Dungeon Hunter: Alliance PlayStation 3

Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Jul 1, 2011
    83
    I like the dungeon crawling. I like the character customization. I like the loot. But most of all I like the multiplayer. With four players going at it, the battles become pandemonium and I love it. Dungeon Hunter: Alliance has everything I look for in a downloadable title.
  2. Jul 20, 2011
    75
    It's not what it could have been. Stupid level design, lengthy loading times and a monotone fighting system let us hope for a better sequel. On the good side, however, it has copious action, cool multiplayer and nice ways to tweak your character.
  3. May 17, 2011
    75
    Dungeon Hunter has reminded me why I love the action RPG genre. The lackluster story is overshadowed by great gameplay mechanics and a top-notch multiplayer experience. Fans of the genre will find plenty to keep them occupied while they continue to wait for Torchlight 2 and Diablo 3.
  4. 80
    Not the most original game ever, and probably no replacement for Diablo III. Nevertheless, Dungeon Hunter Alliance is a solid dungeon crawler that absolutely shines in co-op (even on same screen). And you just can't beat the price. Well worth getting, but make sure you bring some friends over.
  5. Games Master UK
    Sep 9, 2011
    78
    Gorgeous graphics and satisfying combat raise this Gauntlet clone above most dungeon crawlers. [Oct 2011, p.93]
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    Simple, fluid, fast, and not pretentious. Awesome for multiplying. The game allows players to drop-in (and create a new character on the spot)Simple, fluid, fast, and not pretentious. Awesome for multiplying. The game allows players to drop-in (and create a new character on the spot) in literally 10 seconds. For the few abandoned left-overs of the ps3 community that, like me, still value gameplay more than graphics and simplicity over overwhelming menus and options. Full Review »
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    5
    You can't go back home again. The original Diablo was a time when you crawled to the level 3 dungeon and were genuinely scared when theYou can't go back home again. The original Diablo was a time when you crawled to the level 3 dungeon and were genuinely scared when the 10-foot skeleton king with dozens of minions showed up. Then Diablo II added a load of skills and it has been downhill ever since. So much so that not even the promise of the 3rd installment excites me. Dungeon Hunter Alliance is a so-so game in a moribund genre. Picking through the slag pile of drops looking for something decent no longer has that "Eureka!" sense. Looking at the skill tree is depressing because you know it is a chore figure out which two or three skills are genuinely useful and which are filler built on novelty and desperate experimentation. The story is ok as far as it goes, but there is no "but what happens next?!" compulsion that is essential for any kind of story. Full Review »
  3. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    Great and entertaining game. Sure one could argue, that this game is a plain copy of other hack and slay games. No doubt, it is. But a veryGreat and entertaining game. Sure one could argue, that this game is a plain copy of other hack and slay games. No doubt, it is. But a very fun one. Considering the amount of re-playability, the motivating leveling system and the possibility to enjoy the game with 4 friends, makes this one an offering I cant resist.

    What most reviews of the "popular" magazine didn't higlight enough is the very good implementation of the move controller. This works extremely well and is really a fun alternative to the dualshock 3, or let us say "gamepad" style of playing action rpgs on the console.

    It delivers the "pc" feeling perfectly, because it plays similar to the mouse controls on this plattform.
    So if you look at the more than solid structure of the game itself and add the move controls plus the multiplayer implementation, this is the most intuitive and original "diablo clone" especially when you compare it to other "diablo clones" in the downloadsector (torchlight for example).
    Full Review »