Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    100
    It’s great fun, a hell of a time, and an excellent way to hold on to a true classic of the arcade circuit.
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    100
    While both titles will be a short experience if you’re just looking to blow past the initial playthrough, there’s enough content packed in here via replays to make you feel that this is $15 well spent.
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    92
    "Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara" is great fun. Yea, it’s technically two catalog titles coupled for the price of $15, but this release isn’t just the first time these games have been made available for stateside consoles – it’s also the definitive edition of both arcade classics.
  4. Jun 27, 2013
    90
    Iron Galaxy has polished both titles to a contemporary shine. In simple terms, Chronicles of Mystara is the best of the best.
  5. Jun 18, 2013
    90
    Dungeons & Dragons, a mythical name for fans of the classic pencil and paper RPG. Tower of Doom and Shadow Over Mystara, two cult videogames. Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara, the opportunity that we had waited for twenty years. The download of this game is simply inevitable.
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    90
    Whether you played the game back in the day or not, if you were around in the 80's and early 90's, do yourself a favor and check this one out.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    I have greatly enjoyed the D and D series. There is nothing more exhilarating and more satisfying than slapping the living soul out of a Kobold as the Cleric or slashing a goblin as a Warrior. These ganes stick true to the arcade RPG makeup. The game is a near perfect port, and reigns king of the fantasy arcade games. Full Review »
  2. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    http://www.gamesdotanews.com/
    The game is a near perfect port, and reigns king of the fantasy arcade games. Realistic graphics and
    exhaustively. Atmosphere is somber, but surprisingly beautiful. Beautiful and lifelike design world. The top level of the design industry. Including characters created out perfectly. Particularly related to the players, featuring a withdrawal, not more. Full Review »
  3. Jun 21, 2013
    3
    [Played the Steam version, excuse me for posting in the wrong section]
    Took the effort to make an account on metacritic, because I felt
    cheated by the current reviews. I guess most of the reviews of the so-called "critics" are written by fan boys. Although the overlay interface is very well finished I can't see the fun in this outdated side-scrolling beat 'm up. After two hours of playing these are the things that annoy me the most:
    - If one player uses magic, all the others stay locked in place for 2 seconds
    - Item selection is dreadful Magic user have a limited number of [ranged] attacks
    - You can use a slide attack which is annoyingly hard to pull of with my xbox controller, but otherwise there is a very low variety in attacks. Just bash the a-button.
    - You feel like a turtle when playing this game after you enjoyed Castle Crashers

    Summary:
    Pick up a copy of Castle Crashers and don't pay for this dust. If you're bored with CC, look for a copy of Streets of Rage Remake
    Full Review »