User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 61
  2. Negative: 17 out of 61

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2014
    8
    Really cool fantasy 2 in 1 package - Tower of Doom and Shadows over Mystara. Amazing return of the oldschool arcade beat them up genre. Suddenly I felt 20 years younger as I played the cult classic Golden Axe in the early 90's and this felt very similar. This is even deeper experience as it's based on the D&D ruleset, so you can expect anything from skills such as Cleric's Turn Undead toReally cool fantasy 2 in 1 package - Tower of Doom and Shadows over Mystara. Amazing return of the oldschool arcade beat them up genre. Suddenly I felt 20 years younger as I played the cult classic Golden Axe in the early 90's and this felt very similar. This is even deeper experience as it's based on the D&D ruleset, so you can expect anything from skills such as Cleric's Turn Undead to little details such as his inability to use sharp weapons etc. Many D&D items spells and monsters, it's good amount of fun especially in more players. The problem is that the game is designed to be coin powered and that didn't translate well to this platform. You can either restrict yourself and try to finish the game with 1 single life for the hardcore challenge, which is almost impossible, or you can simply respawn after death to your leisure, which eliminates any sign of challenge making the entire journey walk in the park. The choice is yours. 8/10 Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    I loved this port, but they would apply graphic enhancement, live(In arcade, you have infinite lives), and a challenger mode.
    The price is very expensive, this is bad for new public. Most of the player are from old generation, no new bloods.
    probably no innovations in next patches, it's a bad part of the port. It's very very very fun play with yours friends, and if you and yours friends
    I loved this port, but they would apply graphic enhancement, live(In arcade, you have infinite lives), and a challenger mode.
    The price is very expensive, this is bad for new public. Most of the player are from old generation, no new bloods.
    probably no innovations in next patches, it's a bad part of the port.
    It's very very very fun play with yours friends, and if you and yours friends are fã of D&D, probaly this game will live in your hearth forever xD
    Collapse
  3. Jun 28, 2013
    9
    This is a great port of a great classic game. It brings back memories of those days of putting quarter after quarter into the arcade machine. This game is one of the absolute pinnacles of the side scrolling beat-em-up genre, and this version lives up to that. I would not recommend this to gamers who don't have the taste for old-school-beat-em-ups though as these games are very simple byThis is a great port of a great classic game. It brings back memories of those days of putting quarter after quarter into the arcade machine. This game is one of the absolute pinnacles of the side scrolling beat-em-up genre, and this version lives up to that. I would not recommend this to gamers who don't have the taste for old-school-beat-em-ups though as these games are very simple by modern standards. But for me it fit the bill perfectly. As for the haters below, I don't know what they were expecting since they seem to be arguing to drastically change the original game, which defeats the point of this port in the first place! Definitely recommend playing with a gamepad or classic joystick, not a keyboard. Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    http://www.gamesdotanews.com/
    The game is a near perfect port, and reigns king of the fantasy arcade games. Realistic graphics and exhaustively. Atmosphere is somber, but surprisingly beautiful. Beautiful and lifelike design world. The top level of the design industry. Including characters created out perfectly. Particularly related to the players, featuring a withdrawal, not more.
  5. Jun 20, 2013
    10
    I have greatly enjoyed the D and D series. There is nothing more exhilarating and more satisfying than slapping the living soul out of a Kobold as the Cleric or slashing a goblin as a Warrior. These ganes stick true to the arcade RPG makeup. The game is a near perfect port, and reigns king of the fantasy arcade games.
  6. Sep 9, 2013
    0
    I loved this port, but they would apply graphic enhancement, live(In arcade, you have infinite lives), and a challenger mode.
    The price is very expensive, this is bad for new public. Most of the player are from old generation, no new bloods.
    probably no innovations in next patches, it's a bad part of the port. It's very very very fun play with yours friends, and if you and yours friends
    I loved this port, but they would apply graphic enhancement, live(In arcade, you have infinite lives), and a challenger mode.
    The price is very expensive, this is bad for new public. Most of the player are from old generation, no new bloods.
    probably no innovations in next patches, it's a bad part of the port.
    It's very very very fun play with yours friends, and if you and yours friends are fã of D&D, probaly this game will live in your hearth forever xD
    Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. A surprising, raucous, lovingly updated loot-fest. [Aug 2013, p.93]
  2. Jul 23, 2013
    80
    One of the finest re-releases yet from Iron Galaxy and Capcom. [Issue#233, p.77]
  3. This formula may be 20-years-old but Chronicles’ gameplay is still razor sharp and the visuals are oddly endearing. To quote one of its Engrish quest-givers: please investigate into it. [August 2013, p78]