Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dynasty Warriors 8 is a tactical action game that follows the stories of the kingdoms of Wei, Wu, Shu and Jin through the actions of historical military and political figures of the time as they fight to gain control over the Three Kingdoms of China.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. 90
    Dynasty Warriors 8 adds in new features and options to the long-running franchise to breathe new life into the game. Fans, get ready for the best experience in the series since DW3. An instant buy for any KOEI fanatic.
  2. Jul 18, 2013
    87
    Dynasty Warriors 8 is the most satisfying and complete Warriors game yet, dethroning the excellent Warriors Orochi 3. It’s at once familiar and fresh, instantly recognisable at its core yet subtly transformed by intelligent additions and a series of small but noticeable tweaks.
  3. Jul 25, 2013
    80
    Against all odds, KOEI has proven that even the smallest of adjustments are still enough to maintain interest in its hack and slash series. Hardcore fans and completionists will have an absolute field day with plenty of enjoyment to be had by non-regulars and newcomers alike.
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    71
    Fans of the series will be pleasantly surprised. [Issue#234, p.78]
  5. Jul 16, 2013
    70
    Dynasty Warriors 8 is hardly a revolution for the series but the overhauled combat, compulsive Ambition Mode and wealth of content will leave long-term fans happy.
  6. Aug 5, 2013
    60
    Dynasty Warriors 8 sticks to its guns. That means repetitive, but deep hack & slash gameplay. Fans will enjoy it, newcomers won't be that impressed.
  7. Jul 24, 2013
    40
    It’s still going to be a long hard struggle to turn Dynasty Warriors into a top quality action game, but this is the first sequel in a long time to feel like it’s actually trying.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Dynasty warriors 8 is the bast one so far. The all new what if factor may be the bast part because it adds a whole lot of new content. The story modes have been improved I say and take a long time to finish. Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    What can I say? This is the Dynasty Warriors we have all been waiting for. Get comfortable because you'll be playing this gem for at least 100 hours!!
  3. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    Excellent game play, improved combat, better weapons system, revised storyline with hypothetical scenarios, continued amazingly composed soundtrack and overall high octane experience. Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    The combat feels fresh and the addition of the 3 weapon types keeps things fresh and changing. I love the new story mode and the points of view for each level. Best in the series by far Expand
  5. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    the series, I confess an inkling of bias, however, with that said, It is the quintessential culmination of all the best the series has to offer, it doesn't try to reinvent itself, it simply does what fans love, better than the other games in this particular genre. The days of copy and paste toons, are gone. Each character has a unique moveset, and no two feel quite alike. The moves are flashy, and the animations are beautiful, except on Xbox which seems to have a few minor slowdown issues. Those who cry and proclaim this game's simplicity, haven't played the new ambition mode, which has you building a fort, and through various skirmishes, filling it with officers and shops, giving you a working goal after you've played through the main story arcs. The voice acting may be a little dry, so if you don't mind reading, I'd keep the subtitles on, however, it seems more like the writers were making a satirical poke at modern english dubs. The beloved free mode makes a return, with all new "what if" scenarios. You can even replay campaign stages as the opposing faction. All of this can be done in beautifully executed co-op play. however it's worth mentioning you must use characters the story arcs give you during the actual campaign, however, you are given the option of 3. The musou skills are better than ever, with what i would consider to be 6 total. an aerial and ground circle move, a storm rush move, a counter move and a rage move. Each varies from the game's splendid roster of 77 brilliant characters. Fans of the series will love this game for the next few months, while anyone who loves to slaughter waves upon waves of enemy, using strategy and skill, will be addicted instantly. Also, anyone with a lasting issue with the game's AI and the idiocy of the enemy units, try playing on a setting other than easy. Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    Dynasty Warriors 8 harkens back to the days of Dynasty Warriors 3 & 4, but loaded with a greater amount of content and a greater degree of polish and refinement--not to mention they brought back 2 much loved features of the series: Co-Op Story Mode and "Free Mode". Fans of the series will rediscover the series they love, and newcomers are bound to have a good time as well with this latest installment to Koei's beat 'em-up franchise. Collapse
  7. Jul 21, 2013
    6
    Let me start by saying I love, I LOVE this game. There are several fatal flaws that frustrate me to no end, however, which is what leads to this score, because I've also grown to HATE this game.

    First the positive.

    Dynasty Warriors 8 is everything we were promised with Dynasty Warriors 7 and then some. Every character has a unique weapon and moveset, and with the wide range of characters everyone plays differently and feels like their own unique characters. On top of everyone having their own unique skillsets, every character can play with a second weapon, so if your style of play is more crowd clearing you can equip a second weapon for the more down and dirty one on ones against generals. Weapons also have individual abilities, such as charging attacks for the short halberd or the dual swords immediate switch. This lends a level of strategy the previous game was lacking and it adds another layer of fun. The story is fairly historically accurate, and most of the additional characters were quality adds that should have been in from the beginning such as Yue Jin, Li Dian, and Han Dang. The story is lengthy and enjoyable for the most part with varied objectives, occasionally frenzied time limits, and a reasonable difficulty arch.

    The Bad

    The game was not released completed, and there are crashing issues all over the place, most notably within Story Mode, which is required to unlock characters. Nothing is more frustrating than killing over a thousand enemy soldiers in a long battle, locking in the final general in a rage attack and then...the game crashes. Worse still, the crashes also affect Ambition Mode, and you could be several battles in when the game crashes, losing not only one but multiple battles with the crash. No game should ever be released if you are unable to complete the game, that is a terrible way to do business. Regardless of how many improvements your game has, how fun it is, you completely ruin that experience by leaving the game with such gaping flaws such as that.

    Visually, the game looks fine. Fans have complained about a lack of real improvement in the games visuals for several releases, and this one does nothing to allay those concerns. Darker areas are terrible to navigate and it becomes habit to find your way to your next group of enemies not by the terrain but by the red bars above their heads. The maps are updated, which is a very welcome change, but the minimap is so tiny that it is almost impossible to navigate.

    The sound is for once one of the lowest points of the game. The voice acting is once again atrocious for the English release, and while fans had hoped for a superior Japanese voice option they are once again left waiting for DLC. The sound effects are barely updated and can become annoying in prolonged throughways. This is made worse by a score that sounds recycled and somehow manages to turn heavy guitar riffs into an analogy for boredom.

    The character models have all been updated and this is a mixed bag. While I'm glad to see them updated yet again, some of them seem lazy (Dian Wei is the clearest example). Most of the female characters are nothing but fan service with only a few notable exceptions. That's fine on occasion, but again seems lazy as if little time was spent on the character modeling.

    While I appreciate the addition of Ambition Mode to the franchise, even without the crashing the mode is unpolished and I had varied experiences. Some of the battles were fun, with different quests popping up requiring completion. Some times, however, the quests that popped up were vague and near impossible to complete. For instance, on one occasion, while escorting a general he became injured and I had a "Find the Medicine" quest pop up. there was no indication where I would find it, so I started checking the bases in the level (where you normally find materials). None there, I started killing off every troop I could find. With only 5 minutes left in the battle, I finally found the medicine, carried by a lone Mobile Unit Commander in the bottom corner of the map, far away from any route I would take in the escort mission. Situations like those are not isolated, and take away from the overall experience.

    While I like Dynasty Warriors 8 and consider it the best in a long line of the series that has been faltering for several years now, the overall functionality of the game is severely lacking and take away so much from an otherwise very enjoyable game. While I'm sure the game will improve with patches, I shouldn't have to pay my money to wait several weeks while the developers work out the bugs, just to be able to complete the main storyline of the game.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews