• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 219 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DUST 514 is a free-to-play console-based hybrid massively multiplayer online first-person shooter set within the EVE universe and interacts directly with EVE Online.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Jun 3, 2013
    91
    This is a game that has serious potential to grow into something amazing, while being fresh and fun enough right at this moment.
  2. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    A very solid online shooter with some good ideas, offering enormous possibilities of equipment customization and complex, rewarding gameplay. The important thing is that thick wallet makes the encounters easier but does not determine their outcome – and that’s the Holy Grail of free-to-play games. [CD-Action 07/2013, p.66]
  3. May 31, 2013
    72
    It’s only when I fought with a corporation that I truly feel like a part of the Dust 514 narrative. I fear that many players may never even get that far due to how overwhelming the menu-heavy interface can seem.
  4. May 19, 2013
    60
    It reaches high and attempts to accomplish something not many games have even tried to this day, which should be commended. But right now, it needs a few more major updates before it gets there. With a hefty amount of microtransactions that border on offensive, there is a very ambitious, competitive game underneath the sloppy veneer.
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    60
    DUST 514 is free-to-play and it's got some potential, but definitely fails to deliver.
  6. Thankfully, navigating through the poorly designed menus is not the only thing Dust 514 has to offer. You can also shoot each other in a body region of choice on poorly designed multiplayer maps. Even with 31 other player joining the fray, you will have a hard time finding even a single adversary. [June 2013, p.86]
  7. May 28, 2013
    40
    A very poor first person shooter buoyed up by the promise of things to come, and an impressively ambitious attempt at a cross-format connected universe.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 110
  2. Negative: 38 out of 110
  1. May 14, 2013
    10
    So much promise in this game. The large scope and massive immersion into the game is really rewarding. Looking forward to the game mechanicsSo much promise in this game. The large scope and massive immersion into the game is really rewarding. Looking forward to the game mechanics getting better. Great start to a FREE game! I also agree that if you enjoyed MAG, you will love this game. Expand
  2. May 24, 2013
    10
    Game Trailers gave out an extremely garbage review and the person reviewing did not even bother to do some research and i quote ''you can onlyGame Trailers gave out an extremely garbage review and the person reviewing did not even bother to do some research and i quote ''you can only get scrambler riffles by paying" which is not true there is ISK scrambler riffle weapons and the prototypes which are the best you only need ISK to buy them, also Did this guy even bothered to mention planetary conquest nope. There just goes to show how ignorant the person from GT was. even a monkey could of had done a better review. Dust takes some time (not alot) to get to a high level this is not just a pick up and play game to obtain everything in less than month like call of duty does. Expand
  3. May 15, 2013
    9
    I have been playing this game for nearly a year now I would probably be described as a fan boy but i will be objective

    this is a game for
    I have been playing this game for nearly a year now I would probably be described as a fan boy but i will be objective

    this is a game for people who want something new and are bored of killing for killings sake the sheer number of skills and items available make almost every player different in some way, It was worked out that is will take about 6-8 years to max out the current available skills so don't expect to be top dog quickly it will take you maybe 5+ mouths to get the stuff you really want.

    Gameplay is fun it is not a "smooth" as COD or BF3 but get your self into a corp(clan) and work with them this is a team game

    Map number are "limited" and yet bound less I will try and explain currently there are 6 basic terrain maps each of these can have 1 of 6 skins (grass,rock,desert) and then the building on the map are socketed so on big maps there are 1 main building and 2/3 small buildings, these are currently 3 main types of main building (not sure about the small ones) and each of these has 4 rascal versions.

    as it stands there are 3 levels of battles, public battles, factional warfare is affects EVE online players, and planetary conquest this is where corps can take planets over and try and hold them. PVE will be added but there is no confirmed time fame for this yet.

    this game is worth a try but just go in expecting something different from your regular run and gun FPS and don't expect that just because you can go 15-0 in other game that you will be going this straight of the bat here.
    Expand
  4. May 18, 2013
    6
    DUST 514 is a mixed bag. On certain occasions, it will prove to be a fun and unique game on most occasions, it will feel like a chore toDUST 514 is a mixed bag. On certain occasions, it will prove to be a fun and unique game on most occasions, it will feel like a chore to play. The game has it's enjoyable moments, but it's negative ones stand out far more. The balancing of much of the game's equipment helps cause this issue. Often times, you will feel like cannon fodder, who's sole purpose is for the enjoyment of DUST's veteran players being helplessly slaughtered, with very little chance for resistance. Of course, the equipment isn't the sole reason for this imbalance. Older players have far more perks and skills, that can effortlessly beat a player with lower skill points, into brutal submission.

    From my own personal experience, I started playing late into the closed beta. Very little has changed, in the balancing of the game. While many weapons have been weakened, in the process, several of the previously-weak weapons, have become overpowered. A perfect example of this is the Tactical Assault Rifle. The weapon quickly went from one of the least used weapons in the game, to one of the most common ones. It doesn't help, that only skilled players have access to it as well. Along with a grotesquely poor balancing, the game itself suffers from a myriad of technical issues; for example, character movement is often impeded by invisible 'bumps' in the terrain. That is only one of the many common glitches, found within the game.

    For the most part, the game has solid mechanics, if not unconventional. Aiming is incredibly difficult at times, as it often feels wonky turning the camera. This is only made worse, through a hectic hail of gunfire and explosions. Hit detection is also another issue, as some shots quickly register, while others practically bounce off your opponent. Equipment is handled as an expendable kit. For every life you have, your equipment will be expended in your custom 'fit'. Customization of fits can become very deep, allowing for a high number of possible combinations. Unfortunately, as you lose your fit with every death, this can make certain matches unbelievably frustrating.

    Spawning only to be killed repeatedly, without any chance for self-defense, can be very discouraging you not only lose your fit, but the value of your end-of-match reward becomes increasingly less; giving a poor amount of ISK (the games currency) and skill points. Because of poor match mechanics such as this, the game practically encourages the losing side to give up retreating into defensive sniping positions within their own spawn, as those who actually make an effort to try, are consistently penalized, by being camped by the enemy team.

    Despite many of these glaring issues, DUST 514 is not objectively bad. The game itself is still under development, and will continue to do so, for at least ten more years. CCP, the developers of DUST, have acknowledged many of these issues, and are trying to collaborate with the community to fix them. This doesn't exactly excuse the quality of the launch-day product, but it certainly softens its negative condition. While the game may declare itself to be 'finished', DUST is still very much a game in beta. Many speculate the sole reason it was released officially, was so it could launched on day of 5/14/13. It wouldn't hard to argue that it was a petty-marketing stunt.

    DUST happens to be integrated into another game, called EVE online. The two communities can only interact in a very limited form, at the moment. But that is subject to change, further into development. Regardless, this has helped to provide most of the game's hype. I myself was initially intrigued by this concept. DUST's current implementation of this integration is currently very rough, as much of the game is. Yet, as it stands, it has a decent base for it.

    For many people, the game's steep learning curve, (for a shooter), along with it's imbalanced and unpolished gameplay, will drive them away. For the few who do stay, they will find a frustrating yet somewhat enjoyable experience. The game is free, so it wouldn't be too difficult to try it. With all of its issues, DUST is still an endearing game a pure and utter vexation of a game, that just so happens to have an incredible amount of potential.
    Expand
  5. Feb 24, 2015
    5
    i had to make my rating a 5, i played the game months after it came out and then stopped it for a year. i played it this past weekend and iti had to make my rating a 5, i played the game months after it came out and then stopped it for a year. i played it this past weekend and it still has framrate issues and lag, which i just looked at a review from may 2013 stating the same thing. so 2 years and they still havent fixed the framrate or lag problems. i like this game and will still play it every so often but the only thing saving this game is that it is free to play. Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2013
    3
    Has some promise but ultimately not a very fun game. There are simply other F2P titles where teamwork is easier to coordinate (such as LeagueHas some promise but ultimately not a very fun game. There are simply other F2P titles where teamwork is easier to coordinate (such as League of Legends) or combat is more fun, skill-based, and less biased towards high level players (such as Hawken).

    The game's economy is not great, every piece of equipment you buy gets used up every time you die so you have to constantly restock everything but the base armors, weapons, etc. Skills take forever to unlock. A player who is higher level then you will cream you with advanced weapons, armor, vehicles, ORBITAL STRIKES! This leads to matches being completely unbalanced. Ultimately, the shooting mechanics work but that is about it. The game simply is not fun in its current iteration. With an improved economy and some balanced matches, it would be on the road to fun. This is one to avoid unless you enjoy painful grinding, in which case, have at it.
    Expand
  7. May 17, 2013
    0
    A half baked attempt to jump into the FPS market. Frustrating awkward controls, poor frame rate, graphics that look last generation. Lag andA half baked attempt to jump into the FPS market. Frustrating awkward controls, poor frame rate, graphics that look last generation. Lag and hit detection are also sub-par. This comes off very much as a poor man's FPS. Mediocre at best and a flaming wreck at worst, despite all the EVE fans trying desperately to up-rate it. Mediocrity combined with the pay to win monetization system. The touted link to EVE is really just a gimmick and that won't save this game when the core gameplay is so poor. Collapse

See all 110 User Reviews