Dyad PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Jul 17, 2012
  • Also On: PC
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 55
  2. Negative: 18 out of 55

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    Dyad is a crazy psychodellic game. It is just too damn awesome to describe it in words. Ever played Rez? This is 1000x better and faster. Another AAA exclusive for PS3s library. Never stop Sony and thank you developpers.
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Dyad is a very beautiful game in both visuals and music. An unusual game, however, as it is like a racing game with no accelerate or brake button, and a shooting game with no bullets. The game nicely introduces different mechanics for game play. It is simple enough to understand, provided you take a few seconds to read the instructions. Simple button mashing does not get you far. You needDyad is a very beautiful game in both visuals and music. An unusual game, however, as it is like a racing game with no accelerate or brake button, and a shooting game with no bullets. The game nicely introduces different mechanics for game play. It is simple enough to understand, provided you take a few seconds to read the instructions. Simple button mashing does not get you far. You need to make conscious decisions on what you want to do in order to progress in this game. The first few levels start off quite tame to get the player used to the different mechanics. After the player gets the hang of how to play the game, the game progresses to a more and more psychedelic and exhilarating experience that you cannot take your eyes off of! The videos and pictures do not do this game justice! You must play it in order to really get it! Expand
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    Dyad is an audio-visual hand coordination game in which you have to do different things through each level, all the mechanics build up as you play through, it is a BEAUTIFUL 1080p in 60fps which very few games can deliver that, and then you consider that the sound is not compressed, and then are fewer games experiences that can offer that. The trophies system is quite clever, it reallyDyad is an audio-visual hand coordination game in which you have to do different things through each level, all the mechanics build up as you play through, it is a BEAUTIFUL 1080p in 60fps which very few games can deliver that, and then you consider that the sound is not compressed, and then are fewer games experiences that can offer that. The trophies system is quite clever, it really makes you EARN the trophies. But in a fun can challenging way. If you read BAD reviews, it's more likely they did not get the game, or haven¿t even played it through enough to properly rate it. The music is very well done. Now consider that the whole thing was done by 1 guy over 4 years. That is an impressive accomplishment (well, some one else did help him with the music and sound) Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2012
    8
    Man, what a strange game. It took me a while to like it. First, I thought the game was just boring. It looked pretty but couldn't sustain my interest. Left it alone for about 2 weeks after I bought it. Then picked it up again months later, and as the level of complexity increased, i thought the game was all of a sudden too hard and too visually chaotic. I started button mashing, but thatMan, what a strange game. It took me a while to like it. First, I thought the game was just boring. It looked pretty but couldn't sustain my interest. Left it alone for about 2 weeks after I bought it. Then picked it up again months later, and as the level of complexity increased, i thought the game was all of a sudden too hard and too visually chaotic. I started button mashing, but that wouldn't get me any closer to a 3 star rating on any level. So I started to really try to "play it" finally, and I finally tapped into the right frequency, and all of a sudden this game is actually a ton of fun.

    But as I can see by the reviews 23 positive 1 medium 12 negative, the reviewers of this game are going to create a dichotomy. Love it or hate it, with almost nobody in the middle.
    Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    Dyad is unlike anything you have ever played before and is very hard to describe in words. It combines a racer, shooter,puzzle game and somewhat of a music game all into one psychedelic explosion of light and color. When watching Dyad you probably won't know whats happening and when playing it you might feel the same way. Dyad's sense of speed and colorful bombardment will probably causeDyad is unlike anything you have ever played before and is very hard to describe in words. It combines a racer, shooter,puzzle game and somewhat of a music game all into one psychedelic explosion of light and color. When watching Dyad you probably won't know whats happening and when playing it you might feel the same way. Dyad's sense of speed and colorful bombardment will probably cause you to get lost in its trippy tunnel. The main goal is to use enemies to pull you forward and you speed down a cylindrical tunnel. All of this visual assault only adds to Dyad's difficulty. It is not an easy game, with each level forcing you to play by different sets of rules always keeping it fresh. While Dyad's visuals may seem overwhelming at times, its solid gameplay combined with jaw dropping light and color create a very unique experience. Just don't forget to blink. Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Games Master UK
    Jan 16, 2013
    81
    A unique trophy system will happily send you into metal hunting delirium. [Feb 2013, p.87]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 10, 2013
    70
    A colourful feast for the ears and reflexes, Dyad's issues can't ruin this trance party. [Jan 2013, p.114]
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    90
    Dyad walks that fine line between artistic evocation and arcade addiction, emerging in a blinding euphoria of brilliant light at the end of its tunnel.