• Publisher: CCP
  • Release Date: May 14, 2013
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 216

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 14, 2013
    7
    The game as a whole is great fun. Find a corp, run with a squad, this is where Dust 514 shines. Decisions and battles actually matter in this game.

    Pros:
    Persistence
    Team Work Focused
    Real consequences for actions

    Cons:
    Controls
  2. May 14, 2013
    10
    So much promise in this game. The large scope and massive immersion into the game is really rewarding. Looking forward to the game mechanics getting better. Great start to a FREE game! I also agree that if you enjoyed MAG, you will love this game.
  3. Sep 21, 2013
    2
    After 15 minutes I still had no idea what a hell was I doing in this game. After 20 minutes I QUIT. In my opinion this game doesn't worth all gigabytes that was required.
    Anything positive? Yes, the graphics were okay. The rest I didn't like it.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    3
    Has some promise but ultimately not a very fun game. There are simply other F2P titles where teamwork is easier to coordinate (such as League of Legends) or combat is more fun, skill-based, and less biased towards high level players (such as Hawken).

    The game's economy is not great, every piece of equipment you buy gets used up every time you die so you have to constantly restock
    Has some promise but ultimately not a very fun game. There are simply other F2P titles where teamwork is easier to coordinate (such as League of Legends) or combat is more fun, skill-based, and less biased towards high level players (such as Hawken).

    The game's economy is not great, every piece of equipment you buy gets used up every time you die so you have to constantly restock everything but the base armors, weapons, etc. Skills take forever to unlock. A player who is higher level then you will cream you with advanced weapons, armor, vehicles, ORBITAL STRIKES! This leads to matches being completely unbalanced. Ultimately, the shooting mechanics work but that is about it. The game simply is not fun in its current iteration. With an improved economy and some balanced matches, it would be on the road to fun. This is one to avoid unless you enjoy painful grinding, in which case, have at it.
    Expand
  5. May 18, 2013
    6
    DUST 514 is a mixed bag. On certain occasions, it will prove to be a fun and unique game on most occasions, it will feel like a chore to play. The game has it's enjoyable moments, but it's negative ones stand out far more. The balancing of much of the game's equipment helps cause this issue. Often times, you will feel like cannon fodder, who's sole purpose is for the enjoyment of DUST'sDUST 514 is a mixed bag. On certain occasions, it will prove to be a fun and unique game on most occasions, it will feel like a chore to play. The game has it's enjoyable moments, but it's negative ones stand out far more. The balancing of much of the game's equipment helps cause this issue. Often times, you will feel like cannon fodder, who's sole purpose is for the enjoyment of DUST's veteran players being helplessly slaughtered, with very little chance for resistance. Of course, the equipment isn't the sole reason for this imbalance. Older players have far more perks and skills, that can effortlessly beat a player with lower skill points, into brutal submission.

    From my own personal experience, I started playing late into the closed beta. Very little has changed, in the balancing of the game. While many weapons have been weakened, in the process, several of the previously-weak weapons, have become overpowered. A perfect example of this is the Tactical Assault Rifle. The weapon quickly went from one of the least used weapons in the game, to one of the most common ones. It doesn't help, that only skilled players have access to it as well. Along with a grotesquely poor balancing, the game itself suffers from a myriad of technical issues; for example, character movement is often impeded by invisible 'bumps' in the terrain. That is only one of the many common glitches, found within the game.

    For the most part, the game has solid mechanics, if not unconventional. Aiming is incredibly difficult at times, as it often feels wonky turning the camera. This is only made worse, through a hectic hail of gunfire and explosions. Hit detection is also another issue, as some shots quickly register, while others practically bounce off your opponent. Equipment is handled as an expendable kit. For every life you have, your equipment will be expended in your custom 'fit'. Customization of fits can become very deep, allowing for a high number of possible combinations. Unfortunately, as you lose your fit with every death, this can make certain matches unbelievably frustrating.

    Spawning only to be killed repeatedly, without any chance for self-defense, can be very discouraging you not only lose your fit, but the value of your end-of-match reward becomes increasingly less; giving a poor amount of ISK (the games currency) and skill points. Because of poor match mechanics such as this, the game practically encourages the losing side to give up retreating into defensive sniping positions within their own spawn, as those who actually make an effort to try, are consistently penalized, by being camped by the enemy team.

    Despite many of these glaring issues, DUST 514 is not objectively bad. The game itself is still under development, and will continue to do so, for at least ten more years. CCP, the developers of DUST, have acknowledged many of these issues, and are trying to collaborate with the community to fix them. This doesn't exactly excuse the quality of the launch-day product, but it certainly softens its negative condition. While the game may declare itself to be 'finished', DUST is still very much a game in beta. Many speculate the sole reason it was released officially, was so it could launched on day of 5/14/13. It wouldn't hard to argue that it was a petty-marketing stunt.

    DUST happens to be integrated into another game, called EVE online. The two communities can only interact in a very limited form, at the moment. But that is subject to change, further into development. Regardless, this has helped to provide most of the game's hype. I myself was initially intrigued by this concept. DUST's current implementation of this integration is currently very rough, as much of the game is. Yet, as it stands, it has a decent base for it.

    For many people, the game's steep learning curve, (for a shooter), along with it's imbalanced and unpolished gameplay, will drive them away. For the few who do stay, they will find a frustrating yet somewhat enjoyable experience. The game is free, so it wouldn't be too difficult to try it. With all of its issues, DUST is still an endearing game a pure and utter vexation of a game, that just so happens to have an incredible amount of potential.
    Expand
  6. May 24, 2013
    6
    Its free to play, it doesn't really require reviews. Get in and make up your own mind!. And ignore the crap about pay-to-win. Its not true.

    Thats being said heres my opinion: A potentially great game mired by the developer mismanaging expectations and playing it safe CCP are trying to appeal to too many people at once and as a result appealing to a very small minority of eve nutters
    Its free to play, it doesn't really require reviews. Get in and make up your own mind!. And ignore the crap about pay-to-win. Its not true.

    Thats being said heres my opinion:

    A potentially great game mired by the developer mismanaging expectations and playing it safe CCP are trying to appeal to too many people at once and as a result appealing to a very small minority of eve nutters with PS3s and MAG refugees. CCP also seems content to fiddle with small details rather than finishing thier obviously half done game (and as a result often break more than they fix). CCP has also poorly managed the PR behind its microtransaction model, allowing misinformation and rumour to penetrate even official reviews.

    The Cons

    Dust 514 also lacks immersion and an open world feel that Eve does so well. Despite the gorgeous mercenary quarter environment, as a player you are inexplicably teleported to and from battlefields with little explanation about how you get there. It all feels half assed and lazy. The game as it stands is a increadibly cut down shooter, with very little to do beyond fight on the same four to six small maps and theorycraft "killer fits". The games modes are lack luster and unexciting. Even the new planetary conquest mode is just more fighting on the same battlefields with ownership of those same maps being ascribed on a database somewere.

    The Pros.

    The light at the end of the tunnel with this title is that it is free to play (why not spend a few hours playing it, ignore the reviews and give it a try!). Development has been promised to continue for 10 years of free expannsions! Eve when it started 10 years ago was a heap of rubbish too. Now its actually a fun game to play. The gun play, when not being destroyed by development is actually rather good. You do often feel though that the aiming and controls need work.

    To enjoy this game your going to have to be future thinking, and focus on what this game could be. Rather than what it is now. That being said as it stands this game is a 6/7 at best.
    Expand
  7. Oct 15, 2014
    3
    Just because you take a dump in a box and call it an FPS doesn't make it so.

    So much hope and potential for this game... Epic fail.

    Shooting mechanics are brutal
    Unbalanced gameplay
    Bad graphics
    Complexity that boils down to time or money spent on your character.
  8. May 15, 2013
    5
    This game, just like anything CCP will ever make, has great promise. Unfortunately, it was released way too soon (even after having been announced on August 18, 2009). I don't know what CCP was doing with the nearly four intervening years, but they certainly weren't playtesting their own game on anything but their RAM-equipped developer hardware. The game is all but unplayable using eitherThis game, just like anything CCP will ever make, has great promise. Unfortunately, it was released way too soon (even after having been announced on August 18, 2009). I don't know what CCP was doing with the nearly four intervening years, but they certainly weren't playtesting their own game on anything but their RAM-equipped developer hardware. The game is all but unplayable using either controller or mouse, and this is before you consider the unspeakably bad framerate you experience whenever you commit the sin of merely look towards an empty battlefield. Worse than this is how obvious it is that they are already upscaling the game's resolution from something pitiful.

    These criticisms aside, I would go so far as to say this game is important to the industry. I am not aware of another game that attempts to merge two games from the same universe in such a way that adds such depth to both. Having the fortune of being a CCP customer in the past, I am completely confident that CCP will iterate the hell out of this game (and for free, no less) while continuously working to fix what needs improvement. 9/10 for CCP, 5/10 for releasing this late-stage beta as a supposed "AAA title".
    Expand
  9. May 31, 2013
    2
    My main problem is the game simply isnt fun to play. Its actually very boring & feels like a real chore to play more then a few games

    Terrible Lag & Frame rate which hasnt improved one bit since i first played the Beta June last year CCP keep claiming you will experience MASSIVE EPIC BATTLES well where are they?? cos i dont class 16v16 massive scale Still haven't seen the 24v24
    My main problem is the game simply isnt fun to play. Its actually very boring & feels like a real chore to play more then a few games

    Terrible Lag & Frame rate which hasnt improved one bit since i first played the Beta June last year

    CCP keep claiming you will experience MASSIVE EPIC BATTLES well where are they?? cos i dont class 16v16 massive scale

    Still haven't seen the 24v24 they been hyping on about for the last year or so

    From my experience CCP promise ALOT of things but never seem to go thru with them
    Expand
  10. Jul 7, 2013
    7
    I like sitting down to play a multiplayer FPS and shoot people from around the world, and Dust 514 let's me do that for free. The MMO elements are nice, the shooting is tight, and it can be a lot of fun. The main problem with the game is that it's just another multiplayer FPS. Yeah it let's you create a character that suits your own play style and let's you approach any situation as youI like sitting down to play a multiplayer FPS and shoot people from around the world, and Dust 514 let's me do that for free. The MMO elements are nice, the shooting is tight, and it can be a lot of fun. The main problem with the game is that it's just another multiplayer FPS. Yeah it let's you create a character that suits your own play style and let's you approach any situation as you see fit, but the problem is the gameplay is about as generic as it gets. It's fun to play and has some nice maps, but the graphics are dated and the action familiar. I appreciate that this isn't a pay to win kind of game. If this weren't free to play I'm not sure I could've recommended it, but it is free to play. So if you're looking for something to scratch that multiplayer itch give Dust 514 a look. The fact that it's fun and only costs you $0.00 to get makes it worth a look. Expand
  11. Apr 26, 2014
    0
    I cannot in good conscience recommend this game to anyone. CCP works on EVE Online, and has planned another MMO called World of Darkness. Now they've added Dust 514, and EVE Valkyrie, and cancelled World of Darkness after years of work. Just completely scrapped it too in a single announcement, so having confidence that this game is going to succeed seems very unlikely.

    At this point,
    I cannot in good conscience recommend this game to anyone. CCP works on EVE Online, and has planned another MMO called World of Darkness. Now they've added Dust 514, and EVE Valkyrie, and cancelled World of Darkness after years of work. Just completely scrapped it too in a single announcement, so having confidence that this game is going to succeed seems very unlikely.

    At this point, you'd need to play for about 100 consecutive hours with skillpoint boosters and win at least 50% of your matches to be able to even use the weapons or the armor with it comparable to other players. Or let your account sit for about 3 months, which is a minimum, since every character gains skillpoints passively. But if you let your account sit, you'll still be behind since everyone else is playing and also getting the free skillpoints.

    Also, the skill tree has terrible explanations of the bonuses, and the items' stats are ambiguous and don't explain very well either. So putting points into a skill (which is permanent, once you place points in a skill there's nothing you can do to change or undo it.) means that you just spent a week's worth of points to use the bare minimum of a weapon, or a month's worth of playing to get a single weapon group to max level.

    Then there's the equipment, which is consumed with each time you die. That's right, when you die you need to repurchase everything to use it again. So the more expensive build you have, the less often you can use it. Unless of course, you have players in EVE who funnel you money. In D514, an extremely expensive build would cost you about 1mil isk (the currency in game) but in EVE, people can make 100mil isk in about an hour, or even 30 minutes. So giving someone 25mil isk to their dustbunny isn't unheard of, and they get the massive bonus to their Dust character because of their EVE subscription.

    Also, the load times are terrible, the graphics lag, the servers lag, and the controls are really a piece of **** compared to other fps games on consoles. Don't bother getting a sidearm weapon or any support items other than something you deploy. Swapping weapons takes a second and you can't look or turn your camera while swapping.
    Expand
  12. Aug 17, 2013
    4
    Games premise is its a version of quake wars with micromanaging, problem is it gets both wrong.

    Gameplay is poor, rarely do you get tug-of-wars, every game 1 team just simply dominates most often to the point where one team will be spawn killed over and over. Only way to escape this is the tdm mode, where again a more experience player with better stats will win every time 1on1. When
    Games premise is its a version of quake wars with micromanaging, problem is it gets both wrong.

    Gameplay is poor, rarely do you get tug-of-wars, every game 1 team just simply dominates most often to the point where one team will be spawn killed over and over. Only way to escape this is the tdm mode, where again a more experience player with better stats will win every time 1on1.
    When you start it places you in simple matches, but after a few games you are thrown into the deep end and well most players will drown.
    Maps themselves are not that good, everything is stretched out way to much with the most dull graphics seen in a ps3 fps.

    Game simply isn't worth your time when can play similar modes in refined games like Battlefield 3
    Expand
  13. May 16, 2013
    4
    Simply put, DUST 514 tries to run before it can walk.

    CCP needed to play-test and refine the FPS mechanics before adding any of the MMO elements into this game. It is now released, and the game feels like it runs at a peak of 15FPS. Meanwhile, the controls are maddening, and you feel like you're fighting the controller more than you are fighting the enemy. Add to it, a buggy, laggy,
    Simply put, DUST 514 tries to run before it can walk.

    CCP needed to play-test and refine the FPS mechanics before adding any of the MMO elements into this game. It is now released, and the game feels like it runs at a peak of 15FPS. Meanwhile, the controls are maddening, and you feel like you're fighting the controller more than you are fighting the enemy. Add to it, a buggy, laggy, match interface, and extemely annoying map bugs, and you'll find yourself wanting to break your PS3, since there is no Disc to snap in half.

    Currently DUST is pretty bad at what it is trying to accomplish, and CCP has failed to correctly identify and produce that which FPS gamers enjoy about their genre of choice. Most importantly, regardless of things like balance, and P2W arguments, the game fails entirely at being a decent FPS game, and this is the foundation on which everything else in the game rests on.

    Conclusions:
    I personally want DUST to succeed, but as it stands, DUST doesn't even deliver on the most basic elements of FPS gameplay. Maddening controls, clunky interface, poor optimization, and broken mechanics, all serve to frustrate and work against any experienced FPS gamer. These players are very unlikely to stay, and these seem to be the target market for CCP, considering their push to release on a console.

    Positives:
    -It is free.
    -The Tranquility server.
    -The potential is boundless.

    Negatives:
    -Horrible, rage inducing, controls
    -Poor optimization, 15FPS is not acceptable in a modern shooter.
    -Uninspired maps, each cluttered with bugs.
    -Cut and paste CoD game modes.
    -Linear, and uninspired skill progression.
    -The free player grind.
    Expand
  14. Jul 12, 2013
    0
    I do not know what the CCP was thinking when they made this game. I still not have a clue what they are doing now, this game is a dried turd. it spits in the face of anyone willing to try now. 2013? looking for a level fairness? Hah you can better find it elsewhere. this game is so bad it has my entire family concerned, it has literally turned me into a prick.

    I warn anyone reading
    I do not know what the CCP was thinking when they made this game. I still not have a clue what they are doing now, this game is a dried turd. it spits in the face of anyone willing to try now. 2013? looking for a level fairness? Hah you can better find it elsewhere. this game is so bad it has my entire family concerned, it has literally turned me into a prick.

    I warn anyone reading this DO NOT PLAY a game named DUST 514
    Expand
  15. May 26, 2013
    2
    hmmm where to start. DUST 514 a Shooter so incredibly unremarkable and mediocre its actually kind of extraodinary. Its as if the devs at ccp all went "hey! lets make the most boring and generic shooter we can and tie it into our anything BUT generic mmo!" yeah great idea tom! that being said the only thing you can really say about this game is "its a shooter" in a more specific tone thishmmm where to start. DUST 514 a Shooter so incredibly unremarkable and mediocre its actually kind of extraodinary. Its as if the devs at ccp all went "hey! lets make the most boring and generic shooter we can and tie it into our anything BUT generic mmo!" yeah great idea tom! that being said the only thing you can really say about this game is "its a shooter" in a more specific tone this game is absolutely rife with bugs and the core shooting mechanics are "questionable" at best and the ingame cash shop is pretty insulting (pay to win yay!!). about the only good thing about DUST is that its free, other than that this game is mediocre or worse than mediocre in pretty much every aspect. not even worth your time Expand
  16. Jun 2, 2013
    3
    Similarly to many people who have played EVE Online, I wanted this game to succeed.
    Sadly, I think that this game has failed miserably, it is a train wreck of a game...
    Surely, the persistent parts can be interesting, the character progression with new skills and new gear. But, it fails absurdly as an FPS game, and the graphics are horrible, it feels like it is upscaled from 320x180...
    Similarly to many people who have played EVE Online, I wanted this game to succeed.
    Sadly, I think that this game has failed miserably, it is a train wreck of a game...
    Surely, the persistent parts can be interesting, the character progression with new skills and new gear.
    But, it fails absurdly as an FPS game, and the graphics are horrible, it feels like it is upscaled from 320x180...
    I played it with the DualShock, Move and Move Sharpshooter, so who knows, maybe it might be playable with mouse and keyboard, but I don't want to play a console game like a PC one.
    Expand
  17. Jun 2, 2013
    4
    OK, first off; I'm a long time (since 2003) eve player. I get EVE.
    This is an attempt to bring 'grond combat' to the EVE universe using many of the same rules as EVE.
    Good Idea, awful execution. Really, at the end of the day, this is no more than 'pay as you go' UNREAL. Interaction with EVE universe is minimal. There is no great reason to 'care' about your race, team, or other
    OK, first off; I'm a long time (since 2003) eve player. I get EVE.
    This is an attempt to bring 'grond combat' to the EVE universe using many of the same rules as EVE.
    Good Idea, awful execution.

    Really, at the end of the day, this is no more than 'pay as you go' UNREAL. Interaction with EVE universe is minimal. There is no great reason to 'care' about your race, team, or other events in the universe. There is stupid skill level limits per week, and an ongoing attempt to get you to buy their real money 'arum'; which in itself isnt bad; but overplayed here (many good items in the shop are only purchaseable this way).

    There is no player driven market (unlike eve).
    There is lack of enviornment.
    There is slow load times
    There is long 'waiting' times for games to begin.

    On the postiive side: There is excellent set of weapon options, and the (same as EVE) skill tree is welcome to see in a FPS. There probably is excellent potential going forward, but who knows how long this will take. (EVE Took a few years to get 'interesting'... suspect this will too).

    ..but at the end of the day; all actual 'gaming' is no different than UNREAL which is free to play and better executed anyways (oh yea, this uses the unreal engine, so I guess that is no surprise...).

    So in summary: Great potential, horrible near term execution. This review isbased on the curent state of the game as of June 1 2013. Wish CCP well in improving this...quickly.
    Expand
  18. May 15, 2013
    8
    Its complexity will likely turn Call of Duty fans away, but for a free game there isn't really any reason not to at least try the game. There is a micro transaction system in place, but instead of being pay to win, its more of a pay to get it faster situation. Buying mercenary packs isn't necessary to survive a fight. Being in squads and using team work is more important. CoD fanboysIts complexity will likely turn Call of Duty fans away, but for a free game there isn't really any reason not to at least try the game. There is a micro transaction system in place, but instead of being pay to win, its more of a pay to get it faster situation. Buying mercenary packs isn't necessary to survive a fight. Being in squads and using team work is more important. CoD fanboys wouldn't understand that. Expand
  19. May 14, 2013
    10
    The game is awesome. After years of hard working, CCP give us (IMFO) a really good online shooter on PS3.
    Long life to you- CCP!

    Игра
  20. May 14, 2013
    10
    So much promise for the future of this game. Cant wait to see what this game would be like in 10 years and with the community we have now, we have a chance to get there.
  21. May 14, 2013
    9
    A Free to play game, that links two games together in a huge universe, with Intense Corporation battles, Skill tress, and a dynamic First Person Shooter experience, makes this game one of the most innovative games in the past few years.
  22. May 14, 2013
    10
    This is the best shooter I've played in years. It's still a work in progress, but this game has more potential than any other game out there right now.
    Take it from someone who was in the Planetside 2 Tech Test, and still plays it occasionaly today: THIS is the MMOFPS you want to be playing.
  23. SMC
    May 14, 2013
    9
    Ive been playing this game since the closed beta, and just frankly....wow. The game's developers have actually listened to there beta forums which i'm sincerely impressed with, having an input into a genre I love has been pretty cool. This game has come on in leaps and bounds. Don't get me wrong, there are still some issues, but with the game being set in an already well establishedIve been playing this game since the closed beta, and just frankly....wow. The game's developers have actually listened to there beta forums which i'm sincerely impressed with, having an input into a genre I love has been pretty cool. This game has come on in leaps and bounds. Don't get me wrong, there are still some issues, but with the game being set in an already well established universe and CCP's already sterling record with their persistent MMORPG, EVE, this game has the potential to outlast the current clone FPS's available.

    The fact that this game is F2P, and with CCP doing there level best to ensure that this is the case by not allowing gamers to buy there way into something that isn't achievable by the hard slog of gaining skill points and earning the in game currency called isk is great. (Trivia fact: also Iceland's national currency, the home of CCP)

    I think i'm safe in saying that this game will impress anyone looking for something more meaningful than the 7th time they've just unlocked the AK47 (i think you know which game i'm talking about).
    Expand
  24. May 15, 2013
    10
    Finally a fps shoter that does not treat you like you're a moron. Tons of customization options and battles actually MEAN something. Took me a few days to learn the upgrade system but now tht i have it is like a game in itself!I recommend this game to anyone who like me was feeling like there was no point in playing BF3 or COD. In all honesty I had premium for BF3 and I sold it once I gotFinally a fps shoter that does not treat you like you're a moron. Tons of customization options and battles actually MEAN something. Took me a few days to learn the upgrade system but now tht i have it is like a game in itself!I recommend this game to anyone who like me was feeling like there was no point in playing BF3 or COD. In all honesty I had premium for BF3 and I sold it once I got into DUST! So to summarize try this game out it may take a few days to learn but once you do you may never go back, I haven't! PS THE UPRISING UPGRADE CAME OUT ON MAY 14th THE GAME IS COMPLETELY DIFFERENT NEW GRAPPHICS NEW CONTROLS STREAMLINED INTERFACE. If you tried ths game before and didn't like it come back download the update and give her another shot, you've got nothing to lose besides that burnt out feeling you get from most FPS's...PEACE! I'm out. Expand
  25. May 15, 2013
    10
    This game is really amazing. It looks/feels like triple AAA game and what is more interesting is that the concept itself promises so many things can be done further with future expansions/patches. I especially like the part where you need to corporate with teammates to win the battle. It requires strategy/teamwork to win not with item purchases. This is truly a free to play game and loveThis game is really amazing. It looks/feels like triple AAA game and what is more interesting is that the concept itself promises so many things can be done further with future expansions/patches. I especially like the part where you need to corporate with teammates to win the battle. It requires strategy/teamwork to win not with item purchases. This is truly a free to play game and love it! Thanks for CCP making this game! Expand
  26. May 15, 2013
    7
    Such wasted potential. A lack of maps and game-modes, horrible controls, blurry graphics, and terrible weapon balance. Will the game eventually get better? Of course, but the game is now out of beta and in full release so there is no point holding back anymore. Everyone should download this game and give it a shot (it is free after all), but CCP blew it on this release.

    All that being
    Such wasted potential. A lack of maps and game-modes, horrible controls, blurry graphics, and terrible weapon balance. Will the game eventually get better? Of course, but the game is now out of beta and in full release so there is no point holding back anymore. Everyone should download this game and give it a shot (it is free after all), but CCP blew it on this release.

    All that being said, the game is somewhat fun if played in a squad. The gameplay is full of hiccups but for the most part it's polished. I am only giving this game as high a rating as I am because of it's "potential" for future growth, which right now seems pretty bleak considering that this last patch was a downgrade in terms of gameplay and weapon balance.
    Expand
  27. May 24, 2013
    4
    Maybe in 10 years CCP will have finally fixed the core mechanics of this game.
    - Hit detection broken
    - Unbalanced weapons, do yourself a favor and just spec into a TAC AR.
    - SP Cap 0_0
    - You get what you pay for, F2P.
  28. Sgs
    May 26, 2013
    0
    This game is complete and utter garbage plain and simple...There is soooo much wrong with this game I don't even know where to start really. For starters the basic shooting mechanics are laughably bad and most encounters involve players practically dancing side strafing attempting to hit each other. Most of the maps are simply far too large for 32 players granted most of them have a niceThis game is complete and utter garbage plain and simple...There is soooo much wrong with this game I don't even know where to start really. For starters the basic shooting mechanics are laughably bad and most encounters involve players practically dancing side strafing attempting to hit each other. Most of the maps are simply far too large for 32 players granted most of them have a nice mix of open and enclosed spaces but they are simply far too large. This also leads into one of the other biggest problems gun ranges...most guns simply don't have enough range making snipers dominant. The skill system in this game is simply appalling as well after your free beginner skill points and bonus SP matches give you barely any sp almost forcing you to buy boosters from the cash shop. The game is heavily unbalanced as well players who already have highers tiers of weapons and drop suits absolutely slaughter the newer players and the climb to get a point where you can even be competitiive simply isn't worth your time. Overall this "game" if you can even call it one is a pretty half baked shooter that doesn't stand up the countless other shooters out there and the much lauded connection to EVE online is nothing but an illusion. Don't believe any review over a 5 some people are most likely trying to justify there wasted time on this garbage. It's a good thing it's free because this game isn't even worth 5 cents in its current state. Expand
  29. May 25, 2013
    0
    Dust 514 is like a hardcore shooter, designed as an MMO. MMO players generally aren't the type to be hardcore shooter players, and hardcore shooter players generally aren't the type to be MMO players. That's just the type of the iceberg, but I'll leave it at that.
  30. May 26, 2013
    2
    Shows lots of promise (pretty to look at) and has a very novel concept (grand scale), but the fun factor gets lost in over complex systems and glitches. The controls are also not easy to get the hang of, and once you do you never loose the feeling that they are awkwardly trying to teach you some new muscle memory that you don't need or want. I feel like they were trying to be innovativeShows lots of promise (pretty to look at) and has a very novel concept (grand scale), but the fun factor gets lost in over complex systems and glitches. The controls are also not easy to get the hang of, and once you do you never loose the feeling that they are awkwardly trying to teach you some new muscle memory that you don't need or want. I feel like they were trying to be innovative with them but fell flat. Not bad for free, but not good enough to merit my very valuable time. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Thankfully, navigating through the poorly designed menus is not the only thing Dust 514 has to offer. You can also shoot each other in a body region of choice on poorly designed multiplayer maps. Even with 31 other player joining the fray, you will have a hard time finding even a single adversary. [June 2013, p.86]
  2. Dust 514 is ropier than a Japanese adult movie marathon. Movement is clunky, combat feels archaic, and this war takes place on worlds so drab they look like a rip off of Futurama’s Neutral Planet. This is yet another paid DLC bear trap. [September 2013, p80]
  3. Jul 28, 2013
    50
    Feels like it is in desperate need of a decade of evolution, to move out of the shadow of its peers. [Issue#137, p.114]