Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 243 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The king is back, baby! Duke Nukem Forever will meld 3D Realms' memorable hero with the latest 3D graphics technology.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 48
  2. Negative: 19 out of 48
  1. Jun 13, 2011
    88
    While it's no contender for the FPS crown, it's a solid FPS game with a lot of character. If you've waited twelve years in anticipation for a great Duke Nukem title, then this was well worth the wait.
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    72
    While the action is fun, there is no way to avoid feeling it's stuck in the past.
  3. Jun 25, 2011
    61
    I always new that it would never live up to expectations but I had hoped for something that would have a bit more character than just being an average shooter with Duke's face and humour plastered over it. Still, I can't bring myself to hate it or bash it vociferously. It could never be anything other than what it has been and actually, that's fine.
  4. 50
    Duke Nukem Forever is the result of what first began as perfectionism that slowly snowballed into mismanagement.
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    44
    Nobody wanted to love DNF more than me but I just couldn't get any enjoyment out of it.
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    It's not obvious they knew just how monumentally moronic the game they created is. That's the key difference between the two titles: Bulletstorm is the funny guy at the party who has a bit too much to drink. DNF is the guy who gets plastered, runs around naked with a lampshade on his head and doesn't understand that everyone is laughing at him, not with him.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 84
  2. Negative: 34 out of 84
  1. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Totally undeserving of such low scores, especially with so many uninventive and tedious sequels getting 9's or higher. Honestly, more varied and fun, though perhaps not as polished as most AAA shooters of this generation. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    Duke is awesome. That's it.
    Of course with all the hype that's being going on and the blindeness of the reviewers (some of them) contributes
    for an overall thinking that this game is bad.
    This game is not crysis is not COD is not Halo, neither it is Uncharted or even any other shooter out there. It may be different for the iGNorant reviewers but for me it's a piece of art that I will always keep standing by in my brain.
    Sure it isn't the sequel that the fans have been anticipating but it's fun and it's good.Awesome.
    (written by a guy who likes COD)
    Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Duke is back.
    And in The damn good shape. Incredibly funny and variable game. Duke is among today 's a lot of games away from much of the
    competition. Duke has in each case at least three taunts on every thing and the whole game not give boredom a chance. I play the PS3 version.
    If you are 20+ years old and you played the original Duke 3D you will be thrilled. Must have. Plus: Incredibly variable missions and good level design Wit and humor in each piece of the game. Dukes buzz Finally, is here: D Minus: Loading is too long, about 25 seconds. Console version does not have good graphics. Sometimes the framerate drops. F*****g good :D

    Ps : I am used the google translator :)
    Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2013
    6
    Duke Nukem Forever perfectly captures the character of the classic Duke Nukem's with a next generation engine. The game has great satire and wtf moments. The moment to moment gameplay is a mixed bag though. Although, its cheesy overthetop ridiculousness pushes you forward through the game, the combat and sluggish movement will piss you off and the loading times when you die start grinding on your nerves as you progress further and further into the game. Your enjoyment will depend on how much of this you can take. The developers had great ideas and the game would have been a lot more fun and enjoyable if the overall game had been a lot more polished up. Its a shame that the game wasn't as polished as it could have been because it really did have great moments. Collapse
  5. Jun 19, 2011
    4
    I rented this expecting old duke not a crappy generic fps.Sure it makes fun of some of this and maybe it was done that way to show the hipocrisy of reviewers that give 10/10 to games with regenerating health and 2 weapons limit and play virtually the same.Still not what i was hoping and totally not worth the 12 years waiting. Expand
  6. Jun 16, 2011
    1
    This is absolutely the worst game I have played on the PS3 platform. Ever. I was expecting a modern version of the DN series, not a watered down version.

    1) Why would DN start off with no weapons? Kiling alient by throwing trophies is lame. 2) No open world at all. You can't even walk by people in a hallway, you are blocked until the dialog is complete.
    3) Graphics look like PS2.
    4) Most importantly -- the load time is abysmal. That was the final straw.
    Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2011
    0
    Biggest disappointment of all time. dupidup dup Expand

See all 84 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  2. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.