Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Sep 12, 2011
    70
    All in all, Dynasty Warriors Gundam 3 was an entertaining diversion for those hack and slash enthusiasts like myself, as long as you aren't expecting anything more grandiose than that.
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Aug 25, 2011
    60
    New features--such as the ability to temporarily summon an ally Gundam into battle--add flavor to(but still can't quite redeem)the otherwise bland missions and mindless destruction. [Oct 2011, p.85]
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    60
    I would never recommend Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3 to a non-fan, simply because the gameplay is nowhere good enough to overcome the lack of interest in the toy box. But for the rest of us, we'll take a half-decent English language Gundam title wherever we can get it.
  4. Jun 30, 2011
    60
    Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3 is still very much a Dynasty Warriors game, warts and all. Yet the light tweaks and enhancements – plus giant robots and an attractive new cel-shaded look – really make the repetition a lot more enjoyable than expected. Gundam 3 still stumbles in bafflingly silly ways, but for the first time in a while, the thrill of singlehandedly charging into battle against hundreds of enemies has a flickering spark again.
  5. Play UK
    Aug 9, 2011
    56
    The core gameplay is merely basic, but why doesn't Tecmo Koei take some chances with the DW offshoots? [Issue#208, p.94]
  6. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Aug 14, 2011
    50
    This is big, dumb fun for the first couple of hours. [Sept 2011, p.113]
  7. Jul 12, 2011
    50
    This game is not fun and not work as fanservice. Dynasty Warriors must find another road to return to success. Gundam must find another way to make videogames. Its graphics effects are quick and colorful but it is pure repetition.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 21, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Dynasty Warriors Gundam 2 was a great example on how to mix two great series into one. It had GREAT Single Player content that gave you a lot to do. Multiplayer allowed you to be in massive wars that were very time consuming. It's units were very balanced and you never felt that one could easily overpower the other... Well, except for grunt units... Anyway, it had great atmosphere and content that will always bring me back. Then I heard about Dynasty Warriors Gundam 3... How disappointing... The game is very unbalanced in terms of content. Single Player consists of a Story Mode with mixed characters and... nothing else. That's it. Its clear all the focus went into the Multiplayer, with online battles, lobbies, and team battles. Kinda shameful, really. Not everyone is for Multiplayer, some prefer Single player, and Namco Bandai Games really really dropped the ball on that one. Now for the units, quite a huge cast of characters, which would be fantastic... except for the Unicorn Gundam which set new standards for BROKEN mechanics! You can SPAM your Musou Attack and stay in NT-D Mode for the ENTIRE GAME! Unfortunately, the game was obviously rushed, and it's DLC isn't really worth it unless your a hardcore fan of those specific units. If your looking for a good Multiplayer game if your really bored, then this game is for you. Full Review »
  2. Feb 9, 2013
    8
    Easily one of the best Dynasty Warriors games have ever been made. I has limited multiplayer witch I found disappointing. On the upspin, youEasily one of the best Dynasty Warriors games have ever been made. I has limited multiplayer witch I found disappointing. On the upspin, you can literally spend 200+ hours lost in pulse pounding missions. What I would like to see in the next game is more realism and more multiplayer features. Gundam isn't just for kids, adults are a large audience as well. Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    Vastly better than DWG1 or 2 in many areas except for a very important one...
    The maps, the maps where shrinked and turned into utter crap,
    Vastly better than DWG1 or 2 in many areas except for a very important one...
    The maps, the maps where shrinked and turned into utter crap, just a random mix of "Bases" and hallways.
    there was ZERO effort in making these maps i assure you, i'm giving a 7 taking away 3 points JUST because this game makes you don't even CARE about the battlefield at all
    Full Review »