Duke Nukem Forever PlayStation 3

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 277 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 277
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 2, 2013
    5
    Duke Nukem Forever perfectly captures the character of the classic Duke Nukem's with a next generation engine. The game has great satire and wtf moments. The moment to moment gameplay is a mixed bag though. Although, its cheesy overthetop ridiculousness pushes you forward through the game, the combat and sluggish movement will piss you off and the loading times when you die start grindingDuke Nukem Forever perfectly captures the character of the classic Duke Nukem's with a next generation engine. The game has great satire and wtf moments. The moment to moment gameplay is a mixed bag though. Although, its cheesy overthetop ridiculousness pushes you forward through the game, the combat and sluggish movement will piss you off and the loading times when you die start grinding on your nerves as you progress further and further into the game. Your enjoyment will depend on how much of this you can take. The developers had great ideas and the game would have been a lot more fun and enjoyable if the overall game had been a lot more polished up. Its a shame that the game wasn't as polished as it could have been because it really did have great moments. Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    5
    i never played duke back in the 90s . even though i heard alot of great things about the game i just never got around to it. i did get a chance a few years ago when they released it to the XBL arcade and it was kinda fun. now wehave a new duke game and it feels pretty much the same with just updated graphics . when in today with so many FPS games out there doing some thing old just doesnti never played duke back in the 90s . even though i heard alot of great things about the game i just never got around to it. i did get a chance a few years ago when they released it to the XBL arcade and it was kinda fun. now wehave a new duke game and it feels pretty much the same with just updated graphics . when in today with so many FPS games out there doing some thing old just doesnt really cut it . the graphics look like they are some thing we would see on a release game for a new console they sure dont impress. i also feel like i am doing more platforming and puzzle solving then i am doing any killing . the gun selection is ok but you can carry only 2 guns at a time and to me if they where gona keep any thing from the old FPS games why not let u carry as many guns as you want. dukes sexest charm and all the one liners he steals from The Army of Darkness is still there and some people complained about that but honestly thats what gives the game its only real charm and seperates it from every thing els . i dont know what els you would expect from this game in that area.the game probubly would have felt great 7-9 years ago but in todays FPS market you got to be kinda new . over all not a highly recomended game unless you can get it cheap which you should be able to now adays . i got my copy for $15 new . Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    Duke Nukem is back, unfortunately hes 14 years to late! Duke Nukem Forever is an embarassment if im going to be perfectly honest. I always try to take the positives from games but this what tragic. Infact, much like Duke Nukem, the legend that he became you really can't take this game seriosly at all! I wouldn't say I came into this game expecting to much but was fairly optimistic but itDuke Nukem is back, unfortunately hes 14 years to late! Duke Nukem Forever is an embarassment if im going to be perfectly honest. I always try to take the positives from games but this what tragic. Infact, much like Duke Nukem, the legend that he became you really can't take this game seriosly at all! I wouldn't say I came into this game expecting to much but was fairly optimistic but it really is a grave shame at how poor the sequel has turned out. The presentation of game is lacklustrous and majorly outdated. I know people complain about comparisons to other FPS but with Crysis 2 and Killzone 3 on the market this is an epic fail. Its far from the worst but still a million miles away. That aside I didn't count on graphics in making this game and thats were the second horror show comes into play. The gameplay is terrible. Theres a serious lack of creativity gone into this game. The designs are rotten and far to often turret sequences are used to break up fights. The shooting side of things isn't all bad and thats mainly thank to the shotgun which saves this game from being a total nightmare! As for the story, well its laughable much like Duke his one liners are extremely forgettable and laughable, in the wrong way! Multiplayer has a decent selection and in many ways is the savior. Ultimately, though unfortunately Duke Nukem Forever is dated, mediocre and has perhaps more importantly lost all elements of its fun and entertainment. An abysmal return a decade to late, Duke's return is a stop short of a catastrophe! Collapse
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    I admit I almost played this for 15 minutes and was about to turf it but then I read some reviews and decided to keep playing and I'm glad i did. I want to explain why this game is worth a try.....first of all look at the scores above, it is rather love and hate right? I admit for me the first hour of the game was absolute trash but after that the game became quite fun and reminded me ofI admit I almost played this for 15 minutes and was about to turf it but then I read some reviews and decided to keep playing and I'm glad i did. I want to explain why this game is worth a try.....first of all look at the scores above, it is rather love and hate right? I admit for me the first hour of the game was absolute trash but after that the game became quite fun and reminded me of Resistance. I want to repeat that first hour was godawful and probably explains most of those negative review scores. In this first hour the game is extremely trivial and the graphics are probably at their weakest in the game as are the load times. On top of this the game opens up really immature which is a huge turnoff. However, after deciding to continue playing I actually grew to like this game. Shortly after the hour mark the game actually turned into quite a fun game with a lot of originality embedded within a shooter. Much like Halo3 and Gears of war this game did a really good job keeping areas fresh and exciting. Each chapter does not read the same as the previous one.I would guess the positive scores/reviews are from people who actually decided to continue playing and actually fairly represent this game. Anyway the developers made a huge mistake with the tutorial and retrospective character introduction. That first hour to hour and a half was a complete turn off but I am quite glad i continued on. That said the game is not perfect. It still has areas of bad graphics, long load times and not that great sound and the gameplay at times is pretty basic. But, I at least wanted to point out that if you have an open mind and keep playing there is a fun game to be had none the less. Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2012
    7
    Doesn't deserve all the **** it gets. I played the old Duke Nukem games, and I can say this game still has the old Duke style when it comes to character. This is what you SHOULD'VE expected a new Duke game to be, and though it's technically lacking, everything works fine and this game keept me entertained the whole playthrough.
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    5
    This game was a disappointment. I realize it keeps the "old school" feel to it and Duke is Duke, But other then the funny one-liners, and little fun interactions, there is nothing special about this game. The length of the load screen itself is enough to make me want to quit playing. It can be fun and challenging (on the hard difficulty) and the game is a breed of its own, but this day inThis game was a disappointment. I realize it keeps the "old school" feel to it and Duke is Duke, But other then the funny one-liners, and little fun interactions, there is nothing special about this game. The length of the load screen itself is enough to make me want to quit playing. It can be fun and challenging (on the hard difficulty) and the game is a breed of its own, but this day in age of gaming requires more than just a trademark name and character. (Especially the FPS Genre) I say give it a rent, have a laugh, kick some alien ass, and move on. Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2014
    7
    merece el 7 por que 14 años de trabajo dieron frutos pero no era lo que realmente se esperaba del juego
    tiene una muy buena mecánica de juego de duke nukem 3d pero que es eso de comenzar sin armas que es eso luego los niveles falto estructurar pero la mecánica y la jugabilidad y en parte la historia lo hacen un muy divertido pero no tanto por eso merece esa calificaion
  8. Mar 1, 2012
    5
    Had this game been released a few years ago, it might have been a more appreciated game. But in this day and age games are taking in new directions and having deep stories, beyond incredible visuals, and gameplay that can make the player feel like they are in the action. Sadly, even with all of that development time, Duke Nukem doesn't live up to any of those standards. The beginning hadHad this game been released a few years ago, it might have been a more appreciated game. But in this day and age games are taking in new directions and having deep stories, beyond incredible visuals, and gameplay that can make the player feel like they are in the action. Sadly, even with all of that development time, Duke Nukem doesn't live up to any of those standards. The beginning had alot of potential, but it was a copy and paste of a moment from the first game to begin with, just with new polish. When you first start off with you taking a piss in a bathroom and fighting a cyclops, the game makes it feel like maybe all that development time went to good use. After that though, it all falls apart. The first thing you will notice is how dated the game looks. Textures just don't look sharp and it has a very unrealistic feel to it. Shooting is stiff, which might be for nostalgia purposes but at many times it feels like it's trying to be a modern shooter so it just doesn't flow well. The story is non-existent, it tries to tell a story where the world is being taken over by vengeful pig aliens or something but it gets lost quickly and there is no emotional tie to anything. What doesn't help is that Duke is immature. This is apposed to make him be some kind of badass, but when a character that is apposed to be one of Dukes closest friends dies, Duke makes a joke and you start to hate him because he just doesn't care. The only thing that makes this game any fun is some old school FPS nostalgia and the multiplayer, which is just simple deathmatchs from the old days of gaming that can be fun for a while and leveling up decorates your house and your clothing. Duke Nukem Forever also includes a development timeline that you unlock after you beat the game, which almosts mocks itself because it just shows how long 3D Realms and Gearbox worked on this title and still screwed it up. This game had sooo much potential, but after it's all done Duke shows that he really hasn't grown up at all since his glory days in 3D. Expand
  9. Jun 12, 2013
    6
    As a big fan of Duke I got to say that this is not the best game, but not the worst either, it has it fun moments but is trying to hard to become more then it is whice leaves me like nah.. but still the king of the hill baby for em just try one more time with less throwing
  10. Aug 17, 2013
    6
    6.4 out of 10 (rounded off to 6).

    While this game is certainly not worth the hype and a 60 dollar price-tag, it is not a bad game by any means and much of the hatred is quite undeserved. This game is game with variation that I've never seen in a first person shooter before. One second you driving a monster truck down a broken highway, and the next you're playing pool at a strip-club. It
    6.4 out of 10 (rounded off to 6).

    While this game is certainly not worth the hype and a 60 dollar price-tag, it is not a bad game by any means and much of the hatred is quite undeserved. This game is game with variation that I've never seen in a first person shooter before. One second you driving a monster truck down a broken highway, and the next you're playing pool at a strip-club. It is fun variation that could even rival open-world games.

    But of course, this game is not great. The controls are stiff, the story doesn't make much sense and the multiplayer is just not even worth mentioning (not that it's necessarily bad, it's just boring and doesn't feel like it belongs in this game).

    That's why I feel like this is an average game, only worth picking up if you know what you're up for and still interested.
    Expand
  11. Feb 4, 2012
    7
    I am so sorry to say that I was disappointed with the game. It just wasn't what it was supposed to be. When I was a young girl playing Duke 3D I loved by the game. What kept me playing this game was the amusing rhetoric from Duke and the un-pc themes. This game was just uninspiring and had it come out ten years ago, it would have been great. The graphics were not good and that madeI am so sorry to say that I was disappointed with the game. It just wasn't what it was supposed to be. When I was a young girl playing Duke 3D I loved by the game. What kept me playing this game was the amusing rhetoric from Duke and the un-pc themes. This game was just uninspiring and had it come out ten years ago, it would have been great. The graphics were not good and that made the stick around factor fall away very quickly. Some of the things you had to accomplish were downright mechanically infuriating. I caught myself swearing at the screen in annoyance rather than the swearing at the screen in Duke Delight. Damn..... Expand
  12. Jun 16, 2011
    7
    Most of the reviews for this game are unjust. I realize that the time it took for this game to come out automatically ruined any chances of it having a great score. Are the graphics dated? Yes. Are the load times atrocious? I've seen worse. Overall, Duke Nukem Forever isn't a bad game, nor is it a great one. Is it fun? Yes, it can be loads of fun. Is it frustrating? Yes, but for the rightMost of the reviews for this game are unjust. I realize that the time it took for this game to come out automatically ruined any chances of it having a great score. Are the graphics dated? Yes. Are the load times atrocious? I've seen worse. Overall, Duke Nukem Forever isn't a bad game, nor is it a great one. Is it fun? Yes, it can be loads of fun. Is it frustrating? Yes, but for the right reasons.

    I'm not justifying a purchase of this game, since I feel $60 is too much for this finished product. Would it be worth 25-30 bucks? Probably.

    I say rent it, play it, and see for yourself. Not worth perfect marks in any category, but I do feel reviewers slammed this game too hard. I'd say roughly 2 points were docked from every low scoring review just because "it took so long and should have been perfect".
    Expand
  13. Mar 20, 2012
    6
    Follow Me For More Game Reviews and News @GameReviewGuy

    14 years.... Wow that is a long time to make a game. You would think it would be the most amazing game in the world with having it take that long. Well as you can see by the reviews, it definitely did not live up to the hype that a lot of people gave it. The game is just like any other typical first person shooter and really
    Follow Me For More Game Reviews and News @GameReviewGuy

    14 years.... Wow that is a long time to make a game. You would think it would be the most amazing game in the world with having it take that long. Well as you can see by the reviews, it definitely did not live up to the hype that a lot of people gave it. The game is just like any other typical first person shooter and really nothing more than that. The monsters tend to glitch every now and then and a problem many Duke Nukem fans were angry about was that you could only carry 2 weapons at a time (The old Duke could carry a lot more). The story isn't anything special and the cut scenes in the game are pretty awful (Mouth movements of other characters do not match up when they speak and some enemies move like robots more than monsters. On the lighter side though it does bring you back to the old school run and gun games like Doom (Personally Excited for Rage BTW) and Duke's witty one-liners will help keep your mind in the gutter throughout the game. If you were a huge Duke fan than it may be worth your while to pick it up. If you"re a casual gamer looking for a great first person shooter, I would look elsewhere.â
    Expand
  14. Jun 19, 2011
    6
    I like to kick off my summers with a brainless, all-out, fun action game and in this respect, DNF didn't disappoint. The action is mostly fun, with Duke blasting enemies with weapons such as shotguns and shrink rays, and taking control of his powerful and fast truck. The fun does get cut off when jumping puzzles are added to the game, which is pretty frequently, but the action picks upI like to kick off my summers with a brainless, all-out, fun action game and in this respect, DNF didn't disappoint. The action is mostly fun, with Duke blasting enemies with weapons such as shotguns and shrink rays, and taking control of his powerful and fast truck. The fun does get cut off when jumping puzzles are added to the game, which is pretty frequently, but the action picks up after these moments and by the end the experience feels satisfying as a whole. The graphics and sound are pretty bland, not too bad but not very good either, with some environments looking pretty good but some looking downright bad, and frequent slowdown and texture pop-in throughout. Jon St John does a great job as the Duke, even if his one liners aren't very great. Overall, if you feel like turning your brain off for the 8-10 hours of the single player and maybe checking out the multiplayer portion, which is also pretty fun, DNF is a good rental. I wouldn't say it's worth buying and if you're one those people who have been waiting for this game since the 90s, odds are you'll be disappointed, but this is a fun rental experience nonetheless. Expand
  15. Aug 11, 2015
    6
    The game itself is pretty fun and will keep you entertained, but the PS3 (maybe Xbox too) port of the game has some big issues. Textures look bad from time to time and the loading times are ridiculous.
    If you wan't to get a good experience, I recommend getting the PC version.
  16. Jul 14, 2011
    7
    to all the naysayers: Im pretty sure this game is everything it was intended to be. If you were looking to but DNF for a "new, fresh, gaming experience" that was your first mistake. Those of us that grew up on the Nuke and have been waiting 12 years for this sequel, following dev diaries, and everything the net has to offer on the game shouldnt have expected anything more than what weto all the naysayers: Im pretty sure this game is everything it was intended to be. If you were looking to but DNF for a "new, fresh, gaming experience" that was your first mistake. Those of us that grew up on the Nuke and have been waiting 12 years for this sequel, following dev diaries, and everything the net has to offer on the game shouldnt have expected anything more than what we got. Did any of you negative nancys even play Duke 3D? DN 3D got lucky for its technological advancements. The game was meant to excrete satire and pure awesomeness.....not be a tend setter, but at that time, it was. DNF is a Nuke dream in my opinion. I wasnt looking forward to advancement in the fps genre, I wasnt even expecting something on par with today's standards. What I got out of this game is an ode to the Nuke, a wonderful culmination of everything that makes the franchise what it is. Im afraid what we have on this site is a bunch of kids or at least some vets that have been jaded by all of the Call of Duties in our society.....and just because you made your login name "Dukenukem somethingorother" doesnt grant your veteran status, you probably werent even born when 3D was released.

    HAIL TO THE KING BABY!
    Expand
  17. May 20, 2013
    7
    After reading many bad reviews about this game, I finally bought it, and just finished it a few days ago. I can understand why everyone is disappointed, but this game doesn't deserve such hate. It's not perfect, but it's a good game. There's a lot of variation in it, and Duke is still a badass. Duke Nukem Forever doesn't look good, but it's quite enjoyable, so I'm looking forward to aAfter reading many bad reviews about this game, I finally bought it, and just finished it a few days ago. I can understand why everyone is disappointed, but this game doesn't deserve such hate. It's not perfect, but it's a good game. There's a lot of variation in it, and Duke is still a badass. Duke Nukem Forever doesn't look good, but it's quite enjoyable, so I'm looking forward to a sequel where the smaller and bigger flaws of this game are fixed. Expand
  18. Jul 30, 2012
    7
    Duke Nukem Forever was never going to live up to the expectations but what we got though is still a fun game and shows that you need to Hail to the King baby. It's gameplay is varied and decent with first-person shooting, driving, platforming and interactive sessions that takes you back to the days of Duke 3D. Multiplayer is fun but nothing special. The bugs in this game are very minor,Duke Nukem Forever was never going to live up to the expectations but what we got though is still a fun game and shows that you need to Hail to the King baby. It's gameplay is varied and decent with first-person shooting, driving, platforming and interactive sessions that takes you back to the days of Duke 3D. Multiplayer is fun but nothing special. The bugs in this game are very minor, thanks to the miracle of patching and you can pick this game up new for cheap. BUY IT!!!! and always bet on Duke. Expand
  19. Jun 14, 2011
    7
    If you loved Duke back in the day, then this is for you. Though the depth of level exploration seems to be lacking in comparison to Duke 3D. I find that to be the only thing missing in Duke Forever that would make it feel truly like a Duke Nukem.
  20. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    Graphics: 5.5 - 8.5

    Sound: 7

    Gameplay: 7

    Presentation: 7.5

    Lasting appeal: 7

    OVERALL: 7
    OK game but not great. Fun to play if you are a Duke fan
  21. Jan 3, 2012
    6
    I played Duke3d when I was in highschool. I have a nostalgic fondness for duke nukem, and I also like the over the top+totally in bad taste humour of the game. I am pretty sad about this game, I was hoping for some greatness. The best part of duke3d was the neat level design/locations. In 98 or 99, a destroyed city level was really cool compared to the marbled halls in DooM. in 2011,I played Duke3d when I was in highschool. I have a nostalgic fondness for duke nukem, and I also like the over the top+totally in bad taste humour of the game. I am pretty sad about this game, I was hoping for some greatness. The best part of duke3d was the neat level design/locations. In 98 or 99, a destroyed city level was really cool compared to the marbled halls in DooM. in 2011, EVERY GAME has ruined cities. So the specialness is missing. DNF is a mediocre game that the hardcore duke fans will like but few else. It doesn't bring anything to the table beyond some funny one liners and gross out jokes. Expand
  22. Jan 19, 2014
    7
    This game was hyped for almost 14 years. It was impossible to live up to any expectations. That said, it is still a decent game. As a 90's person, this was a decent game. As a modern gamer, who's used to Call of Duty and Battlefield arguments, it's not that great. It's still enjoyable, and offers some nostalgia.
  23. Nov 17, 2011
    7
    I liked the Duke Nukem way back when and have been waiting for this one. Yeah, too many years in the making has to have some negatives but I didn't feel as disappointed as I expected reading the reviews. Its not that bad. Its quite true to the spirit of the original and the graphics were good enough for me. Not the most innovative but ok gameplay. And enjoy the additional content likeI liked the Duke Nukem way back when and have been waiting for this one. Yeah, too many years in the making has to have some negatives but I didn't feel as disappointed as I expected reading the reviews. Its not that bad. Its quite true to the spirit of the original and the graphics were good enough for me. Not the most innovative but ok gameplay. And enjoy the additional content like being able to interact with every object. Even the flipper you can find on the corridors is actually quite ok and you can play it (game inside game). This one was ok for me. Not great but not bad. Expand
  24. Jun 20, 2011
    7
    This game truly suffers from it's own hype i feel, and it looks to me that some reviewers have been waiting to write it off from the start. It's in no way perfect, loading times are shocking for these days. Personally i liked it and would say it's fun and worth the playthrough. It's pretty tough too and the only thing stopping me completing insane mode is cos you die often and as mentionedThis game truly suffers from it's own hype i feel, and it looks to me that some reviewers have been waiting to write it off from the start. It's in no way perfect, loading times are shocking for these days. Personally i liked it and would say it's fun and worth the playthrough. It's pretty tough too and the only thing stopping me completing insane mode is cos you die often and as mentioned loading times are frustrating. Good variety throughout the levels always keeps it interesting. Needed a bit more polish but i enjoyed my time with the king Expand
  25. Feb 26, 2012
    5
    Well, what can I say. I biught the game due to the fact that I was playing Duke Nukem 3D in the childhood. Muscled is not in vogue now. A couple of moments at the highest level of complexity found interesting (tactics!). If the game had been released a 5-7 years earlier...
  26. Jun 15, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game has a very specific taste. first of all you have to be hardened by brutal games as there maybe scenes that strike below the belt to you (for me it was the hive chapter, all those babes *sob*)
    second its an benefit if you like exploring every corner of a game as there is a lot of stuff you can use for no real purpose next to the items that increase your ego i.e. max life.
    and in addition you must be able to get along with a, lets say easy-understandable story but in excuse with vast boss fights (which were some of a good challenge for a person who does not play mainly fps games)
    if you meet these requirements this will be the perfect game for you
    AND if you are then a duke fanboy you will see that gearbox took this job serious as you will find a lot of dukish details like getting hurt in the electric socket, use pool tables, and so on.
    Expand
  27. Jun 14, 2011
    7
    I want people to know that I am not a HUGE Duke Nukem fan.
    Yes, i was like "wtf is this pile of **** when I first put it in. Yes i was tossing piles of **** around in the toilet at the "tutorial" level. and Yes after the first LENGTHY loading screen for such a shoddy looking game, I turned it off...
    BUT, after some digging around on and after a word with my friend - who is by the way a
    I want people to know that I am not a HUGE Duke Nukem fan.
    Yes, i was like "wtf is this pile of **** when I first put it in. Yes i was tossing piles of **** around in the toilet at the "tutorial" level. and Yes after the first LENGTHY loading screen for such a shoddy looking game, I turned it off...

    BUT, after some digging around on and after a word with my friend - who is by the way a massive fan himself - i learned some interesting things about this game and gave it... a second chance if you will?

    FUN FACT: Did you know this game is 2011 ONLY game to use the Unreal Engine 2?? where-as Gears of war 1 (a 2006 exclusive) uses Unreal Engine 3.

    my source:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Unreal_Engine_games

    So anyways, back to my review. I gave it a second chance and now I can see what the game is trying to be... Nostalgic, offensive and just fun. Its honestly okay for an hour goofing off killing "pigcops" but it does wear thin, because as everyone else pointed out. It holds nothing compared to today's modern competition. Who know's maybe we are just spoiled now? Maybe we are all cynical bastards? But the truth is...

    I want to hate it and trade it back in but I can't... nostalgia and my casual gaming roots hold me bound.

    Yet I too also want to love this game, but I can't because its just so average. Maybe that's just how it wanted to be guys and gals? An average, honest game. :D

    It went through a lot of work, a lot of hype and a lot of roller-coaster moments - so all i can say to all your haters is: Give it a chance - and if you never liked Duke or even knew who he was... why'd you even pick it up then? lol
    Expand
  28. Feb 17, 2014
    7
    I just don't get all the hate... yes, it's dumb - but that's kinda the whole point. The real test is fun factor, and does DNF pass? Absolutely.

    It's crass. Absurd. But still a great diversion if you've played too many games in a row that take themselves way too seriously. This is definitely not an A-list title, but it was also never sold at A-list prices as far as I'm aware. The real
    I just don't get all the hate... yes, it's dumb - but that's kinda the whole point. The real test is fun factor, and does DNF pass? Absolutely.

    It's crass. Absurd. But still a great diversion if you've played too many games in a row that take themselves way too seriously. This is definitely not an A-list title, but it was also never sold at A-list prices as far as I'm aware.

    The real story here is the multiplayer, which is fast, accessible, and addictive. If you don't try to compare it to all of the high-end shooters out there, and appreciate it for it's retro aesthetic and mechanics, it's loads of fun.

    And it's unique - there are no other games out there like this one, for better or for worse. Given the polarized reviews I've seen, it's clearly a niche you're either in or out, but it should be easy to find cheap if you're curious. And remember: multiplayer is great, stupid fun.
    Expand
  29. Jun 25, 2011
    0
    Duke Nukem is back, unfortunately hes 14 years to late! Duke Nukem Forever is an embarassment if im going to be perfectly honest. I always try to take the positives from games but this what tragic. Infact, much like Duke Nukem, the legend that he became you really can't take this game seriosly at all! I wouldn't say I came into this game expecting to much but was fairly optimistic but itDuke Nukem is back, unfortunately hes 14 years to late! Duke Nukem Forever is an embarassment if im going to be perfectly honest. I always try to take the positives from games but this what tragic. Infact, much like Duke Nukem, the legend that he became you really can't take this game seriosly at all! I wouldn't say I came into this game expecting to much but was fairly optimistic but it really is a grave shame at how poor the sequel has turned out. The presentation of game is lacklustrous and majorly outdated. I know people complain about comparisons to other FPS but with Crysis 2 and Killzone 3 on the market this is an epic fail. Its far from the worst but still a million miles away. That aside I didn't count on graphics in making this game and thats were the second horror show comes into play. The gameplay is terrible. Theres a serious lack of creativity gone into this game. The designs are rotten and far to often turret sequences are used to break up fights. The shooting side of things isn't all bad and thats mainly thank to the shotgun which saves this game from being a total nightmare! As for the story, well its laughable much like Duke his one liners are extremely forgettable and laughable, in the wrong way! Multiplayer has a decent selection and in many ways is the savior. Ultimately, though unfortunately Duke Nukem Forever is dated, mediocre and has perhaps more importantly lost all elements of its fun and entertainment. An abysmal return a decade to late, Duke's return is a stop short of a catastrophe! Collapse
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 48
  2. Negative: 19 out of 48
  1. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Oct 6, 2011
    50
    It's true that there are plenty of superior overall shooters out there that'd murder for a character with a quarter of the charisma Duke Nukem oozes. He's a dinosaur; a two-dimensional mound of muscles with a gun. But that's the joke. Duke Nukem Forever really is a several-year old game masquerading as a new release. [August 2011 p67]
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Aug 2, 2011
    30
    Forever eschews any hope for a decent story or interesting gameplay in favor of shoving as many boobs in our face as possible. As a result, the game comes up short in every way possible.
  3. Jul 25, 2011
    20
    Plain and simple, Duke Nukem Forever suffers from being passed around the development table for too long without any updates to its core.