Duke Nukem Forever PlayStation 3

Duke Nukem Forever Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 276 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The king is back, baby! Duke Nukem Forever will meld 3D Realms' memorable hero with the latest 3D graphics technology.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 48
  2. Negative: 19 out of 48
  1. Jun 13, 2011
    88
    While it's no contender for the FPS crown, it's a solid FPS game with a lot of character. If you've waited twelve years in anticipation for a great Duke Nukem title, then this was well worth the wait.
  2. Jun 20, 2011
    72
    While the action is fun, there is no way to avoid feeling it's stuck in the past.
  3. Jun 25, 2011
    61
    I always new that it would never live up to expectations but I had hoped for something that would have a bit more character than just being an average shooter with Duke's face and humour plastered over it. Still, I can't bring myself to hate it or bash it vociferously. It could never be anything other than what it has been and actually, that's fine.
  4. 50
    Duke Nukem Forever is the result of what first began as perfectionism that slowly snowballed into mismanagement.
  5. Jun 15, 2011
    44
    Nobody wanted to love DNF more than me but I just couldn't get any enjoyment out of it.
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jun 14, 2011
    0
    It's not obvious they knew just how monumentally moronic the game they created is. That's the key difference between the two titles: Bulletstorm is the funny guy at the party who has a bit too much to drink. DNF is the guy who gets plastered, runs around naked with a lampshade on his head and doesn't understand that everyone is laughing at him, not with him.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 92
  2. Negative: 37 out of 92
  1. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Totally undeserving of such low scores, especially with so many uninventive and tedious sequels getting 9's or higher. Honestly, more variedTotally undeserving of such low scores, especially with so many uninventive and tedious sequels getting 9's or higher. Honestly, more varied and fun, though perhaps not as polished as most AAA shooters of this generation. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    Duke is awesome. That's it.
    Of course with all the hype that's being going on and the blindeness of the reviewers (some of them) contributes
    Duke is awesome. That's it.
    Of course with all the hype that's being going on and the blindeness of the reviewers (some of them) contributes for an overall thinking that this game is bad.
    This game is not crysis is not COD is not Halo, neither it is Uncharted or even any other shooter out there. It may be different for the iGNorant reviewers but for me it's a piece of art that I will always keep standing by in my brain.
    Sure it isn't the sequel that the fans have been anticipating but it's fun and it's good.Awesome.
    (written by a guy who likes COD)
    Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2012
    8
    duke nukem forever is an intersting game with duke kicking ass agaist the aliens and some great shooting mechanics,but is not satisfying withduke nukem forever is an intersting game with duke kicking ass agaist the aliens and some great shooting mechanics,but is not satisfying with the strong sexuality and doing some dumb things Expand
  4. Jun 12, 2013
    6
    As a big fan of Duke I got to say that this is not the best game, but not the worst either, it has it fun moments but is trying to hard toAs a big fan of Duke I got to say that this is not the best game, but not the worst either, it has it fun moments but is trying to hard to become more then it is whice leaves me like nah.. but still the king of the hill baby for em just try one more time with less throwing Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2011
    4
    I rented this expecting old duke not a crappy generic fps.Sure it makes fun of some of this and maybe it was done that way to show theI rented this expecting old duke not a crappy generic fps.Sure it makes fun of some of this and maybe it was done that way to show the hipocrisy of reviewers that give 10/10 to games with regenerating health and 2 weapons limit and play virtually the same.Still not what i was hoping and totally not worth the 12 years waiting. Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2014
    2
    Un juego totalmente desfasado, en chistes, gráficos y jugabilidad. Uno de los juegos mas malos en todo el catálogo de PS3. Podría haber sidoUn juego totalmente desfasado, en chistes, gráficos y jugabilidad. Uno de los juegos mas malos en todo el catálogo de PS3. Podría haber sido un juego para pasar un buen rato y ya, pero ni eso. Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2011
    0
    This is one of the worst games I've ever played in my life. Back in 1997, I love Duke Nukem 3D on the Playstation and still love it today.This is one of the worst games I've ever played in my life. Back in 1997, I love Duke Nukem 3D on the Playstation and still love it today. When I heard about this game coming, I was excited to play as the King again. But after playing 2 hours of it, I officially said "goodbye" to this game. The controls were absolutely terrible, it gets harder when you try to aim at the aliens. How is it hard to aim? You use the right analog stick, and move is slightly slow or fast. But here, no matter how hard you try it's goes so fast you wouldn't be able to kill an alien before it kills you. The health system is similar to Master Chief from Halo franchise. The mini games are unplayable with the glitchy controls. Oh, and the glitches are ridiculous. But the worst is the loading time. It takes forever, I timed it all. It takes about 43 seconds to start the stage. Whats worse is when you die. You think after you die, you automatically respond, like in many FPS's. But here, you go back to the loading screen and wait 35 seconds! Don't buy it, and definitely don't rent it. If you see this game in stores, just keep walking and play an FPS that is a masterpiece like Killzone 3 and Halo Reach. My childhood with Duke Nukem has been destroyed because of this game. Expand

See all 92 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  2. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.