Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. 90
    You will come back to Dustforce, be it to master a level or just savor the experience.
  2. Feb 10, 2014
    88
    At $10, Dustforce offers up a lot of value for platforming fans. If you love a hearty challenge, or simply enjoy a gaming experience that forces you to get better, then you’ll get your money’s worth.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    87
    An original platformer that's good fun. [Apr 2014]
  4. Feb 17, 2014
    81
    Dustforce works well on a variety of levels. Unfortunately storytelling and accurate controls are not among them.
  5. Feb 14, 2014
    80
    A great game. It’s fun, it’s addictive and it has a learning curve that demands you keep improving. While the multiplayer isn’t nearly as entertaining, at least it offers you a good way to scrap with friends or strangers.
  6. Feb 10, 2014
    80
    Dustforce is an addictive and challenging 2D platform game.
  7. Feb 10, 2014
    80
    If you’re looking for an incredibly nuanced platformer, Dustforce is an excellent choice.
  8. Feb 10, 2014
    80
    Dustforce demands a lot from its players, but the rewards can be just as great for players who get swept up in its challenges.
  9. Feb 7, 2014
    80
    While definitely not for everyone, Dustforce is an ambitious and charming game that shows touches of brillance as frequently as it punishes and annoys.
  10. Feb 10, 2014
    78
    Dustforce is an amazing game that every platformer fan should play. It can be extremely difficult in spots, and there are a few glitches for the PS3, but this game will keep you coming back to improve your score.
  11. Feb 8, 2014
    77
    Dustforce's delightful sweeping puts a fresh spin on the average platformer premise, with alluring presentation and exciting scenarios that help it stand out.
  12. Feb 24, 2014
    75
    This game isn't dusty at all! Alright, that may have been a horrible pun, though the amount of variation and great visual style do make this a highly enjoyable platform game. It's sort of sad then that the controls are at times not as responsive as they should be.
  13. Feb 18, 2014
    75
    The presentation, along with its impressive soundtrack, is a wonderfully alluring incentive for persevering through the challenging gameplay.
  14. Feb 12, 2014
    75
    Dustforce is highly entertaining and absolutely unique. It has a few small drawbacks common to lower-budget efforts, but these hang-ups can’t cripple a decent, well-designed game.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Feb 5, 2014
    4
    Dustforce (on PC) is an amazing game, and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a challenging platformer. I would give the PC version a 10/10Dustforce (on PC) is an amazing game, and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a challenging platformer. I would give the PC version a 10/10 with no hesitation. However, the PS3 version is the worst port I have ever played. The reasons for this are:

    1) Obnoxiously long load times (Dustforce on PC had no loading screens, at all). It takes around a minute to get from initial boot to the hub world. On PC, it took about two seconds. I am not exaggerating.
    2) No cross-buy (PS3 and Vita versions are separate games).
    3) Framerate is jumpy. This becomes much worse when moving quickly.
    4) Audio lag. You can't go a whole minute without hearing some form of audio lag. Also, the audio lags consistently at the end of every run, and while attacking enemies at higher speeds.
    5) The new UI looks cheap and out-of-place.
    6) No custom controls.
    7) The clipping is off. I watched myself pass through objects that should have been solid several times on the PS3 version.
    8) Absolutely none of the previously listed issues are present on the PC version of the game.

    If future updates fix these issues, I will change my rating to a 10.

    Anyways, lets all thank Q-loc and Capcom taking a truly superb platforming experience and slaughtering it before the eyes of the console community. Sorry, Hitbox. I love you guys.
    Full Review »