Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. Aug 25, 2011
    85
    Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3 is easily the best outing the Warriors series has seen in a long time, and it's exactly what it says on the box. If you enjoy feeling like a total badass as you wipe out hundreds of enemies with flash, speed and technique, then this game's worth full price even with its few flaws - possibly more so if you're already a Gundam geek. If you're not, though, beware: This game may turn you into one before you know it.
  2. Jul 18, 2011
    85
    The game has its own circle of fans and I'm glad that the developers have made it even better with every new addition and will continue to do so. Priced decently at 59.99$ I can see any fan paying for this without a problem but can't imagine too many gamers picking it up if they haven't heard of it before. This is one hack-and-slash game that I won't be putting down anytime soon.
  3. Jul 18, 2011
    85
    I said it in the review and I'll say it again: this is the best Dynasty Warriors game out there. It offers a great level of challenge and it has so much content that it can last you over 150 hours easily, and that's without friendship grinding.
  4. Jun 29, 2011
    82
    It gets its hooks into you prompting you to return in drips and drabs. Fans will love it as ever, but if you've never experienced the world of Gundam or Dynasty Warriors, this is the perfect game to bring you into the series.
  5. Jun 28, 2011
    80
    Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3 has certainly impressed. Whilst Dynasty Warriors games are normally reserved for fans of the franchise, Gundam 3 seems to transcend that. The collect and upgrade element for the Mobile Suits is a genius idea, and provides the incentive to keep playing despite the somewhat repetitive nature of the missions.
  6. 78
    But for fans, seeing Domon Kasshu beat the ever loving piss out of those pansies from Gundam Seed is just plain awesome.
  7. Sep 12, 2011
    70
    All in all, Dynasty Warriors Gundam 3 was an entertaining diversion for those hack and slash enthusiasts like myself, as long as you aren't expecting anything more grandiose than that.
  8. New features--such as the ability to temporarily summon an ally Gundam into battle--add flavor to(but still can't quite redeem)the otherwise bland missions and mindless destruction. [Oct 2011, p.85]
  9. Jul 5, 2011
    60
    I would never recommend Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3 to a non-fan, simply because the gameplay is nowhere good enough to overcome the lack of interest in the toy box. But for the rest of us, we'll take a half-decent English language Gundam title wherever we can get it.
  10. Jun 30, 2011
    60
    Dynasty Warriors: Gundam 3 is still very much a Dynasty Warriors game, warts and all. Yet the light tweaks and enhancements – plus giant robots and an attractive new cel-shaded look – really make the repetition a lot more enjoyable than expected. Gundam 3 still stumbles in bafflingly silly ways, but for the first time in a while, the thrill of singlehandedly charging into battle against hundreds of enemies has a flickering spark again.
  11. Aug 9, 2011
    56
    The core gameplay is merely basic, but why doesn't Tecmo Koei take some chances with the DW offshoots? [Issue#208, p.94]
  12. This is big, dumb fun for the first couple of hours. [Sept 2011, p.113]
  13. Jul 12, 2011
    50
    This game is not fun and not work as fanservice. Dynasty Warriors must find another road to return to success. Gundam must find another way to make videogames. Its graphics effects are quick and colorful but it is pure repetition.
  14. Jul 25, 2011
    46
    If you're a Gundam or Dynasty Warriors fan, this is pretty much a no brainer as it's probably one of the best games in the series to be released outside of Japan thus far. Unfortuantely that's not saying much.
  15. Jul 28, 2011
    45
    Anyone who has played this type of game before will be instantly bored, and even newcomers will quickly look elsewhere to fill their gaming guts. I'd tell you to go outside and play, but seriously, it's just too hot.
  16. Aug 8, 2011
    40
    It's time the developer started exploring the potential. [Issue#112, p.119]
  17. Jul 1, 2011
    40
    For the longtime fans, this is what you like (though even fans should be disappointed at the lack of variety in Gundam 3).
  18. 30
    For a Dynasty Warriors game this features some useful innovations, but compared to any other series it remains as irredeemably shallow and repetitive as ever.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 21, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Dynasty Warriors Gundam 2 was a great example on how to mix two great series into one. It had GREAT Single Player content that gave you a lot to do. Multiplayer allowed you to be in massive wars that were very time consuming. It's units were very balanced and you never felt that one could easily overpower the other... Well, except for grunt units... Anyway, it had great atmosphere and content that will always bring me back. Then I heard about Dynasty Warriors Gundam 3... How disappointing... The game is very unbalanced in terms of content. Single Player consists of a Story Mode with mixed characters and... nothing else. That's it. Its clear all the focus went into the Multiplayer, with online battles, lobbies, and team battles. Kinda shameful, really. Not everyone is for Multiplayer, some prefer Single player, and Namco Bandai Games really really dropped the ball on that one. Now for the units, quite a huge cast of characters, which would be fantastic... except for the Unicorn Gundam which set new standards for BROKEN mechanics! You can SPAM your Musou Attack and stay in NT-D Mode for the ENTIRE GAME! Unfortunately, the game was obviously rushed, and it's DLC isn't really worth it unless your a hardcore fan of those specific units. If your looking for a good Multiplayer game if your really bored, then this game is for you. Full Review »
  2. Feb 9, 2013
    8
    Easily one of the best Dynasty Warriors games have ever been made. I has limited multiplayer witch I found disappointing. On the upspin, youEasily one of the best Dynasty Warriors games have ever been made. I has limited multiplayer witch I found disappointing. On the upspin, you can literally spend 200+ hours lost in pulse pounding missions. What I would like to see in the next game is more realism and more multiplayer features. Gundam isn't just for kids, adults are a large audience as well. Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    Vastly better than DWG1 or 2 in many areas except for a very important one...
    The maps, the maps where shrinked and turned into utter crap,
    Vastly better than DWG1 or 2 in many areas except for a very important one...
    The maps, the maps where shrinked and turned into utter crap, just a random mix of "Bases" and hallways.
    there was ZERO effort in making these maps i assure you, i'm giving a 7 taking away 3 points JUST because this game makes you don't even CARE about the battlefield at all
    Full Review »