User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 243 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 243

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    2
    "This'll be interesting." was my first thought when putting the disc into the drive of my Xbox. This proved to be very true, although not in the way I had expected it to be. Duke Nukem Forever is a game that captures very much the essence of Duke Nukem 3D, it is indeed the same Duke we're about to meet. You really don't need more than a few minutes into the intro to realize this. Paying homage to the original is however nothing you can build an entire game on, and being true to the earlier games is the only thing that is done properly within Duke Nukem Forever. Everything else pretty much sucks. Animations are poorly made and implemented with characters displaying snapping and odd movement patterns. You play in first person view yet there is a ton of bugs related to this. Notice especially how the player seems to hover about a feet above the floor and how it's possible to trigger strafing movement without triggering the strafing animation. Facial animations are so poorly implemented that they seem to have no correlation at all with the content of their audio files. The sound is poor as well, with no considerable variations implemented at all. This makes the game sound repetitive and uninteresting. Just try to jump a few times in a row and listen to the grunting Duke lets out as he lands and you'll understand what I mean. The whole game sounds pretty much like this, apart from the few areas that have for some reason been left totally without any ambience tracks making them feel even more out of place and breaking immersion totally. Considering the competing titles Duke Nukem Forever has nothing to show when it comes to visuals either, it simply looks worse than the titles it's supposed to outrun. I've always thought that the most important thing to pull off when doing a game is the gameplay and since this game doesn't even manage that it's not worth anyones time really. There are huge sections with non-existing gameplay and nothing for the player to do while waiting for some pointless movie (with sucky facials and poor sound) to finish. If you want something that feels like the old Duke Nukem 3D but is a bit new and has boobs that you haven't seen before just replay the old game with some downloaded porno in the background, it's pretty much the same thing. And whatever you do, don't buy this game first hand, there's bound to be a huge second hand market for it within short. Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    5
    This game was a disappointment. I realize it keeps the "old school" feel to it and Duke is Duke, But other then the funny one-liners, and little fun interactions, there is nothing special about this game. The length of the load screen itself is enough to make me want to quit playing. It can be fun and challenging (on the hard difficulty) and the game is a breed of its own, but this day in age of gaming requires more than just a trademark name and character. (Especially the FPS Genre) I say give it a rent, have a laugh, kick some alien ass, and move on. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    4
    Sorry but in a cut-throat recession hit community, to release slop like this is a crying shame. I appreciate after 13 years, it's a huge achievement to get a game published, but what exactly were the developers thinking? This is people's hard earned money and poor games means store seller's such as myself take a lot of heat when people find excuses to return under-par games. Then there are the graphics which could have been from a Commodore. Hey C4Eva, you seen better right?

    I hate to slate a highly anticipated game, and I didn't for other's but if I let this slide, I wouldn't be a true critic. I am sure the game will bear well with the die hard 40 somethings but I am not there yet and neither is this game. You should have focused on a new userbase as well as the old school fans and it is in this area and the fact it's 2011 that I cast doubt on your abilities, whether it be think - tanking the game or the programming abilities.

    I don't wish to discuss the game in general as I would hate to offend further. Thanks for the news hits but thats as good as it ever got to be honest.
    Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    Duke is awesome. That's it.
    Of course with all the hype that's being going on and the blindeness of the reviewers (some of them) contributes for an overall thinking that this game is bad.
    This game is not crysis is not COD is not Halo, neither it is Uncharted or even any other shooter out there. It may be different for the iGNorant reviewers but for me it's a piece of art that I will
    always keep standing by in my brain.
    Sure it isn't the sequel that the fans have been anticipating but it's fun and it's good.Awesome.
    (written by a guy who likes COD)
    Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2011
    0
    This is an abomination and offends in every sense of the word. It is like purchasing a box of self-torture and injecting it directly into your ears and eyes. I don't even want to think about this game anymore, just please avoid it. Go play superman 64 or ET for the atari instead.
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Totally undeserving of such low scores, especially with so many uninventive and tedious sequels getting 9's or higher. Honestly, more varied and fun, though perhaps not as polished as most AAA shooters of this generation.
  7. Jun 14, 2011
    1
    Duke Nukem Forever is a collection of minigames with short passages of regular FPS gaming.

    Had mediocre hopes for this game but it simply sucks. First 45 mins are spent in a weird "on rails" Duke museum. After that theres only short passages that are actually an FPS. You spent most of your time driving trucks or shooting from a turret. It's dark, gritty and it's age is very visible. Don't buy it
  8. Jun 16, 2011
    1
    This is absolutely the worst game I have played on the PS3 platform. Ever. I was expecting a modern version of the DN series, not a watered down version.

    1) Why would DN start off with no weapons? Kiling alient by throwing trophies is lame. 2) No open world at all. You can't even walk by people in a hallway, you are blocked until the dialog is complete.
    3) Graphics look like PS2.
    4)
    Most importantly -- the load time is abysmal. That was the final straw. Expand
  9. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Good duke game! Yes it looks and feels like an 8 year old game but who cares, it's still a fun game. If you liked duke 3d then you're gonna like this one too.
  10. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    God awful. I was astonished how bad this game was. Aren't games supposed to be entertaining to some degree?? Ripped off. Hail to the King? No thanks.
  11. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    Garbage no matter what system it's on, I already ranted on it for the 360.... Randy could sell you all a box of dirt and you would buy it, don't do it.... There was no reason to ever release this game...
  12. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Duke is back.
    And in The damn good shape. Incredibly funny and variable game. Duke is among today 's a lot of games away from much of the competition. Duke has in each case at least three taunts on every thing and the whole game not give boredom a chance. I play the PS3 version.
    If you are 20+ years old and you played the original Duke 3D you will be thrilled. Must have. Plus: Incredibly
    variable missions and good level design Wit and humor in each piece of the game. Dukes buzz Finally, is here: D Minus: Loading is too long, about 25 seconds. Console version does not have good graphics. Sometimes the framerate drops. F*****g good :D

    Ps : I am used the google translator :)
    Expand
  13. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    The game really was everything what i expected and even more. Gameplay is good, maps are good and characters are good. I thought that only 2 guns with you would be weird in Duke but actually i didn't even notice that when playing because the shooting was so fun and worked so well. Beer, steroids, monster, puzzles, "little duke", etc worked well and was fun. Those who want graphics or just multiplayer can eat bubblegum but those who want good singleplayer first time in years: it's time to kick ass! Expand
  14. Jun 14, 2011
    7
    I want people to know that I am not a HUGE Duke Nukem fan.
    Yes, i was like "wtf is this pile of **** when I first put it in. Yes i was tossing piles of **** around in the toilet at the "tutorial" level. and Yes after the first LENGTHY loading screen for such a shoddy looking game, I turned it off...

    BUT, after some digging around on and after a word with my friend - who is by the way a
    massive fan himself - i learned some interesting things about this game and gave it... a second chance if you will?

    FUN FACT: Did you know this game is 2011 ONLY game to use the Unreal Engine 2?? where-as Gears of war 1 (a 2006 exclusive) uses Unreal Engine 3.

    my source:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Unreal_Engine_games

    So anyways, back to my review. I gave it a second chance and now I can see what the game is trying to be... Nostalgic, offensive and just fun. Its honestly okay for an hour goofing off killing "pigcops" but it does wear thin, because as everyone else pointed out. It holds nothing compared to today's modern competition. Who know's maybe we are just spoiled now? Maybe we are all cynical bastards? But the truth is...

    I want to hate it and trade it back in but I can't... nostalgia and my casual gaming roots hold me bound.

    Yet I too also want to love this game, but I can't because its just so average. Maybe that's just how it wanted to be guys and gals? An average, honest game. :D

    It went through a lot of work, a lot of hype and a lot of roller-coaster moments - so all i can say to all your haters is: Give it a chance - and if you never liked Duke or even knew who he was... why'd you even pick it up then? lol
    Expand
  15. Jun 15, 2011
    0
    What started as a promising new game in the Duke Nukem series became a long awaited legend and finally, a community running joke. Fast forward a decade and change later and here we are with Duke Nukem Forever. What can I say that hasn't already been said? It's basically everything you expect from Duke Nukem, minus most of the fun. Everything about the game is pretty boring and the humor about as dated-- alright I'll cut the **** The game is not good. Half the reason this game was so 'legendary' was because it was a joke. How does any company, not just Gearbox, expect to take the reins and just hope for the best? This game has and never will exceed the expectations people had back then, whether they were good or bad in the first place. This game, fabled for the sole reason of being the one that got away and for all intents and purposes was dead, was resurrected as a shambling horror. This game is just a lifeless zombie wearing a red tank-top and a decayed, yellow buzzcut. This should never have come back, and it is sad to see one of the game industry's longest running jokes become just an incredibly run-of-the-mill FPS in the footnote of an amazingly interesting legacy. Expand
  16. Jun 16, 2011
    0
    So ok Duke Nukem Forever Is Finally Here!! Wow 14 Years!! Like many gamers i brought this on day one!! but to be honest i am deeply disapointed sure its a old game! but it just feels to generic and outdated plus load times take "FOREVER" henece the name of the game, sure its fun for about half an hour but i am deeply disapointed i mean im grateful that it actually arrived but the game in general feels rushed graphiclly its not impressive but it dont have to have good graphics to make a good game. Gearbox should have spent another year on this game even though its been 14 years since its release im sure one more year wouldnt have been that bad to at least bring the Duke into the next generation i have to admit i dont ussualy exchange my games after a purchase but the game honestly feels incomplete. As for the online multiplayer L O L sorry Duke Expand
  17. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed it... isn't that what its all about (probably not these days). there is plenty to enjoy, like the small and simple distractions that break up the game nicely and prevent it from being just another mindless shooter. yeah ok the graphics suck big time...BIG TIME (hence the 9) but just as i enjoyed things like portal, crysis 2 and COD... i enjoyed this too. I look forward to the sequel....

    To all the haters (not the ones who gave it a fair shot and honestly don't like it) "if i wanted to listen to an **** hole, i would have farted" (duke quote haha)
    Expand
  18. Jun 14, 2011
    7
    If you loved Duke back in the day, then this is for you. Though the depth of level exploration seems to be lacking in comparison to Duke 3D. I find that to be the only thing missing in Duke Forever that would make it feel truly like a Duke Nukem.
  19. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Duke seems to me very successful. Lots of mini-games, riding in different vehicles, the old weapons and much more. Graphics are like me, although it's not Crysis, but I can not say that it was ugly. The whole fun of this game comes out the hero of all heroes in the lead role with his witty message. Expand
  20. Jun 15, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game has a very specific taste. first of all you have to be hardened by brutal games as there maybe scenes that strike below the belt to you (for me it was the hive chapter, all those babes *sob*)
    second its an benefit if you like exploring every corner of a game as there is a lot of stuff you can use for no real purpose next to the items that increase your ego i.e. max life.
    and in addition you must be able to get along with a, lets say easy-understandable story but in excuse with vast boss fights (which were some of a good challenge for a person who does not play mainly fps games)
    if you meet these requirements this will be the perfect game for you
    AND if you are then a duke fanboy you will see that gearbox took this job serious as you will find a lot of dukish details like getting hurt in the electric socket, use pool tables, and so on.
    Expand
  21. Aug 3, 2011
    0
    Anyone who liked this game seriously needs to get checked out because it is garbage. It starts you off alright but then it is utter chaos because it just plops you into combat with out any explanation it literally goes "go kill em" and that's it as well the graphics aren't that good for a game of this caliber and made in this day and age and the comedy is stale and dry with constant immature sex jokes that I was saying back in grade school stay away at all costs and if you have it bring it back in imeadietly while the game stores will still give you 35 $ for it this game was the biggest mistake of my life and was over hyped and turned out to be a piece of crap Expand
  22. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    I've got to admit first that I followed this game for it's entire 14 years of development. However I'd like to point out that I'm also aware that this Build of the game didn't take 14 years to make, it took 5. Remember that DNF was scrapped several times until it's final attempt to make it.

    That said, I went on to play the game for the first time with really high expectations, the highest
    possible. And yes, the game didn't meet them, of course. Nothing can meet such hype and expectation built for over a decade.

    Still the game managed to keep me entertained throughout it's entirety and even had me rolling on the floor laughing. The game IS fun. You only need to know that this isn't supposed to be the second coming of Christ. It's a funny enjoyable game.

    It has it's flaws, yes. Like the linearity, sometimes empty rooms, and so on. Still, for me, the good out weighed the bad. I'm one of the lucky people that had fun with the game and didn't finish it in disappointment. I'd like to say thank you to everyone that made this game possible. I sure had a blast playing it and I know I'll keep on trying to find more secrets and references. Get the game! Don't let the bad reviews discourage you. It's cool to talk trash about Duke Forever on every review, but you don't have to be like that. You have a mind of your own. Try the game, and then make up your own opinion about it. HAVE FUN!
    Expand
  23. Jun 18, 2011
    1
    I never wasted money on something so **** stupid in my life. But thankfully I returned this and stuck this trash right back to where it came from, next time I'll wait for a few reviews before I got out and throw money out the window like this.
  24. Jun 19, 2011
    4
    I rented this expecting old duke not a crappy generic fps.Sure it makes fun of some of this and maybe it was done that way to show the hipocrisy of reviewers that give 10/10 to games with regenerating health and 2 weapons limit and play virtually the same.Still not what i was hoping and totally not worth the 12 years waiting.
  25. Aug 13, 2011
    4
    I think it's time for Duke Nukem to be retired because Forever was a disappointment and a disgrace to make a comeback after 14 years of development issues. I played the demo and it wasn't that even good. I think that this game has been outdated or something, but with a comeback to the FPS format, well I just don't want to conglomerate myself. Duke Nukem Forever was the worst game of 2011.
  26. Jun 16, 2011
    7
    Most of the reviews for this game are unjust. I realize that the time it took for this game to come out automatically ruined any chances of it having a great score. Are the graphics dated? Yes. Are the load times atrocious? I've seen worse. Overall, Duke Nukem Forever isn't a bad game, nor is it a great one. Is it fun? Yes, it can be loads of fun. Is it frustrating? Yes, but for the right reasons.

    I'm not justifying a purchase of this game, since I feel $60 is too much for this finished product. Would it be worth 25-30 bucks? Probably.

    I say rent it, play it, and see for yourself. Not worth perfect marks in any category, but I do feel reviewers slammed this game too hard. I'd say roughly 2 points were docked from every low scoring review just because "it took so long and should have been perfect".
    Expand
  27. Aug 18, 2011
    0
    utter garbage , if a wanted to play a ps2 game i would dust off the old machine ,, so glad i hired this embarrassment of a "game" .. i did manage to get my £5 back from a certain high street video game rental shop tho ......... if meta-critic had a negative part to the score slider , this would definitely be a -10
  28. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Duke Nukem Forever was such a fun game, I really don't get why many reviewers decided to hate on it. There are a few problems, make no mistake - mainly the 2007-2008 level graphics, the fact that Duke can, for some reason, carry only 2 guns, regenerating health instead of health packs. Everything else, though, is excellent, ESPECIALLY if you enjoy Duke Nukem humour. If you do, this game is a true feast. The jokes are second to none, the game just keeps a smile on your face for extended periods of time.

    There's a LOT of attention to detail (pretty entertaining Duke Nukem burger cartons in one of the stages, for instance). The game offers great variety, it's not all shooting, there are puzzles, there's some first-person platforming (nothing too difficult), a lot of things are covered. The stages are quite varied, both in terms of design and in terms of what you have to do - there are driving stages, water stages, stages where you are small and have to fight your ways through rats or even big aliens, a stage set like a Western movie, etc. There are plenty of entertaining mini-games like pool, weight lifting, pinball, etc. The boss battles are quite epic and intense.

    I guess the game is a bit on the easy side on Normal difficulty, but then again, you're Duke Nukem, it's natural that you kick epic amounts of ass. The story is nothing special, of course, but the game is all about the humour. Duke Nukem is better than ever, I'd say Jon St. John's voice is even more badass 15 years later!
    Expand
  29. Feb 4, 2012
    7
    I am so sorry to say that I was disappointed with the game. It just wasn't what it was supposed to be. When I was a young girl playing Duke 3D I loved by the game. What kept me playing this game was the amusing rhetoric from Duke and the un-pc themes. This game was just uninspiring and had it come out ten years ago, it would have been great. The graphics were not good and that made the stick around factor fall away very quickly. Some of the things you had to accomplish were downright mechanically infuriating. I caught myself swearing at the screen in annoyance rather than the swearing at the screen in Duke Delight. Damn..... Expand
  30. May 3, 2013
    4
    This game is an unimaginative, uninspired, dull shooter. I mean, what happened to all the early concept art? That looked way better than this game. Instead what we got was a series of lame jokes, repetitive gameplay and design, cheap boss fights and unfunny jabs at other popular games. All of the games referenced, ironically are better than this game! You might aswell play the old Duke Nukem games. Did I also mention, all of the mini-games suck? The multiplayer is mediocre too. There is some fun to be had in this game, don't get me wrong. I loved all the titillation enforced by the sexist portrayals of women in the game and some of the shooting segments were fun. I'm not surprised that this game has an abundance of deficiencies in the gameplay. Most of the development time most of been spent on animating the poo and writing out 'forced' jokes. Expand
  31. Jun 21, 2011
    0
    I didn't know there were games that could be this bad. Awful graphics are fine, as long as gameplay and story hold up. Both gameplay and story are even worse than the graphics. The gameplay is like any other shooter, however the bosses and level design are atrocious. None of the guns are any fun to shoot and the levels are so bland, so generic you will literally feel like vomiting in the toilet because of the mixture of ugly levels and horrible graphics. The story is obviously nonsensical, but not in the charming or forgivable way. It's told in the most boring manner possible with no hilarious moments even though it seems like they really want to make it hilarious. There's a part in the game where you slap a wall with three boobs and it sounds funny but it's just kind of there and you slap it and duke says some one liner which isn't really funny. If you wanted Duke Nukem Forever to be like Duke Nukem 3D, prepare to be disappointed because it's nothing like it. Expand
  32. Jun 19, 2011
    6
    I like to kick off my summers with a brainless, all-out, fun action game and in this respect, DNF didn't disappoint. The action is mostly fun, with Duke blasting enemies with weapons such as shotguns and shrink rays, and taking control of his powerful and fast truck. The fun does get cut off when jumping puzzles are added to the game, which is pretty frequently, but the action picks up after these moments and by the end the experience feels satisfying as a whole. The graphics and sound are pretty bland, not too bad but not very good either, with some environments looking pretty good but some looking downright bad, and frequent slowdown and texture pop-in throughout. Jon St John does a great job as the Duke, even if his one liners aren't very great. Overall, if you feel like turning your brain off for the 8-10 hours of the single player and maybe checking out the multiplayer portion, which is also pretty fun, DNF is a good rental. I wouldn't say it's worth buying and if you're one those people who have been waiting for this game since the 90s, odds are you'll be disappointed, but this is a fun rental experience nonetheless. Expand
  33. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    the game has an odd low-fi look, which suits the gameplay perfectly. piles of offensive jokes, funniest game ive played in a long time. multi-player feels like the stuff i liked so much 10 years ago prior to mainstream gaming, and single-player reminds me of the confused wandering looking for switches to open doors, while blasting brainless baddies with pig heads and such. this game is completely stuck in time. cant think of any game that's delivered such an entirely dated, hilarious and enjoyable experience. love it, gearbox and pitchford forever! Expand
  34. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    To the Post from SgtFlip: Your posting in PS3 about your XBOX Experience. Ur and idiot. Im a critic and have the game on all three Systems.

    One of the best games ever. Yes the long load times makes me want to play it on pc but after a few updates the game will be fixed. You people need to go bash games worth bashing or at least before you right a review play the game and beat it then
    wait a week before bashing it. If you dont like it then dont review it. Hail to the King Baby Expand
  35. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    I really think a lot of the negative reviews with this game stem from the development of the game taking "14 years". In reality Gearbox has had the game rights for a couple years and I think the time they had with it they did a phenomenal job. This game pays homage to how gaming was back in the day and adds a fresh layer polish. The games graphics look nice, not the best of this generation but definitely better than some. Haze comes to mind a crappier game than this one I enjoyed playing this game from start to finish as Duke shoots aliens along with his one liners. My favorite one liner comes from Duke Nukem and this game brings back all those memories. I think all the reviewers are to used to all the Modern Warfares and what not to really kick back and enjoy this game. This game is a fresh blast from the past and definitely a welcome break from the shovelware that developers are kicking out now from year to year. Give the Duke a chance and to be honest Duke is the first alien ass kicker on the scene way before Master Chief or Isaac Clarke. So go out and pick up a copy because its time to kick ass and chew bubble gum and I'm fresh out of bubble gum. Expand
  36. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    Jinak lidi co minou Dukena delaj velkou chybu. Tu hru by minout nikdo nemel, protoze uz dlouho jsem se u FPS takhle skvele nebavil. Ta hra je vazne promakana. Pokud vahate tak do nej jdete, litovat nebudete.

    Je to jako pest do oka mezi tim mainstreamem co dnes vychazí. Grafika neni spatna, hratelnost je skvela, variabilita misí a prostredi neuveritelna. Hra snad
    neobsahuje zadny hluchy nudny misto a Duke furt na neco hlásí. A kolikrat se pristihnete, ze se uprimne smejete. Hra obsahuje celkem slusny mnozstvi miniher a ruznyho odreagaovaní jako hledani ego veci apod... V kolika hrach si sednete na kopírku a nechate si oskenovat prdel nebo si ho nechate vykourit skrz prepazku na zachodech (ala bloodhoud gang :D) atd, atd (tehle veci je tam vazne mooooc)...

    Netusim proc tu hru vsichni topi. Ja rikam uprimne a s nadhledem nekolik dni po dohrani, ze ta hra je proste skvela, a obsahuje spoutu bonusu. Takze Já sem dostal vic než sem kdy vůbec Ä
    Expand
  37. Jun 19, 2011
    1
    I have played video games all my life , but i heard about Duke Nukem a couple of months ago. My friend told me about the new Duke game and said that the old Duke Nukem was amazing and the new one is gonna be even better.So i thought to myself that im gonna try it out. OMFG!!! , i was a freaking dissapointment.I realized how terrible this game is in the first minutes.The jokes were extremely unfunny and quite often i didnt understand them at all.Animations just suck , facial animations were uglier than Harry Potter's foreskin and the boobs arent much of a lookers either.The audio is like a broken gramophone.The best example is Duke's jumping.The graphics arent so good either , a lot of bugs.But what decides a good game from a bad one is gameplay and as you might think ... the gameplay sucks as well.So my recommendation..... play the the old one.Everyone loves the old one and im quite sure that everyone will hate the new one.Dont buy the game.The game is just laughable... Expand
  38. Jul 23, 2011
    8
    I want to make a point here, and that is that everyone who rates this game down a notch for its graphics should eat **** and die! Really, you don't buy a Duke Nukem game for graphics, I sure as hell didn't, I bought it for Duke, and to blow some aliens up, and I wasn't disappointed. Many times I have laughed out loud at Dukes one liners, including some great pop culture references of the last 10 years, and the classics from Duke 3D. I've had a lot of fun playing through the campaign, although it has been a little stressful on 'Come get some' difficulty.
    The down sides to the game are the horrible loading screen times and the multiplayer, which seems broken as it took me a month to be able to get into a game, other than that though, I love it!
    Expand
  39. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    This game is fantastic, but with a warning to any who may consider buying it; Please realize this game was developed using old development techniques. Seriously, this game is a very good throwback, and it's humor and pop culture references make up for it's limited gameplay.
  40. Jan 3, 2012
    6
    I played Duke3d when I was in highschool. I have a nostalgic fondness for duke nukem, and I also like the over the top+totally in bad taste humour of the game. I am pretty sad about this game, I was hoping for some greatness. The best part of duke3d was the neat level design/locations. In 98 or 99, a destroyed city level was really cool compared to the marbled halls in DooM. in 2011, EVERY GAME has ruined cities. So the specialness is missing. DNF is a mediocre game that the hardcore duke fans will like but few else. It doesn't bring anything to the table beyond some funny one liners and gross out jokes. Expand
  41. Apr 9, 2012
    8
    duke nukem forever is an intersting game with duke kicking ass agaist the aliens and some great shooting mechanics,but is not satisfying with the strong sexuality and doing some dumb things
  42. Jul 30, 2012
    0
    duke nukem suck arse was the worst game i played in years i waited for so long for duke nukem to come back. But what they replace us was this rubbish tried to get into it but made me more angry,
    duke nukem use his same old tried 90s catch phrase into 2011 game was not cleaver. It was just rubbish loading time took so long i could make cookies still be half loaded,. Only thing
    that made me feel good about this game was when it ended i like angry joe ending to game flush it in toilet i mean literally and pee on it if u dont know who angryjoe he guy on youtube who review all games. game play get old super fast nothing else is really interesting if game company did this game over again i say hell no Collapse
  43. Nov 18, 2012
    0
    Lmfao!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  44. Dec 12, 2011
    5
    i never played duke back in the 90s . even though i heard alot of great things about the game i just never got around to it. i did get a chance a few years ago when they released it to the XBL arcade and it was kinda fun. now wehave a new duke game and it feels pretty much the same with just updated graphics . when in today with so many FPS games out there doing some thing old just doesnt really cut it . the graphics look like they are some thing we would see on a release game for a new console they sure dont impress. i also feel like i am doing more platforming and puzzle solving then i am doing any killing . the gun selection is ok but you can carry only 2 guns at a time and to me if they where gona keep any thing from the old FPS games why not let u carry as many guns as you want. dukes sexest charm and all the one liners he steals from The Army of Darkness is still there and some people complained about that but honestly thats what gives the game its only real charm and seperates it from every thing els . i dont know what els you would expect from this game in that area.the game probubly would have felt great 7-9 years ago but in todays FPS market you got to be kinda new . over all not a highly recomended game unless you can get it cheap which you should be able to now adays . i got my copy for $15 new . Expand
  45. Jun 21, 2011
    1
    Might as well have been released back in 1997. Boring, ugly and janky gameplay served with poor graphics and flat lighting. It's a wonder how a game with Duke's name on it can involve so little shooting and even then it still dosen't deliver.
  46. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    I admit I almost played this for 15 minutes and was about to turf it but then I read some reviews and decided to keep playing and I'm glad i did. I want to explain why this game is worth a try.....first of all look at the scores above, it is rather love and hate right? I admit for me the first hour of the game was absolute trash but after that the game became quite fun and reminded me of Resistance. I want to repeat that first hour was godawful and probably explains most of those negative review scores. In this first hour the game is extremely trivial and the graphics are probably at their weakest in the game as are the load times. On top of this the game opens up really immature which is a huge turnoff. However, after deciding to continue playing I actually grew to like this game. Shortly after the hour mark the game actually turned into quite a fun game with a lot of originality embedded within a shooter. Much like Halo3 and Gears of war this game did a really good job keeping areas fresh and exciting. Each chapter does not read the same as the previous one.I would guess the positive scores/reviews are from people who actually decided to continue playing and actually fairly represent this game. Anyway the developers made a huge mistake with the tutorial and retrospective character introduction. That first hour to hour and a half was a complete turn off but I am quite glad i continued on. That said the game is not perfect. It still has areas of bad graphics, long load times and not that great sound and the gameplay at times is pretty basic. But, I at least wanted to point out that if you have an open mind and keep playing there is a fun game to be had none the less. Expand
  47. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    First of all, load time are not bad!!! Sure their a little bit long, but unless your dying repeatedly the game only has to load after every main stage. And besides, when it does load the screen shows you very important/humorous text info about the game that you otherwise wouldn't know, such as "Avoid being shot to stay alive"... Ok, that's one of the useless ones : } Anyways, even though the shooting is not comparable with games like COD or BFBC, top notch shooting was obviously not the primary focus of the creators. Instead, what you do see in Duke Nukem Forever is a very creative and entertaining story-line which features a wide variety of boss battles, Duke lines, environments, and babes. Honestly, for the average gamer that loves online shooters and playin' with their pals, Duke Nukem Forever should be purchased for around 25-30 bucks if possible. However, for true Duke Nukem fans that enjoy taking a stroll down memory lane with the original Duke voice and Weaponry (Freeze ray took me way back) then dropping 60 smackers is no problemo. Now go get some! Expand
  48. Mar 1, 2012
    5
    Had this game been released a few years ago, it might have been a more appreciated game. But in this day and age games are taking in new directions and having deep stories, beyond incredible visuals, and gameplay that can make the player feel like they are in the action. Sadly, even with all of that development time, Duke Nukem doesn't live up to any of those standards. The beginning had alot of potential, but it was a copy and paste of a moment from the first game to begin with, just with new polish. When you first start off with you taking a piss in a bathroom and fighting a cyclops, the game makes it feel like maybe all that development time went to good use. After that though, it all falls apart. The first thing you will notice is how dated the game looks. Textures just don't look sharp and it has a very unrealistic feel to it. Shooting is stiff, which might be for nostalgia purposes but at many times it feels like it's trying to be a modern shooter so it just doesn't flow well. The story is non-existent, it tries to tell a story where the world is being taken over by vengeful pig aliens or something but it gets lost quickly and there is no emotional tie to anything. What doesn't help is that Duke is immature. This is apposed to make him be some kind of badass, but when a character that is apposed to be one of Dukes closest friends dies, Duke makes a joke and you start to hate him because he just doesn't care. The only thing that makes this game any fun is some old school FPS nostalgia and the multiplayer, which is just simple deathmatchs from the old days of gaming that can be fun for a while and leveling up decorates your house and your clothing. Duke Nukem Forever also includes a development timeline that you unlock after you beat the game, which almosts mocks itself because it just shows how long 3D Realms and Gearbox worked on this title and still screwed it up. This game had sooo much potential, but after it's all done Duke shows that he really hasn't grown up at all since his glory days in 3D. Expand
  49. Mar 20, 2012
    6
    Follow Me For More Game Reviews and News @GameReviewGuy

    14 years.... Wow that is a long time to make a game. You would think it would be the most amazing game in the world with having it take that long. Well as you can see by the reviews, it definitely did not live up to the hype that a lot of people gave it. The game is just like any other typical first person shooter and really
    nothing more than that. The monsters tend to glitch every now and then and a problem many Duke Nukem fans were angry about was that you could only carry 2 weapons at a time (The old Duke could carry a lot more). The story isn't anything special and the cut scenes in the game are pretty awful (Mouth movements of other characters do not match up when they speak and some enemies move like robots more than monsters. On the lighter side though it does bring you back to the old school run and gun games like Doom (Personally Excited for Rage BTW) and Duke's witty one-liners will help keep your mind in the gutter throughout the game. If you were a huge Duke fan than it may be worth your while to pick it up. If you"re a casual gamer looking for a great first person shooter, I would look elsewhere.â Expand
  50. Jun 19, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just like Duke Nukem itself, you cant take this very seriously... but again the game fails to sort of keep the feeling since it gets kinda dark and gritty mostly on the alien/green work which looks like Halo's Flood. Mini games are ok and break repetitiveness in a very repetitive game. Puzzles are also kinda cool too. Weapon selection is lacking and enemy variety aint that good either. Graphics are outdated looking older than Half Life 2. One liners are 9/10 stupid. Havent tried multiplayer but because of the weapon selection Im not interested either. I want to like this game but it definitively tries it's best to hate it enough. Expand
  51. Jun 20, 2011
    7
    This game truly suffers from it's own hype i feel, and it looks to me that some reviewers have been waiting to write it off from the start. It's in no way perfect, loading times are shocking for these days. Personally i liked it and would say it's fun and worth the playthrough. It's pretty tough too and the only thing stopping me completing insane mode is cos you die often and as mentioned loading times are frustrating. Good variety throughout the levels always keeps it interesting. Needed a bit more polish but i enjoyed my time with the king Expand
  52. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    This is one of the worst games I've ever played in my life. Back in 1997, I love Duke Nukem 3D on the Playstation and still love it today. When I heard about this game coming, I was excited to play as the King again. But after playing 2 hours of it, I officially said "goodbye" to this game. The controls were absolutely terrible, it gets harder when you try to aim at the aliens. How is it hard to aim? You use the right analog stick, and move is slightly slow or fast. But here, no matter how hard you try it's goes so fast you wouldn't be able to kill an alien before it kills you. The health system is similar to Master Chief from Halo franchise. The mini games are unplayable with the glitchy controls. Oh, and the glitches are ridiculous. But the worst is the loading time. It takes forever, I timed it all. It takes about 43 seconds to start the stage. Whats worse is when you die. You think after you die, you automatically respond, like in many FPS's. But here, you go back to the loading screen and wait 35 seconds! Don't buy it, and definitely don't rent it. If you see this game in stores, just keep walking and play an FPS that is a masterpiece like Killzone 3 and Halo Reach. My childhood with Duke Nukem has been destroyed because of this game. Expand
  53. Jul 14, 2011
    7
    to all the naysayers: Im pretty sure this game is everything it was intended to be. If you were looking to but DNF for a "new, fresh, gaming experience" that was your first mistake. Those of us that grew up on the Nuke and have been waiting 12 years for this sequel, following dev diaries, and everything the net has to offer on the game shouldnt have expected anything more than what we got. Did any of you negative nancys even play Duke 3D? DN 3D got lucky for its technological advancements. The game was meant to excrete satire and pure awesomeness.....not be a tend setter, but at that time, it was. DNF is a Nuke dream in my opinion. I wasnt looking forward to advancement in the fps genre, I wasnt even expecting something on par with today's standards. What I got out of this game is an ode to the Nuke, a wonderful culmination of everything that makes the franchise what it is. Im afraid what we have on this site is a bunch of kids or at least some vets that have been jaded by all of the Call of Duties in our society.....and just because you made your login name "Dukenukem somethingorother" doesnt grant your veteran status, you probably werent even born when 3D was released.

    HAIL TO THE KING BABY!
    Expand
  54. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    Duke Nukem is back, unfortunately hes 14 years to late! Duke Nukem Forever is an embarassment if im going to be perfectly honest. I always try to take the positives from games but this what tragic. Infact, much like Duke Nukem, the legend that he became you really can't take this game seriosly at all! I wouldn't say I came into this game expecting to much but was fairly optimistic but it really is a grave shame at how poor the sequel has turned out. The presentation of game is lacklustrous and majorly outdated. I know people complain about comparisons to other FPS but with Crysis 2 and Killzone 3 on the market this is an epic fail. Its far from the worst but still a million miles away. That aside I didn't count on graphics in making this game and thats were the second horror show comes into play. The gameplay is terrible. Theres a serious lack of creativity gone into this game. The designs are rotten and far to often turret sequences are used to break up fights. The shooting side of things isn't all bad and thats mainly thank to the shotgun which saves this game from being a total nightmare! As for the story, well its laughable much like Duke his one liners are extremely forgettable and laughable, in the wrong way! Multiplayer has a decent selection and in many ways is the savior. Ultimately, though unfortunately Duke Nukem Forever is dated, mediocre and has perhaps more importantly lost all elements of its fun and entertainment. An abysmal return a decade to late, Duke's return is a stop short of a catastrophe! Expand
  55. Feb 26, 2012
    5
    Well, what can I say. I biught the game due to the fact that I was playing Duke Nukem 3D in the childhood. Muscled is not in vogue now. A couple of moments at the highest level of complexity found interesting (tactics!). If the game had been released a 5-7 years earlier...
  56. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    Well I guess we 're all here to voice our opinions. To me Duke Nukem even in the era in which he was born into 3D, was a B-Movie Character. The Machette of his generation. A SuperFly machismo stereo type born to do one thing. Say one liners and kick alien ass. In my mind he was always a hodge podge of different genre's thrown together. So in a way it seems appropriate and inevitable that any game designed for him would be more of the same. His comical edge than some seriously involving storyline. His sarcastic one liners, borderline humor and offensiveness are what made him who he was. And without it frankly the Duke Nukem 3D was just another doom rip off. The only technical achievements that duke offered originally to the FPS was the humor, Jetpacks, Holodukes, pipe bombs and video screens which made for some great Multiplayer fun.

    The point being that he was never high art. And he was never serious. He was fun. Outrageous and a sexist, macho stereotype.

    It seems appropriate to me that he be a bit retro and the B movie star of this generation as well. And like all B-Movie's you either love the genre or you hate it. Like Japanime', Zombie movies or Exploitation films.

    You love the genre because of it's underdog appeal. And it's low brow, common denominator mentality. I don't think anyone is wrong or right here. We are all entitled to our opinion. But I will say this. Not every game has to be high art. There is a place for Duke in all his cheeziness, jaggedness and absurdity. He fills a hole for me just as much now as he did then. He makes me laugh. Even as the Critics judge with high level expectations. That is exactly his purpose. To not take things seriously. I am blown out on dark, brooding games that take themselves way too seriously. I need a light hearted, over the top, in your face, less than graphically stellar experience to remind me that the gaming world has become too darn serious and depressing. In a generation where video game realism and killing enemies seems to be the norm. And technical achievement seems to be the benchmark. I just want to have my silly, absurd, fun. And for me this is the hole duke fills. With all his quirks. Extremes and genre overlaps. It's what I like about the thing. You can turn it on. Start playing all kinds of silliness.

    Plus I get to play the Hollywood multiplayer level from the original. Which in and of itself is worth the price of admission for me. Brings back allot of great memories.

    I think we need more Duke to bring a fresh outlook and lighten the arena. And if nothing else. For whatever game developers hate this game. I ask you to please show us how it's done right then. Create something that's just silly fun with adult B Humor. That can add some originality to the gaming world for us over 20's. Which has become way too serious and generic for my taste.
    Expand
  57. Jun 23, 2011
    4
    I was really dissapointed with this game. It really makes wonder why i waited over half of my life to get this game. One thing i did notice was that DNF (Duke Nukem Forever) also means did not finish which is exactly what happened when I put this game in my PS3, I didn't finish it and don't plan on it.
  58. Jun 25, 2011
    4
    Duke nukem has been thrown around from developer to developer for years, and uninformed "critics" and costumers like to call the time it took throwing around duke, "Development time". No, 2k got stuck with this game a few years back and has done an extremely poor job of it. This game is no comparison to duke 3d playing almost like a railed shooter and employing the age old trick of forcing the player to run the same corse in various ways and enemies popping up at you to slow you down. Duke 3d had a good size map, one objective and various routes to get you to the end of the level, Duke forever gives you one long road and makes you run up and down it until the enemies have given up. I would write more but its just not worth it. Dont buy it.

    i will say one more thing though, its not a retro throwback, so ied strongly discourage you from purchasing it for that reason.
    Expand
  59. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    I thought the demo was fun, but the game is even better, something reminiscent of days gone by..full of action and wit. This is a clever production, thanks, people. Most stuff today is so boring, I rarely finish the productions. They end up sitting in my game rack collecting dust. This game is simple, gratifying and just kick-ass FUN. Yahoo again !!!!
  60. Jun 26, 2011
    8
    Not sure what people were expecting; however, I thoroughly enjoyed this game. Having began gaming back with the original Duke 3D this was just a long-awaited sequel. Sure it is nothing new or innovative--but it is Duke through and through. Entertaining, fully of politically incorrect phrasing, and just a plain shooter that needs no more. People are looking for a new-generation game need to move on...this is a classic after the first day! Expand
  61. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    The fact that this game received a 4.4 in user score ratings is what is wrong with the gaming world today. People are so uptight, and expect waaayyy too much from games when they don't even make them. Duke Nukem was very enjoyable to play and was what I expected because the point of Duke Nukem is to be "cheesy." Everyone needs to pull the stick out of their "you know whats" or stop playing games altogether and rid the world of their complaining! Expand
  62. Jun 28, 2011
    1
    Are you kidding me? This game is awful, anyone who says its good is either kidding themselves or hasn't played a video game in 13 years since the last duke nukem was out. Almost every aspect of this game is atrocious. The graphics look like ps2 graphics,The weapons and zoom are laughable. A.I.? what A.I.? Controls bad. If you are playing just about any other current gen game and then put duke nukem in you will turn it off within 10 minutes, it's so bad. pitiful. However I will give it a 1 for the humor, as it is somewhat funny. Expand
  63. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "This'll be interesting." was my first thought when putting the disc into the drive of my Xbox. This proved to be very true, although not in the way I had expected it to be. Duke Nukem Forever is a game that captures very much the essence of Duke Nukem 3D, it is indeed the same Duke we're about to meet. You really don't need more than a few minutes into the intro to Expand
  64. Jul 3, 2011
    0
    Biggest disappointment of all time. dupidup dup
  65. Dec 25, 2011
    3
    This game shows why it should have been made 12 years ago. It's more stupid than clever or entertaning, and the graphics are unappeling. GameMarket sells the game for 6 bucks, spend your 6 bucks in a gumball.
  66. Jul 19, 2011
    0
    I'd rather have a conversation about merits of Twilight with the Kardashians than play this game. I have never reviewed a game before but I felt compelled after spending money on this cash-grab. I went back and asked the guy at the game store to wear a ski-mask the next time he tries to sell me a piece of **** like this. The only people who gave this positive reviews must have worked on this game's development and they should go back to crying in their Japanese love pillow than waste our time trying to justify these piece of ****. Expand
  67. Aug 2, 2011
    1
    Duke Nukem. I thought that this is going to be good. But when I played it couple hours it felt like im playing some 10 years old first person shooter with better graphics.
  68. Jan 4, 2012
    2
    the game simply put horrible. the texture and animation feel horrid. the gameplay didn't wow me eihter.


    shooting aliens gets boring after a while.
  69. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    A game that I believed was never gonna be made.and I played dn3d as a teenager
    The good - The one liners Bad - dated graphics, dated music
    Ugly- loooong loading times, annoying mechanics(actually stopped playing after getting annoyed halfway through the game, involving cog wheels
  70. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    Graphics: 5.5 - 8.5

    Sound: 7

    Gameplay: 7

    Presentation: 7.5

    Lasting appeal: 7

    OVERALL: 7
    OK game but not great. Fun to play if you are a Duke fan
  71. Jul 30, 2012
    7
    Duke Nukem Forever was never going to live up to the expectations but what we got though is still a fun game and shows that you need to Hail to the King baby. It's gameplay is varied and decent with first-person shooting, driving, platforming and interactive sessions that takes you back to the days of Duke 3D. Multiplayer is fun but nothing special. The bugs in this game are very minor, thanks to the miracle of patching and you can pick this game up new for cheap. BUY IT!!!! and always bet on Duke. Expand
  72. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    I liked the Duke Nukem way back when and have been waiting for this one. Yeah, too many years in the making has to have some negatives but I didn't feel as disappointed as I expected reading the reviews. Its not that bad. Its quite true to the spirit of the original and the graphics were good enough for me. Not the most innovative but ok gameplay. And enjoy the additional content like being able to interact with every object. Even the flipper you can find on the corridors is actually quite ok and you can play it (game inside game). This one was ok for me. Not great but not bad. Expand
  73. Dec 21, 2011
    0
    If I ran out of toilet paper and I needed to wipe my bottom, then I would use this game as a piece of toilet roll. That is an expression on how awful this game is! Gearbox you are terrible at making games, just don't bother anymore. You are a terrible company
  74. May 28, 2012
    10
    fun gameplay,great variety,lots of personallity take it from someone who isnt judging it based on the previous game in my top 3 games of all time what annoys me most about the other reviews is that this game has a metascore equivalent to or lower than other games that are scored low simply because their mechanics as a whole dont work at all take the history channel civil war secret missions for example with a 52 a game that is accused of simply not working and at the very least this game playes well with little or no glitches Expand
  75. Oct 1, 2012
    7
    Doesn't deserve all the **** it gets. I played the old Duke Nukem games, and I can say this game still has the old Duke style when it comes to character. This is what you SHOULD'VE expected a new Duke game to be, and though it's technically lacking, everything works fine and this game keept me entertained the whole playthrough.
  76. Mar 2, 2013
    6
    Duke Nukem Forever perfectly captures the character of the classic Duke Nukem's with a next generation engine. The game has great satire and wtf moments. The moment to moment gameplay is a mixed bag though. Although, its cheesy overthetop ridiculousness pushes you forward through the game, the combat and sluggish movement will piss you off and the loading times when you die start grinding on your nerves as you progress further and further into the game. Your enjoyment will depend on how much of this you can take. The developers had great ideas and the game would have been a lot more fun and enjoyable if the overall game had been a lot more polished up. Its a shame that the game wasn't as polished as it could have been because it really did have great moments. Expand
  77. Jun 12, 2013
    6
    As a big fan of Duke I got to say that this is not the best game, but not the worst either, it has it fun moments but is trying to hard to become more then it is whice leaves me like nah.. but still the king of the hill baby for em just try one more time with less throwing
  78. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    Oh Duke, what have they done to you? Duke wouldn't waste his time playing with himself but I'm not Duke, I'm just an old gamer who remembers the former glory of the man who liked to kick ass and chew bubblegum but was sadly out of gum. Having said that there is still some real fun to be had here, but it's lost in a sparse world of bad programming and dated graphics... But.. I loved the Duke so I give the man a posthumous 10. The King is dead, Hail to the king baby. Expand
  79. May 20, 2013
    7
    After reading many bad reviews about this game, I finally bought it, and just finished it a few days ago. I can understand why everyone is disappointed, but this game doesn't deserve such hate. It's not perfect, but it's a good game. There's a lot of variation in it, and Duke is still a badass. Duke Nukem Forever doesn't look good, but it's quite enjoyable, so I'm looking forward to a sequel where the smaller and bigger flaws of this game are fixed. Expand
  80. May 30, 2013
    1
    FAIL to the King!

    This is a bad game! I'm baffled how this game went Gold a few weeks ago because it's clearly an unfinished product! There are only a few redeeming qualities such as the humor, a few descent action set pieces, the music (I especially like the hard rock piece that plays during the loading screens), the achievements (minus one or two) are pretty easy to get, and a level
    or two such as the level where you have to make your way around a trap infested kitchen whilst tiny.

    Everything else is shoddy. The graphics are dated, rough around the edges (loads of aliasing), and the lip-syncing is bad; the voice acting is poor (those two blond bimbos of Dukes' are annoying!), the gameplay mechanics and level designs are old and dated go from point A to B and shoot stuff and then rinse and repeat (though you will come across the odd puzzle and driving section), the game suffers heavily from frame rate issues and screen tearing, which is baffling considering how dated the game is graphically it doesn't strike me as a game that requires loads of horse power from the 360 (it's just badly programmed); the game takes too long to load, which is frustrating if you keep dying on a certain part and have to keep trying again; there's no story to speak of and the ending sucks, the physics are dodgy, the AI is poor, the difficulty balance seems off some sections during Normal seemed a bit 'punishing' than they ought to have been and you can only carry two weapons at a time!

    If you do fancy giving this game a go then I'd STRONGLY recommend you rent it instead!

    That's what I've done and I'm so glad I did it's just not worth the purchase and especially for the price it's going for!
    Expand
  81. Jun 26, 2013
    2
    This game was absolute crap. If this were 2003, then this might have been okay, but it is not. The jokes were cheesy, the graphics sucked, and the developers spent way too much time to make the game crude and violent, and not enough making it good. It was a terrible dissapointment for a game that had so much pre-release hype. The only reason I give it the 2 is because it is clear that the game had potential, but they messed it up... a lot. Expand
  82. Aug 17, 2013
    6
    6.4 out of 10 (rounded off to 6).

    While this game is certainly not worth the hype and a 60 dollar price-tag, it is not a bad game by any means and much of the hatred is quite undeserved. This game is game with variation that I've never seen in a first person shooter before. One second you driving a monster truck down a broken highway, and the next you're playing pool at a strip-club. It
    is fun variation that could even rival open-world games.

    But of course, this game is not great. The controls are stiff, the story doesn't make much sense and the multiplayer is just not even worth mentioning (not that it's necessarily bad, it's just boring and doesn't feel like it belongs in this game).

    That's why I feel like this is an average game, only worth picking up if you know what you're up for and still interested.
    Expand
  83. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    This game was hyped for almost 14 years. It was impossible to live up to any expectations. That said, it is still a decent game. As a 90's person, this was a decent game. As a modern gamer, who's used to Call of Duty and Battlefield arguments, it's not that great. It's still enjoyable, and offers some nostalgia.
  84. Feb 17, 2014
    7
    I just don't get all the hate... yes, it's dumb - but that's kinda the whole point. The real test is fun factor, and does DNF pass? Absolutely.

    It's crass. Absurd. But still a great diversion if you've played too many games in a row that take themselves way too seriously. This is definitely not an A-list title, but it was also never sold at A-list prices as far as I'm aware.

    The real
    story here is the multiplayer, which is fast, accessible, and addictive. If you don't try to compare it to all of the high-end shooters out there, and appreciate it for it's retro aesthetic and mechanics, it's loads of fun.

    And it's unique - there are no other games out there like this one, for better or for worse. Given the polarized reviews I've seen, it's clearly a niche you're either in or out, but it should be easy to find cheap if you're curious. And remember: multiplayer is great, stupid fun.
    Expand
  85. Jul 30, 2012
    0
    duke nukem suck arse was the worst game i played in years i waited for so long for duke nukem to come back. But what they replace us was this rubbish tried to get into it but made me more angry,
    duke nukem use his same old tried 90s catch phrase into 2011 game was not cleaver. It was just rubbish loading time took so long i could make cookies still be half loaded,. Only thing
    that made me feel good about this game was when it ended i like angry joe ending to game flush it in toilet i mean literally and pee on it if u dont know who angryjoe he guy on youtube who review all games. game play get old super fast nothing else is really interesting if game company did this game over again i say hell no Collapse
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 48
  2. Negative: 19 out of 48
  1. It's true that there are plenty of superior overall shooters out there that'd murder for a character with a quarter of the charisma Duke Nukem oozes. He's a dinosaur; a two-dimensional mound of muscles with a gun. But that's the joke. Duke Nukem Forever really is a several-year old game masquerading as a new release. [August 2011 p67]
  2. Forever eschews any hope for a decent story or interesting gameplay in favor of shoving as many boobs in our face as possible. As a result, the game comes up short in every way possible.
  3. Jul 25, 2011
    20
    Plain and simple, Duke Nukem Forever suffers from being passed around the development table for too long without any updates to its core.