User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 250

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    1
    Might as well have been released back in 1997. Boring, ugly and janky gameplay served with poor graphics and flat lighting. It's a wonder how a game with Duke's name on it can involve so little shooting and even then it still dosen't deliver.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    0
    I didn't know there were games that could be this bad. Awful graphics are fine, as long as gameplay and story hold up. Both gameplay and story are even worse than the graphics. The gameplay is like any other shooter, however the bosses and level design are atrocious. None of the guns are any fun to shoot and the levels are so bland, so generic you will literally feel like vomiting in the toilet because of the mixture of ugly levels and horrible graphics. The story is obviously nonsensical, but not in the charming or forgivable way. It's told in the most boring manner possible with no hilarious moments even though it seems like they really want to make it hilarious. There's a part in the game where you slap a wall with three boobs and it sounds funny but it's just kind of there and you slap it and duke says some one liner which isn't really funny. If you wanted Duke Nukem Forever to be like Duke Nukem 3D, prepare to be disappointed because it's nothing like it. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    Garbage no matter what system it's on, I already ranted on it for the 360.... Randy could sell you all a box of dirt and you would buy it, don't do it.... There was no reason to ever release this game...
  4. Jun 19, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just like Duke Nukem itself, you cant take this very seriously... but again the game fails to sort of keep the feeling since it gets kinda dark and gritty mostly on the alien/green work which looks like Halo's Flood. Mini games are ok and break repetitiveness in a very repetitive game. Puzzles are also kinda cool too. Weapon selection is lacking and enemy variety aint that good either. Graphics are outdated looking older than Half Life 2. One liners are 9/10 stupid. Havent tried multiplayer but because of the weapon selection Im not interested either. I want to like this game but it definitively tries it's best to hate it enough. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2011
    0
    This is an abomination and offends in every sense of the word. It is like purchasing a box of self-torture and injecting it directly into your ears and eyes. I don't even want to think about this game anymore, just please avoid it. Go play superman 64 or ET for the atari instead.
  6. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    This is one of the worst games I've ever played in my life. Back in 1997, I love Duke Nukem 3D on the Playstation and still love it today. When I heard about this game coming, I was excited to play as the King again. But after playing 2 hours of it, I officially said "goodbye" to this game. The controls were absolutely terrible, it gets harder when you try to aim at the aliens. How is it hard to aim? You use the right analog stick, and move is slightly slow or fast. But here, no matter how hard you try it's goes so fast you wouldn't be able to kill an alien before it kills you. The health system is similar to Master Chief from Halo franchise. The mini games are unplayable with the glitchy controls. Oh, and the glitches are ridiculous. But the worst is the loading time. It takes forever, I timed it all. It takes about 43 seconds to start the stage. Whats worse is when you die. You think after you die, you automatically respond, like in many FPS's. But here, you go back to the loading screen and wait 35 seconds! Don't buy it, and definitely don't rent it. If you see this game in stores, just keep walking and play an FPS that is a masterpiece like Killzone 3 and Halo Reach. My childhood with Duke Nukem has been destroyed because of this game. Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2011
    2
    "This'll be interesting." was my first thought when putting the disc into the drive of my Xbox. This proved to be very true, although not in the way I had expected it to be. Duke Nukem Forever is a game that captures very much the essence of Duke Nukem 3D, it is indeed the same Duke we're about to meet. You really don't need more than a few minutes into the intro to realize this. Paying homage to the original is however nothing you can build an entire game on, and being true to the earlier games is the only thing that is done properly within Duke Nukem Forever. Everything else pretty much sucks. Animations are poorly made and implemented with characters displaying snapping and odd movement patterns. You play in first person view yet there is a ton of bugs related to this. Notice especially how the player seems to hover about a feet above the floor and how it's possible to trigger strafing movement without triggering the strafing animation. Facial animations are so poorly implemented that they seem to have no correlation at all with the content of their audio files. The sound is poor as well, with no considerable variations implemented at all. This makes the game sound repetitive and uninteresting. Just try to jump a few times in a row and listen to the grunting Duke lets out as he lands and you'll understand what I mean. The whole game sounds pretty much like this, apart from the few areas that have for some reason been left totally without any ambience tracks making them feel even more out of place and breaking immersion totally. Considering the competing titles Duke Nukem Forever has nothing to show when it comes to visuals either, it simply looks worse than the titles it's supposed to outrun. I've always thought that the most important thing to pull off when doing a game is the gameplay and since this game doesn't even manage that it's not worth anyones time really. There are huge sections with non-existing gameplay and nothing for the player to do while waiting for some pointless movie (with sucky facials and poor sound) to finish. If you want something that feels like the old Duke Nukem 3D but is a bit new and has boobs that you haven't seen before just replay the old game with some downloaded porno in the background, it's pretty much the same thing. And whatever you do, don't buy this game first hand, there's bound to be a huge second hand market for it within short. Expand
  8. Aug 3, 2011
    0
    Anyone who liked this game seriously needs to get checked out because it is garbage. It starts you off alright but then it is utter chaos because it just plops you into combat with out any explanation it literally goes "go kill em" and that's it as well the graphics aren't that good for a game of this caliber and made in this day and age and the comedy is stale and dry with constant immature sex jokes that I was saying back in grade school stay away at all costs and if you have it bring it back in imeadietly while the game stores will still give you 35 $ for it this game was the biggest mistake of my life and was over hyped and turned out to be a piece of crap Expand
  9. Aug 18, 2011
    0
    utter garbage , if a wanted to play a ps2 game i would dust off the old machine ,, so glad i hired this embarrassment of a "game" .. i did manage to get my £5 back from a certain high street video game rental shop tho ......... if meta-critic had a negative part to the score slider , this would definitely be a -10
  10. Jun 14, 2011
    4
    Sorry but in a cut-throat recession hit community, to release slop like this is a crying shame. I appreciate after 13 years, it's a huge achievement to get a game published, but what exactly were the developers thinking? This is people's hard earned money and poor games means store seller's such as myself take a lot of heat when people find excuses to return under-par games. Then there are the graphics which could have been from a Commodore. Hey C4Eva, you seen better right?

    I hate to slate a highly anticipated game, and I didn't for other's but if I let this slide, I wouldn't be a true critic. I am sure the game will bear well with the die hard 40 somethings but I am not there yet and neither is this game. You should have focused on a new userbase as well as the old school fans and it is in this area and the fact it's 2011 that I cast doubt on your abilities, whether it be think - tanking the game or the programming abilities.

    I don't wish to discuss the game in general as I would hate to offend further. Thanks for the news hits but thats as good as it ever got to be honest.
    Expand
  11. Jun 14, 2011
    1
    Duke Nukem Forever is a collection of minigames with short passages of regular FPS gaming.

    Had mediocre hopes for this game but it simply sucks. First 45 mins are spent in a weird "on rails" Duke museum. After that theres only short passages that are actually an FPS. You spent most of your time driving trucks or shooting from a turret. It's dark, gritty and it's age is very visible. Don't buy it
  12. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    God awful. I was astonished how bad this game was. Aren't games supposed to be entertaining to some degree?? Ripped off. Hail to the King? No thanks.
  13. Jun 15, 2011
    0
    What started as a promising new game in the Duke Nukem series became a long awaited legend and finally, a community running joke. Fast forward a decade and change later and here we are with Duke Nukem Forever. What can I say that hasn't already been said? It's basically everything you expect from Duke Nukem, minus most of the fun. Everything about the game is pretty boring and the humor about as dated-- alright I'll cut the **** The game is not good. Half the reason this game was so 'legendary' was because it was a joke. How does any company, not just Gearbox, expect to take the reins and just hope for the best? This game has and never will exceed the expectations people had back then, whether they were good or bad in the first place. This game, fabled for the sole reason of being the one that got away and for all intents and purposes was dead, was resurrected as a shambling horror. This game is just a lifeless zombie wearing a red tank-top and a decayed, yellow buzzcut. This should never have come back, and it is sad to see one of the game industry's longest running jokes become just an incredibly run-of-the-mill FPS in the footnote of an amazingly interesting legacy. Expand
  14. Jun 16, 2011
    0
    So ok Duke Nukem Forever Is Finally Here!! Wow 14 Years!! Like many gamers i brought this on day one!! but to be honest i am deeply disapointed sure its a old game! but it just feels to generic and outdated plus load times take "FOREVER" henece the name of the game, sure its fun for about half an hour but i am deeply disapointed i mean im grateful that it actually arrived but the game in general feels rushed graphiclly its not impressive but it dont have to have good graphics to make a good game. Gearbox should have spent another year on this game even though its been 14 years since its release im sure one more year wouldnt have been that bad to at least bring the Duke into the next generation i have to admit i dont ussualy exchange my games after a purchase but the game honestly feels incomplete. As for the online multiplayer L O L sorry Duke Expand
  15. Jun 16, 2011
    1
    This is absolutely the worst game I have played on the PS3 platform. Ever. I was expecting a modern version of the DN series, not a watered down version.

    1) Why would DN start off with no weapons? Kiling alient by throwing trophies is lame. 2) No open world at all. You can't even walk by people in a hallway, you are blocked until the dialog is complete.
    3) Graphics look like PS2.
    4)
    Most importantly -- the load time is abysmal. That was the final straw. Expand
  16. Jun 18, 2011
    1
    I never wasted money on something so **** stupid in my life. But thankfully I returned this and stuck this trash right back to where it came from, next time I'll wait for a few reviews before I got out and throw money out the window like this.
  17. Jun 19, 2011
    1
    I have played video games all my life , but i heard about Duke Nukem a couple of months ago. My friend told me about the new Duke game and said that the old Duke Nukem was amazing and the new one is gonna be even better.So i thought to myself that im gonna try it out. OMFG!!! , i was a freaking dissapointment.I realized how terrible this game is in the first minutes.The jokes were extremely unfunny and quite often i didnt understand them at all.Animations just suck , facial animations were uglier than Harry Potter's foreskin and the boobs arent much of a lookers either.The audio is like a broken gramophone.The best example is Duke's jumping.The graphics arent so good either , a lot of bugs.But what decides a good game from a bad one is gameplay and as you might think ... the gameplay sucks as well.So my recommendation..... play the the old one.Everyone loves the old one and im quite sure that everyone will hate the new one.Dont buy the game.The game is just laughable... Expand
  18. Jun 19, 2011
    4
    I rented this expecting old duke not a crappy generic fps.Sure it makes fun of some of this and maybe it was done that way to show the hipocrisy of reviewers that give 10/10 to games with regenerating health and 2 weapons limit and play virtually the same.Still not what i was hoping and totally not worth the 12 years waiting.
  19. Jun 23, 2011
    4
    I was really dissapointed with this game. It really makes wonder why i waited over half of my life to get this game. One thing i did notice was that DNF (Duke Nukem Forever) also means did not finish which is exactly what happened when I put this game in my PS3, I didn't finish it and don't plan on it.
  20. Jun 25, 2011
    4
    Duke nukem has been thrown around from developer to developer for years, and uninformed "critics" and costumers like to call the time it took throwing around duke, "Development time". No, 2k got stuck with this game a few years back and has done an extremely poor job of it. This game is no comparison to duke 3d playing almost like a railed shooter and employing the age old trick of forcing the player to run the same corse in various ways and enemies popping up at you to slow you down. Duke 3d had a good size map, one objective and various routes to get you to the end of the level, Duke forever gives you one long road and makes you run up and down it until the enemies have given up. I would write more but its just not worth it. Dont buy it.

    i will say one more thing though, its not a retro throwback, so ied strongly discourage you from purchasing it for that reason.
    Expand
  21. Jun 28, 2011
    1
    Are you kidding me? This game is awful, anyone who says its good is either kidding themselves or hasn't played a video game in 13 years since the last duke nukem was out. Almost every aspect of this game is atrocious. The graphics look like ps2 graphics,The weapons and zoom are laughable. A.I.? what A.I.? Controls bad. If you are playing just about any other current gen game and then put duke nukem in you will turn it off within 10 minutes, it's so bad. pitiful. However I will give it a 1 for the humor, as it is somewhat funny. Expand
  22. Jul 3, 2011
    0
    Biggest disappointment of all time. dupidup dup
  23. Dec 25, 2011
    3
    This game shows why it should have been made 12 years ago. It's more stupid than clever or entertaning, and the graphics are unappeling. GameMarket sells the game for 6 bucks, spend your 6 bucks in a gumball.
  24. Jul 19, 2011
    0
    I'd rather have a conversation about merits of Twilight with the Kardashians than play this game. I have never reviewed a game before but I felt compelled after spending money on this cash-grab. I went back and asked the guy at the game store to wear a ski-mask the next time he tries to sell me a piece of **** like this. The only people who gave this positive reviews must have worked on this game's development and they should go back to crying in their Japanese love pillow than waste our time trying to justify these piece of ****. Expand
  25. Aug 2, 2011
    1
    Duke Nukem. I thought that this is going to be good. But when I played it couple hours it felt like im playing some 10 years old first person shooter with better graphics.
  26. Aug 13, 2011
    4
    I think it's time for Duke Nukem to be retired because Forever was a disappointment and a disgrace to make a comeback after 14 years of development issues. I played the demo and it wasn't that even good. I think that this game has been outdated or something, but with a comeback to the FPS format, well I just don't want to conglomerate myself. Duke Nukem Forever was the worst game of 2011.
  27. Jan 4, 2012
    2
    the game simply put horrible. the texture and animation feel horrid. the gameplay didn't wow me eihter.


    shooting aliens gets boring after a while.
  28. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    A game that I believed was never gonna be made.and I played dn3d as a teenager
    The good - The one liners Bad - dated graphics, dated music
    Ugly- loooong loading times, annoying mechanics(actually stopped playing after getting annoyed halfway through the game, involving cog wheels
  29. Dec 21, 2011
    0
    If I ran out of toilet paper and I needed to wipe my bottom, then I would use this game as a piece of toilet roll. That is an expression on how awful this game is! Gearbox you are terrible at making games, just don't bother anymore. You are a terrible company
  30. Jul 30, 2012
    0
    duke nukem suck arse was the worst game i played in years i waited for so long for duke nukem to come back. But what they replace us was this rubbish tried to get into it but made me more angry,
    duke nukem use his same old tried 90s catch phrase into 2011 game was not cleaver. It was just rubbish loading time took so long i could make cookies still be half loaded,. Only thing
    that made me feel good about this game was when it ended i like angry joe ending to game flush it in toilet i mean literally and pee on it if u dont know who angryjoe he guy on youtube who review all games. game play get old super fast nothing else is really interesting if game company did this game over again i say hell no Expand
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 48
  2. Negative: 19 out of 48
  1. It's true that there are plenty of superior overall shooters out there that'd murder for a character with a quarter of the charisma Duke Nukem oozes. He's a dinosaur; a two-dimensional mound of muscles with a gun. But that's the joke. Duke Nukem Forever really is a several-year old game masquerading as a new release. [August 2011 p67]
  2. Forever eschews any hope for a decent story or interesting gameplay in favor of shoving as many boobs in our face as possible. As a result, the game comes up short in every way possible.
  3. Jul 25, 2011
    20
    Plain and simple, Duke Nukem Forever suffers from being passed around the development table for too long without any updates to its core.