Dynasty Warriors 8 PlayStation 3


Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
Buy On
  1. 90
    Dynasty Warriors 8 adds in new features and options to the long-running franchise to breathe new life into the game. Fans, get ready for the best experience in the series since DW3. An instant buy for any KOEI fanatic.
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    Dynasty Warriors 8 feels, in several ways, like an answer to criticisms fans have had of the series all generation.
  3. Aug 5, 2013
    Koei have really nailed the Dynasty Warriors nail on the head with this game. Not only have they fine tuned the gaming mechanics but given the player a variety of interesting additions and gameplay modes to keep players busy for a considerable amount of time. Combat feels more fluid and the introduction of new abilities and weapons takes this franchise to a whole new gaming sphere.
  4. Jul 18, 2013
    Dynasty Warriors 8 is the most satisfying and complete Warriors game yet, dethroning the excellent Warriors Orochi 3. It’s at once familiar and fresh, instantly recognisable at its core yet subtly transformed by intelligent additions and a series of small but noticeable tweaks.
  5. Aug 15, 2013
    The gameplay in DW8 is really quite a step up from DW7.
  6. 80
    The combat is refined and easy to get into, and the amount of things to do and stuff to unlock will keep players coming back.
  7. Jul 25, 2013
    Against all odds, KOEI has proven that even the smallest of adjustments are still enough to maintain interest in its hack and slash series. Hardcore fans and completionists will have an absolute field day with plenty of enjoyment to be had by non-regulars and newcomers alike.
  8. Jul 22, 2013
    Dynasty Warriors 8 is a shockingly great game that offers an incredible amount of value in bringing a dramatized piece of history to the masses in very creative ways.
  9. Jul 16, 2013
    A stunning amount of content and a plethora of improved mechanics ensure that Dynasty Warriors 8 takes its rightful place as the ruling lord of Koei's flagship series, despite suffering from some minor recurring issues and poor presentation in places. This is the definitive Dynasty Warriors title, even if it continues to roam the battlefield the only way that it knows how.
  10. Jul 31, 2013
    Dynasty Warriors 8 is more of the same, but better. Changes have been made that make fights more varied, like the affinity-system and rage-mode. There are many weapons to collect and officers to unlock, so there's enough to do. All storylines will keep you busy for more than twenty hours, and then there's the Ambition Mode. For fans of the series this is the best one in years. For critics it's the same dumb game. Typical Dynasty Warriors.
  11. Jul 30, 2013
    For fans of the series, you all pretty much know what you’re getting into with Dynasty Warriors 8. For newcomers looking for a fun time killing droves and droves of enemies, you have found your game.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    What can I say? This is the Dynasty Warriors we have all been waiting for. Get comfortable because you'll be playing this gem for at least 100 hours!!
  2. Jul 21, 2013
    Let me start by saying I love, I LOVE this game. There are several fatal flaws that frustrate me to no end, however, which is what leads toLet me start by saying I love, I LOVE this game. There are several fatal flaws that frustrate me to no end, however, which is what leads to this score, because I've also grown to HATE this game.

    First the positive.

    Dynasty Warriors 8 is everything we were promised with Dynasty Warriors 7 and then some. Every character has a unique weapon and moveset, and with the wide range of characters everyone plays differently and feels like their own unique characters. On top of everyone having their own unique skillsets, every character can play with a second weapon, so if your style of play is more crowd clearing you can equip a second weapon for the more down and dirty one on ones against generals. Weapons also have individual abilities, such as charging attacks for the short halberd or the dual swords immediate switch. This lends a level of strategy the previous game was lacking and it adds another layer of fun. The story is fairly historically accurate, and most of the additional characters were quality adds that should have been in from the beginning such as Yue Jin, Li Dian, and Han Dang. The story is lengthy and enjoyable for the most part with varied objectives, occasionally frenzied time limits, and a reasonable difficulty arch.

    The Bad

    The game was not released completed, and there are crashing issues all over the place, most notably within Story Mode, which is required to unlock characters. Nothing is more frustrating than killing over a thousand enemy soldiers in a long battle, locking in the final general in a rage attack and then...the game crashes. Worse still, the crashes also affect Ambition Mode, and you could be several battles in when the game crashes, losing not only one but multiple battles with the crash. No game should ever be released if you are unable to complete the game, that is a terrible way to do business. Regardless of how many improvements your game has, how fun it is, you completely ruin that experience by leaving the game with such gaping flaws such as that.

    Visually, the game looks fine. Fans have complained about a lack of real improvement in the games visuals for several releases, and this one does nothing to allay those concerns. Darker areas are terrible to navigate and it becomes habit to find your way to your next group of enemies not by the terrain but by the red bars above their heads. The maps are updated, which is a very welcome change, but the minimap is so tiny that it is almost impossible to navigate.

    The sound is for once one of the lowest points of the game. The voice acting is once again atrocious for the English release, and while fans had hoped for a superior Japanese voice option they are once again left waiting for DLC. The sound effects are barely updated and can become annoying in prolonged throughways. This is made worse by a score that sounds recycled and somehow manages to turn heavy guitar riffs into an analogy for boredom.

    The character models have all been updated and this is a mixed bag. While I'm glad to see them updated yet again, some of them seem lazy (Dian Wei is the clearest example). Most of the female characters are nothing but fan service with only a few notable exceptions. That's fine on occasion, but again seems lazy as if little time was spent on the character modeling.

    While I appreciate the addition of Ambition Mode to the franchise, even without the crashing the mode is unpolished and I had varied experiences. Some of the battles were fun, with different quests popping up requiring completion. Some times, however, the quests that popped up were vague and near impossible to complete. For instance, on one occasion, while escorting a general he became injured and I had a "Find the Medicine" quest pop up. there was no indication where I would find it, so I started checking the bases in the level (where you normally find materials). None there, I started killing off every troop I could find. With only 5 minutes left in the battle, I finally found the medicine, carried by a lone Mobile Unit Commander in the bottom corner of the map, far away from any route I would take in the escort mission. Situations like those are not isolated, and take away from the overall experience.

    While I like Dynasty Warriors 8 and consider it the best in a long line of the series that has been faltering for several years now, the overall functionality of the game is severely lacking and take away so much from an otherwise very enjoyable game. While I'm sure the game will improve with patches, I shouldn't have to pay my money to wait several weeks while the developers work out the bugs, just to be able to complete the main storyline of the game.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 16, 2013
    Dynasty Warriors 8 harkens back to the days of Dynasty Warriors 3 & 4, but loaded with a greater amount of content and a greater degree ofDynasty Warriors 8 harkens back to the days of Dynasty Warriors 3 & 4, but loaded with a greater amount of content and a greater degree of polish and refinement--not to mention they brought back 2 much loved features of the series: Co-Op Story Mode and "Free Mode". Fans of the series will rediscover the series they love, and newcomers are bound to have a good time as well with this latest installment to Koei's beat 'em-up franchise. Full Review »