss battles. Key word EPIC! Non-stop, fluid, fun combat. Ranks near the top, if not the top, combat of any rpg or any great action game, which certainly says alot for an rpg. As beautiful and enrossing Skyrim's atmosphere was, DD's combat is just that. I've played this on the PS3, and trust me, the slowdowns when it comes to big battles, actually works to its advantage. A beautiful flaw just like Cindy Crawford's mole. Bad analogy? Who does not recall an epic, action-adventure movie in which a scene was not slowed down to dramatize the experience...braveheat, gladiator, lotr, etc. I'm glad to see that the people who have invested hours into this game actually are the ones who truly appreciate it for what it is...a classic. Possibly a cult classic. Just like any great love, give it a little time and patience, and it'll be worth it. 100+ hour into this game and I'm still enjoying the ride. No fast-traveling?!...give me a break... I can now fast travel to 8 different locations...possibly more...anytime i like, but I won't spoil it. It just takes some time and patience is all. This game has Soul!! A beautiful, subtle, satisfying soul. Not really a perfect 10, but damn near there for all its boldness, its epicness, it's mystic, it's Cindy Crawford's beauty flaw. Here's to a sequel, or prequel...Dragon's Philosophy, Dragon's Religion, Dragon's Mayan 2012 Doomsday anyone? 9.1 !!!!!! Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    this game Dragon's Dogma is very good RPG and best game with SKYRIM !
    if you want play game don't stop play direct !
    and i love this game
    this game Dragon's Dogma is very good RPG and best game with SKYRIM !
    if you want play game don't stop play direct !
    and i love this game and any RPG game UK OR USA OR JAPAN RPG GAMES !
    Expand
  4. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    Im a player who just plays rpg games and please attention to my words:

    This is the best rpg i have ever played.Game itself contain a
    Im a player who just plays rpg games and please attention to my words:

    This is the best rpg i have ever played.Game itself contain a system called pawn.Pawns are not human but they are in human form and they will support arisen who is our character.You can command them during the game as well.Your group can be maximum 4 player,One of 3 pawn will be created by yourself and the others two will be other pawns created by other players around the world.

    This pawn characters are very clever and they have memories.They will learn every move and weaknesses of the enemies and they will learn locations and dungeons to guide you during the game.

    Dont lose any time and start to play this game.
    Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    I don't want to go into to much tedious detail, but the bottom line is, GET THIS GAME. on my life, you will not regret it. Yes, pop in occurI don't want to go into to much tedious detail, but the bottom line is, GET THIS GAME. on my life, you will not regret it. Yes, pop in occur regularly, towns don't feel as vibrant as towns in KoA or Skyrim (sorry to compare) and some characters looks like a good PS2 game. But all of that aside, this game is a true wonder. The visuals on the world, armour weapons on buildings is better than any game i've seen in the past two years. The monsters don't feel like a block on your screen, that you hack and slash a until it falls, and night times don't feel like a stroll in the park. The creatures that you fight all have a different feel to them for example you will be fighting a weak goblin that you can destroy in a matter of seconds with a good fire spell, then next you will be attacking a magical Cyclops that has a volly of different weak points that forces you to scale the repulsive beast and hack at its monstrous eye. Night time in this game is also another part of the world that sets it apart from any of other game in the RPG category, you cannot see, anything. you will be walking through the woods with your terrible (but a good terrible) lantern that only shines a couple of metres in circumference and not be able to see anything outside of that circle, no use giving lanterns to your pawns, because that only seems to light up their body, but that aside, your heart starts to race just that little bit more, as your stumble across a posse of sorcerers, that on my first encounter, destroyed me, but this isn't a bad thing, because it raises your fear factor and nearly makes you take a different route, or equip well before you venture out into the night. All in all, this is one of the best games I have played in years, with so many different aspects, the towns feel safe, and the wilderness feels vibrant and dangerous, if you are a fan of dark souls, demon souls, KoA, monster hunter, Oblivion, Skryrim or any western RPG, BUY THIS GAME. Expand
  6. May 29, 2012
    8
    Take Skyrim and Demon Souls, then mash them together. This game is awesome. Varied classes and combat styles drive this action as you play.Take Skyrim and Demon Souls, then mash them together. This game is awesome. Varied classes and combat styles drive this action as you play. With a variety of enemy's and quests, this game doesn't disappoint. With the pawn system driving the mulitplayer, it is a close feel to that of Demon souls. The game is not without a few visual flaws from time to time, but nothing a patch cant fix. This game was designed on the PS3 and is a must have for any medieval fan. Solid A. Expand
  7. Aug 10, 2012
    0
    mess of a game that simply doesn't know what it wants to be. There's comfort in how compulsive it can be, but that factor doesn't magicallymess of a game that simply doesn't know what it wants to be. There's comfort in how compulsive it can be, but that factor doesn't magically turn Dragon's Dogma into anything other than a flawed Expand

See all 152 User Reviews