User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 46
  2. Negative: 8 out of 46

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    This is the bet dynasty warriors game to date. As the series goes on Koei constantly improves on Dynasty Warriors except for 6 when they took a huge risk and fell on their faces. Some people may hate the series, but that doesn't make it a bad game, IGN gave it a 50 mentioning if you do not like the series do not touch the game. Well that is a horrible opinion to have since they've played previous titles which might've bored them with the series. But if a person never touched the series they will surely love to just hack and slash away at thousands of soldiers. So yes its nice to read a few reviews but its best to remember they are just personal opinions. Check out a video of the game and see if its for you. Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    This game deserves a little bit more credit. Obvious as to why these games are no longer popular, the repetitive action gives that away. But as long as you're a classic Dynasty Warriors fan, then you will have no problem with DW7. A nice little edition to the series, brings back the unique weapons each character possessed in previous games, new Jin faction that exceeds the story of the Wu Zhang Plains, New characters with exciting new weapons and a few little tweaks to add up to this monstrous character based game. For those new to the series, if you're interested in the culture or classic stories of historical China and not afraid to try a little mindless hack n' slash then this series would be a great start. Great addition for fans and if you love the corny lines and voice acting that makes everyone sound heroic (Zhao Yun), well this game has it. A few notable voice actors if one is familiar with anime. Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Having grown up on the Dynasty Warriors series I must admit it is my guilty little pleasure. However, when Dynasty Warriors 6 was released I was completely devastated at the horrendous monstrosity I had put into my Playstation. The 6th iteration was riddled with many problems including characters with shared movesets, a cut in the overall playable cast, and out of 40 playable characters present only 14 were playable in story mode. Thankfully, Dynasty Warriors 7 remedied everything wrong with the previous installment. Now, with the inclusion of EX moves characters are no longer clones. Adding to that, every character can equip not one, but two weapons and switch between them in battle. The story mode is also expanded from a basic 5 to 8 levels of the same battles for different characters to an actual heart wrenching drama engulfing your entire kingdom of choice. With the character count they've jumped from 40 to 62 with the return of all cut characters except Pang De and Zuo Ci. Furthermore, of those 62 characters ten of them are for an entirely new kingdom the Jin. While Jin is not new to the history of Three Kingdoms this is the very first time players will ever get to play to the actual end of the Three Kingdoms story. After story mode comes conquest mode where players can partake of mission battles to unlock more characters, weapons, and raises states. This mode incorporates the timeless Co-op mode. Moreover, it finally adds a the much coveted Co-op mode. Graphically, I was in awe of what I saw on my TV and felt almost immersed within ancient China. And the music? Well, it's just as good as it ever was and adds a real sense of battle to the game. Overall, I must say I'm very satisfied with Dynasty Warriors 7 and have gained renewed faith in Koei Tecmo. The only thing I ask for is the later release of an Empires and Xtreme Legends, then my Dynasty Warriors 7 experience with be complete. Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2011
    8
    Although I have not played Dynasty Warriors 6, but I can tell you the jump between 7 and 4/5/5 Empires from the PS2 generation.

    Overall, the game has improved greatly on the graphics department. Although you might find the frame rate might drop a bit when there's a lot of enemies, it is still playable.
    The story follows the same old one they had since day 1, except they expanded it to
    make it a tad bit more interesting. Game play is LONG, unlike DW4 where you can finish a faction within 2-3 hours, this actually takes time. I have played for more than 6 hours on Wei, and it's STILL NOT FINISHED (Just beaten The Battle of Chibi stage). Now for the cons of this game:

    Voice acting - I despise English dubs when they are not done in a very good way, in this case, it wasn't. For those that played Warriors Orochi 2 on the PSP, you would know that the added bonus for the NA market was Japanese voices. Why not do that? Weapons/Skills system - 1 word to describe this thing: Confusing. DW4 sported a weapon level-up and officer level-up system through points. These points are generated from which officer you killed, how many infantry, etc. to rack up the points. I don't get why this has to be done MANUALLY now. Oh, and the weapons store is quite useless in my opinion. Morale - They are insane - You can kill at least 90% of the enemy, and your commander can still die after several brief warnings from messengers saying "our commander is under attack, please assist at once". This system brings in stupidity compared to the old morale bar which was simple to read. Choice - Personally, I don't blame Koei for trying to get us to try at least most of the characters on Story mode...but the fact that I can't choose my own character and stick with it for the rest of the story kind of sucks in my opinion. It cuts down A BIT of repetitiveness, but it's something I would miss. Overall, this game has impressed me more than enough. I like this game too much to care about the cons (well...except for the voices which I cannot avoid). I definitely DID NOT regret buying this, and I am looking forward to seeing the next installment.
    Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2011
    10
    DW7 is awesome, I love going through the story of the three kingdoms again and yes some of the sword characters get a little boring after a while but once you collect about 40 weapons the game starts to get a little better.. and thank god you are able to change weapons and use skill points during the battle or that would suck.

    Im giving it a 10 because this game needs some love, if you a
    fan of the series you owe it too yourself to look into Sengoku Basara: Samurai Heroes, its a DW7 Clone on steroids!! Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    Dynasty Warriors in my opinion is one of the most underrated gaming series of all time and with Dynasty Warriors 7 the so called "Professional" critics are playing there old broken record again and panning another Dynasty Warriors game. Dynasty Warriors 7 is without a doubt head and shoulders above its previous titles, yes its the good old fashioned Hack and Slash that the game is known for but would it but Dynasty Warriors without it? The game offers 62 unique characters all having there own personality and traits, and when it comes to how much game play you get out of this well lets just say with a tonne of unlockables and the first of four campaign's taking almost 12 hours to complete on the medium difficulty, your not going to be replaying the game a week after you bought it. Dynasty Warriors 7 once again proves that the "Professionals" are ignorant to a good game and if you were to pass this game up based of there reviews then you are a fool. Pick up this game and enjoy hours of awesome graphics, addictive gameplay and destroying hordes of enemies throughout Ancient China. Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Most game critics write off any new Dynasty Warriors games as repetitive and boring and claim that nothing has changed. However as any fan of the series can tell you Dynasty Warriors 7 is a huge step forward, and in my opinion is the best Dynasty game yet.
    The addition of a whole new faction, the Jin, allows the story to cover a greater time line than ever before. It also leads to the
    addition of a whole swathe of new characters.
    Characters no longer feel like clones of each other, as was sadly the case in Dynasty Warriors 6, and the addition of conquest mode is great.
    If you like Dynasty Warriors games this is a must buy, but even if you don't really like the series or have gotten bored of it i encourage you to check it out.
    Expand
  8. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    First off, I want to point out that this is my first review for Metacritic. Now the reason I'm writing it for this game is that I feel that this game is not getting the proper credit it deserves. This is my first Dynasty Warriors and I really owe a great thanks to the employee at Gamestop who convinced me to buy it. I came in and was looking for another shooter to play with my friends and nothing peaked my interest. The employee almost pushed this game on me and I was definitely hesitant, but I quickly learned that this game is amazing. I don't regret buying and all my friends, who are all hardcore CoD player like me, love it. I played the story mode and I was just tearing up in the end for the blue kingdom. The gameplay is awesome, it's easy to pick up and once you get good you'll go crazy with your combos. Seeing so many enemies on screen makes me feel like I'm in old China. All the different weapons, 42 I think, and characters, 62 in total, give this game so much replayability. The music is so smooth and it really gets you pumped for the action. Finally, being able to have all these different types of animals to ride and fight with just makes traveling the huge battlefields insane. Riding horse, elephants, and bears is crazy. Or, if you like to walk just have a panda, tiger, falcon or wolf join you in the fight. Don't listen to the professional reviews on this game. Now a days reviews are all about money and it's obvious that the reason they didn't give this game a good review is that Koei didn't pay them off like everyone else. Get Dynasty Warriors 7. Take it from a new player. If you've never played it, 7 is an awesome place to start and if you're already a fan then get it. It's just so amazing, you wont go wrong. Collapse
  9. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    I'm not a fan of the Dynasty Warriors franchise but I've followed this series from the 4th installment and, slowly, followed the rest of the other games and enjoyed each one of them (xtreme legends and empires included). After the 6th I was rather unsure if this was gonna be good, since the previous game was a big letdown and I didn't play that much (but DW6 empires wasn't actually bad). Luckily, I was wrong: this game improves everything from the previous game(s). But also downgrades something. First off, the roster has improved and most of the old characters returned to their original fighting style (Zhou Tai and his katana, Zhang He and his claws, Zhen Ji and her flute, and some others), while others got a better change and some just got the same style but improved. The roster itself is also improved in numbers, having 62 characters to choose, included some old characters that got removed in the previous game....but it still has one issue that didn't get fully fixed. In the previous game, most of the characters had the same style, which is why the game was hated for; in here, we have about 35+ different weapons that can be switch in order to create a more customized character. This would mean that they're basically the same, but luckily the EX skills (which are unique for each officer and they can be used ONLY on their original weapon), and their musou (2 for each character, but some are very similar) make them very different and, at least to me, I hardly felt they were similar, but they aren't as unique as the previous games (like the 5th or 4th). Still an upgrade from the 6th. The second reason why this game is good is the extremely good and engaging story, which is a huge step forward in comparison to the previous games (at least for me). Infact, one big issue of these games were, somehow, the story and the characters, because I hardly wanted to play them: they were uninteresting and basically had no plot arch whatsoever and basically you were using an avatar that sometimes you wouldn't get the connection, and some story parts weren't just as enganging as others while some parts were happening off screen . In here, the story is well developed, the characters have character development, a lot of situation happens and are explained and follow more into the real story of the three kingdoms. Story mode is definitely an upgrade in here and I enjoyed them all..maybe the only downgrade here is that you won't choose the character to use in battle and you won't play all of them in story mode, making you play conquest mode in order to unlock them. And conquest mode, which is a sort of "dumbed down" version of the empires game...is actually boring. The only good things of the conquest mode is that you can play in co-op with a friend or online, since there's no co-op in story mode and free mode, and the fact that you can unlock most of the stuff in the game (weapons, characters, mounts, pets, bonds, etc). It's definitely another big thing in here but a lot of these missions are the same and you'll just do them for unlocking stuff or play in co-op. A character creator would have been a good idea for this mode because conquest mode seemed made for avatars and such (can visit cities, talk to the officers in order to increase bonds), and since you must use one of your officers, the bond with the officer you're currently won't "obviously" upgrade, which can be a bit annoying. And would have been better also for the online. Anyhow, this game remains a good one, maybe it's not the best of the series, maybe some will still prefer the old ones, but as a game itself it's a lot of fun, has a lot of content (will take days to unlock everything and do everything), and it's kinda harmless as an action game (it's repetitive but really can't blame for that). Definitely a must try. Expand
  10. May 30, 2011
    3
    This game is just like every other Dynasty Warriors game I have ever played. It's a tired act and each successive game is less and less fun, and honestly it wasn't a great franchise to begin with. When you kill masses of enemies, you don't feel awesome or powerful, instead it feels like the enemies are just pathetic and worthless and just meant to get in the way. The story is fairly long, but that isn't necessarily a good thing, because it gets boring very quickly, and the characters are not very interesting. This game lacks originality and would be an okay game (probably a 6) if it was the first DW, but it is not. Was a huge waste of my money. Expand
  11. Aug 5, 2011
    7
    Dynasty warriors 7 basically offers most of the same stuff as its predecessors, hack and slash with a compelling narration loosely based on the Chinese novel 'Romance of the Three Kingdoms'. Unlike previous games in the series, there is no musou mode, instead you're given a story mode where you will be playing a number of set characters throughout the campaign. You control 4 factions/kingdoms: Shu, Wu, Wei, and the newly introduced Jin, journeying through the events during the Three Kingdoms period from the lens of each faction. The story telling is much stronger and serious this time around, be prepared to feel sad during some scenes. Another addition to DW7 is the introduction of Conquest Mode, replacing Free Mode. It works pretty much the same but you won't be playing stages featured in Story mode, instead you'll be playing all new stages (most of them not as big as stages in Story mode) and you can unlock new stages, characters, weapons and level up your characters as you go along. You'll be spending most part of the game in Conquest mode as there are tons of stages and you can even play them with your friend through online multiplayer (even though the synching is terrible). There are over 60 playable characters each with their individual special attacks and musou attacks. You can even swap weapons during gameplay and equip whichever weapon you prefer.
    Of course, this game has its flaws. While the graphics is a definite improvement since DW6, it is still dated for current-gen consoles. The water looks bad, and the texture of buildings and landscape are poor. Another thing is the horseriding animation, it is just awful and still doesn't feel natural. Lastly, you still don't need to be smart to play this game because you dont need tactics or strategies. All you'll be doing is figthing off the hordes of enemy soldiers and officers until you reach the enemy's commander. It gets repetitive real quick. Anyway, play this game for the strong storyline and the amount of content it has to offer. You'd certainly get your money's worth for the hours of gameplay you'll be getting (I spent about over a hundred hours on this).
    Expand
  12. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    Gran videojuego, puedo que no tenga la mejor tecnologia respecto a los graficos pero es tan divertido que se le perdona. Un elenco de personajes enorme y una duraciÃ
  13. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    No fighting game like this anywhere. Dynasty warriors is one of the best series of games I've eer played. Same basic controls with lots of extras, back to true stories and great amply. Literally hours of fun with lots to do. A must for dw fans or fans of Chinese history.
  14. Sep 21, 2012
    6
    Great game with great flaws.
    While the game has beautiful graphics, it has the old Ps2 problem of dissappearing soldiers and officers.
    While having more officers to choose from, the cloned moves and retarded allied AI shadows it. While the Story mode is Bright as the sun and great, the conquest mode is completely unninteresting and bland, plus Story mode can only be played in single
    player mode, no splitscreen.

    It seems that tis game stays just like DW6;
    It could've be Awesome! but is not.
    Expand
  15. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    These type of games are my most favourite games of all time i love the way they play and the different areas of the battlefield I can go, there are alot of different unique weapons to use and the leveling system are amazing and the ammount of people i can kill is unbelievably good 10/10 love them :D
  16. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    DW7 is mostly the same as it predecessors. Despite what some nay-sayers think, it does change with every new installment, but the basics (and story, due to being based on a novel and history) are always the same, so if you are not a fan, you never will be. That said, I think the seventh game is the best in the series, even after having played some of the older ones. Every character can use nearly every weapon now (some types are gender-restricted). While that's nice, it also makes characters less unique. However, they are encouraged to use their preferred weapon, since that is necessary to execute EX Attacks, special moves and that are easy to execute and can be pretty powerful, depending on the character. Also, every character has two Musou Attacks now (although the second one has to be unlocked with skill points). The story modes are kingdom specific again and quite rigid, since you are can't choose which character you want to play in every mission. It's not so bad, since it forces you to learn to play with different characters and makes the missions rather coherent. The story is unusually good this time. It still tends to be overly dramatic at times, it's quite well-done and easier to take seriously. The cutscenes are nice to look at and some death scenes surprisingly touching. I really hope that Koei stays with this. Sure, the old hammy scenes are amusing, but DW7's story actually makes me care. Also, there is a fourth kingdom now, Jin, that rose from the kingdom of Wei. However, that's also were my criticism lies: It's mostly about the rise of Jin and its split from Wei, there is not much to see about the actual Jin period. I hope they will rectify this in future games (I don't know whether they did this with the eight one already). Aside from the Story Mode, there is also a "Conquest Mode". In that one, there is map of China, that is composed of hexagonal fields, everyone of them a single battle. The exception are towns, where you can buy various stuff, and "legendary battles", field, which have two or three battles and are locked to a character. It's quite fun and there is a lot of battles to be fought. However, even that doesn't make up for the games biggest flaw: The lack of a Free Mode, in which you can fight every story mode battle with a character of your choice. It's the one DW that really needs one and it's also the only one not to have any. It doesn't even exist as DLC, you actually have to buy the XL expansion (which in my opinion is over-priced) to have it. It's a credit to the game, that it only makes me subtract one point from the score. DW7 is a great game, which I can only recommend to both fans and newcomers. Non-fans should stay away from it. The lack of a free mode is quite a big flaw, but the overall quality of the Story Mode and the sheer fun of the Conquest Mode make up for it. Expand
  17. Apr 16, 2011
    0
    First off, I want to point out that this is my first review for Metacritic. Now the reason I'm writing it for this game is that I feel that this game is not getting the proper credit it deserves. This is my first Dynasty Warriors and I really owe a great thanks to the employee at Gamestop who convinced me to buy it. I came in and was looking for another shooter to play with my friends and nothing peaked my interest. The employee almost pushed this game on me and I was definitely hesitant, but I quickly learned that this game is amazing. I don't regret buying and all my friends, who are all hardcore CoD player like me, love it. I played the story mode and I was just tearing up in the end for the blue kingdom. The gameplay is awesome, it's easy to pick up and once you get good you'll go crazy with your combos. Seeing so many enemies on screen makes me feel like I'm in old China. All the different weapons, 42 I think, and characters, 62 in total, give this game so much replayability. The music is so smooth and it really gets you pumped for the action. Finally, being able to have all these different types of animals to ride and fight with just makes traveling the huge battlefields insane. Riding horse, elephants, and bears is crazy. Or, if you like to walk just have a panda, tiger, falcon or wolf join you in the fight. Don't listen to the professional reviews on this game. Now a days reviews are all about money and it's obvious that the reason they didn't give this game a good review is that Koei didn't pay them off like everyone else. Get Dynasty Warriors 7. Take it from a new player. If you've never played it, 7 is an awesome place to start and if you're already a fan then get it. It's just so amazing, you wont go wrong. Collapse
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. May 30, 2011
    75
    This new chapter in the Dynasty Warriors saga introduces some interesting changes on gameplay. The new story mode is fascinating, and the introduction of the 2 weapons really interesting. The gameplay and the graphics are similar to the previous chapter, so the fans will like it, while the others find the game repetitive and boring.
  2. May 19, 2011
    65
    For casual hack 'n' slash fans then Dynasty Warriors 7 could be a bit too labour intensive and time consuming for your liking. You really need to have a genuine interest in the subject matter on display to get the most out of the game.
  3. May 18, 2011
    80
    Possibly the best Dynasty Warriors game yet. The combat system is a ton of fun and lets you change weapons on the fly as you beat your lowly enemies into pulp in a mesmerizing display of flying bodies and bright color.