Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 410 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A legend is born in this open-world adventure. Assume the role of the Arisen, a legendary hero in a land haunted by a feared, omnipotent dragon. As you fight to protect your homeland, you will pick up companions, make enemies, and find yourself embroiled in an even deeper mystery.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 1 out of 38
  1. May 30, 2012
    100
    For £39.99, you'll receive: a tale of courage and choice, interwoven with dark political secrets and intrigue, breathtaking visuals, a refined and strategic combat system that should be a genre standard, and an interesting endgame that essentially never ends. Yes, while the last part should be fairly intriguing to most, I won't spill the beans. Just know that there lies a threat even more deadly and unforgiving than the game's 'final' boss.
  2. May 23, 2012
    88
    The world is one of the first I've seen that truly implores you to give it the proper respect rather than brashly dive into the unknown and expect to emerge unblemished. The story and characters may not drive you to a sublime world of fiction, but the action more than makes up for it, with character and equipment customization that will keep you tweaking and enjoying yourself the entire time.
  3. May 22, 2012
    85
    When people talk about Dragon's Dogma, they immediately ask the question weither it's better than The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. Don't do that. Both games are just great in their own way.
  4. If you were in a bad mood, you could hang Dragon's Dogma out to dry for its clumsy camera and controls, simplistic warrior-rogue-mage class choice, shallow combat and bad dialogue (which frequently misuses the words ere, e'er, aught, ought, ill, and so on.) But it's hard to be in a bad mood while playing such a brave, sprawling, original take on role-playing. Accept its failings and you get to enjoy its beautifully esoteric successes.
  5. May 21, 2012
    80
    Dragon's Dogma is a real success for Capcom - consistently entertaining and compelling, it's a pleasure to explore its world. The pawn system and variety of skills and vocations keeps combat enjoyable even after dozens of hours, and while multiplayer would have been the icing on the cake, there's more than enough here to entertain a single player for weeks. A solid and worthwhile purchase.
  6. May 21, 2012
    75
    It's a strange game, Dragon's Dogma; it does some really brave and interesting things, but it also feels unfinished, with technical problems that often spoil things. The combat, though, is one of the best real-time RPG fighting systems around, with flexibility and variety that carries the whole game.
  7. May 13, 2012
    48
    A clunky, confused mess of a game that simply doesn't know what it wants to be. There's comfort in how compulsive it can be, but that factor doesn't magically turn Dragon's Dogma into anything other than a flawed, dull and unfair experience. [Issue#218, p.76]

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 148
  1. May 22, 2012
    10
    Huge, open world full of interesting things - check.

    Flexible, inventive combat - check. Challenging, hardcore theme - check. Fun - check
    Huge, open world full of interesting things - check.

    Flexible, inventive combat - check.

    Challenging, hardcore theme - check.

    Fun - check check check check check check check check check check check.

    What's not to love?
    Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    Take monster hunter mix in better combat, a huge game world and days of content to eat through and you have this masterpiece. The story isTake monster hunter mix in better combat, a huge game world and days of content to eat through and you have this masterpiece. The story is vague but intriguing and pays off very nicely at the ending (which leads to a new game+ mode with additional quests/loot) This game should be the bench mark for rpg combat, do you remember shadow of the colossus? it's that with every monster above a humanoid which is most of the worlds monster population. There are frustrations console controls just never seem to have the precision I'm used to as a PC user and the difficulty tends to dip ridiculously but through all that I'm well on my way to a second new game+ and I still haven't done/seen everything and I'm loving almost every second of it. Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    the best RPG i have ever played...I love you loved Monster Hunter and Dark Souls..you will LOVE this.
    ....ignore the ignorant **** from IGN
    the best RPG i have ever played...I love you loved Monster Hunter and Dark Souls..you will LOVE this.
    ....ignore the ignorant **** from IGN giving this a 7.5....they had big ass sponsors from terrible games like ''Kindoms of Amalur'' they gave it a 9(!!!) the biggest garbage i ever played.....Dragon''s Dogma is a game you cannot ignore...
    Expand
  4. dpc
    May 30, 2012
    9
    As a relative new comer to RPGs (started with Oblivion), DD is a very good game. The start is admittedly slow, but once I got to the capitalAs a relative new comer to RPGs (started with Oblivion), DD is a very good game. The start is admittedly slow, but once I got to the capital city, the game picks up immensely. Pros are the combat (very satisfying and fun), the graphics, fun quests and the world itself is immersive. Cons are the somewhat clunky menu system (checking out the map shouldn't be a chore) and the extremely repetitive comments you'll hear can get lame. But overall, an excellent adventure that is the perfect antidote to coming off of over 100 hundreds in Skyrim. And don't try to compare the two - enjoy them both as different takes on a similar theme. I'm lovin' it! Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    After spending 30+ hours in the world of Dragon's Dogma I can honestly say I have yet to experience a game quite like it. It blends theAfter spending 30+ hours in the world of Dragon's Dogma I can honestly say I have yet to experience a game quite like it. It blends the intense action that Capcom always provides with a solid RPG experience. Fairly basic quest lines with the occasional "wow" factor on your way to complete them. These random encounters are often huge bosses with different strategies to each, and they always reward with heaps of experience and loot. The class system is so in depth and accessible that anyone can work with it. Even so, it's possible to make very deep and rewarding class combinations for different roles. The pawn system in itself if quite gimmicky, but is definitely a fun and cool feature to add a sense of community in game, to a otherwise single player experience. I had to take a point off for the lack of good travel options and constant backtracking. Nothing like spending hours just running down a dirt road! Still it's a must play for RPG lovers and Action gamers alike. Try it out! Expand
  6. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    Dragon Dogma was an exceptionally great game for me, the character design all the way to the moment the cyclops decides to push your partnerDragon Dogma was an exceptionally great game for me, the character design all the way to the moment the cyclops decides to push your partner off the cliff. The graphic design looked a little anime-ish not sure what that was all about but i'm not complaining. This is a MUST PLAY game. Expand
  7. Dec 30, 2012
    0
    The worst part about this game is the wasted potential. I don't get angry and a crappy game. I just turn it off and return it to the store.The worst part about this game is the wasted potential. I don't get angry and a crappy game. I just turn it off and return it to the store. but this game infuriated me more than any game that i can even remember. The reason is that the game has so much goodness in some areas. it is compelling and charming in myriad ways and it upsets me so greatly that I am stopping myself from playing it. I'm fairly conflicted. I want to play it, but I just know that if I do play it, I will end up very very angry. It is this reason that I give this game a low low score. it is the true meaning of the word tragedy. The goodness that exists within this game is utterly destroyed by utterly abysmal game design. for example, in the quest for realism, the designers made a day and night cycle and no fast travel. however, when striving for this realism, they neglected to let the player use a bed that is clearly not being used and is in a safe spot. hell, the player can't even use their characters own bed in their own house. then there is the three choices of vocation that the player is given at the start of the game. There are three vocations to choose from so any player could carefully consider the choice and then make a decision and go with it. they would then play the game and get to know their vocation. what the designers didn't tell us is that you can actually choose some EXTRA vocations as soon as you reach the main city. the only way a player can know is if they decide they are unhappy with their vocation choice and chose the change vocation option in the inn. the designers actually hide vocation choices from the player. then there is the very simple and really quite stupid decision to place text on the loading screen, but not give the player enough time to actually read it. it's things like this, that drive a person to madness. it's things like this that are unforgivable. There are so many other issues, that i actually managed to forgive but other players might now. The NPC's are ridiculous. you have a button to instruct them to follow you. they just ignore it. you're trying to escape from a group of bandits, the NPC party member decides that they want to be the hero. not only that, but when you are trying to sneak past a group of bandits that would surely kill your party, the NPC will decide to charge towards them, even if you are mashing the 'follow me' button. The way this game has passed through testing is quite disgusting. it is a mess to be sure. there will be people who can ignore the problem because of the undeniable charm, but I am of the opinion that nobody should have to forgive such disgraceful design. Collapse

See all 148 User Reviews