• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 216 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DUST 514 is a free-to-play console-based hybrid massively multiplayer online first-person shooter set within the EVE universe and interacts directly with EVE Online.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Jun 3, 2013
    91
    This is a game that has serious potential to grow into something amazing, while being fresh and fun enough right at this moment.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    A very solid online shooter with some good ideas, offering enormous possibilities of equipment customization and complex, rewarding gameplay. The important thing is that thick wallet makes the encounters easier but does not determine their outcome – and that’s the Holy Grail of free-to-play games. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.66]
  3. May 31, 2013
    72
    It’s only when I fought with a corporation that I truly feel like a part of the Dust 514 narrative. I fear that many players may never even get that far due to how overwhelming the menu-heavy interface can seem.
  4. May 19, 2013
    60
    It reaches high and attempts to accomplish something not many games have even tried to this day, which should be commended. But right now, it needs a few more major updates before it gets there. With a hefty amount of microtransactions that border on offensive, there is a very ambitious, competitive game underneath the sloppy veneer.
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    60
    DUST 514 is free-to-play and it's got some potential, but definitely fails to deliver.
  6. Thankfully, navigating through the poorly designed menus is not the only thing Dust 514 has to offer. You can also shoot each other in a body region of choice on poorly designed multiplayer maps. Even with 31 other player joining the fray, you will have a hard time finding even a single adversary. [June 2013, p.86]
  7. May 28, 2013
    40
    A very poor first person shooter buoyed up by the promise of things to come, and an impressively ambitious attempt at a cross-format connected universe.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 108
  2. Negative: 37 out of 108
  1. May 14, 2013
    10
    So much promise in this game. The large scope and massive immersion into the game is really rewarding. Looking forward to the game mechanicsSo much promise in this game. The large scope and massive immersion into the game is really rewarding. Looking forward to the game mechanics getting better. Great start to a FREE game! I also agree that if you enjoyed MAG, you will love this game. Expand
  2. May 24, 2013
    10
    Game Trailers gave out an extremely garbage review and the person reviewing did not even bother to do some research and i quote ''you can onlyGame Trailers gave out an extremely garbage review and the person reviewing did not even bother to do some research and i quote ''you can only get scrambler riffles by paying" which is not true there is ISK scrambler riffle weapons and the prototypes which are the best you only need ISK to buy them, also Did this guy even bothered to mention planetary conquest nope. There just goes to show how ignorant the person from GT was. even a monkey could of had done a better review. Dust takes some time (not alot) to get to a high level this is not just a pick up and play game to obtain everything in less than month like call of duty does. Expand
  3. May 15, 2013
    9
    I have been playing this game for nearly a year now I would probably be described as a fan boy but i will be objective

    this is a game for
    I have been playing this game for nearly a year now I would probably be described as a fan boy but i will be objective

    this is a game for people who want something new and are bored of killing for killings sake the sheer number of skills and items available make almost every player different in some way, It was worked out that is will take about 6-8 years to max out the current available skills so don't expect to be top dog quickly it will take you maybe 5+ mouths to get the stuff you really want.

    Gameplay is fun it is not a "smooth" as COD or BF3 but get your self into a corp(clan) and work with them this is a team game

    Map number are "limited" and yet bound less I will try and explain currently there are 6 basic terrain maps each of these can have 1 of 6 skins (grass,rock,desert) and then the building on the map are socketed so on big maps there are 1 main building and 2/3 small buildings, these are currently 3 main types of main building (not sure about the small ones) and each of these has 4 rascal versions.

    as it stands there are 3 levels of battles, public battles, factional warfare is affects EVE online players, and planetary conquest this is where corps can take planets over and try and hold them. PVE will be added but there is no confirmed time fame for this yet.

    this game is worth a try but just go in expecting something different from your regular run and gun FPS and don't expect that just because you can go 15-0 in other game that you will be going this straight of the bat here.
    Expand
  4. May 14, 2013
    6
    Its a very nice game a very nice improvement from the Beta

    but some weapons dont have a good aim and also there's alot of bugs and lack of
    Its a very nice game a very nice improvement from the Beta

    but some weapons dont have a good aim and also there's alot of bugs and lack of maps dont know about EVE Online has those maps but yeah) it almost everything are microtransactions and the weapons are consumables like the dropsuits, but hey its free and if u like games like Battlefield and Planetside 2, then u should totally try out this game especially since it can go up to 16 vs 16. But this game is almost Pay to Win because the advanced/mid items and consumables involves Aurums, which u can get more in real cash.
    Overall this game has a lot of potential and since i heard that all their expansions will be free then i see this game can even be better then the Planetside series
    Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2015
    5
    i had to make my rating a 5, i played the game months after it came out and then stopped it for a year. i played it this past weekend and iti had to make my rating a 5, i played the game months after it came out and then stopped it for a year. i played it this past weekend and it still has framrate issues and lag, which i just looked at a review from may 2013 stating the same thing. so 2 years and they still havent fixed the framrate or lag problems. i like this game and will still play it every so often but the only thing saving this game is that it is free to play. Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2013
    3
    Has some promise but ultimately not a very fun game. There are simply other F2P titles where teamwork is easier to coordinate (such as LeagueHas some promise but ultimately not a very fun game. There are simply other F2P titles where teamwork is easier to coordinate (such as League of Legends) or combat is more fun, skill-based, and less biased towards high level players (such as Hawken).

    The game's economy is not great, every piece of equipment you buy gets used up every time you die so you have to constantly restock everything but the base armors, weapons, etc. Skills take forever to unlock. A player who is higher level then you will cream you with advanced weapons, armor, vehicles, ORBITAL STRIKES! This leads to matches being completely unbalanced. Ultimately, the shooting mechanics work but that is about it. The game simply is not fun in its current iteration. With an improved economy and some balanced matches, it would be on the road to fun. This is one to avoid unless you enjoy painful grinding, in which case, have at it.
    Expand
  7. May 17, 2013
    0
    A half baked attempt to jump into the FPS market. Frustrating awkward controls, poor frame rate, graphics that look last generation. Lag andA half baked attempt to jump into the FPS market. Frustrating awkward controls, poor frame rate, graphics that look last generation. Lag and hit detection are also sub-par. This comes off very much as a poor man's FPS. Mediocre at best and a flaming wreck at worst, despite all the EVE fans trying desperately to up-rate it. Mediocrity combined with the pay to win monetization system. The touted link to EVE is really just a gimmick and that won't save this game when the core gameplay is so poor. Expand

See all 108 User Reviews