Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 33
  2. Negative: 5 out of 33
  1. 90
    This is a game that is most interested in telling a story, and, just as with Nier before it, Drakengard 3 has a plot that is nothing short of a masterpiece. It's the kind of game that is going to inevitably be under-appreciated by people who can't be bothered trying to understand it. Judging from some of the other critical responses to the game that have already been published, we're already seeing that happen.
  2. May 26, 2014
    85
    Drakengard 3 is a game aimed at a very specific audience, and it should be reviewed as such. If you can see beyond the graphics, and you're looking for a good story and loads of action, this is a game that you will hardly forget.
  3. May 20, 2014
    85
    Drakengard 3 is a bit unconventional at times (like its developer) with tales of extreme hair cutting and dragon piss, but action fans will want to seek this one out immediately. Within 15 minutes I was drawn into its world and its cast of characters, and I wanted to see Zero's journey through from start to finish. If you like games like Nier, you'll love Drakengard 3.
  4. A technically troubled, budget production that tries to compensate with gore and 'edgy' characters that are ultimately obnoxious. [August 2014, p79]
  5. May 30, 2014
    77
    Drakengard 3 could have been just superb if the visuals were better. It is a game made for fans. It will be disconcert newcomers to the saga, but will astonish them because of the complex plot it offers.
  6. Jun 5, 2014
    75
    While the repetitive combat and atrocious performance issues make Drakengard 3 very difficult to recommend, its characters and story, along with a fantastic OST, makes me feel that there may very well be an audience for this wonderful mess of a game, myself included.
  7. May 30, 2014
    70
    Drakengard 3 is technical mess with an awesome but unconventional story telling. Taro Yoko's vision can take you into a violent and extreme world with interesting characters. Don't let the low quality graphics to prevent you from buying this epic and interesting PS3 exclusive.
  8. May 30, 2014
    70
    A hot mess of gibberish that still manages to be vastly amusing, Drakengard 3 is as close to Deadly Premonition as a hack n' slash game gets. It's bizarre and it's disheveled to the point of downright idiocy, but it knows what it is and it goes the whole hog. I laughed, anyway.
  9. May 27, 2014
    70
    I love that the game portrays its female characters as assertive beings that desire and need sex on their own terms, instead of as sexual material doled out in-game as "rewards" for player performance.
  10. May 26, 2014
    70
    A deep and satisfying action RPG plenty of interesting battles, attractive characters and tons of quests to fulfill. Low quality graphics and frame rate inconsistencies harm the gameplay, though.
  11. May 23, 2014
    70
    As it stands we’re left with a very fun beat-em-up – with very funny writing – that ultimately outstays its welcome.
  12. May 20, 2014
    70
    Drakengard 3's weirdness is its greatest asset. The narrative is intriguing, and the combat is fun enough, but it's the game's unapologetically unusual atmosphere that made me end up liking it.
  13. May 30, 2014
    68
    An extremely strange game that begs to be played despite its litany of glaring flaws.
  14. May 27, 2014
    68
    Gore, blood baths that are bigger than the ones we saw in the first Blade movie, constant sexual jokes and crude humour are some of the elements of Drakengard 3, the prequel that put us in the heels of a promiscuous, enrage, selfish and adorable Goddess that only want to kill her sisters and rule the world. Good combat system, great mechanics like the weapon change and a bloody entertaining game that lasts a minimum 25 to 30 hours, it's a shame that the game graphics look so outdated, the frames are like a rollercoaster and the camera is looking for trouble, because this new Drag on Dragoons could really be the best of the trilogy.
  15. Jun 6, 2014
    63
    Drakengard 3 offers an irreverent plot, a good soundtrack and interesting boss fights, but everything is penalized by a repetitive combat system, camera issues and graphical slowdown.
  16. Despite the shonky performance issues and woeful combat, there's still something that compels you forward. [Aug 2014, p.91]
  17. Jun 4, 2014
    60
    Drakengard 3 is sort of an enigma. You should either avoid it like the plague or, if your curiosity has been piqued by this review, you should give it a try.
  18. May 20, 2014
    60
    A darkly humorous action RPG with entertainingly fast-paced combat, Drakengard 3 is a unique experience marred by long load times, minor technical issues, and lackluster world design.
  19. May 20, 2014
    60
    It simply doesn’t have enough to redeem itself from its laundry list of flaws.
  20. May 20, 2014
    60
    Overall, I enjoyed much of my time with Drakengard 3, but I couldn't help think that it could have been improved in many ways.
  21. Jun 29, 2014
    57
    It also has some of the dullest combat you ever did see. [Aug 2014, p.78]
  22. 55
    Sure, there are graphical issues, slowdown, and the game is rather easy in areas where it should provide more challenge. However, the story is goofy enough for some laughs, the ability to switch between 4 weapons in battle is fun, and despite its repetitive nature, the combat does enough to keep you interested.
  23. 50
    Combat is fun, but storyline confuses and gameplay is repetitive.
  24. Jun 2, 2014
    50
    Beyond the gorgeous melodies and the attractive protagonist of Drakengard 3 lies an inconsistent RPG action game, with serious technical issues, washed out graphics, silly story, unnecessary sexual references and questionable combat system.
  25. Jun 2, 2014
    50
    Drakengard 3 will join the collections of many series fans, as it certainly has buckets of character and no doubt stays true to the previous games. For anyone else looking for an interesting action-RPG, it misses the target far too often to recommend it as an essential purchase.
  26. May 29, 2014
    50
    Drakengard 3 isn't a very good game, then, but it's an interesting kind of failure, and as such is impossible to completely dismiss.
  27. May 28, 2014
    50
    Drakengard 3 is a disastrous mix of high potential and very low execution.
  28. May 20, 2014
    50
    Some of its lazy touches recall a PS2 relic that was better off being pretty on older hardware. If it does interest you for some reason, I’d advise you to wait for a sale price at least, because I can’t see this flying off of store shelves.
  29. May 20, 2014
    48
    I did everything I could to overlook Drakengard 3’s shoddy graphics, repetitive gameplay, poor controls, and shallow characters. Alas, this RPG is its own worst enemy. Everything about it feels underdeveloped and cobbled together.
  30. Aug 25, 2014
    40
    The most interesting bad game of this generation and the ugliest I’ve seen on PS3 in last couple of years. Only for Nier and Drakengard fans. [08/2014, p.70]
  31. May 20, 2014
    40
    Drakengard 3 is rough, to say the least. Fundamentally, I like the focus on action, and the battle system is competently executed. However, it's all buried beneath a poorly optimized engine, terrible camera, and a story that's alternately infantile and gross. I've played a lot worse; but by an large, Drakengard 3 is a pretty bad game.
  32. Jun 17, 2014
    30
    I have no idea how something this bad came from team capable of creating something so good, but the magnitude with which Drakengard 3 fails is impressive.
  33. May 22, 2014
    30
    It’s obviously been made on the cheap, but that’s no excuse for the legion of technical problems and the embarrassingly unsophisticated script of this obnoxious action game.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 227 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. May 20, 2014
    10
    Ah, I knew this was probably going to be met with mediocre-level reviews. I honestly don't understand where people seem to be getting off about long load times. They really are not all that long. Aside from that, there are some framerate issues, but they don't detract from the game as a whole. The gameplay is extremely fast-paced, frantic, and fun. Endlessly slaughtering enemies, really. The story is dark, and also throws in some seriously morbid, as well as sexual humor. It's a great experience, and if you can overlook the framerate issues, it is really a great game. I love it. Full Review »
  2. May 20, 2014
    10
    This game actually keep up whit the essence of the others drakengard games and has that dark and involving story just like nier...this game has such a great hstory you keep playing you keep want to see whats gonna happen next the gameply are so good and given a more than 100 hour if you wanna do everything. We need more game like this!! we have this masterpiece now square please make valkyrie profile and star ocean sequels :D Full Review »
  3. May 20, 2014
    10
    If you were to follow most critic's reviews you'd think this game is bad. The problem is most critics who critic this game don't really seem to get the point. The gameplay is in the same vein as you Devil May Cry and Dynasty Warriors. That mean fun super stylish combo's that just make you feel like a badass and is "FUN" (you know... the whole point of video games to begin with). The story is also something some reviewer just don't get. This is mainly because although I very much enjoyed the more twisted storyline I see where some reviewer just wouldn't enjoy it as it's an acquired taste.

    The thing you need to know is this game is fun, and if you like japanese actions games like this you'll love it. If you're not sure either borrow from a friend or rent through gamefly or something because no amount someone else's opinion is gonna tell you whether you'll like it.
    Full Review »